Killer7 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Killer7 Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring visual artistry and dark imagery with striking cel-shaded graphics, Killer 7 chronicles the connection between two men whose intertwined paths develop into a compelling tale of revenge and altering personas. Killer 7 propels players into the consciousness of one man and his sevenFeaturing visual artistry and dark imagery with striking cel-shaded graphics, Killer 7 chronicles the connection between two men whose intertwined paths develop into a compelling tale of revenge and altering personas. Killer 7 propels players into the consciousness of one man and his seven different personalities. The player’s challenge is to stop a wave of indiscriminate violence that is plaguing the world. In Killer 7, players take on the role of Harman Smith an unlikely assassin who leads a life as the intermediary link between seven alter egos. Switching between his seven different personalities, Harman employs each character’s abilities to terminate targets he deems "deserving to die." Now a powerful underworld kingpin has unleashed violent creatures called "Heaven’s Smile." These crazed soldiers, affixed with horrific smiles, have started to wreak havoc on city streets destroying anything unlucky enough to cross its path and overtaking the minds of the populace. It is up to the player to interchange Harman’s seven ‘partners’ and utilize the special powers that dwell within them in order to assassinate Kun Lan, the notorious criminal overlord behind all the madness. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Play Magazine
    90
    Vile and bizarre, refreshing and absorbing, Killer7 is an aggressive blessing to cleanse us from the masses. [July 2005, p.70]
  2. Recommending Killer 7 is frightening, much like recommending A Clockwork Orange, or Pulp Fiction, or Eraserhead. The art we love is not always universally enjoyable, but we all want to share that favorite special vision with others, while still worrying about what they will think. We offer our sincere but guarded blessing to Killer 7.
  3. If you are indeed intrigued then it's that sense of inquisitiveness that will, at the end of the day, carry you right through the slightly slapdash puzzles, past the occasionally repetitive combat, right through the final cutscene and, if you're anything like me, onto endless debate about the game's ending.
  4. What will keep you playing isn't the gameplay, or even the story, exactly, but just wanting to figure out what the hell is going on. Let it take you with it and you won't be sorry.
  5. 70
    At its worst, it's as curiously dysfunctional a "game" as the Harmon's are a "family," and at its best Killer 7 is one of the most artfully designed footnotes in gaming history.
  6. The gameplay part unfortunately subtracts from an otherwise exciting experience – but Capcom deserves credit for releasing such an alternative game in times where most companies stick to the safe blockbusters.
  7. 0
    At best, playing the game is like having someone shout in your ear for 15 hours straight. At worst, it's like getting a high colonic with balsamic vinegar.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    One of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybeOne of the most underrated games I know, but then again I think that is exactly what it wants to be. This is one of the very rare (and maybe dying out) games that create an own universe for itself, where its own rules and laws apply. At first glimpse, one might think it is just a rail-shooter with a very weird design, but only until you find that what you have in front of you is one of the most cleverly written, though-provoking and politically controversial game you might ever have seen. Add one of the most amazing bunch of playable characters and a completely immersing soundtrack, you get Killer7, a game that is certainly not for everyone and most certainly wants it exactly that way. A game for eternity. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    ok,a bit late to be writing a review for this one,only 9 years late,but this is one of my favourite games of all time and is directlyok,a bit late to be writing a review for this one,only 9 years late,but this is one of my favourite games of all time and is directly responsible for resident evil 4's evolution.Anyway,why is this game so damn good?Besides it being the most visually stylish game you'll ever witness,it also has fantastic sound,not just in the music but in its effects and speech but that's not all!The gameplay is very challenging and the control style will kick ALL fake gamers to the curb instantly (u just gotta love a game with balls like that,only Capcom usually delivers these moments of pure gamer heaven with a raised middle finger to the bigger sales audience)but challenging gameplay,stunning visuals,great sound,thats not all!!no they only just go and stick a story so clever,so well hidden in insanity,that u at first don't realise u are playing chapters that are giving u inside information on the twin towers,terrorists,enron,predictive media.... the list goes on and on -it does all of this without being boring,without even mentioning politics and with over the top insane characters that are unforgettable!One of the funniest is the enron chapter and all fans will know,ulmeyda!The entire "stock market conquering business" is all just fake wooden backdrops with just desert behind it -hilarious!Even better,this was 2005 when most of this stuff hadn't even come out in the mainstream yet -this game would have caused massive controversy if it had been understood by anyone but "on the fringe" gamers!So what im saying is,apart from being a great video game,it's even more.It's something really special that can only be recommended to someone u know really well,u cant just say to any gamer "play killer7" but there are ways to know if u will like killer7 and im here to give u the test = do u know that dante MUST die?Do u know that Leon's best weapon in all of Spain is a combat knife?Do u know what really powers Spencer's arm?If u answered yes to all of these then hunt the world for a copy of killer7,it will blow your mind! Expand
  3. AlhassanS.
    Jul 2, 2005
    10
    Its a fantastic and superior.
  4. May 22, 2011
    10
    Excellent. This is truly a one of a kind game. I don't understand how this can get negative reviews. When I play a video game I expect thingsExcellent. This is truly a one of a kind game. I don't understand how this can get negative reviews. When I play a video game I expect things to be out of this world, and this game definitely delivers. Play this and take a step outside mainstream gaming; you wont be disappointed. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    this is probably the best game you never played, i say game but its more of a work of art its different and dark styling will draw you in thethis is probably the best game you never played, i say game but its more of a work of art its different and dark styling will draw you in the story will make you never want to leave, but some of the best features are the soundtrack, excellent voice acting, and distinctive sound effects the unconventional game play and innovative style is the main attraction which is one of the reasons this became a cult classic but the game suffered from one problem and that problem was the pacing, this does damage the game a bit but that by no means makes this game bad it just stops it being perfect Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2016
    9
    Killer7 is an odd beast of a game. As expected from any game from SUDA51, this is a twisted oddity of violence. The control scheme is unusualKiller7 is an odd beast of a game. As expected from any game from SUDA51, this is a twisted oddity of violence. The control scheme is unusual and can be off-putting for some players as you are constantly having to select which corridor to go down. Not the most conventional of control schemes but one that you can certainly get used to. The gameplay blends third person with FPS elements. The visual aesthetics of the game are visually striking with its cell shaded graphic novel visuals, it remains for me one the most visually striking games I have seen. An underrated gem of a game that is dark and twisted and certainly not for kids! This game is like marmite...you either love it or hate it. A game like this however deserves to be recognised as you won't find many if any games like this. Killer7 is intriguing, entertaining and one hell of a bloody trip. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2017
    0
    Mais qu'est-ce qu'on a là mon petit bonhomme ? un jeu en 16 couleurs à faire mourir de honte une Gamegear ! non en fait, c'est un projetMais qu'est-ce qu'on a là mon petit bonhomme ? un jeu en 16 couleurs à faire mourir de honte une Gamegear ! non en fait, c'est un projet avorté qui devait sortir sur Atari ST et encore, c'est très insultant pour ce pauvre Atari. D'accord c'est "original" (!) mais est-ce un "jeu" au sens propre ? y a t'il une interactivité valable ? non, absolument aucune, aucune qui ait du sens en tout cas.

    Et à propos de sens et a fortiori de bon sens, les commandes en sont totalement dénuées. On se déplace selon des vecteurs bien définis sans possibilité de bouger la caméra sauf en vue subjective, la vue subjective le seul "endroit" du jeu "normal" si l'on peut dire. Quant aux dialogues, on les dirait sortis d'un asile psychiatrique, tout comme les effets sonores ou le bruit faisant office de musique.

    Cette "originalité" là, cette explosion de mauvais goût tient plus d'un pet géant à la face du monde vidéo-ludique que d'une quelconque "créativité" ; les mots manquent, aussi ne retiendrons-nous qu'un seul qualificatif pour un tel étron : innommable !
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

60
#60 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005