User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 579 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 579

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    I love that they put cool stuff then from the first one. 10/10 to this game. There is some mild childish stuff, but still a awesome game. The best game in the series. The controls are very easy and they made battling more funner, because you can do some funny stuff to defeat heartless with/at the heartless. This game has amazing graffics, Amazing animation, and the world map is AMAZING!!! They made the building a gunny ship easier. this is worth the money!! This is a good game for a KH fan. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    kingdom hearts 2 is one of the best games i played in my life, the story fits so well together, if you look at the other games, and how huge the story is, it is a miracle that there is almost no plot-holes, the fighting style isn't just pressing a button, its about deflecting and guarding when you have to and get a strategy so you won't get your ass whooped! it improved all the flaws in kingdom hearts 1 (they explain almost nothing about what you have to do, which i like, but dont make me talk twice to a character without telling me i have to talk to her again after a cutscene) Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2 is probably one of my favourite games of all time. A step up from the two games before it, KH2 brings a whole new story with the same classic elements that made Kingdom Hearts so popular. Well-developed original characters are mixed with characters from the Disney franchise and the Final Fantasy franchise to craft a plot that isn’t childish, as many would think the moment they hear “Disney”. Graphics and gameplay mechanics are superb, with amazing visual effects and a camera that functions properly (unlike the one in the first game, I shudder at the memory). But many people argue that the storyline, although captivating, is linear and repetitive. Go to a new world, fight some enemies, seal the keyhole, lather, rinse and repeat. While that is true, you don’t even realize that it’s happening until more than halfway through the game. And even with the pattern, each world has something unique and different that lessens the similarities. One bad thing I will say about the game is that the difficulty is very low. Compared to the first game, where the triangle and square combos are essential to progress, you can beat this game by mashing only the ‘x’ button. And even if you haven’t played the first game, it’s pretty obvious that this game in and of itself is simple. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the first KH game,and this one also has exciting disney worlds to explore. The only main thing that makes me dislike the game is that the cutscenes are wayyyy too common and way to long. I find myself skipping them and missing the story line because I don't have that much time to play per day. Also the battle is too simple; autolocks on an enemy and press x as much as possible. The maps are very simple, nothing much to explore. The worst part of the game was the beginning. I spent 3 hours on the introduction tutorial before getting the real Sora, before the actual game started. I like the different abilities the characters can get and how you get a different character helping you in each world. I'd say the game is ok, and the parts i don't like are understandable since it's aimed at young people. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. For example, the boss battle with Sephiroth, Xemnas, Xigbar, Xaldin, Sai'x, and Xemnas (final form/3rd form) Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite Kingdom Hearts games and my second favorite PS2 game. The first being KHI. I loved the way that it brought back some old worlds and also brought in some amazing new ones like Pride Rock and the Land of Dragons. One of the things I didn't like was that the Olympus Colosseum games were moved to the Underworld which in my opinion took the feel out of that world. Also, there was no Traverse Town. I don't mean that the world should have came back, I just wanted a hub world. I know that Hollow Bastion was supposed to be that but it again didn't have the same feel to it and I didn't visit that world unless the game took me there. Another thing is that there was no real plot. In KH1, Sora was looking for his friends, in KHCOM pm he was looking for Namine but on the second one, I had no idea. However, again I loved the new world additions especially Port Royal but if in KH3 is like KH2, then I won't be rushing out to but a Playstation 3 Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    That's one of the most epic and incredible game on PlayStation ;3 I LOVE IT.In this game i hate only tutorial which is too long buy it's part of storyline so i can understand this .
  8. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Not only is this the best game made by Square Enix, it's quite possibly the best game of all time. Great story, great gameplay, well designed fighting mechanics, awesome background music, and absolutely lovable characters. Long story short, it was practically a perfect game.
  9. May 2, 2014
    10
    This is my best kingdom hearts and my best playstation 2 games it excelent advanture games for everyone and it's excellent because more Disney worlds to explore.
  10. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    A great example of how to do a sequel. They greatly improved the camera control in this game, in comparison to the first game. Game play is easy but very enjoyable, especially with the many reaction commands. The story is on par with the first game. But the only things that bring it down is the really long tutorial, some eerily quiet cut scenes, and the lack of post-game content, though plenty is added in the final mix version. Definitely gonna buy the 2.5 version. Expand
  11. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Great characters and music, awesome boss fights. This is one of the most memorable games I have ever played even though its doesn't have the replay value of something with multiplayer. This game makes me smile whenever I play it.
  12. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    if you have not played this game go out buy it and play it from start to finish now its a must must play game for hard core gamers and casual gamers i crown this game best game ever and any one who says a differ will have to show me physical proof that this game is not a master piece sure theres a few bad things but the good things overwelm the bad things so much so you forget about the problems in the game Expand
  13. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best RPGs I've ever played hands down. It deserves all the hype and recognition it gets. The story is absolutely amazing, the characters are unforgettable, and the battle system is a vast improvement over the first game. There are some new worlds and some old ones. The new worlds are based off of quite amazing Disney classics such as Mulan and The Lion King. Which is definitely wonderful for me since I'm a big, longtime Disney fan. There are also various characters from the Final Fantasy franchise. Some will be your allies and some will be your enemies. The battle system has definitely changed a lot from the first game and rightfully so due to how frustrating the controls and camera were. The system in this game is easier to use and has all kinds of nifty new features that you will definitely love.

    The story in this game will confuse you at first and starts off rather slow and sluggish which may even turn you off but things soon heat up and you'll find yourself immersed and spellbound by the game! You'll be so drawn into it that you'll be disappointed when it's over. Very disappointed. There are several mini-games/side quests in the game that you can do and they are actually quite good and borderline addictive. Even if some of them are slightly cheesy. The boss battles are as climactic as they come and you might find yourself getting several Game Overs which will prove to be frustrating and downright annoying.

    As for music, it is perfection. No other word can describe it. The music for each world will remind you of the Disney film it's based on and if you're a Disney fan, it'll be nostalgia overload for you. The theme song Sanctuary (or Passion in Japanese) is wonderful and you'll want to listen to it over and over again. The voice acting is also perfection. With an all-star voice cast and most of the characters having their actors reprised from their source material, you won't be disappointed.

    Unfortunately the game is a one-hit wonder due to having no replay value. But it's so amazing that you'll want to play it again! Overall, Kingdom Hearts II is amazing and it should definitely be in your collection! If you haven't played this game, you haven't lived!
    Expand
  14. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I do not know if it's because that Square Enix made ​​this game or why or appear in it my favorite characters from Disney but I love this game! Flawless combat system, great backing voices and divine history is what I like the most! I can not say that the game is squeezed out of the PS2 last sweats (because it does Final Fantasy XII), but I like it immensely. I finished it 4 times at different levels of difficulty. The only thing I can be accused of it is that Kairi is not a playable character Expand
  15. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    KH 2 has taken big steps since orginal Kingdom Hearts. Better camera system and enjoyable gameplay.... Complex JRPG story with some plot holes. Never the less this is enjoyable RPG game.
  16. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    this is one hell of an awesome game. if you can find this game cheap take the opportunity to get it. its that good. im sure you will enjoy i (unless your not a fan of disney or final fantasy)
  17. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    On the presentation side, KHII is nearly flawless aside from some weird Disney character lines not fitting. The graphics are simply amazing for a PS2 and have aged wonderfully. The music is top notch, and the camera actually works 99.9% of the time. However the game strays from the originals unique action/rpg mix by putting much more emphasis on the explosive, colorful action. While this is perfectly fine most of the time, the problems comes from the fact that your abilities and enemy difficulty are completely unbalanced. Without using limits or drive forms, enemies are decently challenging, but drive forms throw a monkeywrench in by making it so easy to just wipe the floor with them, even on proud mode(hard). Magic is also extremely useless outside of healing and reflecting, and even that is a huge pain. I really really wanted to love this game, and I still like it, but there are a few huge flaws with it's gameplay that cannot be ignored Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    It tops it's predecessor in storytelling and game-play, customization is still a weak point, but you now have new abilities based on the gear you wear, you can also evolve your gear to increase your skills which are necessary for certain tasks the mini-games are an improvement (at times very cheesy), but the gummi ship system is unfortunately still present. The characters are abundant and the bosses are a bit more spiced up, this one is clearly a step up from part 1. Expand
  19. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This my favorite kingdom hearts game and maybe one of my favorite games of all time. and a improvement from kingdom hearts 1. the battle system is better, the areas are bigger, although i do think it lacks extra content when compared to kingdom hearts 1. the final mix version fixes that problem, the final mix version has only been released in japan, but there will be an english version in the kingdom hearts 2.5 HD remix coming soon. but although the game lacks extra content, it has lots of replay value, i think i played this game over 10 times when i had it. the game just pulls you in and you don't want to stop playing. kingdom hearts is one of the best crossovers ever made. Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2013
    1
    If you're a fan of Square and KH1, don't play KH2.

    Explanation: KH1 had challenge and was well designed, as for KH2 the design is that of a child. Streamlined, repetitive, and cinematic crazed. If you want to play KH2 save yourself 18 hours and just watch a Disney flick, it's easier and less painful. Any true gamer, which is a gamer over the age of 18, whom doesn't sit and play
    "Halo" or COD:MW", real gamer I can't stress this enough, should avoid this game like ET for the 2600. If you're getting it for a child? Cool, do that. But know this, when that child grows older they will learn that you don't love them. Good day. Expand
  21. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    After loving the first Kingdom Hearts so much, I was so excited when I found out they were making a sequel. I waited for so long for this game and was not disappointed. It is a great game with all new characters and new Disney worlds to visit. The storyline is also fantastic and links Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts:Chain of memories. I also LOVED that they finally added The Lion King's world to the game. I just loved being able to play as a lion. Also, being able to see Sora, Riku, and Kairi after they've grown some was really cool as well. Not to mention the ending was real nice and satisfying. Expand
  22. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    This game is great. Gameplay is less stiff than in the original and forms give some depth.
    Easy you essentially just lock on and mash X occasionally curing.
    Thats why I recommend new players or RPG beginners play on Normal and Veterans on Hard mode from the outset.
    Even on normal mode some of those later boss battles can kick my ass
    With a great story if youve played the original and
    chain of memories and great characters also fun minigames Expand
  23. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    When I first imagined putting Disney characters in a mix with the awesome franchise that is Final Fantasy I was very nervous. The two just don't seem like they would combine well together at all but somehow it has been done and it is PERFECT. This is easily the best Kingdom Hearts game and one of the best games available on PlayStation 2. The game is beautiful, the characters are lovable, the story is interesting and the game play is addictive. I have to say that i thoroughly enjoy traveling to the different worlds and defeating classic Disney bad guys and interacting with all of the classic characters. Some parts of the game can be frustratingly difficult (Organization XIII members mostly!) but hey, this is a Square Enix game! The only negative is that only some of the characters have their original voice actors from their movie counterparts. Some replacements are sound accurate but some (Jack Sparrow being the most obvious) sound nothing like they should. There was a clear sign of no Johnny Depp and his stand-in is painful to listen to. But overall a classic game! Simply a must have! Roll on Kingdom Hearts III! Expand
  24. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Good but overated game. Bad storyline, that gets covered by graphics and fun battle system. A must if you like FF series and Disney characters. Its great to see your childhood characters from disney in this game.
  25. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the Kingdom Hearts franchise and while it didn't all make sense at first I went out and bought all the other titles in the franchise to fill in those missing gaps and since I have been attached to the franchise unable to let go. I can't wait for the recently announced third installment for PS4 and XBOX ONE. Expand
  26. Jul 5, 2013
    0
    The worst game in the history of games.this game sucked so bad.every 3 seconds there's a stupid cut scene it made no dam sense this peace of crap game
  27. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    The game just disappointed me in the action, fighting styles and felt like a kiddish game or something to just laugh at... I personally like most of all the other games except this one for some reason
  28. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    It was extremely enjoyable with a great combat system in it. The biggest problem I had with the game was probably the Little Mermaid level. It was atrocious. I know they are with disney, but they made Micky BA, why couldn't they do that with that level?
  29. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Even better than the first. The first one was great. This one improves on everything the first Kingdom Hearts was missing. It has better gameplay, graphics and controls. The game expands and grows for the better. If you play the first and second one, there is a strong attachment to the characters. Great game. I went to GameStop to buy another PS2 because my other one broke just so I could play this and the first one. Simply great. Expand
  30. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Just finished playing this game and all I can say is WOW! Never before in my life have i been touched so greatly by a video game, or by anything else for that matter. There were also many improvements on this from the previous game, such as the Drive gauge, new MP bar, etc. This game's plot is astounding, extremely deep and well planned! Graphics are great, especially the flawless rendering of the intro/outro. Game-play is fun and more exciting than ever! Many complain about the numerous and unending cutscenes, but face it: without them, the game wouldn't be nearly as deep. Love the game's concept of light, darkness, and nobodies. Hands down the best video game I have ever played! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. An all around excellent game. It looks phenomenal and plays even better. What started out as a crazy fan based experiment for Square-Enix has panned out to one of the most entertaining titles of the year. [JPN Import]
  2. 95
    From the amazing opening cg cinema (oh god, I think I just soiled myself it was so good) with Utada Hikaru's newest song, Passion, to the kick ass ending, this game rocked and set itself a more than worthy successor to the first Kingdom Hearts. [JPN Import]
  3. It has an excellent battle system, more variety than almost any game out there, great graphics, and an interesting story. The title isn't perfect though. The story lacks a bit of cohesiveness and the auto-camera still can't seem to track everything that's going on. [JPN Import]