• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Oct 28, 2003
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If you're after a game where the rules are almost as basic as shoot anything that moves then Kill.Switch will appeal to you, but for a more in depth storyline and military experience, its best to look elsewhere.
  2. It’s difficult to avoid recommending the game, when I honestly had fun, but £30 to £40 is too much to pay for such a short game.
  3. A game that has incorporated some of the best elements from action adventure and RTS games and has delivered a concentrated strain of shooting action in the distillation process. It may lack depth but I don't think you'll hear too many complaints.
  4. A commendably brazen and unfussy shooter, featuring one continuous dialogue of throwaway gunfire and nothing else. [Feb 2004, p.106]
  5. It's hardly original (not to mention short and sometimes ugly), but Namco's got both the control and the difficulty level just right. [Dec 2003, p.184]
  6. Namco has taken your typical run and gun action game and stretched it a bit further with a well written story, and innovative mechanics that, while sometime less than perfect at times, still mange to do more than just get the job done.
  7. Not essential by any means then, and it's probably not worth much more than a weekend's rental, but Kill.switch definitely proves that even a depressing list of rent-a-mechanic gaming clichés can keep us happy when administered in the right amounts.
  8. 80
    We're certain a veteran shoot-'em-up enthusiast can blow through it in just two days. But you shouldn't write it off, either. For immediate thrills, not many rivals can match its sheer staying power and intensity.
  9. Won't blow your doors off, but it will hide behind said doors, peek around, and blast you with a relatively good time for a few hours. [Dec 2003, p.146]
  10. A good shooter, perched on the boundary between realistic and cinematic. It's got a great story, too.
  11. Makes a terrific rental title, because it's great fun in the short term. Unfortunately, its disjointed story telling, lack of multiplayer modes and limited longevity make it hard to recommend as a full priced purchase.
  12. Those looking for existential ponderings, heavy characterization, or even minimal variety in gameplay should leave it alone, but people who want lighter fare might appreciate kill.switch as a small, zesty snack. After all, we all need a bit of comfort food once in a while.
  13. With a wide range of weapons, excellent detail, and some innovative qualities, this game should not be pushed aside. Rent it first, as the mission selection is.. 'small', but it still provides a lot of fun that can't be experienced anywhere else.
  14. Although limited in its length, kill.switch manages to fit in innovative gameplay backed by intuitive, streamlined controls that are some of the best on the Playstation 2.
  15. Fun to play but it's best in small doses. Running around, diving behind things and performing the no look with an M4 5.56mm is a lot of fun, until I realized that was all I was doing for two hours.
  16. In a perfect world all budget games would be of kill.switch's quality - that's where it would soar, that's where it would be ideal. As it is, it's almost exactly six hours of gung-ho entertainment from the moment you switch on your machine. But that's still just six hours. [Feb 2004, p.104]
  17. This otherwise ordinary-to-a-fault action game is given a shot in the arm by its relatively cool gameplay techniques, which--at least--make the game's short ride interesting.
  18. 75
    There's no multiplayer, no online play, and only a couple of difficulty modes. But it does its work extremely well, and it's safe to say you won't play a similar game this year.
  19. I love this game, and I hate this game. It needs to be a lot longer, and cared for with a great deal more polish. As it stands, though, it’s still a great rental, and with its easy play style, I think you’ll like it as much as I did.
  20. "Metal Gear Solid" fans will dig this one, but don't forget that kill.switch is primarily a shooter. It's all about the thrill of the kill, not the peak of the sneak.
  21. What it does well (firing from cover, recoil, aiming) is destroyed by its short length, average graphics, bad storyline and easy difficulty.
  22. These battles, they feel real. More important, they seem dangerous.
  23. 80
    Easy to pick-up, difficult in all the right places, and oozes Hollywood atmosphere without sacrificing too many gameplay convictions. While we can't say that we approve of its particularly short-sided length and occasional camera problems, it's still one hell of a fun ride while it lasts.
  24. My only complaint is that I have beaten it, and now I'm done. It was a bit short for me.
  25. It's filled with cool ideas and a control system to die for. You're not really sneaking around, but you are hiding a lot - and it's the mechanics behind the hiding that makes the game so damn satisfying. [Dec 2003, p.164]
  26. Other games have tried to slow the pace down a bit, forcing you to strategize with a more real-world instinct, but none have ever been able to do so with this level of intensity and keen sense of design. [Nov 2003, p.64]
  27. 75
    Finally, a shooter for cowards! Kill.Switch is the first game to let you hide behind objects and blindly fire around corners. [Oct 2003, p.37]
  28. Graphics are fairly nice, but the weapons themselves are typical. Even worse, enemies clip and shoot through walls, and being killed from an unavoidable RPG to the face gets old, fast. [Dec 2003, p.49]
  29. A mindless shooter indeed but when all you want to do is kick the asses of enemies without much thinking, it doesn't get much better than Kill Switch. If you loved the idea of Contra then you likely will enjoy this romp through carnage.
  30. So you're looking at what, three nights of fun for £69. There are ladies here who don't cost much more than that, and ladies, as we know, have boobs.
  31. A good game that suffers from being just a bit too rough around the edges and too short overall to be a must-buy. It is however a definite rental and for anyone looking for a nice, short but visceral experience.
  32. The game runs flawlessly and is extremely fast-paced. It may not be "Quake," but for PS2 to be able to handle speeds of this caliber is just amazing.
  33. While seemingly similar to previously released action titles at first glance, Kill.switch quickly proves to impart its own unique types of spin on the strat-shooter genre, not merely in mechanics and "hooks," but also in the game's very dramatic approach.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. TyC.
    Feb 22, 2004
    4
    This game was way too short, it wasn't challenging enough, and I think that the game makers could have at least put in a mulitplayer of some sort. I rented this game, and It took me less than two hours to beat it. However, the graphics are good, and sound is Ok. If you're the type of person who doesn't sit down for hours at a time, then this game would be ok for you. Full Review »
  2. ClaudioB.
    Jan 12, 2004
    9
    A really good game .what it needs is more guns and cheat too.
  3. RK
    Dec 30, 2003
    9
    This game is very good. The action never stops. My only problem is with amount of weapons. Most are the same but the controls, gameplay, and graphics are great. Full Review »