• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2004
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 230

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasMc.
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    The best PlayStation2 FPS game EVER. In my opinion, Killzone is the game-of-the-year, but then again MGS3:SE/GT4 are yet to release. It's still a VERY good game! [to say the least] Best graphics I've ever seen [it'll blow you away], and top-notch audio also. The story is very interesting [although short!], and the characters perfect. And of course the weapons are what makes The best PlayStation2 FPS game EVER. In my opinion, Killzone is the game-of-the-year, but then again MGS3:SE/GT4 are yet to release. It's still a VERY good game! [to say the least] Best graphics I've ever seen [it'll blow you away], and top-notch audio also. The story is very interesting [although short!], and the characters perfect. And of course the weapons are what makes a shooter, and Killzone delivers with the greatest looking/sounding/killing guns ever in a single game. I want to play again already [thanks to four characters, game will differ!] Guerrilla delivered with this one! Expand
  2. EvanT.
    Jul 22, 2004
    10
    This game should not be passed up, this is a great example of a game that has been given alot of hype, and is actually true to its word. It feels like Call of Duty with a tactical feel to it like Rainbow Six, you can say, which is based in the 20th century. The game has a total of 26 levels, 30+ weapons in all, and 4 playable characters all with their own story. The game is fueled with This game should not be passed up, this is a great example of a game that has been given alot of hype, and is actually true to its word. It feels like Call of Duty with a tactical feel to it like Rainbow Six, you can say, which is based in the 20th century. The game has a total of 26 levels, 30+ weapons in all, and 4 playable characters all with their own story. The game is fueled with tons of emotion and epic experiences. So if you are looking for a unique and innovative shooter, then Killzone is for you. Expand
  3. JaniV.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Best first person shooter ever made for console. Awesome graphichs, gameplay is almost perfect and the feeling on the battlefield is so close to real war.
  4. ArchDandy
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This game was worth to wait, and I think is the best PS2 FPS Game, great graphics, great gameplay. It's my favorite game!.
  5. Dragon
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Anyone who scores this game as a 5 or under, never played the finished version. I challege anyone to play A FINISHED COPY of this game and then tell me it sucks or the framerate is bad or the aiming is poor. Bu$% Sh&$! If you're aiming is off, than maybe your don't know how to aim. If you're finishing a magazine for every helgast, Then you suck at shot selection. I Anyone who scores this game as a 5 or under, never played the finished version. I challege anyone to play A FINISHED COPY of this game and then tell me it sucks or the framerate is bad or the aiming is poor. Bu$% Sh&$! If you're aiming is off, than maybe your don't know how to aim. If you're finishing a magazine for every helgast, Then you suck at shot selection. I don't give a damn about what is better, Halo 2 or killzone. if you like halo 2 then f'n play halo 2 and quit bitching about why halo is so great. Yes it's a great game but this is a KILLZONE SITE. Expand
  6. JustinS.
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    This is an amazing FPS shooter it's idea of a broken nation coming back after 10 years, now being so powerful is awesome, the reload animations are the best I have seen since Red Faction(PS2) & Perfect Dark(N64), and the levels are so fun to play that you can't get bored of them, the weapons are sweet especially the sniper you get one hit kills with it, the multiplayer is a load This is an amazing FPS shooter it's idea of a broken nation coming back after 10 years, now being so powerful is awesome, the reload animations are the best I have seen since Red Faction(PS2) & Perfect Dark(N64), and the levels are so fun to play that you can't get bored of them, the weapons are sweet especially the sniper you get one hit kills with it, the multiplayer is a load of fun not only do you get to do deatmatch but you get to do other games like supply drop and defend and destroy and so-on. I think the enemy the Helghast is a real good idea. Some people may say they keep saying the same thing over and over but just listen more and you'll notice they say alot more than you think. The style of war this game used was amazing, all the levels were all war torn, and destroyed and it was also trying to show how war is such hell. The only problem I find more annoying than any other is there is no jump button which limits you do many things such as jump up onto boxes and crates, jump over barb wire, and other places where you could jump instead of going around. The multiplayer is better than the Halo 1 or Halo 2. This is the game to get if you love multiplayer shooters. Killzone 2 is going to kill Halo 3. Expand
  7. JakeK.
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    i really dont get what everyone is smoking cause how could people say this game has bad graphics and sounds? AND IT DOES NOT LAG. it is also deff. a halo beater. i mean come on people, we all know halo 2 was the biggest hyped game ever and it SUCKED.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    It's not a one-random-thing-after-another shoot-em-up but it's not supposed to be. It's an immersive FPS that sets out to do something uncommon - tell an actual story set in a semi-realistic setting. It's a great game with great graphics, great AI, a great story, and exceptional level design. It is serious competition for any other FPS available but, unfortunately, it It's not a one-random-thing-after-another shoot-em-up but it's not supposed to be. It's an immersive FPS that sets out to do something uncommon - tell an actual story set in a semi-realistic setting. It's a great game with great graphics, great AI, a great story, and exceptional level design. It is serious competition for any other FPS available but, unfortunately, it may have been overhyped. Expand
  9. Dude
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    This game is worth 50 bucks.
  10. SidJ.
    Nov 9, 2004
    10
    I thought it was awesome. Good storyline, beatiful ambient sound and excellent graphics. And the online is even better. Big kudos. I can ignore the popping and some of the liniarity as the rest more than makes up for it.
  11. TuomasK.
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    I first start my review saying this: All of you who say "This ain't halo-killer that Sony promised" WRONG! First: only-ones who said this to be Halo-killer are reviewers and gaming media, no-one else. Second: This is Halo2-killer! Graphics are detailed and hi-res, but few bugs are there, like some textures go from good to bad and bad to good sometimes, and slowdown. BUT this is blast I first start my review saying this: All of you who say "This ain't halo-killer that Sony promised" WRONG! First: only-ones who said this to be Halo-killer are reviewers and gaming media, no-one else. Second: This is Halo2-killer! Graphics are detailed and hi-res, but few bugs are there, like some textures go from good to bad and bad to good sometimes, and slowdown. BUT this is blast to play, featuring most realistic gun-reload animations you have ever seen in fps! BEATS halo 2 and half-life 2 with couple of decades!! Controls are spot on, they are same for the most part, as in TimeSplitters 2, and only snipering is difficult at first, but it's not game-ruiner, after practise (which i didin't need) you get your headshots. And there is no auto-aim like in halo 2, of course reviewers say it's easier to hit target in Halo 2, because of the auto-aim. Because Xbox badly designed controller u can't hit anything but wall with it. Killzone has great story, and weapons are great too! Every reload is made to perfection, e.g. reloading shotgun which is almost empty takes time when you can see character putting all shells into it. Multiplayer is great fun, bots have better AI than in other fps games (Halo 2 anyone?), they take cover, use terrain to go shelter from gunfire, toss grenades, and use secondary-fires wisely. I even saw bot giving covering-fire to another bot when i played Suplly Drop with my brother! You can play this Online too which will take it to next level! Forget Halo 1-2, if you want nearfuture realistic fps, not boring scifi shooter, buy this!! The War is Coming.... Expand
  12. SoiD.
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Wow. This game completely owns half-life 2 and halo 2. Good God, can a game get any better than this. I can soil my pants right now and die because i have experienced the pinnacle of video gaming. Did i mention this game owns half-life 2 in every possible way. Good God. I have no future.
  13. DanI.[AKAsamedudeasbelow]
    Dec 9, 2004
    10
    Oh my freakin God. This game is the best game ever. This game owns Half-Life 2 in every way. Half-Life is like a school girl and Killzone is the octopus ready to grope. This is the pinnacle of gaming. I can die happy after playing this orgasmic (litteraly) game. Good Bye.
  14. evan?
    Jul 8, 2004
    10
    Killzone really lives up to its word! Exciting visuals and epic gameplay, just like call of duty, but in the 20th century. You have 26 levels in all, including 4 playable characters each with their own storyline. There is 24 weapons in all. Everytime, and i mean everytime, you play a level over and over again, it will be different. The enemies will act just like you, and will be inKillzone really lives up to its word! Exciting visuals and epic gameplay, just like call of duty, but in the 20th century. You have 26 levels in all, including 4 playable characters each with their own storyline. There is 24 weapons in all. Everytime, and i mean everytime, you play a level over and over again, it will be different. The enemies will act just like you, and will be in different spots each time you play. Not to mention, its been in development for 4 years. Expand
  15. Arron
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Very good game. fun and has plenty of good action parts. love the story line.
  16. Jeff
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Ignore any score here below 75 because the reviewer must have been playing a different game. This game isn't a Halo killer but it's absolutely a Halo 2 killer. Story: Epic. The game could easily be made into a movie. Much better storyline than Halo 2. And you don't switch to a former enemy character half way through. Graphics: Excellent. There are issues with texture pop up Ignore any score here below 75 because the reviewer must have been playing a different game. This game isn't a Halo killer but it's absolutely a Halo 2 killer. Story: Epic. The game could easily be made into a movie. Much better storyline than Halo 2. And you don't switch to a former enemy character half way through. Graphics: Excellent. There are issues with texture pop up and draw distance but Halo 2 had those problems and the Xbox is three times more powerful than the PS2. For the most part the graphics are superb. Controls: Mediocre until you adjust the sensitivity slider the way you want it and then the controls are as good as any FPS out there. AI: Superb. The enemy evades your grenades and ducks behind objects and walls. Also when you fire upon the enemy they lock on and fire upon your position. Superb AI. Sound: The music and sound effects are top notch. Extras: You can carry three weapons at one time. Not enough credit has been given to this feature. Thank you to fellow gamers here that rated this game highly. If it wasn't for you I wouldn't have bought this game. It's my favorite game. Also to review sites that scored this game low. You have a responsibility to gamers and by scoring a great game like this low, you are a discredit to the gaming industry. Hopefully enough gamers like me will brush off your low scores and go out and buy this stellar game. Expand
  17. KevinD.
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Fantastic console shooter that got way over-hyped.
  18. ZachA.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest games on ps2. always fun to play. ive been playing it for years and still enjoy it. anyone who has a ps2 should def. buy it.
  19. TheGreatGabeNewell
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Killzone is nothing compared to my new game Half-Life 2, which will be released on tuesday the 16th...this game killzone, is what gamers call a flop...The AI is terrible, you cannot jump, and was just an overall lame experience, Half-Life 2 does not have anything below a 95 on this website, killzone's lowest score is a 60! can you believe that! what bad game!
  20. fprExPeRt
    Nov 25, 2004
    10
    This game has the BEST GRAPHICS of all the ps2 fprs by far hands-down. sure this game has a couple of bad glitches but it doesnt really effect the AWSOME gameplay. The story is pretty good. the opening cinema has beautiful graphics. mulitplayer on this game is so FUN and FUNNY. I also like the part where the helghasts yell "GRENADE!" and then they blow up. I laughed my a$$ off. If u are a This game has the BEST GRAPHICS of all the ps2 fprs by far hands-down. sure this game has a couple of bad glitches but it doesnt really effect the AWSOME gameplay. The story is pretty good. the opening cinema has beautiful graphics. mulitplayer on this game is so FUN and FUNNY. I also like the part where the helghasts yell "GRENADE!" and then they blow up. I laughed my a$$ off. If u are a fpr fan i suggest u buy this game NOW! definately worth 50dollars. sure its not as good as halo 2(which i have played and is totally awsome) but if u are a fpr fan that owns only a ps2 buy this game Expand
  21. CheeksBuns
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    GOD, u guys are so stupid! look ur basing ur view towards this game off a review on a DEMO. All the annoying glithes, lags online, and even the AI has been perfected by sony for the retail version! This 75 and 70 reviews are off the crap version that has these annoying things. The game u buy at the store will not have these. I had the demo version and i have the real one now. If the demo GOD, u guys are so stupid! look ur basing ur view towards this game off a review on a DEMO. All the annoying glithes, lags online, and even the AI has been perfected by sony for the retail version! This 75 and 70 reviews are off the crap version that has these annoying things. The game u buy at the store will not have these. I had the demo version and i have the real one now. If the demo version was actually the real game, which it would never be id probably give it a 70 or 80 but the new version took made everything perfect. definitly a 90 or 100 i said a 100 just so someone would read this. Honestly im very disappointed in ign, gamezone, and others who played the demo, and rated it without even investigating if the annoyances would get fixed. Fortunately enough, there's still one good rating service. PSM played the demo and randy nelson of psm talked to sony about the glitches, lags, and AI and sony told him what i told u, this is just the demo, kudos the psm, and im pretty mad these other rating services are putting a bad name on this terrific game. Expand
  22. MattD.
    Jan 16, 2006
    10
    this game is truly impressive. Killzone is a realistic tactical shooter. The graphics are amazing, and when you remember this is a ps2 game they are even more amazing but it seems to be stretching the ps2 a bit, as there is a bit of pop in and the hight res textures sometimes take a few seconds to load. ok this game is the only fps that ive played through more than once, 3 times to be this game is truly impressive. Killzone is a realistic tactical shooter. The graphics are amazing, and when you remember this is a ps2 game they are even more amazing but it seems to be stretching the ps2 a bit, as there is a bit of pop in and the hight res textures sometimes take a few seconds to load. ok this game is the only fps that ive played through more than once, 3 times to be exact and it is just starting to get old! the ai is supurb they will do all the things you would expect: duck for cover, attack in teams, run from grenades, ect. there is no music in the game, which isnt a downfall- it adds to the expirience, the sounds of bullets buzzing by, explosions, distant gunfire, all make you feel as though you are in a real war. the story isnt really spectacular, but its not craptacular either. the gameplay is excelent, with the 4 different characters it can feel like 4 diff first person shooters. i love the animations, they also add to the expirience. when you reload the camera moves down to look at the gun, and when you run or side step the camera moves accordingly. Expand
  23. LanceE.
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    For those who have been reading the bad magazine, website, and gamer reviews for Killzone, do yourself a favor and ignore them. The best way to find out how good this game is not by listening to the opinions of a few reviewers, even if they do work for a gaming magazine, (for I'm sure you've read good reviews for a movie and hated it), but to go out and actually rent the game. For those who have been reading the bad magazine, website, and gamer reviews for Killzone, do yourself a favor and ignore them. The best way to find out how good this game is not by listening to the opinions of a few reviewers, even if they do work for a gaming magazine, (for I'm sure you've read good reviews for a movie and hated it), but to go out and actually rent the game. And as for those bad reader reviews, ignore the opinions of people who don't even take the time to use proper punctuation and grammar, which just goes to show how little you can trust a gamer's review if they can't even spell correctly (this only applies to a certain few). -And why is Killzone good? For many reasons, one being that it borrows heavily from history. Play the game and you will realize how wonderful the atmosphere and the story is, since it has taken so much from WW2. The main badguy is like Hitler, and the Helghast are like the Germans after their defeat in WW1: they are angry at being conquered, subdued, and hated by the world. So they launch their attack against the ISA, the Helghast war-machine sweeps across the battlefieds, surprising everyone in their wake. The story rocks. The introduction is amazing. And believe me when I say this: the graphics are amazing. Just play the first level, which takes place in trenches and bunkers like those of WW1 and 2; the atmosphere is so life-like. Imagine seeing, in the sandy, dusty-distance, a horde of black, bio-engineered Helghast suddenly appear and charge at you. And all the levels are great, not just the first. Then there's the music, which is just awesome. It's no rock or rap, which is perfect, because having something like that would ruin the experience. Instead, you get an orchestral soundtrack (which I think was performed by the infamous Prague Symphony Orchestra), with menacing music, setting a perfect mood for this war game. It's something like Lord of the Rings and the Star Wars series, in terms of music, that is. And the weapons--man `o man the weapons....You don't get no sissy lasers, what you get is an arsenal of weapons that actually seem plausible in the future. These are all ammunition based, projectile firing, bullets-shooting guns. Imagine something like this in a future World War (let's hope that never happens). The single player experience rocks: there is great variety (I don't know what these reviewers are talking about), since you get to control four very different characters, each with their own strengths and weaknesses: one has heavy firepower, the other is smaller and able to crawl through vents, etc--so, yes, there is variety. Then there's what takes the cake--the multiplayer mode, which can be played on or off-line (bots or humans). Either way, it just kicks butt! 5 different modes: Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Supply Drop, Defend and Destroy, and assault--so much variety, so little time. As for me, I like the Death Matches. They're endless fun. Don't let anyone say the on-line game sucks. I've played Half-Life 2 and Halo 2 online, I have Socom 2, and Ratchet and Clank 3, and they all pale in comparison to Killzone's on-line fun. The realistic weapons, which have the COOLEST reloading motions, make it so fun. And since there aren't tons and tons of people on-line, there's barely any lag. But don't be mistaken, there's always games going on, so it's NO PROBLEM WHATSOEVER to find matches to play. Oh, and it has nice stat-tracking, buddy lists, etc. Also, one of the coolest things is you have these grenades, which can be "cooked", as in, the longer you hold down L1, the faster they'll explode when you throw them (they can actually blow up in your hand if you hold them too long), and it's so fun if you're playing Assault, or Defend and Destroy, and you sacrafice youself by running into a horde of enemies, killing them along with yourself to benefit your team. And it's fun in Deathmatch when you get killed and the grenade is still active, taking out your killer. Oh, and another thing, I've played Halo 2 on and off-line; my cousin brought over his X-Box last week. I was excited because the commercials looked amazing ("I need a weapon"...), but was slightly dissapointed at how it turned out. Most people seem to be saying Halo 1 is better. And those who reviewed this game saying Halo 2 is better and this sucks, don't seem to provide reasons for why that is (not all of them, just some), which seems to me that they're just Halo fanboys and haven't actually played Killzone, and are just here to bash it because it was dubbed "Halo-killer", and nothing more. -So, you have here my long-winded review, saying just how this game is great in all catergories, from graphics, music, variety, story, single-player and on-line components. If you still have your doubts, JUST RENT IT! Or trade four bad games in at BlockBuster and get this! Either way, you probably won't be dissapointed. (I wasn't, even after thinking it was going to be bad because of most of the reviews.) Expand
  24. IvanC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. It has a wide array of weapons, missions, and enemies. The battlefields option is the best FPS multiplayer mode I've ever seen. And I've haven't seen any glitches or bugs so far.
  25. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    Killzone (PLAYSTATION) attempted to beat Halo (XBOX) and well they are both epic but I prefer Killzone because its really the Sci-Fi genre I like in Video Games. Alot of people don't like Killzone because it tried too much to be the PLAYSTATION version of Halo but after Killzone 2 and 3 came out everybody shuted-up. I see on METACRITIC that K1 got 70/100 and K2 got 91/100 and K3 gotKillzone (PLAYSTATION) attempted to beat Halo (XBOX) and well they are both epic but I prefer Killzone because its really the Sci-Fi genre I like in Video Games. Alot of people don't like Killzone because it tried too much to be the PLAYSTATION version of Halo but after Killzone 2 and 3 came out everybody shuted-up. I see on METACRITIC that K1 got 70/100 and K2 got 91/100 and K3 got 84/100, um I don't care what those guys say for me K1 is the best out of the trilogy, Its campaign is a real challenge, the graphics I'll pass on that one, the characters are Bad Ass and Killzone deserves 10/10. Expand
  26. DavidP.
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    An unprecedented achievement for the PS2. KillZone offers the best urban war game for any console this gen. The weapons feel right, and the excellent graphics and sound - whilst marred by the odd glitch - offer up a standout atmosphere. Levels are delicately structured to offer a war like tenseness throughout, whilst gameplay (stealth operations, all out blasting, tactical) is very much An unprecedented achievement for the PS2. KillZone offers the best urban war game for any console this gen. The weapons feel right, and the excellent graphics and sound - whilst marred by the odd glitch - offer up a standout atmosphere. Levels are delicately structured to offer a war like tenseness throughout, whilst gameplay (stealth operations, all out blasting, tactical) is very much dependent on your choice of character, meaning the player plays the war out how they want to. The fact that KillZone has dropped below 70, is testament to just how short sighted many critics are this time of the year. KillZone is where the Medal of Honour series should be, and hopefully Guerilla will turn KillZone into a franchise, which when running on the next generation Playstation, will quash many of the technical problems reviewers seem so hung up on, and earn Guerilla the kudos they most certainly deserve. Bottom line is that regardless of Halo 2 or Half Life 2, KillZone is an immensely accomplished FPS, which should be on the Christmas List of any self respecting fan of the genre. Expand
  27. BenN.
    Dec 2, 2004
    9
    Propa good, despite wot every1 else says.
  28. LouieK.
    Dec 28, 2004
    9
    A great game but they could of made it a bit better and a few more voice tracks but on the whole a wicked game.
  29. MikeK.
    Dec 7, 2007
    9
    While there are a fe wglitches the game is easy to get in and out of while offering the ability to play a long or short game. The "Campaign" section of the game is challenging yet "do-able."
  30. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Nov 26, 2004
    9
    Why did this game get a 71? Why critics why? While yes this isn't the PS2's answer to Halo 2 but this is a great FPS for sure it is a beautiful game but it pushes the PS2 a little too far and kinda has some slowdown issues. Also all 3 characters have different play experience like Luger has more stealth based layout for the missions and the action is fast and fun and this is no Why did this game get a 71? Why critics why? While yes this isn't the PS2's answer to Halo 2 but this is a great FPS for sure it is a beautiful game but it pushes the PS2 a little too far and kinda has some slowdown issues. Also all 3 characters have different play experience like Luger has more stealth based layout for the missions and the action is fast and fun and this is no run and gun game if you don't take cover and let your health recover you'll die....... fast. Yet strangely they didn't have lean command like in Rainbow Six and many other FPS's? Really people if you're gonna make a game that really makes you rely on cove why not include a lean option? Yet the game is still fun and frantic. Even better it's online!! Also it's only 63KB on your memory card which is barely any sweat off your nose! Get this game now unless you have a Xbox which you then get Halo 2. Expand
  31. Djwess
    Nov 4, 2004
    9
    I am really enjoying the online play. I love the timing, length of reloads and the strategy of using the sprinting mechanic. The multiplayer map environments are excellent.
  32. OlgaG.
    Dec 15, 2004
    9
    The weapons here are topnotch wait until you use rico's main weapon superb and also secondary attack is very useful. the slowdowns is the biggest problem in the game, ps2 cant handle what the game is offering. killzone should have been a ps3 game for better result.
  33. NateS.
    Dec 5, 2004
    9
    I have played both hallo 2 and killzone and I have to say they are both pretty cool games but killzone despite its flaws is all around a much better game because it has a some what beliveble story line and much more wore torn maps and much cooler wepens than some of hallos pastel colored pee shooters all and all.
  34. JanT.
    Feb 11, 2005
    9
    I would give this a 10, but its just SO DANG HARD!!! now, unles your super good at FPS's then get the srtategy guide, and i didnt, so its VERY HARD. and sometimes youl get all the way to the end of a mission , but then they wont tell you were to go, or what to do. but the weapons are awsome! just go read Lance E's reveiw, and i agree with almost everthing he says. go read it now.I would give this a 10, but its just SO DANG HARD!!! now, unles your super good at FPS's then get the srtategy guide, and i didnt, so its VERY HARD. and sometimes youl get all the way to the end of a mission , but then they wont tell you were to go, or what to do. but the weapons are awsome! just go read Lance E's reveiw, and i agree with almost everthing he says. go read it now. he the next new editor at Game Informer. Expand
  35. StephenT.
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    The plot isn't brilliant, the levels are linear, but the quality of the gameplay and the immersive environment created prevent this game from being a dull game. The graphics are very impressive for a PS2 and as much as I normally place no weight in the quality of graphics improving gameplay, in this title they really do add to the atmosphere that game provides. For console FPS The plot isn't brilliant, the levels are linear, but the quality of the gameplay and the immersive environment created prevent this game from being a dull game. The graphics are very impressive for a PS2 and as much as I normally place no weight in the quality of graphics improving gameplay, in this title they really do add to the atmosphere that game provides. For console FPS benchmarks, it's as good as Halo 1 and far better than Halo 2. Recommended. Collapse
  36. SamJ.
    Feb 16, 2006
    9
    I would give it a 7, but overall, I feel it is a 9 out of 10. There are graphical glitches, such as dead bodies being stuck upside down or held up on some invisible platform, of sorts. The immersive, dark graphics, sound, and overall production values make this game my favorite first person shooters on PS2. My only complaint, in wake of recent FPS's is the lack of Iron-Sight. The I would give it a 7, but overall, I feel it is a 9 out of 10. There are graphical glitches, such as dead bodies being stuck upside down or held up on some invisible platform, of sorts. The immersive, dark graphics, sound, and overall production values make this game my favorite first person shooters on PS2. My only complaint, in wake of recent FPS's is the lack of Iron-Sight. The plot, notably, is very B-scifi movie, with a soundtrack that reminds me of the old Star Wars movies. Expand
  37. John
    Nov 13, 2004
    9
    This game is awesome It's not halo, but it's still sick. I'll admit it not as good as halo, but what game as good. overall sick and fun for months. The campaign is 45 levels long long lasting fun.
  38. RaphaelR.
    Nov 14, 2004
    9
    Let me start off by giving props to guerilla for doing a FANTASTIC JOB. the game is not perfect but is pretty much one of the best action games on the PS2 as of now. Gameplay and COntrols: Controls are pretty good and doesn't really take much of gettin used to the controls are very similar to the controls of any other FPs games on the ps2. Gameplay is pretty much just liek halo but Let me start off by giving props to guerilla for doing a FANTASTIC JOB. the game is not perfect but is pretty much one of the best action games on the PS2 as of now. Gameplay and COntrols: Controls are pretty good and doesn't really take much of gettin used to the controls are very similar to the controls of any other FPs games on the ps2. Gameplay is pretty much just liek halo but the difference is in this game you have those things that fly and has a minigun in it and stuff like that but the sad part is you can't get on it not like halo. you oculd go on turrets and the AA-gun is reallly fun to get on. Reloading the weapons are real fun to because its so realistic especially when he cocks the gun. Graphics: the graphics are pretty good i mean good I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHY ALOT OF PEOPLE THAT ARE GIVING REVIEWS FOR THIS GAME ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE GRAPHICS. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. There might be some glitches but you bearly even notice it one example would be when you do a melle attack on a hellghast sometimes they get stuck to the wall or rock or whatever. but thats probably it but the framerate you might wish that it was better it does'nt really bother you its not really slow hat it will irritate you its just that you might wish it was a bit faster obviously the game would have been much much better if the framerate was higher. value: this game is pretty long its about 40 + levels long. It will probably take you about 35 - 40 hours to beat the game yes the game is pretty lenghty for a First Person Shooter at least its longer than HALO 2. AUDIO: The audio is really good especially when you play the game on surround sound like i did or even if you just turn the volume really high its prety fun. for example in one of the levels while i was walking all of a sudden a flashbang or a grenade blew up it honestly made me jump. yes it did make me jump. DIfficulty: This game gets harder as you progress through the game especially when you reach the final stages of the game when you face the stronger kinds of hellghast soldiers that take about half a clip of any weapon to kill them. OVERall the game is really really fun if u want a good action game that will keep you pretty busy for a fair amount of time and a game that has a really fun online play this game is a must have for you even if your just the kind of person who likes first person shooters this game is a must have for you. I really can't say anythin about the LAG TAT PEOPLE ARE TALKIN ABOUT i mean the whole time i was playing I DID"NT EXPERIENCE ANY LAG I EXPERIENCE MINOR LAG ONLINE BUT that was probably it other than that the game runbs pretty smooth then again the game would have been much better if it had a higher framerate. Regardless, KILLZONE will keep you entertained and busy this game is really fun and is a must have. Expand
  39. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    Do not compare Kill-Zone to Halo: Combat Evolved or Halo 2. They're two completely different games that have only one thing in common, and that's the fact both Halo 2 and Kill-Zone have online play and wanted to have a focus on such. Not much to brag about today, though during the Play-Station 2 days, Kill-Zone is quite the amazing first person shooter. Some small technical problems areDo not compare Kill-Zone to Halo: Combat Evolved or Halo 2. They're two completely different games that have only one thing in common, and that's the fact both Halo 2 and Kill-Zone have online play and wanted to have a focus on such. Not much to brag about today, though during the Play-Station 2 days, Kill-Zone is quite the amazing first person shooter. Some small technical problems are existent, though it's nothing game-breaking. Kill-Zone's gun-play is top-notch and the vast variety of modes with A.I. and a lengthy campaign will have you coming back for more. Expand
  40. JacobB.L.
    Feb 7, 2005
    8
    The graphics are among the very best on the PS2. There's some noticeable slowdown at times. Sound is acceptable. Gameplay is so far good, but sometimes your objectives are not so clear, and I have to read a FAQ to get help with the levels, even in "easy" mode! Well, I guess I suck at video games, cause I allways play at the "Easy" setting! But all I wanted to say, was, that this game The graphics are among the very best on the PS2. There's some noticeable slowdown at times. Sound is acceptable. Gameplay is so far good, but sometimes your objectives are not so clear, and I have to read a FAQ to get help with the levels, even in "easy" mode! Well, I guess I suck at video games, cause I allways play at the "Easy" setting! But all I wanted to say, was, that this game has got lots of style, but it might not be to everyones taste. Expand
  41. DarthMoon
    Mar 14, 2006
    8
    This game is very interesting.It has great atmosphere and amazing settings witch inspire the player to keep on playing.All the problems killzone has are technical,the graphics look very nice but the game feels it has a hard time running on the ps2 and its not very solid. The story is interesting but it doesint get too deep.The overall atmosphere of the game amazing and has a lot of style. This game is very interesting.It has great atmosphere and amazing settings witch inspire the player to keep on playing.All the problems killzone has are technical,the graphics look very nice but the game feels it has a hard time running on the ps2 and its not very solid. The story is interesting but it doesint get too deep.The overall atmosphere of the game amazing and has a lot of style. The characters are good but it needs a more deep and mature main character.It can be much better even a classic with a few improvements!. Expand
  42. AlexH.
    Jun 29, 2008
    8
    Very fun casually but nothing worth dedicating hours to. I found that control issues can be fixed by changing the sensitivity. Do not play this game if you are looking for a serious experience but nevertheless it is still very fun.
  43. Sharko11
    Jan 28, 2005
    8
    Lance E. got the point! Trust him, cause it's true. I ignored this game for a long time because of all of those bad reviews. Well, I bet a million that that reviewers stand up ipnotized by the mediatic bombing about Halo 2.... Man, if you don' t like online playing, Halo 2 it's the same as the first!!! We wait three year for a 9 hour single campaign?! Yes, but now Chief can Lance E. got the point! Trust him, cause it's true. I ignored this game for a long time because of all of those bad reviews. Well, I bet a million that that reviewers stand up ipnotized by the mediatic bombing about Halo 2.... Man, if you don' t like online playing, Halo 2 it's the same as the first!!! We wait three year for a 9 hour single campaign?! Yes, but now Chief can handle two guns!! OOOOHHHHH!!! That's incredible! What else? Errr.... nothing. Ok, it's framerate it's not the state of the art, and the voices of the helgast are really boring, but man, the plot, the real weight of the guns, of your own equipment, the feel of absolute power when you open the fire even with a simple assault rifle. The smell of war... This is KillZone. By the way, i'm not a Sony trooper. I got an Xbox, a Gamecube and a PS2, and I play vg since I was 8 years old. Now I'm 30. For me KILLZONE is really the HALO killer, cause (for me, I repeat) halo had killed itself. Expand
  44. MattT.
    Feb 21, 2007
    8
    Killzone is a game an above average game even but the hype behind was part of its downfall. Graphics are ok but flawed in many places, gameplay is repetitive and multiplayer is a disaster. The story line however is good and single is fun, mainly because you get a sense of real fightning not halo style but fun. The game actually gives off a military feeling, you cook grenades, enemy's Killzone is a game an above average game even but the hype behind was part of its downfall. Graphics are ok but flawed in many places, gameplay is repetitive and multiplayer is a disaster. The story line however is good and single is fun, mainly because you get a sense of real fightning not halo style but fun. The game actually gives off a military feeling, you cook grenades, enemy's shout potions to each other blind fire is everywhere and taking cover is essential. The game is no "halo killer" but still solid and fun while it lasts. Expand
  45. AdrianC.
    Sep 19, 2008
    8
    The game has it's flaws and the framerate is definitely an issue at times during intense action, but I think that it's still a solid game. I wasn't a big fan of First Person Shooters on the PS2, and Killzone was one of the few FPS games that I actually played on the PS2 and overall I liked the game. I think the story was pretty good and the Single Player portion of the game The game has it's flaws and the framerate is definitely an issue at times during intense action, but I think that it's still a solid game. I wasn't a big fan of First Person Shooters on the PS2, and Killzone was one of the few FPS games that I actually played on the PS2 and overall I liked the game. I think the story was pretty good and the Single Player portion of the game was pretty fun to me, but it was frustrating at times not being able to jump over objects and having to wait until a "jump icon" appeared in order to leap over a small object. I'm glad that in Killzone 2 you'll be able to jump with just a press of a button. The Single Player is fairly linear, but the majority of Shooters are linear anyways. Obviously Killzone 1 could have been better but I think that for the most part it's a good, solid shooter for the PS2 and to this day I still play Killzone 1 on my PS3. Expand
  46. Helzer
    Dec 11, 2004
    8
    This game has pretty good graphics with little lag. The weapons are also good for a futuristic FPS, as in they actually have recoil etc. Also the movements were pretty realistic. The AI wasn't as good as it should've been (although it was better than some other games) and ur allies sucked. The game did get repetitive but guess what? War is repetitive, u arn't going to see This game has pretty good graphics with little lag. The weapons are also good for a futuristic FPS, as in they actually have recoil etc. Also the movements were pretty realistic. The AI wasn't as good as it should've been (although it was better than some other games) and ur allies sucked. The game did get repetitive but guess what? War is repetitive, u arn't going to see much new once it starts. And for the soldiers in WW1 i'm sure the trenches didn't look much diffrent, a new twist here or there but in the end its still just walls of mud again and again. Expand
  47. Aug 3, 2011
    8
    It is obvious that Sony wanted their own halo. They for sure fell short of that, however it has the best fps graphics on Playstation 2. The story is decent, trying to make it very detailed when it actually isn't complex at all. With that being said it has the best controls on ps2, and the best graphics. It would have easily been a 10 with a more in depth story, not to mention it sometimesIt is obvious that Sony wanted their own halo. They for sure fell short of that, however it has the best fps graphics on Playstation 2. The story is decent, trying to make it very detailed when it actually isn't complex at all. With that being said it has the best controls on ps2, and the best graphics. It would have easily been a 10 with a more in depth story, not to mention it sometimes gets old killing the same masked men from Helgahn over and over. Great game for sure worth owning, you can tell a lot of work was put forth. They did even better with Killzone 2 and 3. Great franchise. Very fun. Expand
  48. Jan 25, 2012
    8
    This game is best for its graphics and multiplayer both online and offline but you need to know that the gameplay are a bit interesting while an A.I not so much though and the control are so very clunky i mean is hard for me to aim at higs but the game received its award for the Greatest Hits and Platinum because it looks fun and its true i play Killzone 3 at PS3 then i bought KillzoneThis game is best for its graphics and multiplayer both online and offline but you need to know that the gameplay are a bit interesting while an A.I not so much though and the control are so very clunky i mean is hard for me to aim at higs but the game received its award for the Greatest Hits and Platinum because it looks fun and its true i play Killzone 3 at PS3 then i bought Killzone because i wanna how it entertain me so yeah it is entertain me because it looks fun and best for me to play an offline multiplayer with splitscreen even though it received 70 its still popular and as i know it sell more million copies in the world. Expand
  49. MikeT.
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    Ah, Killzone. The game that Sony promised would be a Halo killer, and never was even close to that. It has bad level design, iffy controls, bad framerate, empty levels, and many other noticeable problems. People who say this game is better than Half Life or Halo are either blind or are HUGE fanboys of the PS2. It does have many redeeming features however, the most obvious of these is the Ah, Killzone. The game that Sony promised would be a Halo killer, and never was even close to that. It has bad level design, iffy controls, bad framerate, empty levels, and many other noticeable problems. People who say this game is better than Half Life or Halo are either blind or are HUGE fanboys of the PS2. It does have many redeeming features however, the most obvious of these is the amazing reload animations. It feels metallic and heavy to reload any weapon in this game. Good Luck to Gorilla Games while they make Killzone 2, because the first one was not a memorable title. I hope they fix some of the glaring gameplay problems instead of just bringing pretty visuals. Expand
  50. CovenanatMustDie
    Nov 6, 2004
    7
    I was going to get a PS2 for this game so that after extremely long sessions of Halo2, I would have something else to play for a while. I was doing this cuz since Halo 1, I've had nothing else on XBOX that comes close, except for GR and other military shooters, which ARE NOT anything like Halo. I'm glad I waited. It's bad enough to get a console for 1 game, but when the I was going to get a PS2 for this game so that after extremely long sessions of Halo2, I would have something else to play for a while. I was doing this cuz since Halo 1, I've had nothing else on XBOX that comes close, except for GR and other military shooters, which ARE NOT anything like Halo. I'm glad I waited. It's bad enough to get a console for 1 game, but when the game is Shellshock in almost every way, except FP view, there is no reason to waste the money on the game or console. I can't believe they used the same graphics engine as Shellshock. Limited draw distance, huge texture swapping 5 feet in front of you, not to mention the A.I., which Killzone really has none of. It's the best FPS on PS2, but not by much. Mace Griffon actually looked and played better, but had the stupid flying missions that fudged up the flow of the FPS parts. Try that one out if Killzone kills your spirits about FPSs on PS2. It looks better, plays better, and the only complaint is the flying parts. Those complaints aren't as bad as ALL of Killzones major problems. Not a system seller, not Halo 2 by a very, very long shot. Expand
  51. JarodXG
    Apr 6, 2004
    7
    I read at a cover of a magazine (PSM?) that this will be the PS2 version of Halo.

    Microsoft's too proud not to make a PS2 version of the game. In fact, me thinks Microsoft really doesn't have any plans in pursuing marketing goals for the Sony console. Well, if they don't want to, fine with me. But know this: somebody else will. Right now, I'll give them a
    I read at a cover of a magazine (PSM?) that this will be the PS2 version of Halo.

    Microsoft's too proud not to make a PS2 version of the game.

    In fact, me thinks Microsoft really doesn't have any plans in pursuing marketing goals for the Sony console.

    Well, if they don't want to, fine with me. But know this: somebody else will.

    Right now, I'll give them a score of 7 for effort, but I will later change my score when the game's out.
    Expand
  52. Chainsawleatherface
    Feb 17, 2005
    7
    Cool game, gets a bit dull, keeps repeating the same old stuff...yawn.
  53. M.Alex
    Jul 2, 2007
    7
    Its OK. Graphics nice, but could have been better, controls are not as good as they should be (when you zoom in to aim the weapon it doesn't slow down, so its irritatingly wobbly). Nice story.
  54. MarkK.
    Aug 15, 2008
    7
    It tries too much to be Halo on Playstation and falls short of the hype with iffy AI, muddled graphics and awkward controls. Still, it is quiet entertaining to play.
  55. JoaoM.
    Dec 3, 2004
    7
    I've played it to the end without much truble, the IA is bad, inumerous bugs and your teammates are always behind you making them not much help... It's a good effort though but it's one of those games that shows the development team is good but it lacks an exceptional brain among them to make the difference, like Kojima is to Metal Gear... Portugal Rules.
  56. KlausF.
    May 25, 2006
    7
    At first I was going to give this game a ten but than I played halo. After that I was going to give it a 9 But that was the day I got Far Cry. After I played those games 24/7 I felt like playing killzone. When I did Killzone seemed so lifeless and sucky but the reason why I gave it a 7 instead of a 5 is beacause of the offline battlefield mode.
  57. AnonymousMC
    Jan 28, 2009
    7
    The frame rate is awful and makes the already clunky aiming mechanic unbearable at points. Still, I did have fun with it, and especially toward the end it gets really good. There are a couple levels in the middle that I found to be bland and horribly dull, so much so that I think the game would have been a much better game had they just cut those sections out (swamp/jungle).
    I would
    The frame rate is awful and makes the already clunky aiming mechanic unbearable at points. Still, I did have fun with it, and especially toward the end it gets really good. There are a couple levels in the middle that I found to be bland and horribly dull, so much so that I think the game would have been a much better game had they just cut those sections out (swamp/jungle).
    I would have rated this an 8 if the game ran smoothly at 30fps, but I could just have easily given this game a 6 instead of 7 because it's a technical mess.
    Expand
  58. KyleK.
    Nov 6, 2004
    7
    This game was over hyped cause i thought it would be heaps better and take this in mind, some of the games do glitches and some dont mine doesn't same with gta san andreas frame rate. sorry but u got a bad copy. killzone is alrightNOW FOR HALO2 BRING IT ON.
  59. RobW
    Jan 18, 2005
    7
    Definitely worth a rent, but doesn't live up to the hype. If you're going to commit to a purchase, get San Andreas or Mercenaries.
  60. SamuraiSlice
    Feb 15, 2005
    7
    I don't know what everyone is going on about the backgrounds for. Up close everything is jagged and pixilated, practically nothing is interactive; no switches, levers, documents, nothing. And NO MAP!? Are you kidding me? As for sound effects, the word monotonus comes to mind. It's an endless loop of the same crap, "kill himmmm" , I need backuuup, etc. It starts to drive you I don't know what everyone is going on about the backgrounds for. Up close everything is jagged and pixilated, practically nothing is interactive; no switches, levers, documents, nothing. And NO MAP!? Are you kidding me? As for sound effects, the word monotonus comes to mind. It's an endless loop of the same crap, "kill himmmm" , I need backuuup, etc. It starts to drive you insane after w while. The guns are way cool though and shooting them is a true pleasure. Even the sniper rifle is awesome. Yes, it's unsteady and difficult to master beut that's the great part. Once you get it, YOU GOT IT! All the weapons look great and the reload animations are unbelievable. I like the way each weapon recoils, it's very realistic and said action is unique to each specific weapon. The amtosphere is what works for me here. Even in consideration of my earlier complaints, the game on a whole is an intense, war-is-hell-like, gloom and doom atmosphere paints a grim picture of war, during any time period. It's character interactions are like scenes from Dawn of the Dead. They look off into the distance, eyes glazed over and recite lines as if they were on drugs. BUT, you see, again...that adds to the creepy-as-fudge experience. It's cold & clamy, loud & bangy, tromping, romping, ugly harsh WAR and that's what I want in a video game, an exciting ride and an experience to remember. Even if you end up with post traumatic stress syndrome (shellschoked) it's worth your while. Go get 'em, war dawg!! Expand
  61. AaronH.
    Jul 24, 2005
    7
    Some games are fun despite the problems. I really liked this quite a lot.
  62. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    7
    This was hyped as a Halo-killer, and I'll at least give it that because Halo was garbage. Pretty fun even though quirky aiming systems and some major slow down stop it from being a great game.
  63. Feb 26, 2012
    7
    Killzone, to me, was great because of the story and the characters. The gameplay was a bit wonky, and the graphics were decent. I liked the plot twist, the conflict between Rico and the Hakha. I enjoyed how the ending of the game differed on what you chose and who you chose. At the time, there was not any game like this game and it was unprecedented. Overall it was fun, and enjoyable.Killzone, to me, was great because of the story and the characters. The gameplay was a bit wonky, and the graphics were decent. I liked the plot twist, the conflict between Rico and the Hakha. I enjoyed how the ending of the game differed on what you chose and who you chose. At the time, there was not any game like this game and it was unprecedented. Overall it was fun, and enjoyable. Nothing above average, but still a good, decent game. Expand
  64. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Killzone is an odd game to review. On one hand, you have a good variety of weapons with two firing modes, a lengthy single-player campaign, online multiplayer, local multiplayer, great sound design, and great visual style. On the other, you have a poor framerate, imprecise aiming due to said framerate, dumb as bricks AI most of the time, and a game that looks too good for the PS2 to run,Killzone is an odd game to review. On one hand, you have a good variety of weapons with two firing modes, a lengthy single-player campaign, online multiplayer, local multiplayer, great sound design, and great visual style. On the other, you have a poor framerate, imprecise aiming due to said framerate, dumb as bricks AI most of the time, and a game that looks too good for the PS2 to run, meaning you will spend most of your time watching the uglier models turn into the good looking ones when you're right up on them.

    The story starts as the Helghast army are invading planet Vekta due to resentment built up from an age old conflict. Vekta's defenses go offline just moments before the invasion, and all hell breaks loose. You start the game as Templar, holding off a Helghast invasion on an outpost. After repelling the invading force, you are then sent on a mission to rescue a Helghast spying for the ISA (guys you are with), and find out what went wrong with the air defense systems. It's not exactly the most original tale, but it works. The acting is actually pretty good, and the script has enough humor to keep from being overbearing. All in all, the storyline is a highlight due to its personality.

    Where the storyline shines, the gameplay falters a bit. The game just looks too nice to run smoothly, leading to very frustrating framerate drops, which hinder the gameplay a lot more than they should. Aiming is a chore due to this (and the PS2's stiff analog sticks). Aside from the aiming issues, the AI in this game is borderline retarded. Every now and then they will throw grenades, flank, and everything they should. More often than not they will just stare you down while you unload bullets. Other times they will stand there and shoot while you unload bullets. No matter what the case, it's usually just them standing there, waiting to die. That doesn't mean the difficulty in this game takes a large hit, though. There's enough enemies that even though they are stupid, they can still take away large chunks of your health. When you are shot, your health regenerates up to a point. The further your health goes down, the further your overall health does too, until you pick up a medkit. Sounds forgiving, and it is to a point, but in the later levels this game can really get tough. One well placed grenade from a Helghast will kill you, and there's plenty of them going off in the later levels.

    One unique thing about Killzone's gameplay is the character selection. After a few missions, you will eventually have four characters to play as. Templar, Luger, Rico, and Hakha. Templar is your standard soldier, good all around, with missions that have a normal amount of enemies. Luger is a Shadow Marshal, which is basically a spec op. Her levels revolve around stealth, and her life goes down much faster than everyone else's. The worst part about being Luger is that the level design can get pretty pathetic at times, since the AI is almost ALWAYS facing away from you, making it easy to just walk up and stab every Helghast in the entire level. Rico, on the other hand, is a heavy weapons expert. You'll start his levels with a heavy machine gun, and most of the levels are just walking around blowing away hundreds of Helghast. Simple, fun, but monotonous after a while. Hakha is about like Templar, but since he is a Helghast, he knows how to use the weapons better, leading to less recoil among other things.

    Graphically, Killzone is simply stunning if everything loads correctly. The animations in the game are even great by today's standards, and environments ooze atmosphere. Everything from a broken building, to the Helghast, to the weapons looks very detailed, with great textures. This is simply one of the best looking PS2 games. There are a lot of annoyances, however. The pop-in is terrible. The death animations are awkward. Character animations for teammates and enemies are a little jerky.

    Overall, Killzone is a fantastic shooter held back by hardware limitations and a few bad design choices. The PS2 simply can't handle the detail. The AI is braindead most of the time. The missions can be a little monotonous. But, despite all of that, it still manages a great story, with great weapons, great graphics, and fun shooting sections.

    +Good weapons, with two firing modes for each.
    +Great storyline.
    +Great sound effects.
    +Great atmosphere.
    +Great graphics (when they load correctly).
    +Fun shootouts.
    +Fun multiplayer with a lot of game modes and maps.
    -Framerate.
    -Jerky, glitchy animations for allies and enemies.
    -Slightly monotonous levels.
    -Stealth sections can be a little TOO convenient sometimes.
    -Difficulty spikes towards end.
    -Terrible AI

    Overall: 7/10
    Expand
  65. DiatrexV.
    Jul 29, 2006
    6
    Killzone was an ok game. Many things could have improved though. The multiplayer is fun and the campaign mode needs work. this game is not good. The A.I. is sometimess useless. This game could have been better. It dissapointed me.
  66. ChrisS.
    Sep 11, 2006
    6
    Compared to Classic shooters on the PS2 like, Red Faction and Time Splitters, KillZone plays like big budget shooter on a PC with an old graphics card. It's nice to see the game try to put it's stamp on the FPS genre but fails to nothing more than an average yet forgettable experience.
  67. JasonM.
    Mar 21, 2008
    5
    70 is very generous... They paid too much attention to graphics and forgot to make the game good.
  68. K.Dog
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    At least this game gives better control, a larger variety of weapons, and generally more to keep your interest. It's just too bad that the PS2, with a 233Mhz processor, can't handle the higher end graphics this game needs to be great.
  69. MatP.
    Nov 29, 2004
    5
    Nice selection of weapons, poor aiming ability and takes a little short of a decade to reload... everything seems like it hits in the gut with an occasional headshot(and don't even get me started on the sniper rifle). Great graphics, poor frame rate... found myself wizzing around trying to get a good shot on an enemy and never really finding one. How many shots does it take from a Ma Nice selection of weapons, poor aiming ability and takes a little short of a decade to reload... everything seems like it hits in the gut with an occasional headshot(and don't even get me started on the sniper rifle). Great graphics, poor frame rate... found myself wizzing around trying to get a good shot on an enemy and never really finding one. How many shots does it take from a Ma Deuce to take down an enemy anyway(providing that you can actually aim at one)? Fun game but very linear... enemies: if you've seen one, you've seen 'em all and I can't even jump for Christ's sake! Expand
  70. MicD.
    Nov 8, 2005
    5
    Could be much better.
  71. Mr.Orange
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    Boring and repetitive? Check Laggy and uninspired multiplayer? Check Bad Controls? Double Check Generally ugly graphics and numerous technical glitches? Check Over hyped? Hell yes
  72. BobD.
    Dec 15, 2004
    5
    It was supposed to be a "Halo-killer", but does not even come close. Halo 2 owns this game so bad.
  73. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Looks like it could have been a good game but they failed. The first thing you will notice is the framerate i lags so much I thought it was just my game but it wasnt thats what ruins the game. The story dont care multiplayer is impossible with the frame rate.
  74. JonnyStudd
    Dec 10, 2004
    4
    Graphics r great ! gameplay drags ! very linear and repetitive, fun for about half an hour, and its not even that difficult ( even on the hard setting ).
  75. SteveW.
    Dec 21, 2004
    4
    Man what a letdown this game was i was really badly lookin forward to gettin this game id orderd it online with high expectations of which only the single player came close to being great but failing because of its go from a to b style gameplay and being really boring this game is probably fun for people who are new to the fps genre but veterans stay away as you will be bored within a few Man what a letdown this game was i was really badly lookin forward to gettin this game id orderd it online with high expectations of which only the single player came close to being great but failing because of its go from a to b style gameplay and being really boring this game is probably fun for people who are new to the fps genre but veterans stay away as you will be bored within a few hours. i haven't tried this game online so i cannot comment on its online gameplay but the 2 player is funish the assult and defend and destroy are good altho repeatative (more levels needed) to many bots added to the 2 player game causes lag altho i think thats cause my ps2 is kinda old i dunno anyway hardly a halo beater but not the worst game iv played. Expand
  76. MikeR
    Dec 2, 2004
    3
    I really wanted this game to beat Halo. This was the game that was supposed to make throw my Xbox out and buy instead. But it fails in almost every way. Jerky and glitchy, the online mode honestly sucks. The single player is ok, but Halo is miles beyond it. Visually the graphics are impressive, but the PS2 is just too weak to handle it. Dont waste your money, buy a quality game instead.
  77. Ghostbuddy
    Apr 18, 2008
    3
    This game is mediocre. The controls are nothing short of clunky. The frame rate was horrendous. The MP mode was a cop out. The ps2 had a wealth of awesome games. But the fact this game was one of the, best FPS's on the ps2, made my desision to buy an xbox in 2004 a very good one. Its sad people still didn't learn. People are unforunetely overhyping Killzone 2, just like they This game is mediocre. The controls are nothing short of clunky. The frame rate was horrendous. The MP mode was a cop out. The ps2 had a wealth of awesome games. But the fact this game was one of the, best FPS's on the ps2, made my desision to buy an xbox in 2004 a very good one. Its sad people still didn't learn. People are unforunetely overhyping Killzone 2, just like they overhyped the first one. Expand
  78. MickR.
    Dec 8, 2004
    2
    Graphical glitches abound, this game is more frustrating than fun, your ai teammates would shoot themselves before shooting the enemy, they always seem to be standing behind u! sum very yucky slowdown and texture pop. why of why did sony release this at a time wen computer games are actually good eg halo 2 , half life 2.??? a poor effort
  79. Matt
    Nov 5, 2004
    2
    It was fun for the first 20 minutes. but now i sit and wonder what i could of done with my money that i spent on this game... perhaps i could have used it to wipe my butt... oh well... the sound in this game is HORRIBLE. the glitches in this game are HORRIBLE. it looks so good in videos and what not but it is actually one of the most disappointing games i have ever played. i will neverIt was fun for the first 20 minutes. but now i sit and wonder what i could of done with my money that i spent on this game... perhaps i could have used it to wipe my butt... oh well... the sound in this game is HORRIBLE. the glitches in this game are HORRIBLE. it looks so good in videos and what not but it is actually one of the most disappointing games i have ever played. i will never again buy a game made by guerrilla unless i rent it first. The in game play is EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING along with the controls. for example. why does he cock his gun everytime he reloads it... even when he reloads mid clip. or when you switch guns, he has to cock it... for no reason... it's annoying. finally the screen shakes some times, for no reason. so if you are going to stick this game in little timmy's stocking for christmas... don't bother.. toilet paper would give more sensation than this game. HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE....I'm serious.... toilet paper. Expand
  80. JohnS.
    Nov 4, 2004
    1
    Absolute rubbish. Overhyped and not worthy to be mentioned in the same breath as classics like Halo.
  81. Dec 27, 2011
    1
    This game is absolutely terrible. The controls feel horrible and I couldn't find a good sensititive for aiming at all. Singleplayer is horrific, giving you absolutely 0 variation with the most linear FPS levels you can see. The story is uninteresting, graphics aren't so good, because it uses very few colours. Multiplayer isin't balanced when it comes down to weapons and it doesn't doThis game is absolutely terrible. The controls feel horrible and I couldn't find a good sensititive for aiming at all. Singleplayer is horrific, giving you absolutely 0 variation with the most linear FPS levels you can see. The story is uninteresting, graphics aren't so good, because it uses very few colours. Multiplayer isin't balanced when it comes down to weapons and it doesn't do anything better than any other game in PS2 era. Avoid this game at all cost. Expand
  82. J.M.
    Jun 14, 2005
    0
    The critics are right this game blows, it blows so bad, not even those crapass GBA Megaman games are this bad. Word of advice, don't get this game if you have money, waste of memory space, waste of time, waste of your life, and waste of your money. WAIT FOR KILLZONE 2 on PS3, that is the ultimate Halo killer, not the original, if you're impatient and get the original, The critics are right this game blows, it blows so bad, not even those crapass GBA Megaman games are this bad. Word of advice, don't get this game if you have money, waste of memory space, waste of time, waste of your life, and waste of your money. WAIT FOR KILLZONE 2 on PS3, that is the ultimate Halo killer, not the original, if you're impatient and get the original, you're screwed with a waste of a game. Expand
  83. RichardC.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Lag every good damn second...
  84. JaycenA'mour
    Dec 1, 2004
    0
    Awful! Sony tried to fool everyone into thinking this might be a game worth looking at by calling it "Halo Killer" but it ain't even a E.T.(Atari) killer!!! They even copied Halo 2's limited edition tin box but couldn't hide the monkey poo hiding inside!
  85. Joker72440
    Dec 15, 2004
    0
    I'v played Killzone and halo 2 and I must say, halo 2 is way better than killzone, in everway possible. Those people who say killzone is a "halo2 killer" are f@#*ed in the head. They must be on some thing. And just for the record, Xbox is a way better system than PS2, both with the online play and off.
  86. JumommaE.
    Nov 19, 2004
    0
    Quickly becoming the most overhyped failure of the year. Linear, poor online, bad frame rate, better games out there.
  87. Oct 27, 2012
    0
    One of the worst FPS ever made. Deemed as a Halo killer years ago Killzone was a game that disappointed the masses. Tremendously bad controls, horrifying AI and superbly bad voice acting are some of the minor problems of this highly touted bust. Campaign is awful, guns are awful, level design is AWFUL. Single player also has occasional frame rate drops and for a game with graphics thatOne of the worst FPS ever made. Deemed as a Halo killer years ago Killzone was a game that disappointed the masses. Tremendously bad controls, horrifying AI and superbly bad voice acting are some of the minor problems of this highly touted bust. Campaign is awful, guns are awful, level design is AWFUL. Single player also has occasional frame rate drops and for a game with graphics that aren't that good it's simply astounding that something like this would happen. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 67
  2. Negative: 3 out of 67
  1. The innovative controls for the sniper rifle don't allow the player to pull off precise headshots when they're needed most, which leads to rising frustration.
  2. If the gameplay matched the atmosphere, Killzone would be a real winner.
  3. Killzone was worth the wait, and matches the hype. It hits the mark in so many ways, it's baffling; they promised us we'd experience fugture war, and we have...and come away shaking. [Holiday 2004, p.70]