Jak II PlayStation 2

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 237
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2016
    8
    Jak 2 is a platform action-adventure third-person shooter video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony Computer Entertainment.

    + Fun
    + Variety Gameplay
    + Good Characters
    + Gun Gameplay
    + Jak Can Talk
    - Lack of Checkpoints
    - Frustrating Missions
    - Annoying Collectibles
  2. Apr 27, 2016
    9
    This game is really well done. The smooth animations of Jak still amaze me. Very few games, even today, can rival this. The game features some really good characters. The story is nice, featuring 3 factions, so a little more complex than that of most games. Jak II is full of action and fun and smooth platfroming. And of course: No loading screens! The game loads areas as you are travelingThis game is really well done. The smooth animations of Jak still amaze me. Very few games, even today, can rival this. The game features some really good characters. The story is nice, featuring 3 factions, so a little more complex than that of most games. Jak II is full of action and fun and smooth platfroming. And of course: No loading screens! The game loads areas as you are traveling towards them. A smart system which very few other gamedevelopers have realized. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2016
    9
    just this game can be described with the word " epic " and I played many vezes that already and I lost count
    thank you very much naughty dog
    games like this defined previous generations
  4. Mar 19, 2016
    10
    i found this game very kool, this game just turned out to the gta of platform, the levels and gameplay were kool, i liked riding the hoverboard, it gets difficult later on though
  5. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    Here is simply my list of what I considered good and bad in the game.
    Pros:
    - Very deep move set - Quality soundtrack with interactive elements - No loading screens - Immersive world and story with interesting characters - Challenging - Plenty of optional activities And cons: - Gun play can feel awkward (especially aiming) - Some missions could use more checkpoints - Boss
    Here is simply my list of what I considered good and bad in the game.
    Pros:
    - Very deep move set
    - Quality soundtrack with interactive elements
    - No loading screens
    - Immersive world and story with interesting characters
    - Challenging
    - Plenty of optional activities
    And cons:
    - Gun play can feel awkward (especially aiming)
    - Some missions could use more checkpoints
    - Boss battles are pretty lacking
    - This is a minor one, but navigation in the menu (turning the wheel) feels kind of sluggish
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the hardest but greatest games I ever seen. It has beautiful atmosphere, great variety of enemies and weapons, and great story and characters. However, it has some of the raging missions but it forces you to take your knowledge to outrun challenges. If you hate challenges, you will hate this game. But to me, this game is a 9/10 not perfect because the raging missionsThis game is one of the hardest but greatest games I ever seen. It has beautiful atmosphere, great variety of enemies and weapons, and great story and characters. However, it has some of the raging missions but it forces you to take your knowledge to outrun challenges. If you hate challenges, you will hate this game. But to me, this game is a 9/10 not perfect because the raging missions but it makes the icing of the game. Expand
  7. May 22, 2014
    9
    Jak ll is much different than the last installment. It's darker, more violent, even vulgar and suggestive at times. It's also much more exciting, funny, and features more inventive gameplay.
  8. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    This game is absolutely great. The story is bad ass, the characters were memorable, Haven city was fun to explore and the gameplay was, overall, solid. Some complain that they hated racing in the class races but I had fun whilst playing them. People also say that the game is too hard and I think that the game is, mostly, a moderately challenging game (though some of the later missions canThis game is absolutely great. The story is bad ass, the characters were memorable, Haven city was fun to explore and the gameplay was, overall, solid. Some complain that they hated racing in the class races but I had fun whilst playing them. People also say that the game is too hard and I think that the game is, mostly, a moderately challenging game (though some of the later missions can be frustrating at times). I also loved getting missions from Torn and using weapons to kill metal heads. Some things that I did not enjoy about the game were: that the weapons were quite bland when compared to games like Ratchet and Clank, and there is no strafing in this game nor is there a legitimate aiming system which makes some gun fights drag on longer than they need to. Overall, Jak 2 is an excellent game. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    this game was funny, thrilling, and somewhat romantic. This is probably the best jak game in the series and it's a must buy for anyone who likes platformers.
  10. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Not as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on this precious gem I recommend you buy it!
  11. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good.Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good. It has funny moments, twists and sinister feeling. Cutscenes are superb. It's almost like different franchise, but still 10 out of 10 easily. Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    In the top 5 best games I ever played. Great story, amazing characters, awesome gameplay, perfect difficulty, not too short, not too long, lots of stuff to collect if you like to go for 100% playthroughs. Loved every moment with this masterpiece.
  13. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still isThe sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still is a very good game I'd recommend for everyone. Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay
  15. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    "Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from"Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from the fun of the game. The Precursor Legacy was good, but Jak II is 10 times better in every way. Expand
  16. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Jak 2 show how a sequel should be made it took every thing from the first one and made the game better intelligent Ai, bigger worlds, more characters jak 2 is a beautiful
  17. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (IQuite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Expand
  18. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    What a great game! Hoverboarding is so much fun and Dark Jak is unbelievable. Jak 3 betters it though! The final boss can be infuriating but is very fun! Much better than TPL an dnever gets old!
  19. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Different from the first game but just as good. It should have got a 100.
  20. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    I would actually rate this game a 9.5/10. Let's get this straight, if you enjoyed playing Jak & Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, then you might enjoy this one, unless you want to keep it simple without having any guns then your probably not going to like this one. They have lots of different types of guns that can be used in different situations. The new Dark Jak powers are one of my favoriteI would actually rate this game a 9.5/10. Let's get this straight, if you enjoyed playing Jak & Daxter: The Precursor Legacy, then you might enjoy this one, unless you want to keep it simple without having any guns then your probably not going to like this one. They have lots of different types of guns that can be used in different situations. The new Dark Jak powers are one of my favorite additions to the Jak series, and being able to upgrade your powers is awesome. The vehicles in this game are great too. It's not like the first one where the vehicles we're scarce but now you see them all over Haven City. Oh yes, Haven City. Yup, now we're in a city that's more unique than The Old World. This game is hard. It gets pretty hard from the middle to the end. Overall this game is great and I mean GREAT. The only reason that I would rate it a 9.5 is because I kind of wanted Haven City to be a little more imersive if you know what I mean. If you have a PS2 or a PS3, buying this game would be a huge favor for yourself. Expand
  21. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    This game is so different from the first. it is darker and more intense. the first thing that happens in it you get sent to a prison and escape. i love it. the weapons are nice. the graphics are great. i love the soundtrack yet i cant give it a ten ( i would ) but, it is too hard i beat it but i had trouble. if you like a challenging 3rd person shooter you must get.
  22. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    Jak II: Renegade is a fine sequel to Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy. This game is darker and more action packed than it's predecessor and packs a few swear words into the dialog as well. The game starts off with Jak, Daxter, Kiera and Samos going through the Precursor rift gate and then being scattered across Haven City which serves as the main Hub for the game. Jak is then capturedJak II: Renegade is a fine sequel to Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy. This game is darker and more action packed than it's predecessor and packs a few swear words into the dialog as well. The game starts off with Jak, Daxter, Kiera and Samos going through the Precursor rift gate and then being scattered across Haven City which serves as the main Hub for the game. Jak is then captured by guards who are known as Krimson Guards and imprisoned for 2 years during which that time, the guards leader, Baron Praxis has exposed Jak to dark eco. Instead of finding power cells to progress through the game, you complete a variety of tasks for contacts. The city is huge and the story campaign is meaty too; It took me about 15 hours to complete this game. The game play is significantly different compared with the last game: Jak still has his attacks from the first game but now along the way, he is rewarded with 4 weapons like the Scattergun and the Blaster to help him fight the Metal Heads which along with the Krimson Guards, serve as the main enemies of the game. Jak and Daxter tranverse through a sandbox environment (similar to the Grand Theft Auto Series) and find contacts to help them seek revenge on Baron Praxis. Jak can also hijack civilian vehicles and help him explore the environment. Because Jak has now been exposed to dark eco, Jak can now turn into dark Jak and preform some new attacks like the Dark bomb attack and being invincible to enemy attacks. The game play bears a slight resemblance to the 2002 game Ratchet and Clank but there are plenty of things that distinguishes this game apart from Ratchet and Clank; you shoot your way through levels. You can participate in races, use Metal head gems (which are given to you when you defeat Metal heads) and trade them for other dark power abilities who the Oracle gives them to you, some quick time event games like the Whack-a-Metal head game (which can be frustrating) and shooting galleries to test your weapon skills on. Jak now talks and has a more mature appearance in this game compared to the last game and the plot of this game throws a couple of twists towards the end. The cutscenes are beautifully animated and the game play is smooth. This game is definitely harder than the first one and it can become annoying towards the end of the game but thats pretty much my only gripe with the game. The boss battle are better than the first one and some of the level designs are nice. Jak II: Renegade is a worthy successor to an already great game. Expand
  23. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    If you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened afterIf you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened after collecting all of the Precursor Orbs in the last game. As you go through you get transported to a place called Haven City which is under command by Baron Praxis. Jak his captured and 2 years have passed since. Daxter manages to find Jak and help him escape, only to find out that Jak had gone through experiments by Dark Eco which can make him transform into a dark beast. Not only that but his personality has changed him into a teenage Jak. The gameplay is a lot different than the first game. You start off in the city and are given tasks to do by people. Once you've completed the first task, you move onto the next one and the next one, so it is like a step up ladder really. There are some challenges too which earn you Precursor Orbs if you pass them. You can ride new vehicles which you can steal from others, some are faster than others so you can get to places quicker because there is a lot of going back and forth in this game. Don't steal any of the krimzon guards vehicles or run into them otherwise the city will go on alert and they will start chasing after you and try and shoot you, try to outrun them if you can but its a real pain and wastes time. In fact its a sort of a GTA spin off this game. There are more tasks to accomplish and tougher ones too. You have new moves as well, spinning and punching is still there but this time you can carry a Rifle. The Rifle has 4 different types of shots and you have to collect these as you progress. And if that wasn't enough, when collect a number of Dark Eco you can transform into a dark beast which makes you unvulnerable for a short period of time and you can go through and smash your way through hundreds of enemies to make your job a much easier. If you collect metal heads you can trade them in to the oracle and he will give you new abilities for your beast form. You can ride on a hoverboard which can float on water and there is a skate arena where you can pull of a few tricks (a bit like playing those Tony Hawk, SSX and Matt Hoffman games). There are hover races too which are loads of fun, there are more bosses this time and for the first time Daxter is a playable character too. This game has virtually everything to make this game stand out and I loved absolutely every bit of it. Bigger gameplay, more challenges and better moves. The graphics are done beautifully and some of the level designs (one of my faviroutes is the one where your inside a temple) are very impressive. The music is perfect and the voice acting is great, especially Daxter's who is as funny as ever. There aren't many sequels out there that are as good as the first but this one is way more superior to the first, so if you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste of Jak 2 Expand
  24. Carlos
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Jak 2 for the PS2 is a fantastic game. It borrows from some of the best games out there and sometimes does it better than them. An example is the shooting mechanics that the game uses are better than Ratchet And Clank I think by the way that blaster(like a rifle ) shoots nicely and always hitting the guy you want. The graphics complement the game in every way with great colors that bloom Jak 2 for the PS2 is a fantastic game. It borrows from some of the best games out there and sometimes does it better than them. An example is the shooting mechanics that the game uses are better than Ratchet And Clank I think by the way that blaster(like a rifle ) shoots nicely and always hitting the guy you want. The graphics complement the game in every way with great colors that bloom in front of your eye showing its not how much power the system has its how you use it. The story is great twisting and turning until you really can not see the line between good and evil. Jak's character is better than the first game by being dark and cool and showing its not trying to be cool. Daxter's character is still funny and grew up in this game. The game is great and you should buy it now. Expand
  25. NickT.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Great game! the graphics are completely smooth as is the gameplay! this game has pretty much everything to want in a game. it's more exciting than jak and daxter and is more difficult than jak 3. the wide cast of characters and the great voiceovers (jak finally talks and dax is hilarious) make this game's great storyline come to life. never bored for a minute. bottom line. amazing game.
  26. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    it's cool, it's more of a dark story and this mo-fo finally talks! game play is cool and story is even better. as well as daxters funny little jokes and almost every cutsecnes.
  27. DavisS.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    The Jak trilogy is my favorite series of games ever, and JakII is the best one. If you don't already have it then i question your common sense!
  28. MateusC.
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Very different from the first game and sometimes very repetitive.. but is a good platformer.
  29. carlosdelvillar
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    I THING THAT THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN THE LEGEND OF ZELDA .THEY ARE THE SAME TIPE OF GAME BUT ZELDA IS FROM THE PAST AND JAK FROM THE FUTURE ZELDA HAS ACCESESORIES LIKE AN SWORD BOMBS AND OLD THINGS LIKE FROM THE 1300'S AND JAK AND DAXTER ARE MORE COOL AND FUNNY BUT JAK HAS BETTER EQUIPAMENT ARMS FROM POWERFUL POTENCE AND LONG DISTANCE TURVOTABLE,MANY CARS AND YOU CAN HIT TO THEI THING THAT THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN THE LEGEND OF ZELDA .THEY ARE THE SAME TIPE OF GAME BUT ZELDA IS FROM THE PAST AND JAK FROM THE FUTURE ZELDA HAS ACCESESORIES LIKE AN SWORD BOMBS AND OLD THINGS LIKE FROM THE 1300'S AND JAK AND DAXTER ARE MORE COOL AND FUNNY BUT JAK HAS BETTER EQUIPAMENT ARMS FROM POWERFUL POTENCE AND LONG DISTANCE TURVOTABLE,MANY CARS AND YOU CAN HIT TO THE CITYCENT'S BUT DAXTER MAKE BIG DESASTERS BUT IT IS FUNNY. BUT IT IS THE SECRET TO MAKE MORE HART Expand
  30. Daniel
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!!!!

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#33 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s undoubtedly a bold (if not brazen) attempt to entertain, and while Gamestyle found itself striving to collect every last item from the first title, it is hard to see the same happening with this one. Which leaves its technical achievements looking rather muted.
  2. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.