• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2003
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Even if the visuals and sound aren't quite cutting edge, the gameplay is still solid, and that’s all that truly matters. K-1 is an absolute must for fans of the sport.
  2. It's not a button masher. Energy and strength must be conserved. The key to good gameplay is looking for and finding openings. Taking advantage of your opponent's weakness is the strategy that will separate the men from the boys.
  3. In the end, K-1's pared-down approach is forgivable, but its bland execution is not. [Aug 2003, p.113]
  4. 60
    The action comes up a little short when it comes to the visceral sense of combat. The game is devoid of blood, which can either be good or bad depending on your taste in such things. The lack of the red stuff is just one example of how the game comes across as overly sanitized and not quite as brutal as it could be.
  5. My current favorite fighting game on any system. It's realistic, but more importantly, it’s fun, and you won’t find a better game to pop in your PS2 the next time you have friends over.
  6. Its graphics are merely average and the fighting is uninspired. [July 2003, p.107]
  7. It's just not hard enough. I beat the Grand Prix mode in about an hour and a half on my first try. I completed Champion's Revolution in the same time without losing one fight. I beat 21 straight opponents in my first shot at the Ironman endurance mode.
  8. 42
    This game may be deep and technical, but playing it is almost as fun as getting beat up. [Aug 2003, p.34]
  9. 80
    The graphic and sound departments could have used just as much depth. Instead, the visuals are reminiscent of how the first-generation PS2 games look—not refined with average detail.
  10. While you won’t have to bring your driving wheel to play the game, you will have to bring your thinking cap, as K-1 features precise, simulated fighting modeled on real K-1 fighters.
  11. An attempt to bring a new and realistic fighting game to a market that isn’t into the sport. This game is not going to win over any new fans for the K-1 world.
  12. Can provide an entertaining experience, not necessarily because of its gameplay mechanics, but rather because it offers a wide variety of different modes that will keep you interested in this strategic fighter that successfully captures some of the nuances of the sport.
  13. 68
    It takes a fan to look past K-1's visual and technical shortcomings to find the rewarding game within.
  14. The graphics are great and the hits are believable. The action can get really intense making for edge-of-your-seat fights.
  15. This game is for the hardcore fans, and they are the ones who will enjoy what K1 offers the most. It’s very real, very authentic.
  16. The game has a lot of atmosphere and more options than a typical fighter. However, some may be put off by the pace of the game the unknown format.
  17. The game loses its appeal quickly, as there is only so many times you can knock out a member of the same small roster before it gets old.
  18. K-1 packs fluid, responsive controls of the "Tekken" variety (left punch, right punch, kicks, etc.) combined with trouble-free 360-degree movement. [July 2003, p.76]
  19. 83
    It's the leader of the pack for K-1 games and easily ranks among the best realistic fighting games on any platform.
  20. This game is so stupid. It also lacks any kind of cool. What a combo! [Aug 2003, p.99]
  21. There is not really anything groundbreaking here, but the element it provides does the sport justice and brings an entertaining time to the gamer. However, the lack of seeing anything new affects the amount of time you'll spend.
  22. The experience comes across as rather dry, and while I don't need sizzle when I have steak, the boxing-like gameplay is also pretty drab. [July 2003, p.79]
  23. With a solid control scheme, good presentation, and a well-balanced roster of fighters, Konami's K-1 is an excellent way to launch the franchise. [Aug 2003, p.26]
  24. A sports game on par with Crave's UFC-licensed fighting games. Konami's alternative fighting endeavor will be welcomed by gamers patient-enough to see past the K-1's awkward graphics/sounds and simplistic gameplay.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Ty
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    Real good game....but could be much better.
  2. RJBlake
    Sep 7, 2003
    10
    This game is wicked but they should of put more fighters in it like jet rufus and chong lee.
  3. TyrallS.
    Aug 7, 2003
    8
    I was always a sucker for fighting games; This K-1 World Grand Prix would seem excellent, I can't wait to play this myself.