Jak II PlayStation 2

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 245
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JakC.
    Dec 26, 2003
    10
    If you are a a gta freak. You will think this game rulesbreak cars killing police stealing hovers and blastin with guns.This game makes all my other game look bad everyone accept final fantasy x and i dont know about eye toy.
  2. SteveJ.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    If I could rate this game higher than a 10 I would. This is quite possibly the most addictive game I've ever played. If you take the mindless, over-the-top violence out of Grand Theft Auto and mix what's left with Jak and Daxter, you'll have a pretty good idea of what Jak II is like. Though I'm only a short way into it so far, I feel comfortable saying that this game If I could rate this game higher than a 10 I would. This is quite possibly the most addictive game I've ever played. If you take the mindless, over-the-top violence out of Grand Theft Auto and mix what's left with Jak and Daxter, you'll have a pretty good idea of what Jak II is like. Though I'm only a short way into it so far, I feel comfortable saying that this game will very likely end up in my personal top ten games of all time list. Expand
  3. GregS.
    Oct 5, 2003
    10
    An Absolutely stunning game that isn't content to simply improve upon the original. It reinvents intself in every way possible, combining numerous genres and gameplay mechanics into a seamless blend of gameplay nirvana, stunning visuals and an engrossing plot that never quits. Huge replay value, definitely worth your money as it's one of the best Platformers ever made...
  4. JustaFan
    May 9, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite game ever! I just can't wait for jak III in october 2004.
  5. Stephen
    Oct 14, 2003
    10
    I'm only through the first through levels now, but I find this game superior to the first in every way. Brilliant graphics, great storyline, unrivaled gameplay - this baby's got it all.
  6. BonehoC.
    Jan 1, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect executed. The graphics are to it's full potential. The sound fits perfectly to the atmosphere of the game. The level design is without a doubt some of the best I've ever seen in a game. The level designers took each level to their advantage. This is one of my favorite games. The gameplay is extremely addicting and it's almost impossible to resist. The controls are perfect executed. The graphics are to it's full potential. The sound fits perfectly to the atmosphere of the game. The level design is without a doubt some of the best I've ever seen in a game. The level designers took each level to their advantage. The story and the characters make the game very deep and interesting. The voice acting is very professional and fits each character. The humor of the game at times had me laughing out loud, thanks to Daxter. Thankfully this game long. Almost half of the games on the market right can be beaten in an insanely short rate. That was one of the worst things about the original game. Sure the difficulty can be challenging, but most of the time I find it rather easy. Well, unlike many of the games I own, almost all of the challenges in this game takes more than 5 tries and plently of patience. With the addition of Dark Jak, hovercrafts, guns, and attitude, Jak II really beats it's original by far. The replay value is also a very long and fun. With so many extras its fun to come back for more. Expand
  7. BrittanyH.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    This game is like, sooooo awesome!! :D
  8. MattG.
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    This game rocked.
  9. DavisS.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    The Jak trilogy is my favorite series of games ever, and JakII is the best one. If you don't already have it then i question your common sense!
  10. FrankH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    This game is the best game ever! It has all the great stuff that you would like in an action/ adventure game.
  11. MacH.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Best game ever!!
  12. MattK.
    Oct 18, 2003
    10
    I unsubscribed from GameSpy just because of what a low score that loser from that site gave this game. I simply cannot understand the motivation behind his incredibly negative review. My only guess is that he is one of those die-hard NintendoBoys or a Bandwagon X-Boxer, and ANYTHING on the PS2 is simply not up to his standards. Whatever. In my opinion, this game is simply one of the most I unsubscribed from GameSpy just because of what a low score that loser from that site gave this game. I simply cannot understand the motivation behind his incredibly negative review. My only guess is that he is one of those die-hard NintendoBoys or a Bandwagon X-Boxer, and ANYTHING on the PS2 is simply not up to his standards. Whatever. In my opinion, this game is simply one of the most original, beautiful, replayable platformers EVER!! Do yourself a favor and pick this game up IMMEDIATELY. You will NOT be disappointed. Expand
  13. RonH.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This is possibly the best game I have ever played. The sheer number of levels are staggering. The difficulty is at times easy and other times completely frustrating, but you can't put it down. I see NO comparison to Grand Theft Auto and am confused with the two games being spoken of in the same sentence. The graphics are amazing. The scenery changes fom day to night with sunrises, This is possibly the best game I have ever played. The sheer number of levels are staggering. The difficulty is at times easy and other times completely frustrating, but you can't put it down. I see NO comparison to Grand Theft Auto and am confused with the two games being spoken of in the same sentence. The graphics are amazing. The scenery changes fom day to night with sunrises, sunsets and everything in between. The best $50 you could spend. It is a bit too much for young kids with the language, and the language really isn't necessary. It's replay value is not very good, but I'll be first in line for the next installment of this series! Expand
  14. JamalC.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    Dis game wuz hecka sick . GTA type a game cept it was t. i liked da car jackin . dis a 1 sick game. holla at ya boy twice oo.
  15. Daniel
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    This game is the best ever!!!!!!
  16. NickT.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Great game! the graphics are completely smooth as is the gameplay! this game has pretty much everything to want in a game. it's more exciting than jak and daxter and is more difficult than jak 3. the wide cast of characters and the great voiceovers (jak finally talks and dax is hilarious) make this game's great storyline come to life. never bored for a minute. bottom line. amazing game.
  17. CandiceA.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    Really cool! Dark Jak kicks butt! Daxter keeps you laughing the whole time.
  18. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. Different from the first game but just as good. It should have got a 100.
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (IQuite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Expand
  20. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    Jak 2 show how a sequel should be made it took every thing from the first one and made the game better intelligent Ai, bigger worlds, more characters jak 2 is a beautiful
  21. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    "Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from"Jak II" is easily the best game in the Jak and Daxter series. The graphics are still good even to this day, there's a lot of replay value (I'm currently beating the game for the 9th time and I'm not even close to getting sick of it), and Jak is just BAMF to play as. Jak's "Dark Jak" powers make the game even more fun. There are a lot of challenging missions, but that does not detract from the fun of the game. The Precursor Legacy was good, but Jak II is 10 times better in every way. Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay
  23. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    In the top 5 best games I ever played. Great story, amazing characters, awesome gameplay, perfect difficulty, not too short, not too long, lots of stuff to collect if you like to go for 100% playthroughs. Loved every moment with this masterpiece.
  24. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good.Naughty Dog changed Jak and Daxter from beautiful and calm to dark and gun weighted game. They succeeded. It is still incredible game. Many says that Jak II is a very hard game, but when you play it second time, it isn't. Gameplay is quiet different from the predecessor, because now guns are the main thing. It is distressing, that platforming suffers. The story, however is very, very good. It has funny moments, twists and sinister feeling. Cutscenes are superb. It's almost like different franchise, but still 10 out of 10 easily. Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    this game was funny, thrilling, and somewhat romantic. This is probably the best jak game in the series and it's a must buy for anyone who likes platformers.
  26. Mar 19, 2016
    10
    i found this game very kool, this game just turned out to the gta of platform, the levels and gameplay were kool, i liked riding the hoverboard, it gets difficult later on though
  27. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain it would be GTA in the future. And not some cheap GTA knockoff, but a fully fledged polished one that's honestly one of the most fun games ever. All the guns, the freaking hoverboard and even the dark powers. They simply don't make games like this
    In-fukin-credible!

    I've played through this game way too many times. Everyone who doesn't know what it's about, the easiest way to explain it would be GTA in the future. And not some cheap GTA knockoff, but a fully fledged polished one that's honestly one of the most fun games ever. All the guns, the freaking hoverboard and even the dark powers. They simply don't make games like this anymore. The story is epic, and the game is actually quite hard. I however remember wasting more time with just messing around than doing the missions. There are small challenges everywhere, like getting some insane hoverboard trick combos while the police is flying around busting your ass. Or doing a race in a huge stadium, or shooting off alien creatures along with AI companions. There's just too many things to list, and these are just small side activies.

    I could probably talk about this game forever, but I'll just leave it at this. If you haven't played through the series, you're definitely missing out!
    Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2016
    10
    This is in my opinion, the best installment of the Jak and Daxter series. This game was my childhood- it was one of the first games I ever truly fell in love with. The story and voice acting is fantastic, the gameplay is challenging and fun, the characters are unique, and I haven't run into any bugs yet. I cannot express my love for this outlandish, colorful game. Its open world aspectThis is in my opinion, the best installment of the Jak and Daxter series. This game was my childhood- it was one of the first games I ever truly fell in love with. The story and voice acting is fantastic, the gameplay is challenging and fun, the characters are unique, and I haven't run into any bugs yet. I cannot express my love for this outlandish, colorful game. Its open world aspect makes it loads of fun as well. With the remastered edition of all the Jak and Daxter games, for only around twenty bucks, there's no reason why shouldn't give this franchise a try. The new characteristics and changes from the first game, specifically towards Jak, are very evident. He's no longer happy go lucky, and he talks. His voice is rough and deep, and he's angry and looking for revenge; and let me tell you, I love it. The hover-cars and car jacking system is great, and can be loads of fun. People draw parallels from this game to GTA- but in reality, Jak is its own unique game. Please, give this amazing game a try! You will not be disappointed! Expand
  29. MoonyVengence
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Really awesome fun game. Only downside is that younger kids will want to play the sequel which isn't exactly appropriate for all age levels.
  30. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    it's cool, it's more of a dark story and this mo-fo finally talks! game play is cool and story is even better. as well as daxters funny little jokes and almost every cutsecnes.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#22 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s undoubtedly a bold (if not brazen) attempt to entertain, and while Gamestyle found itself striving to collect every last item from the first title, it is hard to see the same happening with this one. Which leaves its technical achievements looking rather muted.
  2. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.