Jak II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Jak II, Jak has an entirely new move set (Dark Jak) to augment his previous move set. He has more moves with his new toys as well - gun moves (including kick/shooting combos), and entire Jet Board move set and tricks. Daxter has some special surprises as well. There are escort missions where Jak goes into a level area with another character and the player must work with them to complete a task. Jak II enemies have more A.I. and respond to Jak with intelligent intent. [Daniel Arey] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. Visually the game is absolutely stunning, with in-game character models that are at least three times as detailed as those seen in the first game. Level design is artistic as it is functional. [Nov 2003, p.32]
  2. 100
    The most inventive, entertaining action-platform set pieces I've ever seen in a 3D world... One of the best games of 2003. [Nov 2003, p.50]
  3. Naughty Dog's expansion of Jak and Daxter's world to include different forms of gameplay has been seamless, and should open up their adventures to those who find the very concept of platform games anathema.
  4. This game has everything for everyone whether you’re into those car-jacking ways, killing innocent pedestrians, or just enjoy humor and huge exploration. Either way, you can’t go wrong with this title.
  5. Extremely colorful and detailed, the environments and character models will make you think you're playing an Xbox game - and an excellent Xbox game at that. The environments are huge and imaginative.
  6. Less successful is the convoluted city design that forces you to spend considerable time in transit between levels. Put up with this annoyance - the missions are an addictive blast. [17 Oct 2003, p.L2T 20]
  7. 60
    These new elements seem to have been thrown in merely for the sake of being different, and the result is a confused mishmash of ideas that is more banal and frustrating than fresh or exciting.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is the essence of my childhood, I must have played it 10 times. Its a little late to be writing a review but I feel that its important to tell people how great this game is! Everything is perfect mystery, sci-fi, comedy, action and of course solid gameplay Expand
  2. BrittanyH.
    Mar 14, 2004
    10
    This game is like, sooooo awesome!! :D
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Quite honestly the best game I have ever played in my entire life, the gameplay is perfectly balanced and endlessly fun, the story is right up there with titles like Halo and Assassin's Creed, the graphics are among the best on PS2 and Haven City is intricately and beautifully designed, even from a modern day perspective (2nd November, 2011) this is among the best games of all time (I willingly compare it to the likes of "Ocarina of Time", "Super Mario Galaxy" "Metroid Prime", couple all the above praise with a unique charm and unbeatable humour and you have a classic you'll treasure for all time.
    One flaw, the 200 collectible precursor orbs are almost impossible to gather, given that they appear in some places that you never get a chance to revisit (like the metalhead nest), but the collectibles make up about 0.1% of Jak II, so don't stress your **** about it, it detracts very little to the ultimate perfection that is Jak II
    Collapse
  4. MoonyVengence
    Nov 14, 2003
    9
    Really awesome fun game. Only downside is that younger kids will want to play the sequel which isn't exactly appropriate for all age levels.
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    The sequel to the first Jak and Daxter game is a great game with more content and game play added. The game has platformer elements like the first game but it's also gotten a shooter element to it. The game again is completely open world and is fun to explore. Some of the levels have pretty bad check points and over all the game isn't as good as the first game in my opinion but it still is a very good game I'd recommend for everyone. Expand
  6. Apr 29, 2011
    7
    Fortunately, the maturity of Jak II does include some fun. Pros: Fantastic graphics; variety of gameplay and weapons; fair voice acting and character designs; lengthier than the first game. Cons: A somewhat dull storyline set in a somewhat dull world; cheesy dialog; hideous soundtrack. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I tried to like this game, as much as I could. It got to the point where I couldn't continue to force myself to play this game. This game is almost like a GTA knock off and I absolutely hate it. Many would disagree with me, but hear me out.

    The first game was a Action-Adventure Platformer where you seek for powercells and acquire them through various trades and challenges. The objective was liner and straight forward, go north in search of Gaul (However his name is spelt) and attempt to change Daxter back. The ending of the first game lead to a door that led to a cliffhanger for the next squeal. The game was absolutely beautiful and loved every minute of it.

    At the beginning of Jak II, you are given the opening cut scene of what is a giant ring with no explanation of it. Jak presses a button and is mysteriously attacked by a 3-eyed rhino of a monster which then leads to Jak, Daxter, the Green Sage, and Kaira (Again, not entirely sure of the spelling) off into what is a rift gate and are separated. Jak and Daxter are transported to a city which Jak gets captured and is submitted to Dark Eco injections for the next 2 years. Daxter breaks Jak out, and you are sent into the city of Haven.

    The first thing I noticed during the tutorial was that the sound effects of Jaks jumps weren't of him from the first game. Next, Jak can transformed into some sort of super being of dark eco and is sent upon the city. After, you are greeted by some prick who never tells you his name and is sent mission after mission to some place without any story progress; at least I felt like there was none.

    A broken game feature was the checkpoint system; yes, its Effing broken. You could be more than 75% done with the mission, but if you die sorry. Go back to square one with the same amount of ammo that you had from where you died. Oh yeah, you're given an Effing gun.

    Instead of being an Action-Adventure, Naughty Dog decided to say "Hey! Lets switch genres and turn it into a shooter! All the kids love shooters!" Yeah, not the kids who played the first game. This game turned into a shooter with very little platforming. And for the very little platforming you can do, they also decided to say "screw barriers and invisible walls! If you fall out of the map! Tough luck! Back to square one!"

    Hover cars are another broken feature in this game due to how weak like paper mache they are. 3 hits into some object and bye bye car; it doesn't make it easy if theres another hover car 2 feet away from you and everywhere. For the racing mission in 3 minutes, freaking impossible! I kept my car running and I still couldn't make it no matter how many different routes I took.

    These are my problems with Jak II. The game is utterly horrible. If you've played the first game, stick to the first game please. You're not missing much. If you really want to know the story, go look up on youtube or where ever if you want to know that bad. But it's seriously not worth your money.
    Expand

See all 60 User Reviews