Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. It's not one of those games you'll play forever, but I suspect that for many it will be one of those games that sits on the shelf so that any time you're feeling particularly evil or you've just had a bad day, you'll load it up and go eat some people.
  2. The game is fun whether you are playing in small doses or a long sit-down marathon as there is plenty to do, see, and kill along the way. The best part of it all is that it retails for under 30 bucks! That is like a dollar an hour considering that's about how long it will take to find and do everything.
  3. 74
    Though it's correct that JAWS does suffer from a number of bothersome glitches, numerous camera issues, and sometimes-infuriating lock-ups, it also benefits from a number of gruesomely satisfying missions, a large environment to play around with, and unique combat maneuvers that you just can't do in any other game.
  4. It's a testament to the imagination of the developers that they keep coming up with variations on the central theme of "eat everyone." [Sept 2006, p.79]
  5. Jaws is genuinely witty, outrageously violent and top fun but - wait for it - slightly lacking in depth. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  6. Original, fun and a fine test of the grey matter as much as it is of the reflexes. It's just a shame that there's not enough meat to make it a must.
  7. It's a reasonable amount of fun at a budget price, but as Martin Brody might say, "I think we're gonna need a better game."
  8. Having grown tired of boring crime simulators, I find playing as a killer shark to be a refreshing change of pace, and the game's various bells and whistles, such as the JAWS theme and the sound of hapless divers screaming underwater are joys to listen to.
  9. A decent ocean adventure with bite, but distracting as it is, it's unlikely to set up a Jaws: Unleashed 2, let alone a Jaws IV: The Revenge. [Aug 2006, p.64]
  10. The abstruse design and technical flaws leave us cold, but the sheer potential for savage bastardry makes it undeniably fun.
  11. Don't get us wrong - we like being a shark, but technical flaws and obtuse design sink what could otherwise have been a great game. [Sep 2006, p.88]
  12. I’m all for something different, but the fact that the developers don’t even attempt to acknowledge that their tongue is planted firmly in their cheeks makes me think that they expect us to take this game seriously. There’s not enough mind-altering chemicals on the planet to make that a reality.
  13. It's difficult to review a game like JAWS Unleashed without feeling a bit frustrated, because the idea shows so much promise, yet the execution is just plain terrible.
  14. 55
    Putting the entire flawed premise of Jaws aside, Jaws: Unleashed would be a decent title to play if the camera system, collision detection, and graphics were up to par. But unfortunately, Jaws garners lackluster scores in every one of those categories.
  15. What could have been a very neat idea is ruined by a bad camera, buggy gameplay, and totally ridiculous mission objectives.
  16. After this miserable showing, the only waters that Jaws will be patrolling are those of the great video game toilet. [Aug 2006, p.84]
  17. 48
    Dull and ever so slightly irritating. [Issue#146, p.95]
  18. JAWS Unleashed could’ve been a great game, given it’s unique premise and experienced developer. Unfortunately, the game is too buggy and has too many issues to make it one to recommend.
  19. With the exceptions of deplorably bad cutscenes and haphazard signposting, there are few significant flaws here that a steadier gestation couldn’t have resolved. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  20. Cashing in on the Jaws franchise may have been a brilliant idea on paper, but this game struggles to entertain with a poor storyline and frustrating controls.
  21. Jaws Unleashed is a rather scant offering, but it could still be your new guilty pleasure. The field of shark simulators is rather narrow, and it’s entirely possible that Jaws Unleashed wins top honors just by showing up. Perfect for kicking back and turning your brain off, but not much more.
  22. In the spirit of generosity, we'll offer that there's about 30 minutes of entertainment to be had.
  23. 40
    Spending 30 minutes aimlessly wondering around because you can't figure out what random part of the environment you're supposed to manipulate or sequence of moves to string together to topple a structure is unforgivable.
  24. Playing Appaloosa's ultraviolent and ultrastupid take on the titular killer shark is about as much fun as having your legs chewed off.
  25. The aforementioned camera and perspective problems are the worst, but the "hunger meter" seems to fill up and dissipate so arbitrarily that you never know what your stomach needs.
  26. 30
    Just play the old NES game. We don't remember the Jaws movie where they had to collect seashells and bomb jellyfish with airplanes, but it was more fun than this.
  27. Defending myself from a shark attack would be more entertaining. [Aug 2006, p.77]
  28. If playing Jaws Unleashed has taught me one thing about game design, it's that if you're going to put a single fun thing in a game it's best to put it right up front where people can see it, and hopefully trick them into thinking that the entire game is fun.
  29. It provides roughly fifteen minutes of absolutely gruesome, chaotic pleasure, then promptly nosedives into the Mariana Trench of bad design, bad graphics and bad control.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I give it a 7.5 as a final score. It is a game I've been playing since I was 8, and eventually mine broke, I recently, and I'm playing through it, I have noticed some things I didn't pick up on when I was little, such as the difficulty and I feel Jaws is sorta underpowered in the beginning of the game, as well as the iffy camera angles and constant annoyance of jaws splashing in and out of the water while attacking, especially the Orca boss battle. I haven't noticed any glitches yet, but if I do I will update this review. Full Review »
  2. WC
    Aug 3, 2008
    7
    An okay game but isn't great neither. It kinda gets boring after a while of playing it as all you basically do is eat people. Fun ifAn okay game but isn't great neither. It kinda gets boring after a while of playing it as all you basically do is eat people. Fun if your in the mood for it or if you just want to eat people for the moment, otherwise a waste of money. Full Review »
  3. laladoodielaladoodie
    May 19, 2008
    0
    the carnage is bretty bloody and fun for half an hour, later youll be thinking what am i doing. it has plenty of bugs and glitches. it hasthe carnage is bretty bloody and fun for half an hour, later youll be thinking what am i doing. it has plenty of bugs and glitches. it has bad graphics but da sound quality is ok, but da music dat cumz on after every time u attack something is so annoying. da controls are terrible itz all flimsy and flabby and an ablsoutly horrable camera angle and so on. u no what i bet these guys didnt even try to make this a good game, well dont u think if i made this i would only do it to make money. they gave it no good graphics on porpose. if anything this game should be given for free. Full Review »