Jaws Unleashed Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Majesco's Jaws, players assume the role of a Great White shark driven to a predacious frenzy by the sonic emanations of underwater oil drilling equipment. To defend their underwater territory, players undertake a campaign to drive the raiders away while simultaneously solving a series ofIn Majesco's Jaws, players assume the role of a Great White shark driven to a predacious frenzy by the sonic emanations of underwater oil drilling equipment. To defend their underwater territory, players undertake a campaign to drive the raiders away while simultaneously solving a series of action-based puzzles designed to thwart the player. Taking the game to realistic heights is Appaloosa's advanced game engine that produces stunning underwater visuals and realistic physics that enable the Great White to perform a variety of leaping, twisting assaults, thus rendering havens such as dive platforms and boats vulnerable to attack. [Majesco] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. It's not one of those games you'll play forever, but I suspect that for many it will be one of those games that sits on the shelf so that any time you're feeling particularly evil or you've just had a bad day, you'll load it up and go eat some people.
  2. It's a testament to the imagination of the developers that they keep coming up with variations on the central theme of "eat everyone." [Sept 2006, p.79]
  3. Jaws is genuinely witty, outrageously violent and top fun but - wait for it - slightly lacking in depth. [Aug 2006, p.90]
  4. What could have been a very neat idea is ruined by a bad camera, buggy gameplay, and totally ridiculous mission objectives.
  5. JAWS Unleashed could’ve been a great game, given it’s unique premise and experienced developer. Unfortunately, the game is too buggy and has too many issues to make it one to recommend.
  6. Jaws Unleashed is a rather scant offering, but it could still be your new guilty pleasure. The field of shark simulators is rather narrow, and it’s entirely possible that Jaws Unleashed wins top honors just by showing up. Perfect for kicking back and turning your brain off, but not much more.
  7. It provides roughly fifteen minutes of absolutely gruesome, chaotic pleasure, then promptly nosedives into the Mariana Trench of bad design, bad graphics and bad control.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. AdamS.
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Jaws can smash boats and helicopters. You can eat dogs, attack killer whales, battle other sharks and kill other underwater predators. Jaws Jaws can smash boats and helicopters. You can eat dogs, attack killer whales, battle other sharks and kill other underwater predators. Jaws eats people up. If you don't have it, you should get it. Collapse
  2. iankirton
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    if i could i would have given it a 100 out of 10! i awlwase wanted to play as a shark wen i saw the movie jaws i wanted to b able to turn intoif i could i would have given it a 100 out of 10! i awlwase wanted to play as a shark wen i saw the movie jaws i wanted to b able to turn into a 25 foot shark so bad AND NOW I CAN!!!!!!! i also hope that this game will be the key to many animal games. PS: STOP CHANGING THE RELEASE DATE!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. AlexS.
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, eating people is a blast, I can tear apart every limb on every body and destroy everything! This is a must have, finally Awesome game, eating people is a blast, I can tear apart every limb on every body and destroy everything! This is a must have, finally something different thats fun as hell, not to mention the gta like open world. Expand
  4. MikeC.
    May 25, 2006
    8
    fun game a must. play or buy you cant loose i bought and its fun.
  5. RyanB
    Jun 1, 2006
    8
    This is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allowThis is a fantastic game! Don't pay attention to all the negative reviews that the web sites are giving it. Get it for yourself and allow yourself the unadulterated thrills of being the ultimate sea predator as you fly throught the ocean devouring anything that gets in your way. The GTA style of gameply is perfect to let you roar around and take your time stalking your next victim. Go get it its cheap and it gives your hours of good fun gameplay, and the graphics and controls are fine for people with any taste or motor skills. Enjoy! Expand
  6. WC
    Aug 3, 2008
    7
    An okay game but isn't great neither. It kinda gets boring after a while of playing it as all you basically do is eat people. Fun ifAn okay game but isn't great neither. It kinda gets boring after a while of playing it as all you basically do is eat people. Fun if your in the mood for it or if you just want to eat people for the moment, otherwise a waste of money. Expand
  7. RandyM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    0
    Absolutely one of the most pitiful games ever created. This game deserves nothing less than to be floating belly up in the toilet in the Absolutely one of the most pitiful games ever created. This game deserves nothing less than to be floating belly up in the toilet in the eighth circle of gaming hell. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews