Kingdom Hearts II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 736 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 736
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2016
    10
    If you're a real fan of video games, then this is a must-play before you die. It features incredible combat mechanics, knockout graphics, epic boss battles, and a great story, making it one of the best games I've ever played.
  2. Jun 2, 2016
    8
    This is a good game but I was a little disappointed. Graphics are good and you can apreciate a little improvement if you compare it with the first Kingdom Hearts. Soundtrack is good but the story is becoming really complicate. Yes, if you search and read in some websites it fits but is very complicate and at first you can get lost with DiZ, Riku, Ansem, etc (I don't want to be a spoiler).This is a good game but I was a little disappointed. Graphics are good and you can apreciate a little improvement if you compare it with the first Kingdom Hearts. Soundtrack is good but the story is becoming really complicate. Yes, if you search and read in some websites it fits but is very complicate and at first you can get lost with DiZ, Riku, Ansem, etc (I don't want to be a spoiler). The game is short (30 hours) and when it's finished you feel that you want to continue the story, like in Kingdom Hearts I. In Spain, voices have been dubbed and this is always good. What I didn't like it is that Sora is always saying the same in every planet: "We are Sora, Donald and Goofy". You feel that the creators of the game didn't have anything more interesting to say... And I also hope that in the next Kingdom Hearts the designers put some cinematic in the middle of the game and not only at the beginning and at the ending. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2016
    10
    Just love, LOVE, U GOTA LOVE KH2, if u don't love kh2 u don't love it, JUST DO IT, MAKE U DREAMS COME TRU JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT
  4. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    this game is **** better than any of the xbox one ps4 and pc games coming out right now so **** STAR WARS BATTLEFRONT AND ALL THOSE **** GAMES PLAY THIS RIGHT NOW YOU DUMB ****s
  5. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    This is the game I grew up with, this is my favourite game to EVER exist on this PLANET, and it is the only half linear game i have play for more than 250hrs!!!

    I do sound like a fanboy but I promise you all this game is worth it. The graphics for the time of release was spectacular and the gameplay is much more complex than the first game. The story is probably most disappointing
    This is the game I grew up with, this is my favourite game to EVER exist on this PLANET, and it is the only half linear game i have play for more than 250hrs!!!

    I do sound like a fanboy but I promise you all this game is worth it.

    The graphics for the time of release was spectacular and the gameplay is much more complex than the first game. The story is probably most disappointing but that is mainly because most people haven't played the other games in the series.

    PROS:
    Amazing graphics
    Heavy emotion
    Large variety of enemies
    Most worlds out of any Kingdom Hearts games
    Difficult bosses (if you play on the harder difficulties)
    Multiple epic moments during the game (Like come on, if defeating 1000 heartless at once isn't epic well then I don't know what is)
    Good balancing with delay between dodge rolls, and uses for every attack
    Adverse environment
    Lovable and relatable characters
    Lots of stuff to do (completing the journal, finding all the chests, reaching lv100, forging the ultimate weapon, ect. ect.)
    Smooth mechanics (everything feels as if it is actually happening)
    Very well done voice acting (most of the time)
    Damn the drive forms (changes up the gameplay a fair bit, and another thing to do! Lv them up!)
    User friendly menu with a simple but effective display)
    Gummi ship missions DRAMATICALLY improved from the first game
    Gummi ship maker menu DRAMATICALLY improved from the first game
    Massive variety of equipment including armor, accessories, potions and weapons
    The synthesis has been improved since the first game
    There are so many things you can make by synthesizing (hey guess what you can lv this up as well! =D)
    Better Magic set up compared to the first game
    Better enemy health bars (more obvious what % health they are on)
    Limit commands, just adds more variety and also is very helpful on harder difficulties
    Extra variant of enemies: the nobodies

    OKAY I'LL STOP, lets get on with the negatives

    CONS:
    Atlantica world (although i liked it for some reason i know pretty much everyone hated it)
    gummi ship missions still need improvement
    Could be a harder game (fixed in Final Mix version, with a harder difficulty setting and the ability to cap your lv at 1)
    More hidden bosses (once again fixed in Final Mix version, added 20 new bosses!!! YES 20!)
    simple gameplay (compared to KH1, it is about 10x more complex)

    That is all i can think of, I literally sat here for 10 minutes trying to think of another fault, but sorry nothing.
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    An excellent sequel, it is also on my list of the best games ever. The story was amazing as were the characters. The worlds are bigger and better. The game features many talented voice actors and actresses.
  7. Aug 28, 2015
    10
    This game is a masterpiece that I grew up playing. The combination of gameplay, story, visuals and everything else is just great, and perfectly done. Easily my favorite Kingom Hearts game alongside Birth By Sleep.
  8. Aug 19, 2015
    7
    Giving this game 0 is a huge stretch. The game is far from perfect but what it does, it does well. The story is really good but slow and the whole FF/Disney thing is well put together. However combat really lacks and is quite easy and simple even on the highest difficulty. There are also small design issues like losing changes to abilities and stats when trying a segment again. The mainGiving this game 0 is a huge stretch. The game is far from perfect but what it does, it does well. The story is really good but slow and the whole FF/Disney thing is well put together. However combat really lacks and is quite easy and simple even on the highest difficulty. There are also small design issues like losing changes to abilities and stats when trying a segment again. The main story is spread to far out between the cute disney worlds. Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    If you have anything bad to say about this game then please... PLEASE get the hell away from my beloved Kingdom Hearts and go back to 360 no scoping in COD. This is a nice thing so no touching.. This is not for you.
    Now onto the review. This game is amazing. I had waited what felt like an eternity to see the next chapter in this amazing series. The game play was more fluid, the drive
    If you have anything bad to say about this game then please... PLEASE get the hell away from my beloved Kingdom Hearts and go back to 360 no scoping in COD. This is a nice thing so no touching.. This is not for you.
    Now onto the review. This game is amazing. I had waited what felt like an eternity to see the next chapter in this amazing series. The game play was more fluid, the drive forms added a nice new aspect to it. The reaction commands made for eye candy visual attacks. The major bosses like ORG13, Sephiroth and Lingering Will presented great challenges. What's such a nice little Easter egg to these games is how so much is made clear in future titles and you slowly realise that the entire story has been planned out ahead. Even this game had references to Dream Drop Distance. A game that wasn't even announced until 6 years later. It's the little touches like this along captivating story unveiling before you that makes this game great... And with the many moments to tug on heart strings too it's a brilliant sequel to one of the best games ever made.
    Expand
  10. Aug 9, 2015
    10
    "Video games make kids stupid." - every whiny parent alive. BS. This game is fukin poetry, and beauty at it's finest. The only video game to ever make me cry. 10/10 Best game of all time
  11. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    By far my favourite Kingdom Hearts game to date. I love the new characters and the fact that the old characters have aged helps give this game a more mature atmosphere than the one before it. The soundtrack is my favourite of any video game, ever.
  12. Feb 25, 2015
    6
    This game was really boring to me. The bland colors of the level and just the darkness of the game really turned me off. I wanted to like this game but I couldn't.
  13. Dec 31, 2014
    9
    Leaps and bounds better than the first game, as far as gameplay. It's also amazing how much better the graphics are, even on the same platform. The camera has been fixed, the difficulty doesn't spike unexpectedly, and combat is much smoother/more action-packed. The hardest difficulty is not quite as difficult as one would expect.

    The ridiculous Winnie the Pooh side quests are back
    Leaps and bounds better than the first game, as far as gameplay. It's also amazing how much better the graphics are, even on the same platform. The camera has been fixed, the difficulty doesn't spike unexpectedly, and combat is much smoother/more action-packed. The hardest difficulty is not quite as difficult as one would expect.

    The ridiculous Winnie the Pooh side quests are back but they're not quite as boring as the first game's.

    New Disney-themed areas, with a revisit to a couple redone areas. I will say that if you plan to play 358/2 Days, prepare to replay some of the same exact maps from this game. If you had issues with the first game, and believe me I certainly did, I still urge players to give this one a chance.
    Expand
  14. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2 manages to fix the problems of the first game and, as a whole, makes the experience better. However, the game suffers through its story, dialogue, and Atlantica in general. It's still a wonderful game that's a lot of fun.
  15. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    I love that they put cool stuff then from the first one. 10/10 to this game. There is some mild childish stuff, but still a awesome game. The best game in the series. The controls are very easy and they made battling more funner, because you can do some funny stuff to defeat heartless with/at the heartless. This game has amazing graffics, Amazing animation, and the world map is AMAZING!!!I love that they put cool stuff then from the first one. 10/10 to this game. There is some mild childish stuff, but still a awesome game. The best game in the series. The controls are very easy and they made battling more funner, because you can do some funny stuff to defeat heartless with/at the heartless. This game has amazing graffics, Amazing animation, and the world map is AMAZING!!! They made the building a gunny ship easier. this is worth the money!! This is a good game for a KH fan. Expand
  16. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    kingdom hearts 2 is one of the best games i played in my life, the story fits so well together, if you look at the other games, and how huge the story is, it is a miracle that there is almost no plot-holes, the fighting style isn't just pressing a button, its about deflecting and guarding when you have to and get a strategy so you won't get your ass whooped! it improved all the flaws inkingdom hearts 2 is one of the best games i played in my life, the story fits so well together, if you look at the other games, and how huge the story is, it is a miracle that there is almost no plot-holes, the fighting style isn't just pressing a button, its about deflecting and guarding when you have to and get a strategy so you won't get your ass whooped! it improved all the flaws in kingdom hearts 1 (they explain almost nothing about what you have to do, which i like, but dont make me talk twice to a character without telling me i have to talk to her again after a cutscene) Expand
  17. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2 is probably one of my favourite games of all time. A step up from the two games before it, KH2 brings a whole new story with the same classic elements that made Kingdom Hearts so popular. Well-developed original characters are mixed with characters from the Disney franchise and the Final Fantasy franchise to craft a plot that isn’t childish, as many would think the momentKingdom Hearts 2 is probably one of my favourite games of all time. A step up from the two games before it, KH2 brings a whole new story with the same classic elements that made Kingdom Hearts so popular. Well-developed original characters are mixed with characters from the Disney franchise and the Final Fantasy franchise to craft a plot that isn’t childish, as many would think the moment they hear “Disney”. Graphics and gameplay mechanics are superb, with amazing visual effects and a camera that functions properly (unlike the one in the first game, I shudder at the memory). But many people argue that the storyline, although captivating, is linear and repetitive. Go to a new world, fight some enemies, seal the keyhole, lather, rinse and repeat. While that is true, you don’t even realize that it’s happening until more than halfway through the game. And even with the pattern, each world has something unique and different that lessens the similarities. One bad thing I will say about the game is that the difficulty is very low. Compared to the first game, where the triangle and square combos are essential to progress, you can beat this game by mashing only the ‘x’ button. And even if you haven’t played the first game, it’s pretty obvious that this game in and of itself is simple. Expand
  18. Sep 21, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the first KH game,and this one also has exciting disney worlds to explore. The only main thing that makes me dislike the game is that the cutscenes are wayyyy too common and way to long. I find myself skipping them and missing the story line because I don't have that much time to play per day. Also the battle is too simple; autolocks on an enemy and press x as much as possible. The maps are very simple, nothing much to explore. The worst part of the game was the beginning. I spent 3 hours on the introduction tutorial before getting the real Sora, before the actual game started. I like the different abilities the characters can get and how you get a different character helping you in each world. I'd say the game is ok, and the parts i don't like are understandable since it's aimed at young people. Expand
  19. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. ForI love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. For example, the boss battle with Sephiroth, Xemnas, Xigbar, Xaldin, Sai'x, and Xemnas (final form/3rd form) Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite Kingdom Hearts games and my second favorite PS2 game. The first being KHI. I loved the way that it brought back some old worlds and also brought in some amazing new ones like Pride Rock and the Land of Dragons. One of the things I didn't like was that the Olympus Colosseum games were moved to the Underworld which in my opinion took the feel out of that world. Also, there was no Traverse Town. I don't mean that the world should have came back, I just wanted a hub world. I know that Hollow Bastion was supposed to be that but it again didn't have the same feel to it and I didn't visit that world unless the game took me there. Another thing is that there was no real plot. In KH1, Sora was looking for his friends, in KHCOM pm he was looking for Namine but on the second one, I had no idea. However, again I loved the new world additions especially Port Royal but if in KH3 is like KH2, then I won't be rushing out to but a Playstation 3 Expand
  21. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    That's one of the most epic and incredible game on PlayStation ;3 I LOVE IT.In this game i hate only tutorial which is too long buy it's part of storyline so i can understand this .
  22. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Not only is this the best game made by Square Enix, it's quite possibly the best game of all time. Great story, great gameplay, well designed fighting mechanics, awesome background music, and absolutely lovable characters. Long story short, it was practically a perfect game.
  23. May 2, 2014
    10
    This is my best kingdom hearts and my best playstation 2 games it excelent advanture games for everyone and it's excellent because more Disney worlds to explore.
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    A great example of how to do a sequel. They greatly improved the camera control in this game, in comparison to the first game. Game play is easy but very enjoyable, especially with the many reaction commands. The story is on par with the first game. But the only things that bring it down is the really long tutorial, some eerily quiet cut scenes, and the lack of post-game content, thoughA great example of how to do a sequel. They greatly improved the camera control in this game, in comparison to the first game. Game play is easy but very enjoyable, especially with the many reaction commands. The story is on par with the first game. But the only things that bring it down is the really long tutorial, some eerily quiet cut scenes, and the lack of post-game content, though plenty is added in the final mix version. Definitely gonna buy the 2.5 version. Expand
  25. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Great characters and music, awesome boss fights. This is one of the most memorable games I have ever played even though its doesn't have the replay value of something with multiplayer. This game makes me smile whenever I play it.
  26. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    if you have not played this game go out buy it and play it from start to finish now its a must must play game for hard core gamers and casual gamers i crown this game best game ever and any one who says a differ will have to show me physical proof that this game is not a master piece sure theres a few bad things but the good things overwelm the bad things so much so you forget about theif you have not played this game go out buy it and play it from start to finish now its a must must play game for hard core gamers and casual gamers i crown this game best game ever and any one who says a differ will have to show me physical proof that this game is not a master piece sure theres a few bad things but the good things overwelm the bad things so much so you forget about the problems in the game Expand
  27. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best RPGs I've ever played hands down. It deserves all the hype and recognition it gets. The story is absolutely amazing, the characters are unforgettable, and the battle system is a vast improvement over the first game. There are some new worlds and some old ones. The new worlds are based off of quite amazing Disney classics such as Mulan and The Lion King.Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best RPGs I've ever played hands down. It deserves all the hype and recognition it gets. The story is absolutely amazing, the characters are unforgettable, and the battle system is a vast improvement over the first game. There are some new worlds and some old ones. The new worlds are based off of quite amazing Disney classics such as Mulan and The Lion King. Which is definitely wonderful for me since I'm a big, longtime Disney fan. There are also various characters from the Final Fantasy franchise. Some will be your allies and some will be your enemies. The battle system has definitely changed a lot from the first game and rightfully so due to how frustrating the controls and camera were. The system in this game is easier to use and has all kinds of nifty new features that you will definitely love.

    The story in this game will confuse you at first and starts off rather slow and sluggish which may even turn you off but things soon heat up and you'll find yourself immersed and spellbound by the game! You'll be so drawn into it that you'll be disappointed when it's over. Very disappointed. There are several mini-games/side quests in the game that you can do and they are actually quite good and borderline addictive. Even if some of them are slightly cheesy. The boss battles are as climactic as they come and you might find yourself getting several Game Overs which will prove to be frustrating and downright annoying.

    As for music, it is perfection. No other word can describe it. The music for each world will remind you of the Disney film it's based on and if you're a Disney fan, it'll be nostalgia overload for you. The theme song Sanctuary (or Passion in Japanese) is wonderful and you'll want to listen to it over and over again. The voice acting is also perfection. With an all-star voice cast and most of the characters having their actors reprised from their source material, you won't be disappointed.

    Unfortunately the game is a one-hit wonder due to having no replay value. But it's so amazing that you'll want to play it again! Overall, Kingdom Hearts II is amazing and it should definitely be in your collection! If you haven't played this game, you haven't lived!
    Expand
  28. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I do not know if it's because that Square Enix made ​​this game or why or appear in it my favorite characters from Disney but I love this game! Flawless combat system, great backing voices and divine history is what I like the most! I can not say that the game is squeezed out of the PS2 last sweats (because it does Final Fantasy XII), but I like it immensely. I finished it 4 times atI do not know if it's because that Square Enix made ​​this game or why or appear in it my favorite characters from Disney but I love this game! Flawless combat system, great backing voices and divine history is what I like the most! I can not say that the game is squeezed out of the PS2 last sweats (because it does Final Fantasy XII), but I like it immensely. I finished it 4 times at different levels of difficulty. The only thing I can be accused of it is that Kairi is not a playable character Expand
  29. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    KH 2 has taken big steps since orginal Kingdom Hearts. Better camera system and enjoyable gameplay.... Complex JRPG story with some plot holes. Never the less this is enjoyable RPG game.
  30. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    this is one hell of an awesome game. if you can find this game cheap take the opportunity to get it. its that good. im sure you will enjoy i (unless your not a fan of disney or final fantasy)
  31. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    On the presentation side, KHII is nearly flawless aside from some weird Disney character lines not fitting. The graphics are simply amazing for a PS2 and have aged wonderfully. The music is top notch, and the camera actually works 99.9% of the time. However the game strays from the originals unique action/rpg mix by putting much more emphasis on the explosive, colorful action. While thisOn the presentation side, KHII is nearly flawless aside from some weird Disney character lines not fitting. The graphics are simply amazing for a PS2 and have aged wonderfully. The music is top notch, and the camera actually works 99.9% of the time. However the game strays from the originals unique action/rpg mix by putting much more emphasis on the explosive, colorful action. While this is perfectly fine most of the time, the problems comes from the fact that your abilities and enemy difficulty are completely unbalanced. Without using limits or drive forms, enemies are decently challenging, but drive forms throw a monkeywrench in by making it so easy to just wipe the floor with them, even on proud mode(hard). Magic is also extremely useless outside of healing and reflecting, and even that is a huge pain. I really really wanted to love this game, and I still like it, but there are a few huge flaws with it's gameplay that cannot be ignored Expand
  32. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    It tops it's predecessor in storytelling and game-play, customization is still a weak point, but you now have new abilities based on the gear you wear, you can also evolve your gear to increase your skills which are necessary for certain tasks the mini-games are an improvement (at times very cheesy), but the gummi ship system is unfortunately still present. The characters are abundant andIt tops it's predecessor in storytelling and game-play, customization is still a weak point, but you now have new abilities based on the gear you wear, you can also evolve your gear to increase your skills which are necessary for certain tasks the mini-games are an improvement (at times very cheesy), but the gummi ship system is unfortunately still present. The characters are abundant and the bosses are a bit more spiced up, this one is clearly a step up from part 1. Expand
  33. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This my favorite kingdom hearts game and maybe one of my favorite games of all time. and a improvement from kingdom hearts 1. the battle system is better, the areas are bigger, although i do think it lacks extra content when compared to kingdom hearts 1. the final mix version fixes that problem, the final mix version has only been released in japan, but there will be an english version inThis my favorite kingdom hearts game and maybe one of my favorite games of all time. and a improvement from kingdom hearts 1. the battle system is better, the areas are bigger, although i do think it lacks extra content when compared to kingdom hearts 1. the final mix version fixes that problem, the final mix version has only been released in japan, but there will be an english version in the kingdom hearts 2.5 HD remix coming soon. but although the game lacks extra content, it has lots of replay value, i think i played this game over 10 times when i had it. the game just pulls you in and you don't want to stop playing. kingdom hearts is one of the best crossovers ever made. Expand
  34. Oct 6, 2013
    1
    If you're a fan of Square and KH1, don't play KH2.

    Explanation: KH1 had challenge and was well designed, as for KH2 the design is that of a child. Streamlined, repetitive, and cinematic crazed. If you want to play KH2 save yourself 18 hours and just watch a Disney flick, it's easier and less painful. Any true gamer, which is a gamer over the age of 18, whom doesn't sit and play
    If you're a fan of Square and KH1, don't play KH2.

    Explanation: KH1 had challenge and was well designed, as for KH2 the design is that of a child. Streamlined, repetitive, and cinematic crazed. If you want to play KH2 save yourself 18 hours and just watch a Disney flick, it's easier and less painful. Any true gamer, which is a gamer over the age of 18, whom doesn't sit and play "Halo" or COD:MW", real gamer I can't stress this enough, should avoid this game like ET for the 2600. If you're getting it for a child? Cool, do that. But know this, when that child grows older they will learn that you don't love them. Good day.
    Expand
  35. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    After loving the first Kingdom Hearts so much, I was so excited when I found out they were making a sequel. I waited for so long for this game and was not disappointed. It is a great game with all new characters and new Disney worlds to visit. The storyline is also fantastic and links Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts:Chain of memories. I also LOVED that they finally added The Lion King'sAfter loving the first Kingdom Hearts so much, I was so excited when I found out they were making a sequel. I waited for so long for this game and was not disappointed. It is a great game with all new characters and new Disney worlds to visit. The storyline is also fantastic and links Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts:Chain of memories. I also LOVED that they finally added The Lion King's world to the game. I just loved being able to play as a lion. Also, being able to see Sora, Riku, and Kairi after they've grown some was really cool as well. Not to mention the ending was real nice and satisfying. Expand
  36. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    This game is great. Gameplay is less stiff than in the original and forms give some depth.
    Easy you essentially just lock on and mash X occasionally curing.
    Thats why I recommend new players or RPG beginners play on Normal and Veterans on Hard mode from the outset. Even on normal mode some of those later boss battles can kick my ass With a great story if youve played the original and
    This game is great. Gameplay is less stiff than in the original and forms give some depth.
    Easy you essentially just lock on and mash X occasionally curing.
    Thats why I recommend new players or RPG beginners play on Normal and Veterans on Hard mode from the outset.
    Even on normal mode some of those later boss battles can kick my ass
    With a great story if youve played the original and chain of memories and great characters also fun minigames
    Expand
  37. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    When I first imagined putting Disney characters in a mix with the awesome franchise that is Final Fantasy I was very nervous. The two just don't seem like they would combine well together at all but somehow it has been done and it is PERFECT. This is easily the best Kingdom Hearts game and one of the best games available on PlayStation 2. The game is beautiful, the characters are lovable,When I first imagined putting Disney characters in a mix with the awesome franchise that is Final Fantasy I was very nervous. The two just don't seem like they would combine well together at all but somehow it has been done and it is PERFECT. This is easily the best Kingdom Hearts game and one of the best games available on PlayStation 2. The game is beautiful, the characters are lovable, the story is interesting and the game play is addictive. I have to say that i thoroughly enjoy traveling to the different worlds and defeating classic Disney bad guys and interacting with all of the classic characters. Some parts of the game can be frustratingly difficult (Organization XIII members mostly!) but hey, this is a Square Enix game! The only negative is that only some of the characters have their original voice actors from their movie counterparts. Some replacements are sound accurate but some (Jack Sparrow being the most obvious) sound nothing like they should. There was a clear sign of no Johnny Depp and his stand-in is painful to listen to. But overall a classic game! Simply a must have! Roll on Kingdom Hearts III! Expand
  38. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Good but overated game. Bad storyline, that gets covered by graphics and fun battle system. A must if you like FF series and Disney characters. Its great to see your childhood characters from disney in this game.
  39. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the KingdomKingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the Kingdom Hearts franchise and while it didn't all make sense at first I went out and bought all the other titles in the franchise to fill in those missing gaps and since I have been attached to the franchise unable to let go. I can't wait for the recently announced third installment for PS4 and XBOX ONE. Expand
  40. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    The worst game in the history of games.this game sucked so bad.every 3 seconds there's a stupid cut scene it made no dam sense this peace of crap game
  41. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    The game just disappointed me in the action, fighting styles and felt like a kiddish game or something to just laugh at... I personally like most of all the other games except this one for some reason
  42. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    It was extremely enjoyable with a great combat system in it. The biggest problem I had with the game was probably the Little Mermaid level. It was atrocious. I know they are with disney, but they made Micky BA, why couldn't they do that with that level?
  43. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Even better than the first. The first one was great. This one improves on everything the first Kingdom Hearts was missing. It has better gameplay, graphics and controls. The game expands and grows for the better. If you play the first and second one, there is a strong attachment to the characters. Great game. I went to GameStop to buy another PS2 because my other one broke just so I couldEven better than the first. The first one was great. This one improves on everything the first Kingdom Hearts was missing. It has better gameplay, graphics and controls. The game expands and grows for the better. If you play the first and second one, there is a strong attachment to the characters. Great game. I went to GameStop to buy another PS2 because my other one broke just so I could play this and the first one. Simply great. Expand
  44. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Just finished playing this game and all I can say is WOW! Never before in my life have i been touched so greatly by a video game, or by anything else for that matter. There were also many improvements on this from the previous game, such as the Drive gauge, new MP bar, etc. This game's plot is astounding, extremely deep and well planned! Graphics are great, especially the flawlessJust finished playing this game and all I can say is WOW! Never before in my life have i been touched so greatly by a video game, or by anything else for that matter. There were also many improvements on this from the previous game, such as the Drive gauge, new MP bar, etc. This game's plot is astounding, extremely deep and well planned! Graphics are great, especially the flawless rendering of the intro/outro. Game-play is fun and more exciting than ever! Many complain about the numerous and unending cutscenes, but face it: without them, the game wouldn't be nearly as deep. Love the game's concept of light, darkness, and nobodies. Hands down the best video game I have ever played! Expand
  45. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Giving this awesome game a 10 since it's the best out of kh series so far that truely kept me wanting me to keep purchasing more new releases of the game. Unfortunately they don't make any more for the ps2 now which is a disappointment, but the psp bbs (birth by sleep) turned out good. Now the ds which stopped making me care about any more kh games I was just hoping for a 3, but insteadGiving this awesome game a 10 since it's the best out of kh series so far that truely kept me wanting me to keep purchasing more new releases of the game. Unfortunately they don't make any more for the ps2 now which is a disappointment, but the psp bbs (birth by sleep) turned out good. Now the ds which stopped making me care about any more kh games I was just hoping for a 3, but instead they're doing such random stuff that doesn't even make much sense. Play Kh1 and/or 2 to see the reason why they're kh fans because they are very incredible, but now the story seems to be endless. Kh2 has great action, and journey across disney worlds while taking out the heartless, the graphics are well made. Expand
  46. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    A massive improvement over the first game in almost every aspect. Firstly the camera is actually bearable this time and cutscenes are skippable. The game is longer and overall more fun, the gummi ship sections are fast paced fun this time and visiting each world twice doesn't make the game feel padded as each visit is very different. The combat is largely the same but has been beefed upA massive improvement over the first game in almost every aspect. Firstly the camera is actually bearable this time and cutscenes are skippable. The game is longer and overall more fun, the gummi ship sections are fast paced fun this time and visiting each world twice doesn't make the game feel padded as each visit is very different. The combat is largely the same but has been beefed up with transformations and little quick time events that I feel make the battles more epic in comparison with the first game. I only have a few little problems with this game, one is the overly long introduction sequence where you play as Roxas which drags on for way to long and the story is very convoluted and if you haven't played the bridge game 'kingdom hearts chain of memories' then you'll be confused at times. But I still enjoyed the plot without playing that game so I don't think it's really that much of a problem. Expand
  47. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    I think Kingdom Hearts is the videogame of my life. Nothing more. I was a child without any idea of what´s a ps2 about. And then, Kingdom Hearts appeared in my life. It was really funny, with hard moments but with an easy control. I spend hours and hours playing when I was only 9 years old. I learn how to play videogames with Kingdom Hearts. The story, the characters, the graphics,I think Kingdom Hearts is the videogame of my life. Nothing more. I was a child without any idea of what´s a ps2 about. And then, Kingdom Hearts appeared in my life. It was really funny, with hard moments but with an easy control. I spend hours and hours playing when I was only 9 years old. I learn how to play videogames with Kingdom Hearts. The story, the characters, the graphics, ALL in this game was fantastic and new to me. Kingdom Hearts 2 was better. For me, Kingdom Hearts 2 is one of the best videogames of PS2 history. The fights against the Organitazion XIII members, against SEPHIROT. Fight with Donald, Goofy, Mickey, Cloud, Tifa... It´s like a dream, like a dream came true by Square Enix. For me, the last good videogame they have made.

    The best of this game: The story, hundreds of hours of entertainment, the graphics, the music. ALL.
    The worst of this game: Perhaps if you are an adult, you can´t touch the fantastic touch this game has.
    Expand
  48. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    Seriously, IF you have anything good to say about this game then say what so good about it. I can't give it less than 5 beacuse it ain't a total waste of playing though I rather play trough the previous Kingdom Hearts that actually was fun. Belive it or not but ut was less butt mashing on X and Triangle. You actually used your block. In this game you just grind trough an endless waves ofSeriously, IF you have anything good to say about this game then say what so good about it. I can't give it less than 5 beacuse it ain't a total waste of playing though I rather play trough the previous Kingdom Hearts that actually was fun. Belive it or not but ut was less butt mashing on X and Triangle. You actually used your block. In this game you just grind trough an endless waves of mobs hoping you at least get to the next "decent "cutscene. Still I like the somewhat nostalgic and still childish feature about this game. Like the cheesy story line but Voice acting imo are much better in Japanease. (As in all other dubbed video games) The Camera are much better than the last game but gameplay are less fun, less challenging. Still hope that the next game will be a mix of both this and the previous one. Expand
  49. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    Best Video Game of All Time in my opinion
  50. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Though the intro is long and a little dull, Kingdom Hearts 2 is a fantastic game. I personally feel it is better than the first. However, playing the first game is essential. The combat is fun and the story is entertaining. The gummi ship and camera have been improved. The enemies, the nobodies, are very well designed and creative. A must have for RPG fans.
  51. May 27, 2012
    7
    Not as good as the first in my opinion, but still an amazing game.
  52. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    I definitely feel that I don't need to sing this game's praises, but whatever. This game has tight controls, memorable bosses, even more memorable worlds, and overall very enjoyable and very engrossing gameplay. The one nitpick I have with this game is that the switch from very strategic and tactical magic use in KH 1 to a more button mash-y beat-em-up style felt like a very very oddI definitely feel that I don't need to sing this game's praises, but whatever. This game has tight controls, memorable bosses, even more memorable worlds, and overall very enjoyable and very engrossing gameplay. The one nitpick I have with this game is that the switch from very strategic and tactical magic use in KH 1 to a more button mash-y beat-em-up style felt like a very very odd change. This is only a nitpick, though, so it's obviously not major.

    Given that, the game gets a very solid 9, for giving the best of Kingdom Hearts 1 and upgrading it.
    Expand
  53. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this game? I've played Kingdom Hearts, and I gotta say, that was an awesome experience. Kingdom Hearts II just took everything that was good about Kingdom Hearts and enhanced it. The camera is a ton better, the battles are just fun, and the Drive Forms? Awesome

    One sad thing about the game is how the reaction commands make it quite a bit easier. You need to play KH1
    What can I say about this game? I've played Kingdom Hearts, and I gotta say, that was an awesome experience. Kingdom Hearts II just took everything that was good about Kingdom Hearts and enhanced it. The camera is a ton better, the battles are just fun, and the Drive Forms? Awesome

    One sad thing about the game is how the reaction commands make it quite a bit easier. You need to play KH1 and CoM to understand KH2 though...
    Expand
  54. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games ive ever played the storyline is amazing and confusing but i love it you can actually change the camera view in this one and the fighting system is the best out of the series including the ones after it the enemys are awesome and the reaction commands take the fighting to a whole new level you can also short cut items the different forms are also a greatThis is one of the best games ive ever played the storyline is amazing and confusing but i love it you can actually change the camera view in this one and the fighting system is the best out of the series including the ones after it the enemys are awesome and the reaction commands take the fighting to a whole new level you can also short cut items the different forms are also a great addition that make you feel like a total badass the only problem with this game is the disney chracters they take away from the serious parts of the story why ? because you CANT take them seriously but if you just pay attention to the awesome square enix side of this epic rpg you be immersed in a game that is truly amazing Expand
  55. Dec 29, 2011
    0
    Huge, huge, huge disappointment. I played both games back to back, playing the first one first of course, and the quality of the games are just on different levels. It was like you were easy listening to the legendary Beatles for a while and then forced to listen to Owl City for a very long 40 hours. The loving, adorable Sora becomes so hard to like, unbearable to listen to, and nudges youHuge, huge, huge disappointment. I played both games back to back, playing the first one first of course, and the quality of the games are just on different levels. It was like you were easy listening to the legendary Beatles for a while and then forced to listen to Owl City for a very long 40 hours. The loving, adorable Sora becomes so hard to like, unbearable to listen to, and nudges you to wish the center of the game was around Roxas. The original game had a great simplistic story of a journey to find his friends. It made you involved and eager to continue through the story and leaves the story off with a great open ending, and leaves you with a bitter sweet, heart warming, magical farewell to all of the characters. The second one one the other hand, they completely crap all over the original plot, violate so many principles of the worlds that were said in the original, you become confused as too about what the Kingdom Hearts really is, ties in a bunch of unnecessary flashy moves, and add cut scenes every five seconds of Sora saying things that we've heard about one billion. As for the ending, it did absolutely nothing for me, it took away all of the magic, and had me not caring about any of the characters, and what happened to them. Honestly, wished it didn't exist. Expand
  56. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Squareenix brings back the players to the Kingdom Hearts universe which includes Disney and Final Fantasy characters. The sequel consists of even a more epic and dark storyline than the first, although some of the worlds from the first game are included and seem to be a rehash, there are different routes and locations. The game also includes new worlds, new enemies, new characters, and newSquareenix brings back the players to the Kingdom Hearts universe which includes Disney and Final Fantasy characters. The sequel consists of even a more epic and dark storyline than the first, although some of the worlds from the first game are included and seem to be a rehash, there are different routes and locations. The game also includes new worlds, new enemies, new characters, and new music. This game is worth getting! Expand
  57. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    i loved kingdom hearts 1 i love 2 even more its one of the most fun games i have played and have spent tons of hours playing if you haven't played this yet you need to the best place to find it now a days is game stop and stores like it its the battle system is like the 1st with some added features the story is deep the music is good everything is good about this game i suggest you play iti loved kingdom hearts 1 i love 2 even more its one of the most fun games i have played and have spent tons of hours playing if you haven't played this yet you need to the best place to find it now a days is game stop and stores like it its the battle system is like the 1st with some added features the story is deep the music is good everything is good about this game i suggest you play it if you haven't already Expand
  58. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time,Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time, plus there's a vast amount of things you can do to get better at fighting. Despite it's E-Rating, this is a pretty mature game and that's why I found more to enjoy in its subject matter, though it still suffers some of the flaws of the first game. Expand
  59. May 24, 2011
    10
    10 perfect in near all ways an amazingly fun game this is a must own just amazing BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  60. May 22, 2011
    9
    An epic collaboration of the Final Fantasy series and Disney that's even better than the first game. Pros: Improved control, camera, and gummi ship sequences; beautiful graphics and sound; fantastic cutscenes; a lot of depth in the battle system and level design; bigger variety of Disney worlds to explore. Cons: The story is impossible to follow unless you've played the first game andAn epic collaboration of the Final Fantasy series and Disney that's even better than the first game. Pros: Improved control, camera, and gummi ship sequences; beautiful graphics and sound; fantastic cutscenes; a lot of depth in the battle system and level design; bigger variety of Disney worlds to explore. Cons: The story is impossible to follow unless you've played the first game and Chain of Memories; begins with a 3-hour tutorial; some battles are too easy and lead to repetitive button mashing. Expand
  61. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Though seemingly underated in the terms of popularity within a RPG franchise, this blend of Final Fantasy/Etc vs. the Disney Universe provides a unique expierience within examples of intense fights, complex but intriguing storyline, and a total sense of difficulty within simplicity that allows for some of the best gameplay I have ever expierienced. Literally a standout title among others.
  62. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    Kingdom Heart II is better than its predecessor. Pros: Excellent use of action-RPG and platforming elements, improved controls, graphics, and visual effect, and more Disney worlds to explore. Cons: Only for viewers who have played the previous games and starts out with a dull 3 hour long tutorial.
  63. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    i loved this game and will not trade it in even though i have played through it many times because i know that i will want to dive back into this amazing piece of work again someday. the graphics were amazing for a game on the PS2 and the story keeps you interested until the very end. the voice acting is spot on and very convincing along with good music that matched what was going on ini loved this game and will not trade it in even though i have played through it many times because i know that i will want to dive back into this amazing piece of work again someday. the graphics were amazing for a game on the PS2 and the story keeps you interested until the very end. the voice acting is spot on and very convincing along with good music that matched what was going on in the current situation. along with these points you also come to feel attachment to the characters which is very rare in games and they do not have 30 min cut scenes like in Metal Gear Solid but are still able to pull at your heart strings when something bad happens to certain characters and the gameplay is so long and addictive that you can play for hours and still want to keep playing and you will not have even left a dent in the progression and i love that in a game because it will keep you entertained for hours upon hours. this game is definitely a must buy especially with the price dropped way down but good luck trying to find it because i doubt that the ppl who bought this game were willing to trade it in because it is so fun Expand
  64. Mar 10, 2011
    0
    Terrible game.How can anybody say they liked this?If you played the first KH this is nothing like that the whole series keeps taking big stupid needless twists and turns that are not even interesting and do nothing to improve the story much less teach you anything or really entertain you:It's super easy you could almost get through the whole thing with the stick and the X button.I haveTerrible game.How can anybody say they liked this?If you played the first KH this is nothing like that the whole series keeps taking big stupid needless twists and turns that are not even interesting and do nothing to improve the story much less teach you anything or really entertain you:It's super easy you could almost get through the whole thing with the stick and the X button.I have played every game in the series at least once because you can't knock'em till you tried 'em but I'm not buying anymore until they fix the whole thing. But I think most of the people who still REALLY like this are the same people(kids...I hope)who really like that anime crap I got into some pretty long arguements with some kids on youtube and they like that anime crap so telling them it sucks is the same as telling them it's good they don't care if it sucks they just want to play what their freinds are playing.So this game probably won't get any better as long as kids keep buying it but that doesn't mean it can't get better because I like FF/Disney stuff but this is neither of those things it's like the video game version of a japanese pop song there are parts when if you have an imagination your like"why did they do that? This sucks."A perfect example amongst others is riku turning into ansem there is no real reason for this to happen it just does and it's stupid and makes the story even more meaningless.I hope people stop buying these so maybe square will get it's act together and make another good one.It's pretty simple if it sounds stupid or is meaningless leave it out,increase the difficullty so I can make the game really hard if I want to,bring back real FF characters and worlds and make the story universally interesting and this series could eventually be one of the memorable classic greats. Expand
  65. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    While Birth by Sleep is now my favorite KH game, I really thought this sequel was superior and better than the original one, much like how movies like Terminator 2 or The Dark Knight exceeded their predecessors.
  66. Feb 2, 2011
    9
    Kingdom Hearts 2 fixes just about every flaw from the original, and is one of the best games on the Playstation 2, as far as graphics go its one of the best looking titles on the ps2, voice acting has been greatly improved upon but still has it's cringe inducing actors, it's music and sound effects are great, the controls are much better than before making it easier than ever to accessKingdom Hearts 2 fixes just about every flaw from the original, and is one of the best games on the Playstation 2, as far as graphics go its one of the best looking titles on the ps2, voice acting has been greatly improved upon but still has it's cringe inducing actors, it's music and sound effects are great, the controls are much better than before making it easier than ever to access potions and spells, the story is much better and easier to follow I actually cared about the characters and what was going on this time around, you will revisit some of the locations from the first and there better this time around, I would recommend this to any gamer, and HIGHLY recommend this to fans of the first game Expand
  67. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    A worthy sequel to an excellent action-JRPG that wraps up the loose ends of the first game in a most satisfying manner. The story is weaker and more convoluted, and there are countless little cutscenes that badly break up actual gameplay but more fluent combat and better camera controls make up for those shortcomings. The unorthodox alliance between Disney and Square Enix still worksA worthy sequel to an excellent action-JRPG that wraps up the loose ends of the first game in a most satisfying manner. The story is weaker and more convoluted, and there are countless little cutscenes that badly break up actual gameplay but more fluent combat and better camera controls make up for those shortcomings. The unorthodox alliance between Disney and Square Enix still works wonders and even if some of the worlds have been recycled from the first game, the overall 30-something-hour experience is a decidedly positive one. Expand
  68. Dec 18, 2010
    6
    Plenty of things are wonderful about this game. The graphics are very reminiscent of the movie counterparts, like the Pirates of The Caribbean world. Visually, fighting is extremely satisfying with Sora doing flips and combos to decimate the enemy. There's plenty of refresher material so you know what's going on in the story, which is interesting and goes well with the previous two gamesPlenty of things are wonderful about this game. The graphics are very reminiscent of the movie counterparts, like the Pirates of The Caribbean world. Visually, fighting is extremely satisfying with Sora doing flips and combos to decimate the enemy. There's plenty of refresher material so you know what's going on in the story, which is interesting and goes well with the previous two games (the first one and Chain of Memories). For the most part, the voice acting was good - there were some voices that didn't sound entirely like the original (Cpt. Sparrow's voice bothered the hell out of me) but they were still believable and well done. Really, it was great in all aspects except the fighting and the pacing which pretty much ruined it. The fighting was entirely button mashing. Just lock on and mash buttons. All. The Way. Like I said, it is aesthetically satisfying to destroy enemies but it takes little thought besides watching for the timing of reaction commands. Also it was way too easy. There were 2 battles I had to retry once on standard - the second one against the guy with the guitar weapon and the one with the black-haired guy with the gun weapons towards the end. I haven't tried the hardest mode, but the standard mode should be much harder than it was. The number one aspect I disliked was the pacing. KH2 is a repetitive combination of mini-games, boss fights, and cutscenes. I felt like most of the worlds were very small with few areas to explore and nothing to do but open the chests (that are in plain sight) and defeat a few enemies. You also can't go through two areas without encountering a cutscene that likely doesn't add much to the story, followed by a mini-game (think musical nightmare in Atlantica) or a "defeat-these-enemies" fight. It gets boring, and when I got to The World that Never Was, I just wanted it to end already so I could escapde the boring script. Expand
  69. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    Kingdom Hearts II takes the torch from its predecessor and soars to new heights, introducing new characters and intrigue while sticking to the script that made it a smash success in 2002.
  70. judsonS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This is the GREATEST game ive ever played its been four years since it came out and i still love it to death I recommend to buy this game it is better than the first in pretty much every way Birth by Sleep cant come sooner!
  71. Roxas
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    The story, the enemy design, the music, the action, everything's awesome. If you've played the first one, than this will blow your mind!! It is a million-billion-trillion-bazillion times better. It will blow your mind. The combat is button mashing, but it's some of the best button mashing ever with the insane customizable combos and best enemy design in video games, even The story, the enemy design, the music, the action, everything's awesome. If you've played the first one, than this will blow your mind!! It is a million-billion-trillion-bazillion times better. It will blow your mind. The combat is button mashing, but it's some of the best button mashing ever with the insane customizable combos and best enemy design in video games, even better than Bayonetta. The story is superb. Dont let the Disney characters fool you, this is the real deal. Expand
  72. JoeyV
    Oct 20, 2009
    8
    Great, but not as good as the original. The story is still fantastic, and the gameplay was revved up a bit more, but it still didn't have the charm of the original. The ending boss fight is great, and the CG's are beautiful. (The opening in particular.)
  73. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game was a definite step up from KH1, with the action button taking away from the button mashing, and a longer mp bar. The story is still a bit kid-cheesy, but you can always skip the cutscenes (not available in KH1, you had to watch ALL of them). The graphics are also a couple steps up from KH1 and the camera has a WAY better functionality. The secret ending leaves you a bitThis game was a definite step up from KH1, with the action button taking away from the button mashing, and a longer mp bar. The story is still a bit kid-cheesy, but you can always skip the cutscenes (not available in KH1, you had to watch ALL of them). The graphics are also a couple steps up from KH1 and the camera has a WAY better functionality. The secret ending leaves you a bit confused, though, and is nothing to keep trying for Expand
  74. SamB.
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Kingdom Hearts...what can I say about this game? I was captivated by its elegant look and entrancing soundtrack as soon as I saw the main menu. This game is undeniably one of the best games ever made. Its alluring storyline, deep narrative, enjoyable comment and beautiful graphics will have you hooked on this game, but above all, the emotional impact this game has had on me is truly Kingdom Hearts...what can I say about this game? I was captivated by its elegant look and entrancing soundtrack as soon as I saw the main menu. This game is undeniably one of the best games ever made. Its alluring storyline, deep narrative, enjoyable comment and beautiful graphics will have you hooked on this game, but above all, the emotional impact this game has had on me is truly amazing. When Sora cried for Roxas in the beginning, I was floored. When Xaldin controlled the Beast, I was pissed. As I charged my way through the World That Never Was, I was determined. AN ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE! Expand
  75. SteveA.
    May 14, 2009
    9
    This game almost blew my mind. It included some of the best graphics I'd seen on a PS2 game, fun abilities, great characters. I had so much fun playing it. It is, however, flawed. When playing it, it's impossible not to compare it to the original Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is far too easy, even on Proud mode (the most difficult setting), mainly due to the enemies This game almost blew my mind. It included some of the best graphics I'd seen on a PS2 game, fun abilities, great characters. I had so much fun playing it. It is, however, flawed. When playing it, it's impossible not to compare it to the original Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is far too easy, even on Proud mode (the most difficult setting), mainly due to the enemies seemingly never attacking you, or at least not as much as they did in the first game. This means most battles are over very quickly. Some of the boss fights are a little underwhelming, especially Shan Yu, Hades, Cerberus, Luxord and the bosses of Argabah. However, most of them are as fun as the first game, most of the Organization fights are great, Barbossa, Oogie Boogie, the Pride Lands fights, are all great. The only world I have a problem with is Atlantica - I'd much rather have had a world like the one in Kingdom Hearts than the whole pushing-buttons-in-time-to-the-beat musical. Another minus is that the story seems to have lost some of the epic scope that was present in the original KH, it feels as though it's lost some of it's heart. The exploration part of the game has been dumbed down greatly - the chests are so easy to get to they're literally right in front of you the whole way through the game, there's no secret areas or bosses besides Sephiroth, no objects to find such as the Dalmations. Basically, it's good for a couple of play throughs, but you won't find much to do after that. There's some quests that will take up your time but 90% of them are easily done on the first time. However, I like the new synthesis system, which is something that will keep you busy for a bit. And I love the new worlds included based on live-action Disney films. If you're a fan it's definitely worth playing as it's an addictive experience, but if you're new to the series, I wouldn't play this one first. Expand
  76. CodyB
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Kingdom Hearts 2, one of THE best masterpieces I have ever played. Micky Mouse, an incredibly epic storyline, beautifully intense graphics, Organization 13, Scar, what's not to love about this Disney-worldly game? Judge this game not by the level of difficulty (go to hell IGN and entertainment weekly) but by what this game is meant to offer; the storyline, graphics, new features, and Kingdom Hearts 2, one of THE best masterpieces I have ever played. Micky Mouse, an incredibly epic storyline, beautifully intense graphics, Organization 13, Scar, what's not to love about this Disney-worldly game? Judge this game not by the level of difficulty (go to hell IGN and entertainment weekly) but by what this game is meant to offer; the storyline, graphics, new features, and all the new Disney worlds & characters with their own storylines. KH2 surpasses the original Kingdom Hearts in every way that it counts! Expand
  77. AronVanMatre
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    i gave it a 9 for to ressons once agian hoe in the world do u kill sephorth and who is roxas where did he come from and who have to be roxas for 3hrs that is how long the prologe takes but other wise great game if loved the first one this is a must buy it also adds the drive forms wich is really aswome
  78. FFIXlove
    Apr 14, 2008
    6
    As much as I love Disney I could not get into this game. KH1 was a mildly fun game with challenging battles and a respectable (but cheesy) storyline. KH2 on the other hand (for adults) is just an easy, boring button masher. The plot is a mess and the script is hit and miss - one would have thought that with all the Disney connected opportunities the plot would have been more interesting - As much as I love Disney I could not get into this game. KH1 was a mildly fun game with challenging battles and a respectable (but cheesy) storyline. KH2 on the other hand (for adults) is just an easy, boring button masher. The plot is a mess and the script is hit and miss - one would have thought that with all the Disney connected opportunities the plot would have been more interesting - but its not. There are however some good Disney cameos such as Mushu's, to go with the poor ones such as Capt Jack Sparrow's (his entry was plain dull). Final Fantasy characters were cool, Vivi was nice to see but they completely screwed his character up. Overall, its just very underwhelming. The huge opportunities this combination could provide just havent been exploited. Well, at least SE still makes Final Fantasy. Those games never fail to impress me (Ignoring FFX-2 + FFXI). Dragon Quest is good as well. So, in conclusion, while KH2 does have some unmistakable charm its kiddy, boring and absurd parts make it a journey not worth taking. Expand
  79. KevinM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    When my sister first picked up Kingdom Hearts, I was suspicious. I thought it was okay, but I was more awe-inspired by Jak and Daxter. A few years later, bored and searching Hollywood video, I came across II. I didn't know quite what to say, and decided to give it a try. So, I arrived home, and began to play. I promise you this-I did not want to stop for anything. The game's When my sister first picked up Kingdom Hearts, I was suspicious. I thought it was okay, but I was more awe-inspired by Jak and Daxter. A few years later, bored and searching Hollywood video, I came across II. I didn't know quite what to say, and decided to give it a try. So, I arrived home, and began to play. I promise you this-I did not want to stop for anything. The game's graphics are so intense and so beautifully rendered, I was entranced even before the opening movie ended. Starting to play, I realized that this could be the best game I've ever seen. I've been a KH geek ever since. If you can find the time, rent it. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  80. MathewZ.
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    Clearly the best and most creative mix of style and creativity of Square with the fisaz of disney. Clearly the best if not best in the top 10 for Ps2 or top 50 for best games of all time.
  81. AquaC.
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    KH1 and Kh2 has so much detail - I enjoyed it 100%. For some reason it made me really emotional... Which was kinda weird yet comforting. The only thing that's sucky is that KH3 is coming out only on PS3 - So I've heard.. And if it is, thats just wrong because some people are playing it on PS2... But still over-all 10!!
  82. DavidF.
    Jun 26, 2007
    3
    As disappointing as it was easy KH2 fails to live up to what I thought it would be. The designers took out the exploring and the challenge of the first game and replaced them with flashy graphics and unneeded abilities. Obviously they decided to focus the game on a younger audience.
  83. BryanM.
    Jun 1, 2007
    9
    One problem is you can never play as Roxas again, how dumb! ot that i totaly hate Sora but I think Roxas is cooler. but otherwise this game rocks.
  84. mazekitten_khearts2....
    May 24, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing game. Not just speaking from an obsessed fangirl's point of veiw, but as a hard core gamer of these types. Please, all of the people who said it was bad, was because they sucked at it.
  85. AmandaF.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    This game was awesome. It had a good story line, which was too long at times, but the levels were awesome. I've replayed it 3 times, and every time it gets better.
  86. FredB.
    May 10, 2007
    9
    I think this game is amazing. One of my favorite games of all time. Loved it just as much as the first one. I love the game play and the actors player the characters are perfect (Hayden Panettiere as "Kairi").
  87. JasmineW.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    This game is the best I don't think any game can top it (well maybe until the 3rd Kingdom Hearts comes out) everyone I know who plays it is totaly addited to it!
  88. AndrewC.
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    This game is great as sequels go. The story is vastly improved on the original, there's loads of new gameplay options, and the game is lengthy and quite challenging, too. The biggest beef I have with the game is it sometimes overdoes the Disney license thing. When I wanted more Kingdom Hearts story, I got to go to Mulan Land or whatever. When I was dying to know about Riku, Kairi and This game is great as sequels go. The story is vastly improved on the original, there's loads of new gameplay options, and the game is lengthy and quite challenging, too. The biggest beef I have with the game is it sometimes overdoes the Disney license thing. When I wanted more Kingdom Hearts story, I got to go to Mulan Land or whatever. When I was dying to know about Riku, Kairi and Roxas, I got to run around with Tron. So basically, the game's biggest flaw is its own most intriguing innovation. Pacing is the problem here, but it's still wonderful. Expand
  89. D.L.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    This game is the best! I know that EVERYBODY says it's too easy, but it is not! My friend would probably agree, he can't get past the "dance water, dance!" guy!! Also, the AWESOME amour and the ability to go anywhere are the best! Anyone who gave 10 is right!
  90. Dragondude
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    I think it had a great story line. But theres to much talking. I know you can skip it but then you just miss a bunch of explanations.
  91. DanielMcGarry
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Many people say that this game is just about bashing X to get through it all but the game has SO much more than that. People are so picky they won't think of even buying the game just because of the childrens charecters in it. Myself included at first i thought "this must be rubbish" i tried it, and BOOM it has to be one of the best games i have ever played. Don't judge a bookMany people say that this game is just about bashing X to get through it all but the game has SO much more than that. People are so picky they won't think of even buying the game just because of the childrens charecters in it. Myself included at first i thought "this must be rubbish" i tried it, and BOOM it has to be one of the best games i have ever played. Don't judge a book buy its cover Expand
  92. JohannY.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Kingdom Hearts has been known for its intriguing Square-Disney chemistry, star-studded character voices, and notable storyline.. Since its debut, massive fans were created all over the globe and now that a PS2 sequel was finally released, fans were generally mesmerized once more upon the improvement on gameplay elements and the story composition just to name a few.. Better fight scenes, Kingdom Hearts has been known for its intriguing Square-Disney chemistry, star-studded character voices, and notable storyline.. Since its debut, massive fans were created all over the globe and now that a PS2 sequel was finally released, fans were generally mesmerized once more upon the improvement on gameplay elements and the story composition just to name a few.. Better fight scenes, better dialogue, more cool characters.. This game is phenomenal.. Can't wait for the next.. You have to be a Square and/or Disney fan to appreciate this..Hardcore action gamers won't be able to get it. Expand
  93. BrianD.
    Aug 18, 2006
    10
    I would give this game a 20 if I could. This game rocks. Sora is my favorite person in the game. This time u can turn into forms. I have heard they were making a third, I can't wait.
  94. B.e.
    Aug 4, 2006
    7
    Even in Proud Mode it's too easy.
  95. Sora&Kairi
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is AWESOME! I like Sora and Kairi's new outfits. The funniest thing about this game is summoning Chicken Little.
  96. Me
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    i give a 10 and screw anyone who does otherwise i must have played it for 4 hrs and just gotten Sora butt it was fun.
  97. KairiL.
    Jul 29, 2006
    8
    I loved the game and stuff, and roxas, but when i found out that roxas's voice was played by stupid jesse mc cartney, it pissed me off!
  98. Tami
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    I played for so long that i couldn't stop playing!! FUNNY SEQUEL!
  99. Ryan
    Jul 21, 2006
    7
    it was a good game, kinda long, but some of the voices didnt match the faces, like ansems new voice, or xemnas. And i agree with the Sora thing. And he was kinda a pussy in the game. He cried. But other than that, i loved the forms, like Valor, Master, and Final. Wisdom..eh im not a magic kinda guy. But this games better than the last cuz sora is more experienced witht eh keyblade and it was a good game, kinda long, but some of the voices didnt match the faces, like ansems new voice, or xemnas. And i agree with the Sora thing. And he was kinda a pussy in the game. He cried. But other than that, i loved the forms, like Valor, Master, and Final. Wisdom..eh im not a magic kinda guy. But this games better than the last cuz sora is more experienced witht eh keyblade and there are new cool lookin combos. And u use almost all the buttons this time. But proud mode, wasnt that proud. The only difficult battle i acutally had was the dude with a million swords. And how the fuck are u spoz to defend him when he gets on his lil dragon??? u cant do much about that. And personally, the story woulda been better if Riku ended up dieing or something. I dunno, thas just me. I thought it was a good thing that getting the Ultima Weapon was tons easier too. But i will say the secret ending has me looking forward to the third installment. Good game, corny dialogue( the whole auron thing pissed me off), unfit voices, new combos, new powers, new blades. 7. Expand
  100. AlexG.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    i loved this game. i could not stop playing it! beautiful story, fun, interesting characters and amazing gameplay.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. An all around excellent game. It looks phenomenal and plays even better. What started out as a crazy fan based experiment for Square-Enix has panned out to one of the most entertaining titles of the year. [JPN Import]
  2. 95
    From the amazing opening cg cinema (oh god, I think I just soiled myself it was so good) with Utada Hikaru's newest song, Passion, to the kick ass ending, this game rocked and set itself a more than worthy successor to the first Kingdom Hearts. [JPN Import]
  3. It has an excellent battle system, more variety than almost any game out there, great graphics, and an interesting story. The title isn't perfect though. The story lacks a bit of cohesiveness and the auto-camera still can't seem to track everything that's going on. [JPN Import]