Kingdom Hearts II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 814 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 814
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tenoko
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Disney meets Final Fantasy... again. ^_^ The only reason I bought the first one was becaue of the fact that it had FF characters in it, plus I saw one of the commercials and nearly fell in love. I bet the original with like two weeks, getting little no sleep. haha. Anyways, this one can only compliment the original further, and if not we always have the post sequel. ^_^
  2. JeffM.
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    incredible! this game flows smoother than... reayl smoothly flowy thing. 2 thumbs way up.
  3. NathanD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    A great game! I only started playing this morning, and I can say it was well worth the wait. One of the best sequels I've ever played, and one of the best PS2 games available!
  4. MikeL.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    This game is so fun i started playing it today and i just cant stop, i love the storyline
  5. BradZ.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    this games has a great story line the jumping around in the cut sceens really keeps you alert.The boss battles are differnt now with timing is a great addtion to the game. Instead of the ald runnig around and trying to find a weakness you can fight with style and injoy a awsome cutsceen while you battle the bosses.
  6. BrandenB.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    No game I have ever played has ever effected me like this one. With spectacular gameplay and an amazing story, Kingdom Hearts 2 is definately one of the (if not) the greatest game of our time.
  7. MarissaB.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    i am a big fan of all the work they have put into of making all the kingdom hearts. i enjoy playing them.
  8. HomerS.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    This game is one of the best i have ever played. it has a great storyline and hooked me right at the begining. i dont normally play video games that much because i am busy with college and hoping to get a masters in biology.Even with my school work i find time to play this game. It is a very promising sequel to the ever popular first one. I was kind of frustrated at the beggining with This game is one of the best i have ever played. it has a great storyline and hooked me right at the begining. i dont normally play video games that much because i am busy with college and hoping to get a masters in biology.Even with my school work i find time to play this game. It is a very promising sequel to the ever popular first one. I was kind of frustrated at the beggining with Roxas because of the lack of disney characters (gotta have donald and goofy) one downside to this game is that it seems like you spend more time watching it than playing because of all the cinematic events, but overall i thin this is one of the best i have ever played. Expand
  9. SamuelP.
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II is definitely one of the best releases of 2006. It has a lovely storyline that will entice the gamer all the way to the end of the game, and it will keep them coming back for more. The fact that there is a lot to do in the game will keep the player wanting to see more of the game, and they will find more as the story progresses. The music and the detail in the game are Kingdom Hearts II is definitely one of the best releases of 2006. It has a lovely storyline that will entice the gamer all the way to the end of the game, and it will keep them coming back for more. The fact that there is a lot to do in the game will keep the player wanting to see more of the game, and they will find more as the story progresses. The music and the detail in the game are both excellent, and it is definitely an improvement from the first game in the series. The plot twists and awesome controls will make the player feel like they are actually in the game. If I were to only buy one game in 2006, this is the game that I would choose. Nicely done square enix. Expand
  10. EmmanuelG.
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This game is better than the first because you have better combos, more ability points boost, and have new abilities and all of them rock. Oh and Sepheroth is alot harder and still does Sin's wrath so becareful.
  11. Sammi&Khari
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    I have no complaints about this game...It was soooooo cool!!! Cain't wait for the third one.
  12. KaiK.
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    This game is great there should be another one.
  13. ChrisE.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    An awsome game through and through. The story is the best part by FAR and the secret ending leaves you salivating about the next one. The addition of the drive forms puts a wonderful twist on the game play and character development. The story is EXTREMELY compelling but there are a few story quirks I'd just like to point out. For one, how did Sora grow so much in just a year!? I mean An awsome game through and through. The story is the best part by FAR and the secret ending leaves you salivating about the next one. The addition of the drive forms puts a wonderful twist on the game play and character development. The story is EXTREMELY compelling but there are a few story quirks I'd just like to point out. For one, how did Sora grow so much in just a year!? I mean seriously, he used to be about 5 in. shorter than goofy, now he's a little taller than him. It made it seem like more than just one year passed. And what about the nobodies of Sora and Kairi? If they were created, then that means their hartless should have been created too! Could the people in the secret video be those heartless? I guess we'll have to find out. But overall, this game was very good and compelling, with over 50+ hours of game play. Expand
  14. Action
    May 5, 2006
    9
    I wouild give this a 9.5 if I could. Nearly perfect followup to the original, improving on the glaring flaws of the first game and adding some nice touches to boot. The idiots complaining about not having to finish every world or that the game was too kiddy need to get a clue... this game is for 10 and up, and there is something for everybody here of all ages and skill levels. If you I wouild give this a 9.5 if I could. Nearly perfect followup to the original, improving on the glaring flaws of the first game and adding some nice touches to boot. The idiots complaining about not having to finish every world or that the game was too kiddy need to get a clue... this game is for 10 and up, and there is something for everybody here of all ages and skill levels. If you didn't finish every world, then you didn't get the special ending. Nuff said. The only real flaw, in my opinion, was that the voice acting wasn't that great... was it really so hard to get Billy Zane to repirse his character? Expand
  15. TalhoP.
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    Animation on this game is excellent- gameplay is also very well done. Well rounded plot line with vivid characters; overall- this game is worth playing over and over again.
  16. DanielP.
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    Despite it's status as one of the strangest games out there, Kingdom Hearts II proves to be a great gaming experience. The graphics and the intriguing story prove to be it's greatest assets, while the gameplay itself lags behind. Worse yet, a bit of that "Disney flare (Square related pun not intended)" seems to have evaporated with the transition. But despite the flaws, Kingdom Despite it's status as one of the strangest games out there, Kingdom Hearts II proves to be a great gaming experience. The graphics and the intriguing story prove to be it's greatest assets, while the gameplay itself lags behind. Worse yet, a bit of that "Disney flare (Square related pun not intended)" seems to have evaporated with the transition. But despite the flaws, Kingdom Hearts II is still an amazing successor and a top-tier in my list of favorite games. Highly recommended. Expand
  17. BrianD.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game rocks. Sora is my favorite person in the game. This time u can turn into forms. I have heard they were making a third, I can't wait.
  18. AndrewC.
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    This game is great as sequels go. The story is vastly improved on the original, there's loads of new gameplay options, and the game is lengthy and quite challenging, too. The biggest beef I have with the game is it sometimes overdoes the Disney license thing. When I wanted more Kingdom Hearts story, I got to go to Mulan Land or whatever. When I was dying to know about Riku, Kairi and This game is great as sequels go. The story is vastly improved on the original, there's loads of new gameplay options, and the game is lengthy and quite challenging, too. The biggest beef I have with the game is it sometimes overdoes the Disney license thing. When I wanted more Kingdom Hearts story, I got to go to Mulan Land or whatever. When I was dying to know about Riku, Kairi and Roxas, I got to run around with Tron. So basically, the game's biggest flaw is its own most intriguing innovation. Pacing is the problem here, but it's still wonderful. Expand
  19. FredB.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    I think this game is amazing. One of my favorite games of all time. Loved it just as much as the first one. I love the game play and the actors player the characters are perfect (Hayden Panettiere as "Kairi").
  20. AmandaF.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    This game was awesome. It had a good story line, which was too long at times, but the levels were awesome. I've replayed it 3 times, and every time it gets better.
  21. mazekitten_khearts2....
    May 24, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing game. Not just speaking from an obsessed fangirl's point of veiw, but as a hard core gamer of these types. Please, all of the people who said it was bad, was because they sucked at it.
  22. BryanM.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    One problem is you can never play as Roxas again, how dumb! ot that i totaly hate Sora but I think Roxas is cooler. but otherwise this game rocks.
  23. AquaC.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    KH1 and Kh2 has so much detail - I enjoyed it 100%. For some reason it made me really emotional... Which was kinda weird yet comforting. The only thing that's sucky is that KH3 is coming out only on PS3 - So I've heard.. And if it is, thats just wrong because some people are playing it on PS2... But still over-all 10!!
  24. AronVanMatre
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    i gave it a 9 for to ressons once agian hoe in the world do u kill sephorth and who is roxas where did he come from and who have to be roxas for 3hrs that is how long the prologe takes but other wise great game if loved the first one this is a must buy it also adds the drive forms wich is really aswome
  25. CodyB
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Kingdom Hearts 2, one of THE best masterpieces I have ever played. Micky Mouse, an incredibly epic storyline, beautifully intense graphics, Organization 13, Scar, what's not to love about this Disney-worldly game? Judge this game not by the level of difficulty (go to hell IGN and entertainment weekly) but by what this game is meant to offer; the storyline, graphics, new features, and Kingdom Hearts 2, one of THE best masterpieces I have ever played. Micky Mouse, an incredibly epic storyline, beautifully intense graphics, Organization 13, Scar, what's not to love about this Disney-worldly game? Judge this game not by the level of difficulty (go to hell IGN and entertainment weekly) but by what this game is meant to offer; the storyline, graphics, new features, and all the new Disney worlds & characters with their own storylines. KH2 surpasses the original Kingdom Hearts in every way that it counts! Expand
  26. SteveA.
    May 14, 2009
    9
    This game almost blew my mind. It included some of the best graphics I'd seen on a PS2 game, fun abilities, great characters. I had so much fun playing it. It is, however, flawed. When playing it, it's impossible not to compare it to the original Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is far too easy, even on Proud mode (the most difficult setting), mainly due to the enemies This game almost blew my mind. It included some of the best graphics I'd seen on a PS2 game, fun abilities, great characters. I had so much fun playing it. It is, however, flawed. When playing it, it's impossible not to compare it to the original Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is far too easy, even on Proud mode (the most difficult setting), mainly due to the enemies seemingly never attacking you, or at least not as much as they did in the first game. This means most battles are over very quickly. Some of the boss fights are a little underwhelming, especially Shan Yu, Hades, Cerberus, Luxord and the bosses of Argabah. However, most of them are as fun as the first game, most of the Organization fights are great, Barbossa, Oogie Boogie, the Pride Lands fights, are all great. The only world I have a problem with is Atlantica - I'd much rather have had a world like the one in Kingdom Hearts than the whole pushing-buttons-in-time-to-the-beat musical. Another minus is that the story seems to have lost some of the epic scope that was present in the original KH, it feels as though it's lost some of it's heart. The exploration part of the game has been dumbed down greatly - the chests are so easy to get to they're literally right in front of you the whole way through the game, there's no secret areas or bosses besides Sephiroth, no objects to find such as the Dalmations. Basically, it's good for a couple of play throughs, but you won't find much to do after that. There's some quests that will take up your time but 90% of them are easily done on the first time. However, I like the new synthesis system, which is something that will keep you busy for a bit. And I love the new worlds included based on live-action Disney films. If you're a fan it's definitely worth playing as it's an addictive experience, but if you're new to the series, I wouldn't play this one first. Expand
  27. freddorton
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    This looks like the sweetest game in the world i cant wait until i get i'll pre-order it like in a month i bet i'l play this game for like 8 hours straight every day (well not really)but a whole lot i probobly sound like a freak but i seen trailers and i was blowed away i was smiling soooooooo long my lips started to crack well im rambling so i'll just go
  28. mystsowada
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    This game is not a baby game like what people said about the first one. Im 15 and most of my friends are obsessed with this game as am I. Im not a nerd, I do track, football, baseball, and of course basketball.Kingdom Hearts one and two are probably the best games I've ever played by far.
  29. BrianH.
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    Got it this afternoon and after four hours of playing, it looks a ton better than the first one! :D
  30. HeatherA.
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    this game does not have all the jumping the 1st kh had which is nice. i love the new worlds. but part of wishes that they would have more new worlds to vist-that have 3 worlds from the 1st game that could have easiler been changed to 3 diff ones. Although i do have to say that the griphes in this our much much better then in the 1st one. the worlds feel much less boxed off then in the 1st this game does not have all the jumping the 1st kh had which is nice. i love the new worlds. but part of wishes that they would have more new worlds to vist-that have 3 worlds from the 1st game that could have easiler been changed to 3 diff ones. Although i do have to say that the griphes in this our much much better then in the 1st one. the worlds feel much less boxed off then in the 1st one. Sora has grown more as well as all his friends. I am not a box fan of RPG based games/ But once my bf brought me KH one i love them. i can wait to beat this and for the 3rd KH to come out. :) Expand
  31. ChrisF.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    The game is great... The people complaining about the lack of difficulty should keep in mind that this game is specifically targeted at a younger audience.. The game is supposed to be easy. I happen to enjoy more story focused game with fairly easy battles..
  32. JaseP.
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    i loved this game. i loved playing both this game, and the first one. they both made me think. overall, they were both great games but this one surpasses the first by far
  33. AndrewN.
    Apr 16, 2006
    10
    This game is awesome, even when there are hordes and hordes of Heartless after you the game never lags. Square Enix is creative with all the Disney characters and story line. This game is better than Zelda and more fun too the new reaction command makes the game even more interesting to play with.
  34. Clabog
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Probally the best game i have ever played!! It is long, packs a great storyline and game experience so you know you will get your moneys worth! New camera controls are great, and the new combat system never gets old. Also if you are really into the game you will have to unlock the secret ending which will get you excited and wondering about KH 3. But that could be a looonnnggg time! this Probally the best game i have ever played!! It is long, packs a great storyline and game experience so you know you will get your moneys worth! New camera controls are great, and the new combat system never gets old. Also if you are really into the game you will have to unlock the secret ending which will get you excited and wondering about KH 3. But that could be a looonnnggg time! this game isa must have for anyone. Expand
  35. JordanG.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    KH2is a vast improvment on the first. the camara is less against you and more with you by working right.the story is a bit simpler but is still amazing the controls are easier and the cliff hanger ending will make you wanting more.
  36. JoseClaudio
    Apr 28, 2006
    8
    It's not prefect. the game is way easy, I played this game on prode mode (hard). beliving they would do this. after all they did it to the FF seiras Consiter the first game was viewed as being a bit too hard for the younger kids playing the game and to brouden the appeal.
  37. TonyI.
    May 29, 2006
    9
    This game was indeed a cherished piece of art not doubt. There aren't many things in life that can bring tears to my eyes, but this game accomplished thus. I find one great short comming of the game and if I didn't love it so much I'd rate the game much much lower. There isn't enough actual decision in this when it comes to what you do. It's either attack, magic, This game was indeed a cherished piece of art not doubt. There aren't many things in life that can bring tears to my eyes, but this game accomplished thus. I find one great short comming of the game and if I didn't love it so much I'd rate the game much much lower. There isn't enough actual decision in this when it comes to what you do. It's either attack, magic, or response command. A tid bit weak in that dept. but otherwise beautiful. Of light and darkness. Expand
  38. -SoulS.
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, now I know that Square can make a hilarous sequel.
  39. Tami
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    I played for so long that i couldn't stop playing!! FUNNY SEQUEL!
  40. KairiL.
    Jul 29, 2006
    8
    I loved the game and stuff, and roxas, but when i found out that roxas's voice was played by stupid jesse mc cartney, it pissed me off!
  41. KevinM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    When my sister first picked up Kingdom Hearts, I was suspicious. I thought it was okay, but I was more awe-inspired by Jak and Daxter. A few years later, bored and searching Hollywood video, I came across II. I didn't know quite what to say, and decided to give it a try. So, I arrived home, and began to play. I promise you this-I did not want to stop for anything. The game's When my sister first picked up Kingdom Hearts, I was suspicious. I thought it was okay, but I was more awe-inspired by Jak and Daxter. A few years later, bored and searching Hollywood video, I came across II. I didn't know quite what to say, and decided to give it a try. So, I arrived home, and began to play. I promise you this-I did not want to stop for anything. The game's graphics are so intense and so beautifully rendered, I was entranced even before the opening movie ended. Starting to play, I realized that this could be the best game I've ever seen. I've been a KH geek ever since. If you can find the time, rent it. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  42. D.L.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    This game is the best! I know that EVERYBODY says it's too easy, but it is not! My friend would probably agree, he can't get past the "dance water, dance!" guy!! Also, the AWESOME amour and the ability to go anywhere are the best! Anyone who gave 10 is right!
  43. MathewZ.
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    Clearly the best and most creative mix of style and creativity of Square with the fisaz of disney. Clearly the best if not best in the top 10 for Ps2 or top 50 for best games of all time.
  44. SamB.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Kingdom Hearts...what can I say about this game? I was captivated by its elegant look and entrancing soundtrack as soon as I saw the main menu. This game is undeniably one of the best games ever made. Its alluring storyline, deep narrative, enjoyable comment and beautiful graphics will have you hooked on this game, but above all, the emotional impact this game has had on me is truly Kingdom Hearts...what can I say about this game? I was captivated by its elegant look and entrancing soundtrack as soon as I saw the main menu. This game is undeniably one of the best games ever made. Its alluring storyline, deep narrative, enjoyable comment and beautiful graphics will have you hooked on this game, but above all, the emotional impact this game has had on me is truly amazing. When Sora cried for Roxas in the beginning, I was floored. When Xaldin controlled the Beast, I was pissed. As I charged my way through the World That Never Was, I was determined. AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE! Expand
  45. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    A massive improvement over the first game in almost every aspect. Firstly the camera is actually bearable this time and cutscenes are skippable. The game is longer and overall more fun, the gummi ship sections are fast paced fun this time and visiting each world twice doesn't make the game feel padded as each visit is very different. The combat is largely the same but has been beefed upA massive improvement over the first game in almost every aspect. Firstly the camera is actually bearable this time and cutscenes are skippable. The game is longer and overall more fun, the gummi ship sections are fast paced fun this time and visiting each world twice doesn't make the game feel padded as each visit is very different. The combat is largely the same but has been beefed up with transformations and little quick time events that I feel make the battles more epic in comparison with the first game. I only have a few little problems with this game, one is the overly long introduction sequence where you play as Roxas which drags on for way to long and the story is very convoluted and if you haven't played the bridge game 'kingdom hearts chain of memories' then you'll be confused at times. But I still enjoyed the plot without playing that game so I don't think it's really that much of a problem. Expand
  46. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best RPGs I've ever played hands down. It deserves all the hype and recognition it gets. The story is absolutely amazing, the characters are unforgettable, and the battle system is a vast improvement over the first game. There are some new worlds and some old ones. The new worlds are based off of quite amazing Disney classics such as Mulan and The Lion King.Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best RPGs I've ever played hands down. It deserves all the hype and recognition it gets. The story is absolutely amazing, the characters are unforgettable, and the battle system is a vast improvement over the first game. There are some new worlds and some old ones. The new worlds are based off of quite amazing Disney classics such as Mulan and The Lion King. Which is definitely wonderful for me since I'm a big, longtime Disney fan. There are also various characters from the Final Fantasy franchise. Some will be your allies and some will be your enemies. The battle system has definitely changed a lot from the first game and rightfully so due to how frustrating the controls and camera were. The system in this game is easier to use and has all kinds of nifty new features that you will definitely love.

    The story in this game will confuse you at first and starts off rather slow and sluggish which may even turn you off but things soon heat up and you'll find yourself immersed and spellbound by the game! You'll be so drawn into it that you'll be disappointed when it's over. Very disappointed. There are several mini-games/side quests in the game that you can do and they are actually quite good and borderline addictive. Even if some of them are slightly cheesy. The boss battles are as climactic as they come and you might find yourself getting several Game Overs which will prove to be frustrating and downright annoying.

    As for music, it is perfection. No other word can describe it. The music for each world will remind you of the Disney film it's based on and if you're a Disney fan, it'll be nostalgia overload for you. The theme song Sanctuary (or Passion in Japanese) is wonderful and you'll want to listen to it over and over again. The voice acting is also perfection. With an all-star voice cast and most of the characters having their actors reprised from their source material, you won't be disappointed.

    Unfortunately the game is a one-hit wonder due to having no replay value. But it's so amazing that you'll want to play it again! Overall, Kingdom Hearts II is amazing and it should definitely be in your collection! If you haven't played this game, you haven't lived!
    Expand
  47. Jul 5, 2016
    10
    If you're a real fan of video games, then this is a must-play before you die. It features incredible combat mechanics, knockout graphics, epic boss battles, and a great story, making it one of the best games I've ever played.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. An all around excellent game. It looks phenomenal and plays even better. What started out as a crazy fan based experiment for Square-Enix has panned out to one of the most entertaining titles of the year. [JPN Import]
  2. 95
    From the amazing opening cg cinema (oh god, I think I just soiled myself it was so good) with Utada Hikaru's newest song, Passion, to the kick ass ending, this game rocked and set itself a more than worthy successor to the first Kingdom Hearts. [JPN Import]
  3. It has an excellent battle system, more variety than almost any game out there, great graphics, and an interesting story. The title isn't perfect though. The story lacks a bit of cohesiveness and the auto-camera still can't seem to track everything that's going on. [JPN Import]