Jak II PlayStation 2

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 240
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    If you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened afterIf you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste Jak 2. Jak and Daxter are back in their brand new adventure and this time its bigger and better than ever. The story picks off right after you completed the first game where, Jak and his friends, Kiera and Samos are testing out the Rift Rider and Precurspr Rift gate that you opened after collecting all of the Precursor Orbs in the last game. As you go through you get transported to a place called Haven City which is under command by Baron Praxis. Jak his captured and 2 years have passed since. Daxter manages to find Jak and help him escape, only to find out that Jak had gone through experiments by Dark Eco which can make him transform into a dark beast. Not only that but his personality has changed him into a teenage Jak. The gameplay is a lot different than the first game. You start off in the city and are given tasks to do by people. Once you've completed the first task, you move onto the next one and the next one, so it is like a step up ladder really. There are some challenges too which earn you Precursor Orbs if you pass them. You can ride new vehicles which you can steal from others, some are faster than others so you can get to places quicker because there is a lot of going back and forth in this game. Don't steal any of the krimzon guards vehicles or run into them otherwise the city will go on alert and they will start chasing after you and try and shoot you, try to outrun them if you can but its a real pain and wastes time. In fact its a sort of a GTA spin off this game. There are more tasks to accomplish and tougher ones too. You have new moves as well, spinning and punching is still there but this time you can carry a Rifle. The Rifle has 4 different types of shots and you have to collect these as you progress. And if that wasn't enough, when collect a number of Dark Eco you can transform into a dark beast which makes you unvulnerable for a short period of time and you can go through and smash your way through hundreds of enemies to make your job a much easier. If you collect metal heads you can trade them in to the oracle and he will give you new abilities for your beast form. You can ride on a hoverboard which can float on water and there is a skate arena where you can pull of a few tricks (a bit like playing those Tony Hawk, SSX and Matt Hoffman games). There are hover races too which are loads of fun, there are more bosses this time and for the first time Daxter is a playable character too. This game has virtually everything to make this game stand out and I loved absolutely every bit of it. Bigger gameplay, more challenges and better moves. The graphics are done beautifully and some of the level designs (one of my faviroutes is the one where your inside a temple) are very impressive. The music is perfect and the voice acting is great, especially Daxter's who is as funny as ever. There aren't many sequels out there that are as good as the first but this one is way more superior to the first, so if you thought Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy was a great game wait till you get a taste of Jak 2 Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    8
    What a great game! Hoverboarding is so much fun and Dark Jak is unbelievable. Jak 3 betters it though! The final boss can be infuriating but is very fun! Much better than TPL an dnever gets old!
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Different from the first game but just as good. It should have got a 100.
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    "Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from"Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from the fun of the game. The Precursor Legacy was good, but Jak II is 10 times better in every way. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    In the top 5 best games I ever played. Great story, amazing characters, awesome gameplay, perfect difficulty, not too short, not too long, lots of stuff to collect if you like to go for 100% playthroughs. Loved every moment with this masterpiece.
  6. Apr 27, 2016
    9
    This game is really well done. The smooth animations of Jak still amaze me. Very few games, even today, can rival this. The game features some really good characters. The story is nice, featuring 3 factions, so a little more complex than that of most games. Jak II is full of action and fun and smooth platfroming. And of course: No loading screens! The game loads areas as you are travelingThis game is really well done. The smooth animations of Jak still amaze me. Very few games, even today, can rival this. The game features some really good characters. The story is nice, featuring 3 factions, so a little more complex than that of most games. Jak II is full of action and fun and smooth platfroming. And of course: No loading screens! The game loads areas as you are traveling towards them. A smart system which very few other gamedevelopers have realized. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay
  8. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (IQuite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Expand
  9. MoonyVengence
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Really awesome fun game. Only downside is that younger kids will want to play the sequel which isn't exactly appropriate for all age levels.
  10. BrittanyH.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    This game is like, sooooo awesome!! :D
  11. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still isThe sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still is a very good game I'd recommend for everyone. Expand
  12. JakC.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all my other game look bad everyone accept final fantasy x and i dont know about eye toy.
  13. SteveJ.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    If I could rate this game higher than a 10 I would. This is quite possibly the most addictive game I've ever played. If you take the mindless, over-the-top violence out of Grand Theft Auto and mix what's left with Jak and Daxter, you'll have a pretty good idea of what Jak II is like. Though I'm only a short way into it so far, I feel comfortable saying that this game If I could rate this game higher than a 10 I would. This is quite possibly the most addictive game I've ever played. If you take the mindless, over-the-top violence out of Grand Theft Auto and mix what's left with Jak and Daxter, you'll have a pretty good idea of what Jak II is like. Though I'm only a short way into it so far, I feel comfortable saying that this game will very likely end up in my personal top ten games of all time list. Expand
  14. GregS.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    An Absolutely stunning game that isn't content to simply improve upon the original. It reinvents intself in every way possible, combining numerous genres and gameplay mechanics into a seamless blend of gameplay nirvana, stunning visuals and an engrossing plot that never quits. Huge replay value, definitely worth your money as it's one of the best Platformers ever made...
  15. JustaFan
    May 9, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite game ever! I just can't wait for jak III in october 2004.
  16. Stephen
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    I'm only through the first through levels now, but I find this game superior to the first in every way. Brilliant graphics, great storyline, unrivaled gameplay - this baby's got it all.
  17. Jayrod
    Dec 14, 2003
    8
    This is an okay game, i wouldnt be too dissapointeed if i would've bought this game instead of rented. It gets old after a while though. The most annoying thing about it is it is another immitation, a really bad immitation, of GTA. >:(
  18. BonehoC.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect executed. The graphics are to it's full potential. The sound fits perfectly to the atmosphere of the game. The level design is without a doubt some of the best I've ever seen in a game. The level designers took each level to their advantage. This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect executed. The graphics are to it's full potential. The sound fits perfectly to the atmosphere of the game. The level design is without a doubt some of the best I've ever seen in a game. The level designers took each level to their advantage. The story and the characters make the game very deep and interesting. The voice acting is very professional and fits each character. The humor of the game at times had me laughing out loud, thanks to Daxter. Thankfully this game long. Almost half of the games on the market right can be beaten in an insanely short rate. That was one of the worst things about the original game. Sure the difficulty can be challenging, but most of the time I find it rather easy. Well, unlike many of the games I own, almost all of the challenges in this game takes more than 5 tries and plently of patience. With the addition of Dark Jak, hovercrafts, guns, and attitude, Jak II really beats it's original by far. The replay value is also a very long and fun. With so many extras its fun to come back for more. Expand
  19. MattG.
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    This game rocked.
  20. MateusC.
    Feb 3, 2006
    8
    Very different from the first game and sometimes very repetitive.. but is a good platformer.
  21. DavisS.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    The Jak trilogy is my favorite series of games ever, and JakII is the best one. If you don't already have it then i question your common sense!
  22. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    it's cool, it's more of a dark story and this mo-fo finally talks! game play is cool and story is even better. as well as daxters funny little jokes and almost every cutsecnes.
  23. FrankH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game ever! It has all the great stuff that you would like in an action/ adventure game.
  24. MichaelT.
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Jaks back and this time it's personal. Jak II is a great game with some really amazing graphics but not without it's small graphical quips. This game is all about polish and it shows, Naughty Dog set out to one up it's last effort with this game and in most areas did extremely well but getting used to the GTA influened city controls did take some getting used to. At times Jaks back and this time it's personal. Jak II is a great game with some really amazing graphics but not without it's small graphical quips. This game is all about polish and it shows, Naughty Dog set out to one up it's last effort with this game and in most areas did extremely well but getting used to the GTA influened city controls did take some getting used to. At times it feels forced but a few hours into the game and it's all good. Jak II is a great game for fans of platformers and adventure games. Expand
  25. MacH.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Best game ever!!
  26. MattK.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    I unsubscribed from GameSpy just because of what a low score that loser from that site gave this game. I simply cannot understand the motivation behind his incredibly negative review. My only guess is that he is one of those die-hard NintendoBoys or a Bandwagon X-Boxer, and ANYTHING on the PS2 is simply not up to his standards. Whatever. In my opinion, this game is simply one of the most I unsubscribed from GameSpy just because of what a low score that loser from that site gave this game. I simply cannot understand the motivation behind his incredibly negative review. My only guess is that he is one of those die-hard NintendoBoys or a Bandwagon X-Boxer, and ANYTHING on the PS2 is simply not up to his standards. Whatever. In my opinion, this game is simply one of the most original, beautiful, replayable platformers EVER!! Do yourself a favor and pick this game up IMMEDIATELY. You will NOT be disappointed. Expand
  27. RonH.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This is possibly the best game I have ever played. The sheer number of levels are staggering. The difficulty is at times easy and other times completely frustrating, but you can't put it down. I see NO comparison to Grand Theft Auto and am confused with the two games being spoken of in the same sentence. The graphics are amazing. The scenery changes fom day to night with sunrises, This is possibly the best game I have ever played. The sheer number of levels are staggering. The difficulty is at times easy and other times completely frustrating, but you can't put it down. I see NO comparison to Grand Theft Auto and am confused with the two games being spoken of in the same sentence. The graphics are amazing. The scenery changes fom day to night with sunrises, sunsets and everything in between. The best $50 you could spend. It is a bit too much for young kids with the language, and the language really isn't necessary. It's replay value is not very good, but I'll be first in line for the next installment of this series! Expand
  28. JamalC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Dis game wuz hecka sick . GTA type a game cept it was t. i liked da car jackin . dis a 1 sick game. holla at ya boy twice oo.
  29. AndreaS.
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    This is a great game. However, I regret that the story line is much more linear than the original Jak and Daxter. On the other hand, it's still a fast-paced fun game that both my 8-year-old and I can play together.
  30. carlosdelvillar
    Nov 4, 2005
    9
    I THING THAT THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN THE LEGEND OF ZELDA .THEY ARE THE SAME TIPE OF GAME BUT ZELDA IS FROM THE PAST AND JAK FROM THE FUTURE ZELDA HAS ACCESESORIES LIKE AN SWORD BOMBS AND OLD THINGS LIKE FROM THE 1300'S AND JAK AND DAXTER ARE MORE COOL AND FUNNY BUT JAK HAS BETTER EQUIPAMENT ARMS FROM POWERFUL POTENCE AND LONG DISTANCE TURVOTABLE,MANY CARS AND YOU CAN HIT TO THEI THING THAT THIS GAME IS BETTER THAN THE LEGEND OF ZELDA .THEY ARE THE SAME TIPE OF GAME BUT ZELDA IS FROM THE PAST AND JAK FROM THE FUTURE ZELDA HAS ACCESESORIES LIKE AN SWORD BOMBS AND OLD THINGS LIKE FROM THE 1300'S AND JAK AND DAXTER ARE MORE COOL AND FUNNY BUT JAK HAS BETTER EQUIPAMENT ARMS FROM POWERFUL POTENCE AND LONG DISTANCE TURVOTABLE,MANY CARS AND YOU CAN HIT TO THE CITYCENT'S BUT DAXTER MAKE BIG DESASTERS BUT IT IS FUNNY. BUT IT IS THE SECRET TO MAKE MORE HART Expand

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#29 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s undoubtedly a bold (if not brazen) attempt to entertain, and while Gamestyle found itself striving to collect every last item from the first title, it is hard to see the same happening with this one. Which leaves its technical achievements looking rather muted.
  2. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.