Jak II PlayStation 2

Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missionsIn Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  2. 100
    This may be the best adventure game you have ever played, or will play in a long while.
  3. 95
    I have to be honest with you – this is what you own a PlayStation 2 for.
  4. While some players might not like the drastic change from the original Jak and Daxter, I found it to be very fun and absolutely loved it.
  5. 90
    Our other issue with the game is that the city where the game takes place, despite having hundreds-if-not-thousands of people, feels very empty.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. Lacks the cohesion, pacing, and spirit the others possess. All else being equal, those missing qualities put Jak II squarely at the rear of the pack.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that itsThis game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  2. BrittanyH.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    This game is like, sooooo awesome!! :D
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    this game was funny, thrilling, and somewhat romantic. This is probably the best jak game in the series and it's a must buy for anyone whothis game was funny, thrilling, and somewhat romantic. This is probably the best jak game in the series and it's a must buy for anyone who likes platformers. Expand
  4. MoonyVengence
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Really awesome fun game. Only downside is that younger kids will want to play the sequel which isn't exactly appropriate for all age levels.
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Not as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on thisNot as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on this precious gem I recommend you buy it! Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    7
    Heres the problem with jak 2. they changed too much it feels like grand theft auto. but a very horrible version of grand theft auto. the gameHeres the problem with jak 2. they changed too much it feels like grand theft auto. but a very horrible version of grand theft auto. the game feels more like a chore to play, and its really difficult and frustrating at some points(The part at the docks where you have to fight a buttload of krimson guards, which was a real pain in my a$$). there was also no proper way to use your weapons which added to the frustration. In Ratchet and Clank going commando (a perfect game) you do not experience any of these problems. The original Jak and daxter is a great game. get that and not this mess. Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    0
    WHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of allWHY DOES EVERYONE LIKE THIS GAME?! IT"S BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST GAMES I EVER The original Jak and Daxter was one of my favorite games of all time! And now they ruined it BY MAKING IT A **** GTA CLONE! Why?! Why did you do this, Naughty Dog? You had something great going on with the first game, and now, THIS?! This is just... UIBY FC,mjkhudtr7tu[gmhcgxkfyri75oe6r7py. Sorry, I got so pissed that I pressed all the buttons on my keyboard randomly. Anyways, it's not just the change in gameplay that annoys me, it's these **** missions! This game has a **** up check point system. Trust me, it's screwed up. If you die once, you have to go a huge chunk back in the level. Soundtrack wise, they didn't do anything to improve the already lacking soundtrack from the first game. And graphically-- IT SUCKS!!! It's so dark and bland, I mean... what the hell happened? The first game had a lot of color, and now this? So in conclusion, if you're anything like me, don't buy this game or rent it. Hell, don't even watch anyone play it. I despise this game. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

18
6
#6 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
16
#16 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003