User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! Single player is whatever, but the best part is playing against bots in the local multiplayer. Playing against bots is really fun and there is lots of options to make it harder/easier.
  2. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game. You can get past the violence by remembering that it's James Bond. The graphics are great and seamless. Multi-player is chaotic and fun. The story line feels like a James Bond plot. The weapons are great, and in multi-player it is very nice to have the separate sets of weapons to choose from. The original James Bond theme song mix and the other songs are goodThis is an incredible game. You can get past the violence by remembering that it's James Bond. The graphics are great and seamless. Multi-player is chaotic and fun. The story line feels like a James Bond plot. The weapons are great, and in multi-player it is very nice to have the separate sets of weapons to choose from. The original James Bond theme song mix and the other songs are good and represent the feel of each level accurately. The underwater level has an eery feel, matched with eery music. I love how the first mission is like the opening action sequences of the movies: grabs your attention, but unrelated to the plot. This adds to the James Bond effect. I love how in multi-player you can get the golden gun, and how you can fight in levels based off settings in the movies, as well as shrunk versions of the maps in the game. Collapse
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    What a great game. The multiplayer to this day is tough to beat. Shooter games are one genre that I find grows less fun as it gets more realistic, and this one has just the right blend of realism and, in certain spots, a fun lack thereof.
  4. Duffbag
    May 6, 2003
    10
    Cool.
  5. RJblake
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    This game is great for peopl who like first person shooters.
  6. Bestgameever
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    You can play this game multiple times!
  7. [Aonymous]
    Feb 26, 2003
    10
    DUDE! THIS GAME TOTALLY ROCKS! It needs to have multiplayer Co-Op and more! You need MORE MAPS! MORE GUNS! MORE SUITS! but then SINGLE PLAYER IS A BLAST!!!!!!!! it is great and though the loading sequence is kind of annoying it has alot of nice objectives. The games not to easy but not too hard its just rite!!!!!!
  8. RyanM.
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    One of my favorite first person shooters ever. I love this game, but only if i owned it...
  9. LuisC.
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    This is a very good game a bit short and irritating on the underwater missions.
  10. ChrisC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    10
    This game is the best shooting game i have ever played. I dont really like 3rd person shooting games so this is great.
  11. BarfB.
    Jun 11, 2003
    10
    It's a extreeeeem game!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. TyC.
    Feb 23, 2004
    9
    I thought this was the best James Bond Game...Yet!!! I can't wait to try out Everything or Nothing.
  13. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Nightfire is the best Bond game since Goldeneye 007 on the N64. The story mode has a great plot and numerous difficulty settings, however it is a bit too short.
    The multiplayer game is brilliant, the bots aren't brilliant but there are many characters to choose from and personalities along with game rules and weapon sets can be adjusted to a tee. While now in 2010 the graphics are slightly
    Nightfire is the best Bond game since Goldeneye 007 on the N64. The story mode has a great plot and numerous difficulty settings, however it is a bit too short.
    The multiplayer game is brilliant, the bots aren't brilliant but there are many characters to choose from and personalities along with game rules and weapon sets can be adjusted to a tee. While now in 2010 the graphics are slightly dated they do stand up somewhat. A fun game.
    Expand
  14. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    One of the best shooters in my opinion, still holds up to this date! Incredible, fun and just awesome. i would have liked the missions to be a little longer though.
  15. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    This is a very fun game to play by yourself, but preferrably with friends. It's a true party game, as the popular gamers from James and Mike Mondays have shown us. The guns are super fun, especially the explosive ones. The story is fun from the beginning to the end, but gets hard really quickly. Cutscenes are also masterly done. One flaw is the classic aiming that is known throughout theThis is a very fun game to play by yourself, but preferrably with friends. It's a true party game, as the popular gamers from James and Mike Mondays have shown us. The guns are super fun, especially the explosive ones. The story is fun from the beginning to the end, but gets hard really quickly. Cutscenes are also masterly done. One flaw is the classic aiming that is known throughout the Bond series to be awful, exceptions being hip-aiming and snipers. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2016
    8
    A great shooter on the PS2. Good story, fun gameplay with lots of variety. The stages are well designed. The multiplayer is a very enjoyable experience as well.
  17. May 26, 2017
    8
    I didn't grow up with Goldeneye on the N64. Instead, I grew up in this era of Bond games and Nightfire is easily the best Bond game as the controls actually hold up, unlike Goldeneye.
  18. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game. You can get past the violence by remembering that it's James Bond. The graphics are great and seamless. Multi-player is chaotic and fun. The story line feels like a James Bond plot. The weapons are great, and in multi-player it is very nice to have the separate sets of weapons to choose from. The original James Bond theme song mix and the other songs are goodThis is an incredible game. You can get past the violence by remembering that it's James Bond. The graphics are great and seamless. Multi-player is chaotic and fun. The story line feels like a James Bond plot. The weapons are great, and in multi-player it is very nice to have the separate sets of weapons to choose from. The original James Bond theme song mix and the other songs are good and represent the feel of each level accurately. The underwater level has an eery feel, matched with eery music. I love how the first mission is like the opening action sequences of the movies: grabs your attention, but unrelated to the plot. This adds to the James Bond effect. I love how in multi-player you can get the golden gun, and how you can fight in levels based off settings in the movies, as well as shrunk versions of the maps in the game. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#50 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A little more challenge, depth, and length with the trimming of the lame on-rails levels would have made this one a near classic. As it is, though, it's an above-average shooter with just enough variety and charm to make the familiar trip worth your time.
  2. PSM Magazine
    70
    Definitely takes a step in the right direction, but everything is still so predictable. [Holiday 2002, p.38]
  3. 81
    It's fun as far as it goes, but the experience can't help but feel a little limited at times -- you go there, you do this, you whack a few bad guys in between, and do it all over again once a new objective arises.