Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 80
    While a little bit of the Wow factor has worn off for us and we were hoping for more songs than before, this is still a very solid game that's perfect for honing one's singing skills or, even better, bringing to a party and entertaining a whole crowd.
  2. The game offers a couple of new modes and options, but it's basically just a new batch of songs for you to sing, and how much you'll get out of the game is tied directly to your interest in the songs on the disc.
  3. The game could basically stay the same for years, however, what this series needs is a more comprehensive song selection. More disks, each featuring specific musical genres so that I can sing some ZZ Top and not have to skip over the Snoop Dogg crap.
  4. One of the better music games on the market. [Aug 2004, p.100]
  5. 85
    There's been more than enough time for Harmonix to tweak the game's Vocal Analyzer to help avoid cheap tactics for getting high scores. Having said that, the game is still highly entertaining and quite enjoyable.
  6. 80
    If there are any complaints, it’s that the range is a bit too wide this time and some crooners will not find as many songs they know. Konami definitely needs to release more song discs to satisfy the fans.
  7. Why Konami chose against releasing expansion discs for the first game still puzzles me, as in Japan there are over 20 right now. My only fear, being a fan of the game, is that I have to wait another year for a so-called sequel, to get more songs.
  8. It’s a gateway game and the perfect hook for those American Idol hopefuls who know more about D notes than D-pads.
  9. 75
    While the new characters and features unquestionably add new life to the game, Vol. 2 isn't really different enough from its predecessor to be sold as a stand-alone title -- it's much more an expansion pack than an independent product, and the $40 seems a bit excessive.
  10. All singing, all dancing but not actually all that good. [June 2006, p.79]
  11. If you like singing or dug the first game, you’ll definitely want this edition, but other players should rent it to see if they want to become a lyrical superstar.
  12. 80
    And perhaps even more than "DDR" or "Samba De Amigo," Karaoke Revolution is a game that will be embraced by non-gamers, since it requires no physical dexterity or interaction with a controller.
  13. The arcade mode has been removed from the single-player game, replaced by the medley mode, which, though fun, has little long-term value. [Aug 2004, p.57]
  14. The new modes help to streamline group play, and the radically diverse song selection rules. [Aug 2004, p.103]
  15. The new modes feel more streamlined and the varied song selection works well, as well as complementing the original collection.
  16. The additions of a medley mode - two to five song clips in quick succession - and a one-song quick-play option are solid improvements as well....It's another must have for singers. [Aug 2004, p.99]
  17. The game does a great job at recognizing tones. [Oct 2004, p.9]
  18. Single player still falls down a tad, but there's simply no better party game available for PlayStation 2. [Aug 2004, p.28]
  19. Once again, most songs are performed by studio musicians instead of the original artists. That’s actually fairly typical of karaoke CD’s.
  20. Fans of the first game have been clamoring for a duet mode, and – in spite of the great song list – a lot of stones are left unturned in the audio department.
  21. I have only one other recommendation for Konami. Either port the game on the Xbox or make the next PS2 version usable with the PS2 HDD and broadband adapter. It would be killer to be able to download new songs to keep things fresh.
  22. 70
    It just doesn’t bring the same level of excitement as its predecessor.
  23. Charging $40 for a glorified expansion pack is a bit pricey, but fans will find everything they love about the original and more. [Aug 2004, p.91]
  24. With only 35 songs to sing along with, any real fan of karaoke will whip through them in only a few sessions.
  25. The biggest addition I could ask for would be some sort of hard drive support for online downloads.
  26. Enjoyable, but the basic appearance, limited multiplayer and some tedious tracks means Karaoke Stage 2 will always play second fiddle to "SingStar's" success. [May 2006, p.66]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Leonardo
    Apr 16, 2005
    5
    Only 32 songs!! It's too poor without an expansion option...
  2. DavidC.
    Oct 4, 2004
    6
    I'm happy with the new songs--and the medly mode, but couldn't be more disappointed that all the songs I love from the first one I'm happy with the new songs--and the medly mode, but couldn't be more disappointed that all the songs I love from the first one are gone and that means that they decided against an expansion option. I just hope eventually Konami finds a way to use the internet capabilities available to allow new song downloads and/or a platform for Karaokee Revolution to allow personalization. . .or whoever created Stepmania may have to step in and make a similar program to allow people to sing there favorite artists songs--I just wish I didn't have to keep changing discs back and forth to play different songs, plus I want to put Hey Jealousy, Save Tonight, You Really Got Me, It's My Life and Crawling in the Dark together in a medley, I think it would be interesting at least ~Skit Full Review »
  3. JenniferR.
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    What a GREAT game for the whole family to play. Alsa a FUN get together game with all your friends, especially the one's who don't What a GREAT game for the whole family to play. Alsa a FUN get together game with all your friends, especially the one's who don't realize how bad they sing, lol. Full Review »