kill.switch PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Buy On
  1. If you're after a game where the rules are almost as basic as shoot anything that moves then Kill.Switch will appeal to you, but for a more in depth storyline and military experience, its best to look elsewhere.
  2. It’s difficult to avoid recommending the game, when I honestly had fun, but £30 to £40 is too much to pay for such a short game.
  3. Cheat Code Central
    70
    A game that has incorporated some of the best elements from action adventure and RTS games and has delivered a concentrated strain of shooting action in the distillation process. It may lack depth but I don't think you'll hear too many complaints.
  4. A commendably brazen and unfussy shooter, featuring one continuous dialogue of throwaway gunfire and nothing else. [Feb 2004, p.106]
  5. It's hardly original (not to mention short and sometimes ugly), but Namco's got both the control and the difficulty level just right. [Dec 2003, p.184]
  6. Not essential by any means then, and it's probably not worth much more than a weekend's rental, but Kill.switch definitely proves that even a depressing list of rent-a-mechanic gaming clichés can keep us happy when administered in the right amounts.
  7. Game Informer
    70
    Won't blow your doors off, but it will hide behind said doors, peek around, and blast you with a relatively good time for a few hours. [Dec 2003, p.146]
  8. Makes a terrific rental title, because it's great fun in the short term. Unfortunately, its disjointed story telling, lack of multiplayer modes and limited longevity make it hard to recommend as a full priced purchase.
  9. Those looking for existential ponderings, heavy characterization, or even minimal variety in gameplay should leave it alone, but people who want lighter fare might appreciate kill.switch as a small, zesty snack. After all, we all need a bit of comfort food once in a while.
  10. Fun to play but it's best in small doses. Running around, diving behind things and performing the no look with an M4 5.56mm is a lot of fun, until I realized that was all I was doing for two hours.
  11. games(TM)
    50
    In a perfect world all budget games would be of kill.switch's quality - that's where it would soar, that's where it would be ideal. As it is, it's almost exactly six hours of gung-ho entertainment from the moment you switch on your machine. But that's still just six hours. [Feb 2004, p.104]
  12. This otherwise ordinary-to-a-fault action game is given a shot in the arm by its relatively cool gameplay techniques, which--at least--make the game's short ride interesting.
  13. PSM Magazine
    60
    Graphics are fairly nice, but the weapons themselves are typical. Even worse, enemies clip and shoot through walls, and being killed from an unavoidable RPG to the face gets old, fast. [Dec 2003, p.49]
  14. So you're looking at what, three nights of fun for £69. There are ladies here who don't cost much more than that, and ladies, as we know, have boobs.
  15. 70
    While seemingly similar to previously released action titles at first glance, Kill.switch quickly proves to impart its own unique types of spin on the strat-shooter genre, not merely in mechanics and "hooks," but also in the game's very dramatic approach.

Awards & Rankings

#91 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#64 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. TyC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    4
    This game was way too short, it wasn't challenging enough, and I think that the game makers could have at least put in a mulitplayer of This game was way too short, it wasn't challenging enough, and I think that the game makers could have at least put in a mulitplayer of some sort. I rented this game, and It took me less than two hours to beat it. However, the graphics are good, and sound is Ok. If you're the type of person who doesn't sit down for hours at a time, then this game would be ok for you. Full Review »
  2. ClaudioB.
    Jan 12, 2004
    9
    A really good game .what it needs is more guns and cheat too.
  3. RK
    Dec 30, 2003
    9
    This game is very good. The action never stops. My only problem is with amount of weapons. Most are the same but the controls, gameplay, and This game is very good. The action never stops. My only problem is with amount of weapons. Most are the same but the controls, gameplay, and graphics are great. Full Review »