Killzone PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 251
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    One of the worst FPS ever made. Deemed as a Halo killer years ago Killzone was a game that disappointed the masses. Tremendously bad controls, horrifying AI and superbly bad voice acting are some of the minor problems of this highly touted bust. Campaign is awful, guns are awful, level design is AWFUL. Single player also has occasional frame rate drops and for a game with graphics thatOne of the worst FPS ever made. Deemed as a Halo killer years ago Killzone was a game that disappointed the masses. Tremendously bad controls, horrifying AI and superbly bad voice acting are some of the minor problems of this highly touted bust. Campaign is awful, guns are awful, level design is AWFUL. Single player also has occasional frame rate drops and for a game with graphics that aren't that good it's simply astounding that something like this would happen. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2015
    2
    Playing the multiplayer with a friend can be fun for a short while, but the story mode is uninteresting and very boring indeed.

    The graphics in this game are butt-ugly and the controls are not responsive. Your teammates are the laziest, most stupid ever. They don't do anything else then follow you around everywhere you go, like little ducks following their mother. This game is very
    Playing the multiplayer with a friend can be fun for a short while, but the story mode is uninteresting and very boring indeed.

    The graphics in this game are butt-ugly and the controls are not responsive. Your teammates are the laziest, most stupid ever. They don't do anything else then follow you around everywhere you go, like little ducks following their mother.

    This game is very linear and enemies can take hundreds of bullets before they die, it's ridiculous.

    I don't recommend buying this game at all. If you want to get a decent shooter on the PS2, buy Black instead of this piece of crap.
    Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely terrible. The controls feel horrible and I couldn't find a good sensititive for aiming at all. Singleplayer is horrific, giving you absolutely 0 variation with the most linear FPS levels you can see. The story is uninteresting, graphics aren't so good, because it uses very few colours. Multiplayer isin't balanced when it comes down to weapons and it doesn't doThis game is absolutely terrible. The controls feel horrible and I couldn't find a good sensititive for aiming at all. Singleplayer is horrific, giving you absolutely 0 variation with the most linear FPS levels you can see. The story is uninteresting, graphics aren't so good, because it uses very few colours. Multiplayer isin't balanced when it comes down to weapons and it doesn't do anything better than any other game in PS2 era. Avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  4. MickR.
    Dec 8, 2004
    2
    Graphical glitches abound, this game is more frustrating than fun, your ai teammates would shoot themselves before shooting the enemy, they always seem to be standing behind u! sum very yucky slowdown and texture pop. why of why did sony release this at a time wen computer games are actually good eg halo 2 , half life 2.??? a poor effort
  5. J.M.
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    The critics are right this game blows, it blows so bad, not even those crapass GBA Megaman games are this bad. Word of advice, don't get this game if you have money, waste of memory space, waste of time, waste of your life, and waste of your money. WAIT FOR KILLZONE 2 on PS3, that is the ultimate Halo killer, not the original, if you're impatient and get the original, The critics are right this game blows, it blows so bad, not even those crapass GBA Megaman games are this bad. Word of advice, don't get this game if you have money, waste of memory space, waste of time, waste of your life, and waste of your money. WAIT FOR KILLZONE 2 on PS3, that is the ultimate Halo killer, not the original, if you're impatient and get the original, you're screwed with a waste of a game. Collapse
  6. JohnS.
    Nov 4, 2004
    1
    Absolute rubbish. Overhyped and not worthy to be mentioned in the same breath as classics like Halo.
  7. Matt
    Nov 5, 2004
    2
    It was fun for the first 20 minutes. but now i sit and wonder what i could of done with my money that i spent on this game... perhaps i could have used it to wipe my butt... oh well... the sound in this game is HORRIBLE. the glitches in this game are HORRIBLE. it looks so good in videos and what not but it is actually one of the most disappointing games i have ever played. i will neverIt was fun for the first 20 minutes. but now i sit and wonder what i could of done with my money that i spent on this game... perhaps i could have used it to wipe my butt... oh well... the sound in this game is HORRIBLE. the glitches in this game are HORRIBLE. it looks so good in videos and what not but it is actually one of the most disappointing games i have ever played. i will never again buy a game made by guerrilla unless i rent it first. The in game play is EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING along with the controls. for example. why does he cock his gun everytime he reloads it... even when he reloads mid clip. or when you switch guns, he has to cock it... for no reason... it's annoying. finally the screen shakes some times, for no reason. so if you are going to stick this game in little timmy's stocking for christmas... don't bother.. toilet paper would give more sensation than this game. HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE....I'm serious.... toilet paper. Expand
  8. RichardC.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Lag every good damn second...
  9. JaycenA'mour
    Dec 1, 2004
    0
    Awful! Sony tried to fool everyone into thinking this might be a game worth looking at by calling it "Halo Killer" but it ain't even a E.T.(Atari) killer!!! They even copied Halo 2's limited edition tin box but couldn't hide the monkey poo hiding inside!
  10. JonnyStudd
    Dec 10, 2004
    4
    Graphics r great ! gameplay drags ! very linear and repetitive, fun for about half an hour, and its not even that difficult ( even on the hard setting ).
  11. Joker72440
    Dec 15, 2004
    0
    I'v played Killzone and halo 2 and I must say, halo 2 is way better than killzone, in everway possible. Those people who say killzone is a "halo2 killer" are f@#*ed in the head. They must be on some thing. And just for the record, Xbox is a way better system than PS2, both with the online play and off.
  12. JumommaE.
    Nov 19, 2004
    0
    Quickly becoming the most overhyped failure of the year. Linear, poor online, bad frame rate, better games out there.
  13. MikeR
    Dec 2, 2004
    3
    I really wanted this game to beat Halo. This was the game that was supposed to make throw my Xbox out and buy instead. But it fails in almost every way. Jerky and glitchy, the online mode honestly sucks. The single player is ok, but Halo is miles beyond it. Visually the graphics are impressive, but the PS2 is just too weak to handle it. Dont waste your money, buy a quality game instead.
  14. Ghostbuddy
    Apr 18, 2008
    3
    This game is mediocre. The controls are nothing short of clunky. The frame rate was horrendous. The MP mode was a cop out. The ps2 had a wealth of awesome games. But the fact this game was one of the, best FPS's on the ps2, made my desision to buy an xbox in 2004 a very good one. Its sad people still didn't learn. People are unforunetely overhyping Killzone 2, just like they This game is mediocre. The controls are nothing short of clunky. The frame rate was horrendous. The MP mode was a cop out. The ps2 had a wealth of awesome games. But the fact this game was one of the, best FPS's on the ps2, made my desision to buy an xbox in 2004 a very good one. Its sad people still didn't learn. People are unforunetely overhyping Killzone 2, just like they overhyped the first one. Expand
  15. SteveW.
    Dec 21, 2004
    4
    Man what a letdown this game was i was really badly lookin forward to gettin this game id orderd it online with high expectations of which only the single player came close to being great but failing because of its go from a to b style gameplay and being really boring this game is probably fun for people who are new to the fps genre but veterans stay away as you will be bored within a few Man what a letdown this game was i was really badly lookin forward to gettin this game id orderd it online with high expectations of which only the single player came close to being great but failing because of its go from a to b style gameplay and being really boring this game is probably fun for people who are new to the fps genre but veterans stay away as you will be bored within a few hours. i haven't tried this game online so i cannot comment on its online gameplay but the 2 player is funish the assult and defend and destroy are good altho repeatative (more levels needed) to many bots added to the 2 player game causes lag altho i think thats cause my ps2 is kinda old i dunno anyway hardly a halo beater but not the worst game iv played. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
#16 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. The innovative controls for the sniper rifle don't allow the player to pull off precise headshots when they're needed most, which leads to rising frustration.
  2. If the gameplay matched the atmosphere, Killzone would be a real winner.
  3. PSM Magazine
    95
    Killzone was worth the wait, and matches the hype. It hits the mark in so many ways, it's baffling; they promised us we'd experience fugture war, and we have...and come away shaking. [Holiday 2004, p.70]