Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 329 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters andJak and Daxter are quite a comic duo! Jak's the strong, silent type of hero, while Daxter's the obnoxious comic nut! The adventure takes place across a massive piece of continuous coastline - you can explore freely, with no loading screens and no waiting time. All characters and environmental elements exist in real time and have incredibly smart A.I.; you can't ignore or hide from enemies, they will follow you everywhere. ("Which is supposed to be a good thing?") [Sony] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    Good lord, is this a beautiful game. [Jan 2002, p.124]
  2. Offers up the kind of gaming experience that you will never forget.
  3. Its charismatic cast, wonderful voice acting, drop dead beautiful graphics, and awesome level design make Jak and Daxter one of the best platform/adventure games I've ever played.
  4. Cheat Code Central
    90
    If you love this type of game, if you enjoy being taken into a world that lasts very long, is fun and is not frustrating to play, then this is a must have for your collection.
  5. 90
    The nonexistent load times, unlimited draw distance, and non-linear level design go far to establish Jak & Daxter as a classic, but there could have been more innovation to cement its position.
  6. Games Radar
    87
    If a game like "Devil May Cry"'s a double espresso, heavy on the sugar, then Jak and Daxter's a nice soothing cup of tea. One offers non-stop thrills, but is over almost before it starts; the other's everything you'd expect, and it won't get you especially worked up, but lasts much longer.
  7. It is Daxter who gives the game its flavor—more so than the relatively anonymous Jak. This flavor is ultimately what sets Jak And Daxter apart from a lot of the other platform games out there.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 87
  2. Negative: 3 out of 87
  1. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night,So many colors! i love how many colors they put in this game, and how beautiful it is watching it turn from day to noon to evening to night, killin' enemies,platforming and collecting stuff. than collect stuff and sell it to get more stuff, killing enemies to unlock stuff that unlocks more stuff to get more stuff. beautiful...just...beautiful. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    Best game ever! This is my favorite game!

    The art style is amazing! The graphics are insanely detailed. But the character models do seem
    Best game ever! This is my favorite game!

    The art style is amazing!
    The graphics are insanely detailed.
    But the character models do seem to be very simple although this could be because the game is so huge.

    The gameplay has a lot of variety. A good number of moves and power-ups.
    Plus the game has 0 loading screens, which really impressed me when I was a kid.

    The music changes very slightly depending on where you are in the level.

    Overall it's a great game!

    You can get it for about £2 nowadays. SO BUY IT!
    Expand
  3. Mar 24, 2016
    10
    Oh my god, we're now heading into Jak and Daxter. I love 3D platformers, and this is just... wow. I was always a Nintendo guy, but this gameOh my god, we're now heading into Jak and Daxter. I love 3D platformers, and this is just... wow. I was always a Nintendo guy, but this game made me get into Sony. If I'm not playing Mario 64, Sonic Generations, or The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, then it's this game. I don't spoil plots, but all I can say is that compared to the later games in the series, it's incredibly simple. Anyways, graphically, even for today's standards it's amazing. I always liked to just roam around, doing nothing at all, and look at how beautiful the game is. The soundtrack, while not perfect, is okay. This is one of my favorite games of all time, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  4. AladdinS.
    Jan 8, 2002
    9
    The only real negative I can find with this game is a little slow down here and there. It's so awesome that there is no loading ever The only real negative I can find with this game is a little slow down here and there. It's so awesome that there is no loading ever during gameplay. It's such a massive world. It's closely resembles Mario 64, although not quite as much of a classic. Expand
  5. DANTESPARDA
    Feb 26, 2002
    9
    A little bit difficult sometimes but....Focus on the game, give it a half hour, and you'll end up playin' this game all nite until 6A little bit difficult sometimes but....Focus on the game, give it a half hour, and you'll end up playin' this game all nite until 6 am, like i did.
    A master´piece, and in contrast to the PS2'S CRASH BANDICOOT LOADING TIMES, WORTHY OF THE XV CENTURY INQUISITION'S TORTURE TECHNIQUES, JAK AND DAXTER DON'T HAVE A SINGLE LOADING TIME IN THE WHOLE GAME. SUPERB.
    Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    One of my favorite 3D platformers as a kid, and one of my favorite ps2 games, this is a classic platformer you shouldnt miss out on. GreatOne of my favorite 3D platformers as a kid, and one of my favorite ps2 games, this is a classic platformer you shouldnt miss out on. Great gameplay, funny dialog and jokes, good story, awesome graphics, good music, and an overall experience that keeps you playing start to finish, and keeps you sucked in the whoel time. I really enjoy this game, and i reccommend it to any ps2 owner out there. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2002
    0
    It sucks.

See all 87 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#7 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
#15 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001