• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2003
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Hands down this is an excellent program. It's much more than a game and that's why I'm referring to it as a program. Every karaoke and potential karaoke singer should get this. Not only is it a lot of fun but it's one of the best ways to improve one's vocal prowess.
  2. 85
    One of the most enjoyable breaks from traditional gaming to date. The possibilities are endless, the amusement factor is high, and the gameplay is quite easy to learn.
  3. Pitch detection is accurate and, for the songs you know, Konami couldn't have provided a better arena for belting out the warbles you've perfected in the shower. But for the songs you don't know - and there are likely to be many - those warbles will be your undoing, capsizing an otherwise satisfying quest for high score. [Aug 2004, p.106]
  4. I'm all about bringing the embarrassment, insanity, and fun of karaoke bars into living rooms across our nation - this is a game that anyone can pick up and instantly enjoy. [Dec 2003, p.216]
  5. Its song selection is immediately accessible to anyone who listens to pop radio, but for those looking for a bit more variety in their musical games are bound to be disappointed, at least until a suitable expansion disc arrives.
  6. 100
    Mixing a great single-player game and a variety of multiplayer events, Karaoke Revolution is a cool, original, and distinctive party game.
  7. One of my favorite party games ever, with the 8-player support and the promise of more songs on the way, well in a word, Yay!
  8. Far deeper and more enjoyable than Konami's "DDR" series, and nearly every other rhythm game. [Nov. 2003, p.150]
  9. Players that can't carry a tune or adapt to the in-game renditions will be hampered, and the novelty can quickly grow stale after a few hours. If you like singing, you'll definitely want this game.
  10. For the many casual gamers wanting to subvert their non-gamer friends and significant others, Karaoke Revolution is among the best, edging out the "Eye Toy" and even the traditional "Dance Dance Revolution." It’s just about the best party game around.
  11. Addictive and entertaining, but a bit short on songs.
  12. 83
    Even if your singing sounds like a goat being strangled, you can still play. [Dec 2003, p.62]
  13. 90
    The game's voice recognition works great and enables you to switch from a low baritone to high falsetto without confusing the judging. Unfortunately, it doesn't distinguish whether you’re actually singing the correct lyrics, so you can get by with just "na, na, na'ing" it when you’re in trouble.
  14. It bundles great gameplay, graphics, and astonishing sound to create a wonderful game. For anyone hoping to look for a party or family friendly game, Karaoke Revolution is a definite must.
  15. Another musical gem from Konami, the type of game that transcends videogames. Its pick up and play nature ensures that anyone can get into it and it's a great party game.
  16. The main problem with Karaoke Revolution is one of range, and the list of over 30 songs throws in only a few old favourites among a lot of curveballs. Nevertheless, the technology that drives this is absolutely spot-on and, save for a few niggles, this is a unique gaming experience that shows promise for the future. [Jan 2004, p.121]
  17. A cool piece of technology, and it definitely has the potential to be a lot of fun, especially in a crowd setting.
  18. 90
    It's one of the best and most enjoyable rhythm / music games ever made.
  19. This is the best party game I've ever played. It's accessible to everyone. You don't even have to pick up a controller.
  20. All in all a fun, if brief, addition to the X-Revolution series, and well worth the price.
  21. Not nearly as embarrassing as "DDR", Karaoke Revolution is perfect for parties and tribal gatherings. [Dec 2003, p.67]
  22. 85
    Not a deep game nor should it be. It's more like Karaoke Plus and does its job well.
  23. The score-based gameplay and actual event of singing in a group atmosphere more than outweighs the lackluster presentation.
  24. 93
    If you're hesitant to buy this game because you can't sing well, don't worry- the flexible judging level makes it easy for just about anyone to pick up this game. This is definitely a must-have title.
  25. One hell of a party game. If you like music and you have friends who like music, don't even think about it - buy this... But if you're looking for a real challenge, you won't find it here. [Dec 2003, p.162]
  26. Best of all, the song list, spanning over three decades worth of popular American music, contains easily recognizable and fun songs for anyone raised here in the States. [Dec 2003, p.82]
  27. Serious multiplayer fun for crooners and caterwaulers alike! [Dec 2003, p.49]
  28. Though expensive and gimmicky because of its headset peripheral Karaoke Revolution’s pitch/length interface is forgiving enough (depending on the selected difficulty) to let even those of us cursed with shitty voices get into the virtual act and carry a tune.
  29. The perfect party game, not to mention the best home karaoke product on the market.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. NikkiS.
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    This game rocks!
  2. DavidC.
    Oct 3, 2004
    9
    Great game, nice variety in songs, but not enough of them. It's creative, and contrary to what I thought--not hard to get others Great game, nice variety in songs, but not enough of them. It's creative, and contrary to what I thought--not hard to get others involved. Everyone is shy at first, until I sing one or two songs, then everyone wants to play--I wish that worked with DDR also:) The only let down is that the expansion discs never came, instead we bought a new KR-2 and now you have to change discs to play a different song. I wish that I could play the first game's songs in the medley mode offered in the second. . .and with the new songs. Hopefully Konami will eventually make an accual computer program for this game or platform that allows for new song downloads or buys, I may not be able to go to the Karaoke bar anymore though if they do. . .Great job, oh and the corny graphics and characters only add to the fun of this game, that's all for now. . .~Skit Full Review »
  3. YouniqueB.
    Aug 10, 2004
    10
    Karaoke Revolution ROX my SOX!This is one of the best games, this girl, has ever played! Excellent graphics, music, and gameplay. This is a Karaoke Revolution ROX my SOX!This is one of the best games, this girl, has ever played! Excellent graphics, music, and gameplay. This is a game for everyone and if you don't have a copy I'm telling you now, GO OUT AND GET IT! One again, Karaoke revolution ROX my SOX! Full Review »