Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missionsIn Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. I was hooked on the gameplay and the story of Jak II almost immediately and my addiction and love of the game hasn’t subsided weeks later. Jak II is, without question, one of the finest gaming experiences I’ve ever had.
  2. 100
    This may be the best adventure game you have ever played, or will play in a long while.
  3. 95
    I have to be honest with you – this is what you own a PlayStation 2 for.
  4. While some players might not like the drastic change from the original Jak and Daxter, I found it to be very fun and absolutely loved it.
  5. 90
    Our other issue with the game is that the city where the game takes place, despite having hundreds-if-not-thousands of people, feels very empty.
  6. Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. Lacks the cohesion, pacing, and spirit the others possess. All else being equal, those missing qualities put Jak II squarely at the rear of the pack.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that itsThis game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  2. BrittanyH.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    This game is like, sooooo awesome!! :D
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right upQuite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Expand
  4. AndreaS.
    Dec 5, 2003
    9
    This is a great game. However, I regret that the story line is much more linear than the original Jak and Daxter. On the other hand, This is a great game. However, I regret that the story line is much more linear than the original Jak and Daxter. On the other hand, it's still a fast-paced fun game that both my 8-year-old and I can play together. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    Not as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on thisNot as good as the first in my opinion. But this is easily one of the best games the Playstation 2 has to offer. If you missed out on this precious gem I recommend you buy it! Expand
  6. Jayrod
    Dec 14, 2003
    8
    This is an okay game, i wouldnt be too dissapointeed if i would've bought this game instead of rented. It gets old after a while though. This is an okay game, i wouldnt be too dissapointeed if i would've bought this game instead of rented. It gets old after a while though. The most annoying thing about it is it is another immitation, a really bad immitation, of GTA. >:( Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I tried to like this game, as much as I could. It got to the point where I couldn't continue to force myself to play this game. This game is almost like a GTA knock off and I absolutely hate it. Many would disagree with me, but hear me out.

    The first game was a Action-Adventure Platformer where you seek for powercells and acquire them through various trades and challenges. The objective was liner and straight forward, go north in search of Gaul (However his name is spelt) and attempt to change Daxter back. The ending of the first game lead to a door that led to a cliffhanger for the next squeal. The game was absolutely beautiful and loved every minute of it.

    At the beginning of Jak II, you are given the opening cut scene of what is a giant ring with no explanation of it. Jak presses a button and is mysteriously attacked by a 3-eyed rhino of a monster which then leads to Jak, Daxter, the Green Sage, and Kaira (Again, not entirely sure of the spelling) off into what is a rift gate and are separated. Jak and Daxter are transported to a city which Jak gets captured and is submitted to Dark Eco injections for the next 2 years. Daxter breaks Jak out, and you are sent into the city of Haven.

    The first thing I noticed during the tutorial was that the sound effects of Jaks jumps weren't of him from the first game. Next, Jak can transformed into some sort of super being of dark eco and is sent upon the city. After, you are greeted by some prick who never tells you his name and is sent mission after mission to some place without any story progress; at least I felt like there was none.

    A broken game feature was the checkpoint system; yes, its Effing broken. You could be more than 75% done with the mission, but if you die sorry. Go back to square one with the same amount of ammo that you had from where you died. Oh yeah, you're given an Effing gun.

    Instead of being an Action-Adventure, Naughty Dog decided to say "Hey! Lets switch genres and turn it into a shooter! All the kids love shooters!" Yeah, not the kids who played the first game. This game turned into a shooter with very little platforming. And for the very little platforming you can do, they also decided to say "screw barriers and invisible walls! If you fall out of the map! Tough luck! Back to square one!"

    Hover cars are another broken feature in this game due to how weak like paper mache they are. 3 hits into some object and bye bye car; it doesn't make it easy if theres another hover car 2 feet away from you and everywhere. For the racing mission in 3 minutes, freaking impossible! I kept my car running and I still couldn't make it no matter how many different routes I took.

    These are my problems with Jak II. The game is utterly horrible. If you've played the first game, stick to the first game please. You're not missing much. If you really want to know the story, go look up on youtube or where ever if you want to know that bad. But it's seriously not worth your money.
    Expand

See all 61 User Reviews