User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 160

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the hardest but greatest games I ever seen. It has beautiful atmosphere, great variety of enemies and weapons, and great story and characters. However, it has some of the raging missions but it forces you to take your knowledge to outrun challenges. If you hate challenges, you will hate this game. But to me, this game is a 9/10 not perfect because the raging missionsThis game is one of the hardest but greatest games I ever seen. It has beautiful atmosphere, great variety of enemies and weapons, and great story and characters. However, it has some of the raging missions but it forces you to take your knowledge to outrun challenges. If you hate challenges, you will hate this game. But to me, this game is a 9/10 not perfect because the raging missions but it makes the icing of the game. Expand
  2. May 22, 2014
    9
    Jak ll is much different than the last installment. It's darker, more violent, even vulgar and suggestive at times. It's also much more exciting, funny, and features more inventive gameplay.
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    The story takes place right at the end of the first game, Jak, Daxter, Kierra and Samos go through a rift, into "haven city," ruled by dictator Baron Praxis. Jak is taken away and tortured for 2 years, then Daxter finds him. Not only has Jaks personality changed but due to long term dark eco torture, he can transform into a dark monster which you will have to fill up your dark eco meter toThe story takes place right at the end of the first game, Jak, Daxter, Kierra and Samos go through a rift, into "haven city," ruled by dictator Baron Praxis. Jak is taken away and tortured for 2 years, then Daxter finds him. Not only has Jaks personality changed but due to long term dark eco torture, he can transform into a dark monster which you will have to fill up your dark eco meter to use. When you escape, you will be exploring the city, with tasks, missions and new and impressive characters to meet. There are precursor orbs to find and if you complete challenges, you will earn them. The places and environments are amazing and throughout the game you will learn fascinating facts about the city and its origins. With the gameplay, you get guns and it is fun to start a firefight in he streets with the Krimzon Guard police force and play your on survival game, and Jak II will get frustratingly at times. Missions are fantastic. There are also loads of mini games to play. The graphics are great, the story and its characters are amazing, a fantastic atmosphere, the music is perfect and the locations are spot on, such as the dirty sewers, the beautiful mountains which you would want to get a view of the city from, the dead town and loads more. Jak 2 is simply the best game I have ever played. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    this game was funny, thrilling, and somewhat romantic. This is probably the best jak game in the series and it's a must buy for anyone who likes platformers.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Not as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on this precious gem I recommend you buy it!
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good.Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good. It has funny moments, twists and sinister feeling. Cutscenes are superb. It's almost like different franchise, but still 10 out of 10 easily. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    In the top 5 best games I ever played. Great story, amazing characters, awesome gameplay, perfect difficulty, not too short, not too long, lots of stuff to collect if you like to go for 100% playthroughs. Loved every moment with this masterpiece.
  8. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still isThe sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still is a very good game I'd recommend for everyone. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay
  10. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    "Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from"Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from the fun of the game. The Precursor Legacy was good, but Jak II is 10 times better in every way. Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Jak 2 show how a sequel should be made it took every thing from the first one and made the game better intelligent Ai, bigger worlds, more characters jak 2 is a beautiful
  12. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (IQuite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Expand
  13. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Different from the first game but just as good. It should have got a 100.
  14. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    I would actually rate this game a 9.5/10. Let's get this straight, if you enjoyed playing Jak & Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, then you might enjoy this one, unless you want to keep it simple without having any guns then your probably not going to like this one. They have lots of different types of guns that can be used in different situations. The new Dark Jak powers are one of my favoriteI would actually rate this game a 9.5/10. Let's get this straight, if you enjoyed playing Jak & Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, then you might enjoy this one, unless you want to keep it simple without having any guns then your probably not going to like this one. They have lots of different types of guns that can be used in different situations. The new Dark Jak powers are one of my favorite additions to the Jak series, and being able to upgrade your powers is awesome. The vehicles in this game are great too. It's not like the first one where the vehicles we're scarce but now you see them all over Haven City. Oh yes, Haven City. Yup, now we're in a city that's more unique than The Old World. This game is hard. It gets pretty hard from the middle to the end. Overall this game is great and I mean GREAT. The only reason that I would rate it a 9.5 is because I kind of wanted Haven City to be a little more imersive if you know what I mean. If you have a PS2 or a PS3, buying this game would be a huge favor for yourself. Expand
  15. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    This game is so different from the first. it is darker and more intense. the first thing that happens in it you get sent to a prison and escape. i love it. the weapons are nice. the graphics are great. i love the soundtrack yet i cant give it a ten ( i would ) but, it is too hard i beat it but i had trouble. if you like a challenging 3rd person shooter you must get.
  16. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    If you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened afterIf you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened after collecting all of the Precursor Orbs in the last game. As you go through you get transported to a place called Haven City which is under command by Baron Praxis. Jak his captured and 2 years have passed since. Daxter manages to find Jak and help him escape, only to find out that Jak had gone through experiments by Dark Eco which can make him transform into a dark beast. Not only that but his personality has changed him into a teenage Jak. The gameplay is a lot different than the first game. You start off in the city and are given tasks to do by people. Once you've completed the first task, you move onto the next one and the next one, so it is like a step up ladder really. There are some challenges too which earn you Precursor Orbs if you pass them. You can ride new vehicles which you can steal from others, some are faster than others so you can get to places quicker because there is a lot of going back and forth in this game. Don't steal any of the krimzon guards vehicles or run into them otherwise the city will go on alert and they will start chasing after you and try and shoot you, try to outrun them if you can but its a real pain and wastes time. In fact its a sort of a GTA spin off this game. There are more tasks to accomplish and tougher ones too. You have new moves as well, spinning and punching is still there but this time you can carry a Rifle. The Rifle has 4 different types of shots and you have to collect these as you progress. And if that wasn't enough, when collect a number of Dark Eco you can transform into a dark beast which makes you unvulnerable for a short period of time and you can go through and smash your way through hundreds of enemies to make your job a much easier. If you collect metal heads you can trade them in to the oracle and he will give you new abilities for your beast form. You can ride on a hoverboard which can float on water and there is a skate arena where you can pull of a few tricks (a bit like playing those Tony Hawk, SSX and Matt Hoffman games). There are hover races too which are loads of fun, there are more bosses this time and for the first time Daxter is a playable character too. This game has virtually everything to make this game stand out and I loved absolutely every bit of it. Bigger gameplay, more challenges and better moves. The graphics are done beautifully and some of the level designs (one of my faviroutes is the one where your inside a temple) are very impressive. The music is perfect and the voice acting is great, especially Daxter's who is as funny as ever. There aren't many sequels out there that are as good as the first but this one is way more superior to the first, so if you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste of Jak 2 Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s undoubtedly a bold (if not brazen) attempt to entertain, and while Gamestyle found itself striving to collect every last item from the first title, it is hard to see the same happening with this one. Which leaves its technical achievements looking rather muted.
  2. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.