Jak II PlayStation 2

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 258
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    7
    Heres the problem with jak 2. they changed too much it feels like grand theft auto. but a very horrible version of grand theft auto. the game feels more like a chore to play, and its really difficult and frustrating at some points(The part at the docks where you have to fight a buttload of krimson guards, which was a real pain in my a$$). there was also no proper way to use your weaponsHeres the problem with jak 2. they changed too much it feels like grand theft auto. but a very horrible version of grand theft auto. the game feels more like a chore to play, and its really difficult and frustrating at some points(The part at the docks where you have to fight a buttload of krimson guards, which was a real pain in my a$$). there was also no proper way to use your weapons which added to the frustration. In Ratchet and Clank going commando (a perfect game) you do not experience any of these problems. The original Jak and daxter is a great game. get that and not this mess. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Fortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting and character designs; lengthier than the first game. Cons: A somewhat dull storyline set in a somewhat dull world; cheesy dialog; hideous soundtrack.
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    This game should be shortlisted for worst sequel of all time. The first Jak & Daxter game is a masterpiece, and to follow it up with this crap is offensive. In the first game, our protagonist Jak is silent throughout the entire game, and this worked really well when coupled with his hyper active partner, Daxter. However, in this game, they gave him a voice. And now he feels like aThis game should be shortlisted for worst sequel of all time. The first Jak & Daxter game is a masterpiece, and to follow it up with this crap is offensive. In the first game, our protagonist Jak is silent throughout the entire game, and this worked really well when coupled with his hyper active partner, Daxter. However, in this game, they gave him a voice. And now he feels like a completely different character. I understand why he has had a complete overhaul, but the reason why he has had a complete overhaul shouldn't even be a part of the game. This is nothing like the first one. This is like a heavily watered down Grand Theft Auto. Naughty Dog made vehicles a huge part of this game. It's a shame they clearly don't know how vehicles should work in video games. They're a complete nightmare to control, and what makes it worse is that you need to master the terrible vehicles in order to progress in the story!

    The only positives I can take from this game is that the introduction of guns made it more fun (more Ratchet & Clank-esque) and that while the story ruined what was a perfectly good mascot for the PS2 era, it was still entertaining and unpredictable. I love Naughty Dog. Hopefully they never screw up another series as badly as they did the Jak & Daxter one.
    Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jan 4, 2004
    6
    It was a great game at first but my file got erased really easily. ERR!!!!!!!!
  5. ToddW.
    Dec 2, 2003
    6
    Not as good as the first, going through the city is tiresome and it is a very dark game as opposed to the very scenic first title. Feels like another GTA rip off.
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    5
    What went wrong? Jak II is more of a third person shooter crossed with GTA type game, rather than the fantastic platformer the first game was, and while neither of these things are bad, Jak II simply doesn't do either of these things well enough. The level design is tedious, the combat is clunky, checkpoints are infrequent and the difficulty is poorly tuned. Jak is now an angsty longWhat went wrong? Jak II is more of a third person shooter crossed with GTA type game, rather than the fantastic platformer the first game was, and while neither of these things are bad, Jak II simply doesn't do either of these things well enough. The level design is tedious, the combat is clunky, checkpoints are infrequent and the difficulty is poorly tuned. Jak is now an angsty long haired teen with anger issues, almost completely unlikable as a character redeemed only by the Ottsel on his shoulder (who, thankfully, hasn't changed one iota). Jak II should have been better, but it's just too agonizing to struggle though, and marks a terrible change of direction for the franchise. Final Score: 5.4/10 Expand
  7. Guru3D
    Oct 28, 2003
    6
    Good graphic but still lacks in the user interface control......sometimes low frametes during facing with huge soldier... STILL needs a lot of improvement.... if compare to MAXIMO...the game are not selectable choice to buy.
  8. G.adams
    Nov 5, 2004
    5
    Some may call it a GTA rip off, so would i. Its odd that your stealing cars (that are as fun as driving mrs daisy) and you have to do GTA type missions, that involve driving these real WACK cars with terrible controle. graphics are good. cut scenes are done well. But i felt the game got really repetitive. go but "GTA:vice city" or "ratchet and clank" instead.
  9. LiamD.
    Oct 23, 2007
    7
    I personally think that this is the worst game of the three. This game in particular focuses way too much around missions. It's the intent of the game, as I have noticed, but sometimes it's just too much to do mission after mission after mission in the same grungy, dark, ugly city for 6 hours, only to be given more. Doesn't live up to the high standards that the Precursor I personally think that this is the worst game of the three. This game in particular focuses way too much around missions. It's the intent of the game, as I have noticed, but sometimes it's just too much to do mission after mission after mission in the same grungy, dark, ugly city for 6 hours, only to be given more. Doesn't live up to the high standards that the Precursor Legacy set it up for. Expand
  10. FrodoB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Now, let's start with, "Why i didn't give this game 10". Well, it's because of the hugely annoying missions where you repeatedly start again due to minor mistakes. The rest blew me away. Wonderful humor like, "Remind me not to piss you off!" by Daxter. Graphics are nothing special, gameplay wonderful, music and sounds take a new level from the prequal. The story starts from Now, let's start with, "Why i didn't give this game 10". Well, it's because of the hugely annoying missions where you repeatedly start again due to minor mistakes. The rest blew me away. Wonderful humor like, "Remind me not to piss you off!" by Daxter. Graphics are nothing special, gameplay wonderful, music and sounds take a new level from the prequal. The story starts from where the prequal left off.Jak still won't talk, but when you get to the (spoilers) part where jak's tortured with dark echo, he finally says his first words, "I'm going to kill Praxis!" referring to the torturer, the lord of Haven city, in the future. Get ready for some solid gameplay. Expand
  11. May 22, 2011
    7
    Naughty Dog's sequel to the stunning Jak and Daxter lacks the charm of the first game, partly because of its slightly imbalanced transfer to the "Teen" rating. However, Jak II still offers some solid platforming and action-adventure elements. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, camera, and sound; no loading screens; variety of weapons to play with and missions to conquer. Cons: Unoriginal;Naughty Dog's sequel to the stunning Jak and Daxter lacks the charm of the first game, partly because of its slightly imbalanced transfer to the "Teen" rating. However, Jak II still offers some solid platforming and action-adventure elements. Pros: Excellent graphics, control, camera, and sound; no loading screens; variety of weapons to play with and missions to conquer. Cons: Unoriginal; generally ugly characters and level design; a bit of a lousy attempt at transferring the series to a mature setting; sappy dialogue. Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    6
    Good game but hard as hell.
  13. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    This game is more boring, more frustrating and larger than the first game, and the little more interesting story cannot overcome the shame this game is in comparison with the first Jak.

    Shame on you, naughty dog
  14. Dec 31, 2015
    6
    Yeah, this game is partially good, plenty of new enemies, better story and upgraded problems
    The main problem is on its GTA copy style, ruined with **** A.I. and some stupid logic (police catches you if you barely do them anything)
    The worst thing is that you should face this problems during most of the missions, which are sometimes unfair or unbearable. On the other hand, there are a
    Yeah, this game is partially good, plenty of new enemies, better story and upgraded problems
    The main problem is on its GTA copy style, ruined with **** A.I. and some stupid logic (police catches you if you barely do them anything)
    The worst thing is that you should face this problems during most of the missions, which are sometimes unfair or unbearable.
    On the other hand, there are a lot of vehicles and weapons, making this game more an action game than a platformer.
    Good effort Naughty Dog, it could be better.
    6/10
    Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2017
    7
    I feel kinda bad for rating this game a 7 because I really want to give it an 8 or a 9, but I just can't.. I usually don't downgrade a game because of its difficulty, but seriously what is with the crushing difficulty? It's like Naughty Dog got mad because Jak and Dakster was stupidly easy, and jacked the difficulty of Jak 2 up out of spite. I like a good challenge, but this game crossesI feel kinda bad for rating this game a 7 because I really want to give it an 8 or a 9, but I just can't.. I usually don't downgrade a game because of its difficulty, but seriously what is with the crushing difficulty? It's like Naughty Dog got mad because Jak and Dakster was stupidly easy, and jacked the difficulty of Jak 2 up out of spite. I like a good challenge, but this game crosses the line of "fair challenge" to "complete bs" too many times. If they just toned it down a bit then this game would be a near masterpiece, but as it stands it's so hard it makes you want to throw your controller at the tv and that's not fun. Expand
  16. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    If you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened afterIf you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened after collecting all of the Precursor Orbs in the last game. As you go through you get transported to a place called Haven City which is under command by Baron Praxis. Jak his captured and 2 years have passed since. Daxter manages to find Jak and help him escape, only to find out that Jak had gone through experiments by Dark Eco which can make him transform into a dark beast. Not only that but his personality has changed him into a teenage Jak. The gameplay is a lot different than the first game. You start off in the city and are given tasks to do by people. Once you've completed the first task, you move onto the next one and the next one, so it is like a step up ladder really. There are some challenges too which earn you Precursor Orbs if you pass them. You can ride new vehicles which you can steal from others, some are faster than others so you can get to places quicker because there is a lot of going back and forth in this game. Don't steal any of the krimzon guards vehicles or run into them otherwise the city will go on alert and they will start chasing after you and try and shoot you, try to outrun them if you can but its a real pain and wastes time. In fact its a sort of a GTA spin off this game. There are more tasks to accomplish and tougher ones too. You have new moves as well, spinning and punching is still there but this time you can carry a Rifle. The Rifle has 4 different types of shots and you have to collect these as you progress. And if that wasn't enough, when collect a number of Dark Eco you can transform into a dark beast which makes you unvulnerable for a short period of time and you can go through and smash your way through hundreds of enemies to make your job a much easier. If you collect metal heads you can trade them in to the oracle and he will give you new abilities for your beast form. You can ride on a hoverboard which can float on water and there is a skate arena where you can pull of a few tricks (a bit like playing those Tony Hawk, SSX and Matt Hoffman games). There are hover races too which are loads of fun, there are more bosses this time and for the first time Daxter is a playable character too. This game has virtually everything to make this game stand out and I loved absolutely every bit of it. Bigger gameplay, more challenges and better moves. The graphics are done beautifully and some of the level designs (one of my faviroutes is the one where your inside a temple) are very impressive. The music is perfect and the voice acting is great, especially Daxter's who is as funny as ever. There aren't many sequels out there that are as good as the first but this one is way more superior to the first, so if you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste of Jak 2 Collapse

Awards & Rankings

18
6
#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
11
#11 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s undoubtedly a bold (if not brazen) attempt to entertain, and while Gamestyle found itself striving to collect every last item from the first title, it is hard to see the same happening with this one. Which leaves its technical achievements looking rather muted.
  2. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.