Kingdom Hearts II PlayStation 2

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 810
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    This my favorite kingdom hearts game and maybe one of my favorite games of all time. and a improvement from kingdom hearts 1. the battle system is better, the areas are bigger, although i do think it lacks extra content when compared to kingdom hearts 1. the final mix version fixes that problem, the final mix version has only been released in japan, but there will be an english version inThis my favorite kingdom hearts game and maybe one of my favorite games of all time. and a improvement from kingdom hearts 1. the battle system is better, the areas are bigger, although i do think it lacks extra content when compared to kingdom hearts 1. the final mix version fixes that problem, the final mix version has only been released in japan, but there will be an english version in the kingdom hearts 2.5 HD remix coming soon. but although the game lacks extra content, it has lots of replay value, i think i played this game over 10 times when i had it. the game just pulls you in and you don't want to stop playing. kingdom hearts is one of the best crossovers ever made. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    That's one of the most epic and incredible game on PlayStation ;3 I LOVE IT.In this game i hate only tutorial which is too long buy it's part of storyline so i can understand this .
  3. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    I love that they put cool stuff then from the first one. 10/10 to this game. There is some mild childish stuff, but still a awesome game. The best game in the series. The controls are very easy and they made battling more funner, because you can do some funny stuff to defeat heartless with/at the heartless. This game has amazing graffics, Amazing animation, and the world map is AMAZING!!!I love that they put cool stuff then from the first one. 10/10 to this game. There is some mild childish stuff, but still a awesome game. The best game in the series. The controls are very easy and they made battling more funner, because you can do some funny stuff to defeat heartless with/at the heartless. This game has amazing graffics, Amazing animation, and the world map is AMAZING!!! They made the building a gunny ship easier. this is worth the money!! This is a good game for a KH fan. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    kingdom hearts 2 is one of the best games i played in my life, the story fits so well together, if you look at the other games, and how huge the story is, it is a miracle that there is almost no plot-holes, the fighting style isn't just pressing a button, its about deflecting and guarding when you have to and get a strategy so you won't get your ass whooped! it improved all the flaws inkingdom hearts 2 is one of the best games i played in my life, the story fits so well together, if you look at the other games, and how huge the story is, it is a miracle that there is almost no plot-holes, the fighting style isn't just pressing a button, its about deflecting and guarding when you have to and get a strategy so you won't get your ass whooped! it improved all the flaws in kingdom hearts 1 (they explain almost nothing about what you have to do, which i like, but dont make me talk twice to a character without telling me i have to talk to her again after a cutscene) Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2015
    10
    This is the game I grew up with, this is my favourite game to EVER exist on this PLANET, and it is the only half linear game i have play for more than 250hrs!!!

    I do sound like a fanboy but I promise you all this game is worth it. The graphics for the time of release was spectacular and the gameplay is much more complex than the first game. The story is probably most disappointing
    This is the game I grew up with, this is my favourite game to EVER exist on this PLANET, and it is the only half linear game i have play for more than 250hrs!!!

    I do sound like a fanboy but I promise you all this game is worth it.

    The graphics for the time of release was spectacular and the gameplay is much more complex than the first game. The story is probably most disappointing but that is mainly because most people haven't played the other games in the series.

    PROS:
    Amazing graphics
    Heavy emotion
    Large variety of enemies
    Most worlds out of any Kingdom Hearts games
    Difficult bosses (if you play on the harder difficulties)
    Multiple epic moments during the game (Like come on, if defeating 1000 heartless at once isn't epic well then I don't know what is)
    Good balancing with delay between dodge rolls, and uses for every attack
    Adverse environment
    Lovable and relatable characters
    Lots of stuff to do (completing the journal, finding all the chests, reaching lv100, forging the ultimate weapon, ect. ect.)
    Smooth mechanics (everything feels as if it is actually happening)
    Very well done voice acting (most of the time)
    Damn the drive forms (changes up the gameplay a fair bit, and another thing to do! Lv them up!)
    User friendly menu with a simple but effective display)
    Gummi ship missions DRAMATICALLY improved from the first game
    Gummi ship maker menu DRAMATICALLY improved from the first game
    Massive variety of equipment including armor, accessories, potions and weapons
    The synthesis has been improved since the first game
    There are so many things you can make by synthesizing (hey guess what you can lv this up as well! =D)
    Better Magic set up compared to the first game
    Better enemy health bars (more obvious what % health they are on)
    Limit commands, just adds more variety and also is very helpful on harder difficulties
    Extra variant of enemies: the nobodies

    OKAY I'LL STOP, lets get on with the negatives

    CONS:
    Atlantica world (although i liked it for some reason i know pretty much everyone hated it)
    gummi ship missions still need improvement
    Could be a harder game (fixed in Final Mix version, with a harder difficulty setting and the ability to cap your lv at 1)
    More hidden bosses (once again fixed in Final Mix version, added 20 new bosses!!! YES 20!)
    simple gameplay (compared to KH1, it is about 10x more complex)

    That is all i can think of, I literally sat here for 10 minutes trying to think of another fault, but sorry nothing.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2016
    10
    Just love, LOVE, U GOTA LOVE KH2, if u don't love kh2 u don't love it, JUST DO IT, MAKE U DREAMS COME TRU JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT JUST DO IT
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    9
    Even better than the first. The first one was great. This one improves on everything the first Kingdom Hearts was missing. It has better gameplay, graphics and controls. The game expands and grows for the better. If you play the first and second one, there is a strong attachment to the characters. Great game. I went to GameStop to buy another PS2 because my other one broke just so I couldEven better than the first. The first one was great. This one improves on everything the first Kingdom Hearts was missing. It has better gameplay, graphics and controls. The game expands and grows for the better. If you play the first and second one, there is a strong attachment to the characters. Great game. I went to GameStop to buy another PS2 because my other one broke just so I could play this and the first one. Simply great. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    Best Video Game of All Time in my opinion
  9. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    KH 2 has taken big steps since orginal Kingdom Hearts. Better camera system and enjoyable gameplay.... Complex JRPG story with some plot holes. Never the less this is enjoyable RPG game.
  10. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    I do not know if it's because that Square Enix made ​​this game or why or appear in it my favorite characters from Disney but I love this game! Flawless combat system, great backing voices and divine history is what I like the most! I can not say that the game is squeezed out of the PS2 last sweats (because it does Final Fantasy XII), but I like it immensely. I finished it 4 times atI do not know if it's because that Square Enix made ​​this game or why or appear in it my favorite characters from Disney but I love this game! Flawless combat system, great backing voices and divine history is what I like the most! I can not say that the game is squeezed out of the PS2 last sweats (because it does Final Fantasy XII), but I like it immensely. I finished it 4 times at different levels of difficulty. The only thing I can be accused of it is that Kairi is not a playable character Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    I think Kingdom Hearts is the videogame of my life. Nothing more. I was a child without any idea of what´s a ps2 about. And then, Kingdom Hearts appeared in my life. It was really funny, with hard moments but with an easy control. I spend hours and hours playing when I was only 9 years old. I learn how to play videogames with Kingdom Hearts. The story, the characters, the graphics,I think Kingdom Hearts is the videogame of my life. Nothing more. I was a child without any idea of what´s a ps2 about. And then, Kingdom Hearts appeared in my life. It was really funny, with hard moments but with an easy control. I spend hours and hours playing when I was only 9 years old. I learn how to play videogames with Kingdom Hearts. The story, the characters, the graphics, ALL in this game was fantastic and new to me. Kingdom Hearts 2 was better. For me, Kingdom Hearts 2 is one of the best videogames of PS2 history. The fights against the Organitazion XIII members, against SEPHIROT. Fight with Donald, Goofy, Mickey, Cloud, Tifa... It´s like a dream, like a dream came true by Square Enix. For me, the last good videogame they have made.

    The best of this game: The story, hundreds of hours of entertainment, the graphics, the music. ALL.
    The worst of this game: Perhaps if you are an adult, you can´t touch the fantastic touch this game has.
    Expand
  12. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    Giving this awesome game a 10 since it's the best out of kh series so far that truely kept me wanting me to keep purchasing more new releases of the game. Unfortunately they don't make any more for the ps2 now which is a disappointment, but the psp bbs (birth by sleep) turned out good. Now the ds which stopped making me care about any more kh games I was just hoping for a 3, but insteadGiving this awesome game a 10 since it's the best out of kh series so far that truely kept me wanting me to keep purchasing more new releases of the game. Unfortunately they don't make any more for the ps2 now which is a disappointment, but the psp bbs (birth by sleep) turned out good. Now the ds which stopped making me care about any more kh games I was just hoping for a 3, but instead they're doing such random stuff that doesn't even make much sense. Play Kh1 and/or 2 to see the reason why they're kh fans because they are very incredible, but now the story seems to be endless. Kh2 has great action, and journey across disney worlds while taking out the heartless, the graphics are well made. Expand
  13. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Just finished playing this game and all I can say is WOW! Never before in my life have i been touched so greatly by a video game, or by anything else for that matter. There were also many improvements on this from the previous game, such as the Drive gauge, new MP bar, etc. This game's plot is astounding, extremely deep and well planned! Graphics are great, especially the flawlessJust finished playing this game and all I can say is WOW! Never before in my life have i been touched so greatly by a video game, or by anything else for that matter. There were also many improvements on this from the previous game, such as the Drive gauge, new MP bar, etc. This game's plot is astounding, extremely deep and well planned! Graphics are great, especially the flawless rendering of the intro/outro. Game-play is fun and more exciting than ever! Many complain about the numerous and unending cutscenes, but face it: without them, the game wouldn't be nearly as deep. Love the game's concept of light, darkness, and nobodies. Hands down the best video game I have ever played! Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    On the presentation side, KHII is nearly flawless aside from some weird Disney character lines not fitting. The graphics are simply amazing for a PS2 and have aged wonderfully. The music is top notch, and the camera actually works 99.9% of the time. However the game strays from the originals unique action/rpg mix by putting much more emphasis on the explosive, colorful action. While thisOn the presentation side, KHII is nearly flawless aside from some weird Disney character lines not fitting. The graphics are simply amazing for a PS2 and have aged wonderfully. The music is top notch, and the camera actually works 99.9% of the time. However the game strays from the originals unique action/rpg mix by putting much more emphasis on the explosive, colorful action. While this is perfectly fine most of the time, the problems comes from the fact that your abilities and enemy difficulty are completely unbalanced. Without using limits or drive forms, enemies are decently challenging, but drive forms throw a monkeywrench in by making it so easy to just wipe the floor with them, even on proud mode(hard). Magic is also extremely useless outside of healing and reflecting, and even that is a huge pain. I really really wanted to love this game, and I still like it, but there are a few huge flaws with it's gameplay that cannot be ignored Expand
  15. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    It was extremely enjoyable with a great combat system in it. The biggest problem I had with the game was probably the Little Mermaid level. It was atrocious. I know they are with disney, but they made Micky BA, why couldn't they do that with that level?
  16. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the KingdomKingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the Kingdom Hearts franchise and while it didn't all make sense at first I went out and bought all the other titles in the franchise to fill in those missing gaps and since I have been attached to the franchise unable to let go. I can't wait for the recently announced third installment for PS4 and XBOX ONE. Expand
  17. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    When I first imagined putting Disney characters in a mix with the awesome franchise that is Final Fantasy I was very nervous. The two just don't seem like they would combine well together at all but somehow it has been done and it is PERFECT. This is easily the best Kingdom Hearts game and one of the best games available on PlayStation 2. The game is beautiful, the characters are lovable,When I first imagined putting Disney characters in a mix with the awesome franchise that is Final Fantasy I was very nervous. The two just don't seem like they would combine well together at all but somehow it has been done and it is PERFECT. This is easily the best Kingdom Hearts game and one of the best games available on PlayStation 2. The game is beautiful, the characters are lovable, the story is interesting and the game play is addictive. I have to say that i thoroughly enjoy traveling to the different worlds and defeating classic Disney bad guys and interacting with all of the classic characters. Some parts of the game can be frustratingly difficult (Organization XIII members mostly!) but hey, this is a Square Enix game! The only negative is that only some of the characters have their original voice actors from their movie counterparts. Some replacements are sound accurate but some (Jack Sparrow being the most obvious) sound nothing like they should. There was a clear sign of no Johnny Depp and his stand-in is painful to listen to. But overall a classic game! Simply a must have! Roll on Kingdom Hearts III! Expand
  18. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    This game is great. Gameplay is less stiff than in the original and forms give some depth.
    Easy you essentially just lock on and mash X occasionally curing.
    Thats why I recommend new players or RPG beginners play on Normal and Veterans on Hard mode from the outset. Even on normal mode some of those later boss battles can kick my ass With a great story if youve played the original and
    This game is great. Gameplay is less stiff than in the original and forms give some depth.
    Easy you essentially just lock on and mash X occasionally curing.
    Thats why I recommend new players or RPG beginners play on Normal and Veterans on Hard mode from the outset.
    Even on normal mode some of those later boss battles can kick my ass
    With a great story if youve played the original and chain of memories and great characters also fun minigames
    Expand
  19. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    After loving the first Kingdom Hearts so much, I was so excited when I found out they were making a sequel. I waited for so long for this game and was not disappointed. It is a great game with all new characters and new Disney worlds to visit. The storyline is also fantastic and links Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts:Chain of memories. I also LOVED that they finally added The Lion King'sAfter loving the first Kingdom Hearts so much, I was so excited when I found out they were making a sequel. I waited for so long for this game and was not disappointed. It is a great game with all new characters and new Disney worlds to visit. The storyline is also fantastic and links Kingdom Hearts and Kingdom Hearts:Chain of memories. I also LOVED that they finally added The Lion King's world to the game. I just loved being able to play as a lion. Also, being able to see Sora, Riku, and Kairi after they've grown some was really cool as well. Not to mention the ending was real nice and satisfying. Expand
  20. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    It tops it's predecessor in storytelling and game-play, customization is still a weak point, but you now have new abilities based on the gear you wear, you can also evolve your gear to increase your skills which are necessary for certain tasks the mini-games are an improvement (at times very cheesy), but the gummi ship system is unfortunately still present. The characters are abundant andIt tops it's predecessor in storytelling and game-play, customization is still a weak point, but you now have new abilities based on the gear you wear, you can also evolve your gear to increase your skills which are necessary for certain tasks the mini-games are an improvement (at times very cheesy), but the gummi ship system is unfortunately still present. The characters are abundant and the bosses are a bit more spiced up, this one is clearly a step up from part 1. Expand
  21. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    this is one hell of an awesome game. if you can find this game cheap take the opportunity to get it. its that good. im sure you will enjoy i (unless your not a fan of disney or final fantasy)
  22. Dec 31, 2014
    9
    Leaps and bounds better than the first game, as far as gameplay. It's also amazing how much better the graphics are, even on the same platform. The camera has been fixed, the difficulty doesn't spike unexpectedly, and combat is much smoother/more action-packed. The hardest difficulty is not quite as difficult as one would expect.

    The ridiculous Winnie the Pooh side quests are back
    Leaps and bounds better than the first game, as far as gameplay. It's also amazing how much better the graphics are, even on the same platform. The camera has been fixed, the difficulty doesn't spike unexpectedly, and combat is much smoother/more action-packed. The hardest difficulty is not quite as difficult as one would expect.

    The ridiculous Winnie the Pooh side quests are back but they're not quite as boring as the first game's.

    New Disney-themed areas, with a revisit to a couple redone areas. I will say that if you plan to play 358/2 Days, prepare to replay some of the same exact maps from this game. If you had issues with the first game, and believe me I certainly did, I still urge players to give this one a chance.
    Expand
  23. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    if you have not played this game go out buy it and play it from start to finish now its a must must play game for hard core gamers and casual gamers i crown this game best game ever and any one who says a differ will have to show me physical proof that this game is not a master piece sure theres a few bad things but the good things overwelm the bad things so much so you forget about theif you have not played this game go out buy it and play it from start to finish now its a must must play game for hard core gamers and casual gamers i crown this game best game ever and any one who says a differ will have to show me physical proof that this game is not a master piece sure theres a few bad things but the good things overwelm the bad things so much so you forget about the problems in the game Expand
  24. Mar 3, 2014
    10
    Great characters and music, awesome boss fights. This is one of the most memorable games I have ever played even though its doesn't have the replay value of something with multiplayer. This game makes me smile whenever I play it.
  25. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Not only is this the best game made by Square Enix, it's quite possibly the best game of all time. Great story, great gameplay, well designed fighting mechanics, awesome background music, and absolutely lovable characters. Long story short, it was practically a perfect game.
  26. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    A great example of how to do a sequel. They greatly improved the camera control in this game, in comparison to the first game. Game play is easy but very enjoyable, especially with the many reaction commands. The story is on par with the first game. But the only things that bring it down is the really long tutorial, some eerily quiet cut scenes, and the lack of post-game content, thoughA great example of how to do a sequel. They greatly improved the camera control in this game, in comparison to the first game. Game play is easy but very enjoyable, especially with the many reaction commands. The story is on par with the first game. But the only things that bring it down is the really long tutorial, some eerily quiet cut scenes, and the lack of post-game content, though plenty is added in the final mix version. Definitely gonna buy the 2.5 version. Expand
  27. May 2, 2014
    10
    This is my best kingdom hearts and my best playstation 2 games it excelent advanture games for everyone and it's excellent because more Disney worlds to explore.
  28. Aug 16, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of my favorite Kingdom Hearts games and my second favorite PS2 game. The first being KHI. I loved the way that it brought back some old worlds and also brought in some amazing new ones like Pride Rock and the Land of Dragons. One of the things I didn't like was that the Olympus Colosseum games were moved to the Underworld which in my opinion took the feel out of that world. Also, there was no Traverse Town. I don't mean that the world should have came back, I just wanted a hub world. I know that Hollow Bastion was supposed to be that but it again didn't have the same feel to it and I didn't visit that world unless the game took me there. Another thing is that there was no real plot. In KH1, Sora was looking for his friends, in KHCOM pm he was looking for Namine but on the second one, I had no idea. However, again I loved the new world additions especially Port Royal but if in KH3 is like KH2, then I won't be rushing out to but a Playstation 3 Expand
  29. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. ForI love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. For example, the boss battle with Sephiroth, Xemnas, Xigbar, Xaldin, Sai'x, and Xemnas (final form/3rd form) Expand
  30. Sep 30, 2014
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2 is probably one of my favourite games of all time. A step up from the two games before it, KH2 brings a whole new story with the same classic elements that made Kingdom Hearts so popular. Well-developed original characters are mixed with characters from the Disney franchise and the Final Fantasy franchise to craft a plot that isn’t childish, as many would think the momentKingdom Hearts 2 is probably one of my favourite games of all time. A step up from the two games before it, KH2 brings a whole new story with the same classic elements that made Kingdom Hearts so popular. Well-developed original characters are mixed with characters from the Disney franchise and the Final Fantasy franchise to craft a plot that isn’t childish, as many would think the moment they hear “Disney”. Graphics and gameplay mechanics are superb, with amazing visual effects and a camera that functions properly (unlike the one in the first game, I shudder at the memory). But many people argue that the storyline, although captivating, is linear and repetitive. Go to a new world, fight some enemies, seal the keyhole, lather, rinse and repeat. While that is true, you don’t even realize that it’s happening until more than halfway through the game. And even with the pattern, each world has something unique and different that lessens the similarities. One bad thing I will say about the game is that the difficulty is very low. Compared to the first game, where the triangle and square combos are essential to progress, you can beat this game by mashing only the ‘x’ button. And even if you haven’t played the first game, it’s pretty obvious that this game in and of itself is simple. Expand
  31. Jan 14, 2017
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2
    Not All changes are good.
    Kingdom Hearts 2 in a way feels like an entirely different game... mostly for better... but slightly for worse… You still visit a variety of Disney lands, but theres more emphasis on the original kingdom hearts story this time around than just helping out Disney characters… This time youre after a group known as organization 13.. The group
    Kingdom Hearts 2
    Not All changes are good.
    Kingdom Hearts 2 in a way feels like an entirely different game... mostly for better... but slightly for worse…
    You still visit a variety of Disney lands, but theres more emphasis on the original kingdom hearts story this time around than just helping out Disney characters…
    This time youre after a group known as organization 13..
    The group that caused all of the memory loss problems of soar in the past games that you fought so hard to re earn…
    There also after the kingdom hearts... for reasons I wont say…
    Youre still taking out the heartless and resealing doors in different Disney worlds… but now youre dealing with a new set of enemies known as nobodies… who are pretty much just white versions of the heartless…
    Theyre not in any way harder to deal with…
    The deliver of this game is miles better than the original kingdom hearts.. it’s about 8 hours longer clocking in at around 33 hours but doesn’t feel nearly as long thanks to the near perfect pacing of this game that only hiccups towards the end when you have to fight through 90,000 boss battles to get to the credits much like the original kingdom hearts…
    but the other 30 hours is fast paced and despite the open world style like the original, feels much more linear and there’s little to no back tracking at all.. you can play through this game without a guide easily as it doesn’t waste your time… the game even does a great job most of the time stopping you from going in the wrong direction reminding you where you should be going next in the world…
    The draw for most people is the Disney properties, and you won’t be disappointed as you go to a variety of new locations to meet characters like Mulan, and jack sparrow.. Even finally going to the places of characters you meet in past games like beasts castle….
    And the gummi ship part is back and somehow worse than the last time... seriously... get rid of them.. There still not fun...
    There are a handful of locations from the past games too such as atlantics and Halloween town... but they all feel fresh and tell new stories of the characters.. Even during the 2nd half of the game when you have to revisit each location all over again... the game still manages to deliver a fresh experience each time…
    the delivery of the story isn’t the only thing that got a makeover…
    Unfortunately the game play style did as well…
    The original kingdom hearts had a great deal of 3d platforming elements, epic boss battles and a watcher 3 style combat system where it was all about strategy.. Dodging attacks parrying…
    Kingdom hearts 2 has practically erased all 3d platforming elements and turned this into more of a baby’s first god of war game…
    Its heavily hack and slash and combat encounters as insanely easy compared to the original... which is a shame because it kills all satisfaction…
    They also got rid of the ability to roll and high jump outside of this new system called a drive form…
    You literally have to fill up a meter to be able to roll in combat.. awful idea and makes it feel slow and again hack and slash like a god of war game rather than fast and fluent like a watcher 3 style…
    And the boss battles here aren’t these epic showdowns with villains…
    your fighting generic heartless bosses for the most part and members of organization 13… and the game ads time trials and other gimmicks to encounters rather than having unique showdowns the original head…
    There’s nothing memorable in the gameplay….
    Sure it’s more fun to go through kingdom hearts 2 than kingdom hearts one…
    But the original kingdom hearts felt more satisfying to get through...
    A mix of the 2 and you have a perfect game…
    You just feel too handcuffed here…
    The game chooses when you can and cant use your drive forms, it chooses when you can and cant call in a summon… it locks off simple abilities like rolling.. .
    The new MP gauge is 1 line instead of broken up leading to a lot of guess work when using the magic which honestly discouraged me from using it at all…
    But the story pulled me through… the charm of the Disney worlds and characters pulled me through…
    This is my favorite kingdom hearts game so far…
    I just hope to see a marriage of 1 and 2 in Kingdom Hearts 3
    I give Kingdom Hearts 2
    an 8/10
    Expand
  32. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    By far my favourite Kingdom Hearts game to date. I love the new characters and the fact that the old characters have aged helps give this game a more mature atmosphere than the one before it. The soundtrack is my favourite of any video game, ever.
  33. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    If you have anything bad to say about this game then please... PLEASE get the hell away from my beloved Kingdom Hearts and go back to 360 no scoping in COD. This is a nice thing so no touching.. This is not for you.
    Now onto the review. This game is amazing. I had waited what felt like an eternity to see the next chapter in this amazing series. The game play was more fluid, the drive
    If you have anything bad to say about this game then please... PLEASE get the hell away from my beloved Kingdom Hearts and go back to 360 no scoping in COD. This is a nice thing so no touching.. This is not for you.
    Now onto the review. This game is amazing. I had waited what felt like an eternity to see the next chapter in this amazing series. The game play was more fluid, the drive forms added a nice new aspect to it. The reaction commands made for eye candy visual attacks. The major bosses like ORG13, Sephiroth and Lingering Will presented great challenges. What's such a nice little Easter egg to these games is how so much is made clear in future titles and you slowly realise that the entire story has been planned out ahead. Even this game had references to Dream Drop Distance. A game that wasn't even announced until 6 years later. It's the little touches like this along captivating story unveiling before you that makes this game great... And with the many moments to tug on heart strings too it's a brilliant sequel to one of the best games ever made.
    Expand
  34. Aug 28, 2015
    10
    This game is a masterpiece that I grew up playing. The combination of gameplay, story, visuals and everything else is just great, and perfectly done. Easily my favorite Kingom Hearts game alongside Birth By Sleep.
  35. Oct 6, 2015
    10
    An excellent sequel, it is also on my list of the best games ever. The story was amazing as were the characters. The worlds are bigger and better. The game features many talented voice actors and actresses.
  36. Jan 9, 2016
    10
    this game is **** better than any of the xbox one ps4 and pc games coming out right now so **** STAR WARS BATTLEFRONT AND ALL THOSE **** GAMES PLAY THIS RIGHT NOW YOU DUMB ****s
  37. Jun 2, 2016
    8
    This is a good game but I was a little disappointed. Graphics are good and you can apreciate a little improvement if you compare it with the first Kingdom Hearts. Soundtrack is good but the story is becoming really complicate. Yes, if you search and read in some websites it fits but is very complicate and at first you can get lost with DiZ, Riku, Ansem, etc (I don't want to be a spoiler).This is a good game but I was a little disappointed. Graphics are good and you can apreciate a little improvement if you compare it with the first Kingdom Hearts. Soundtrack is good but the story is becoming really complicate. Yes, if you search and read in some websites it fits but is very complicate and at first you can get lost with DiZ, Riku, Ansem, etc (I don't want to be a spoiler). The game is short (30 hours) and when it's finished you feel that you want to continue the story, like in Kingdom Hearts I. In Spain, voices have been dubbed and this is always good. What I didn't like it is that Sora is always saying the same in every planet: "We are Sora, Donald and Goofy". You feel that the creators of the game didn't have anything more interesting to say... And I also hope that in the next Kingdom Hearts the designers put some cinematic in the middle of the game and not only at the beginning and at the ending. Expand
  38. Jan 3, 2017
    9
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln
    Deutsche Review - Kritik

    Der folgende Test ist in 5 Kategorien zusammengefasst. Diese 5 Kartegorien ergeben die Gesamtpunktzahl von 0 - 100 Punkten. Um einen passenden Userscore zu geben wird auf oder abgerundet. Bei 84 Punkten ergibt das einen User Score von 8. Bei 86 einen von Userscore von 9. Falls eine 85 kommt entscheide ich ob ich es eher positiv oder negativ nehme. Regeln verstanden?
    Dann sind hier meine Punkte.

    Mein persönlicher Score = 93/100
    Mein User Score = 9/10
    Expand
  39. Oct 18, 2016
    10
    Best game ever. Seriously, no contest. I've been playing games for over a decade now and this one still manages to be my absolute favorite. It's aged well not just from a graphical perspective but also from a gameplay perspective.
  40. Nov 11, 2016
    9
    GAME WONDERFUL.
    let's start by saying that it's my favorite kingdom hearts. This game has managed to keep me on the screen for many hours. I liked almost everything, from the lore, to the gameplay that proposes. The main character has lots of skill and lots of synergies, both alone and with other characters in the game. Each boss fight is different from the other with the moonset all
    GAME WONDERFUL.
    let's start by saying that it's my favorite kingdom hearts. This game has managed to keep me on the screen for many hours. I liked almost everything, from the lore, to the gameplay that proposes. The main character has lots of skill and lots of synergies, both alone and with other characters in the game. Each boss fight is different from the other with the moonset all different and very important for the history.
    I recommend the game to anyone for any aspect, even for those who do not like the genre.
    Expand
  41. Mar 24, 2017
    9
    Like every player of KH has learned the game play is an acquired taste is quite often frustrating but probably to add effect to the hard and long journey of the crew that included's traveling other dimensions of time and place the story follows Sora back in business and thats all I can truthfully tell you as the entirety of the KH story is a mystery to me.Tedious and quite time consumingLike every player of KH has learned the game play is an acquired taste is quite often frustrating but probably to add effect to the hard and long journey of the crew that included's traveling other dimensions of time and place the story follows Sora back in business and thats all I can truthfully tell you as the entirety of the KH story is a mystery to me.Tedious and quite time consuming its all in a good days work? I feel it pays off for the amazing story that once again square enix provides come for the story dont look forward to the gameplay. Expand
  42. Apr 11, 2011
    9
    Kingdom Heart II is better than its predecessor. Pros: Excellent use of action-RPG and platforming elements, improved controls, graphics, and visual effect, and more Disney worlds to explore. Cons: Only for viewers who have played the previous games and starts out with a dull 3 hour long tutorial.
  43. DerekS.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    this is what you need to be playing.
  44. Alex
    Apr 7, 2006
    9
    surpasses the original in nearly every way. there are some flaws here and there, but they don't really take a whole lot away from an otherwise spectacular game. the worlds, while plentiful, don't seem quite as deep as in the first, and a few worlds don't take much more than a hour a peice to complete a chapter. the game's difficulty does tend to drift from easy to surpasses the original in nearly every way. there are some flaws here and there, but they don't really take a whole lot away from an otherwise spectacular game. the worlds, while plentiful, don't seem quite as deep as in the first, and a few worlds don't take much more than a hour a peice to complete a chapter. the game's difficulty does tend to drift from easy to rather tricky (such as a few of the Organization XIII battles), and some sections feel a little like space-fillers (the 1000 Heartless battle). the graphics are pretty, but some of the character animations (eg. Jack Sparrow's running), and some of the facial animations (particularily the mouth movements) are choppy and awkward, and star to take away from the overall immersion factor after a while. and while the game does have an E10+ rating, the drifting difficulty and some of the storyline's concepts will probably make this game appeal more to teen audiences more than anything else. but the game is fun (and surprisingly addicting), and the new Drive feature is sweet (two keyblades, who can ask for more?). some of the worlds are down-right spectacular (special kudos to SquareEnix for the Tron world), and there are tons of side-stuffs to do. a definite buy. overall 9.2 out of 10. Expand
  45. Feb 2, 2011
    9
    Kingdom Hearts 2 fixes just about every flaw from the original, and is one of the best games on the Playstation 2, as far as graphics go its one of the best looking titles on the ps2, voice acting has been greatly improved upon but still has it's cringe inducing actors, it's music and sound effects are great, the controls are much better than before making it easier than ever to accessKingdom Hearts 2 fixes just about every flaw from the original, and is one of the best games on the Playstation 2, as far as graphics go its one of the best looking titles on the ps2, voice acting has been greatly improved upon but still has it's cringe inducing actors, it's music and sound effects are great, the controls are much better than before making it easier than ever to access potions and spells, the story is much better and easier to follow I actually cared about the characters and what was going on this time around, you will revisit some of the locations from the first and there better this time around, I would recommend this to any gamer, and HIGHLY recommend this to fans of the first game Expand
  46. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time,Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time, plus there's a vast amount of things you can do to get better at fighting. Despite it's E-Rating, this is a pretty mature game and that's why I found more to enjoy in its subject matter, though it still suffers some of the flaws of the first game. Collapse
  47. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Squareenix brings back the players to the Kingdom Hearts universe which includes Disney and Final Fantasy characters. The sequel consists of even a more epic and dark storyline than the first, although some of the worlds from the first game are included and seem to be a rehash, there are different routes and locations. The game also includes new worlds, new enemies, new characters, and newSquareenix brings back the players to the Kingdom Hearts universe which includes Disney and Final Fantasy characters. The sequel consists of even a more epic and dark storyline than the first, although some of the worlds from the first game are included and seem to be a rehash, there are different routes and locations. The game also includes new worlds, new enemies, new characters, and new music. This game is worth getting! Expand
  48. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    Kingdom Hearts 2 manages to fix the problems of the first game and, as a whole, makes the experience better. However, the game suffers through its story, dialogue, and Atlantica in general. It's still a wonderful game that's a lot of fun.
  49. DanielMcGarry
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Many people say that this game is just about bashing X to get through it all but the game has SO much more than that. People are so picky they won't think of even buying the game just because of the childrens charecters in it. Myself included at first i thought "this must be rubbish" i tried it, and BOOM it has to be one of the best games i have ever played. Don't judge a bookMany people say that this game is just about bashing X to get through it all but the game has SO much more than that. People are so picky they won't think of even buying the game just because of the childrens charecters in it. Myself included at first i thought "this must be rubbish" i tried it, and BOOM it has to be one of the best games i have ever played. Don't judge a book buy its cover Expand
  50. JohannY.
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    Kingdom Hearts has been known for its intriguing Square-Disney chemistry, star-studded character voices, and notable storyline.. Since its debut, massive fans were created all over the globe and now that a PS2 sequel was finally released, fans were generally mesmerized once more upon the improvement on gameplay elements and the story composition just to name a few.. Better fight scenes, Kingdom Hearts has been known for its intriguing Square-Disney chemistry, star-studded character voices, and notable storyline.. Since its debut, massive fans were created all over the globe and now that a PS2 sequel was finally released, fans were generally mesmerized once more upon the improvement on gameplay elements and the story composition just to name a few.. Better fight scenes, better dialogue, more cool characters.. This game is phenomenal.. Can't wait for the next.. You have to be a Square and/or Disney fan to appreciate this..Hardcore action gamers won't be able to get it. Expand
  51. MartinK.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Three simple words, Best Game Ever. Nothing even compares tot he supremacy and excellence of this game. Nothing has been this good, nor will it ever be. The story is complex, interesting and amazing while the gameplay mirrors that. P.S IGN is completely wrong, i think they should realize how much at fault they are.
  52. [Anonymous]
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Im getting this game for my birthday today I cant wait to get it it souns awesome.
  53. DeonS.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This game is just perfect for the rpg lover like me this is the best sequel EVER!
  54. AnthonyU.
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    This game is so amazing! I couldn't put the controler down till I was finished! The graphics were awesome, the sound was great, the controls have no flaws, and the overall game was SO cool! If you don't have this game, PLEASE, do yourself a favor and go get it, NOW!
  55. Sora&Kairi
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game is AWESOME! I like Sora and Kairi's new outfits. The funniest thing about this game is summoning Chicken Little.
  56. JasmineW.
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    This game is the best I don't think any game can top it (well maybe until the 3rd Kingdom Hearts comes out) everyone I know who plays it is totaly addited to it!
  57. ConanL.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Astonishing! The long wait was worth it for an incredible game like this.
  58. PabloRodriguez
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    part one was the gretest game ever....until part 2. it was so good that my mom almost let me stay home from school to play it and she was definatly convinced that it was the best game ever. YOU MUST BUY THIS GAME!! GRAPHICS CHRACTERS STORY AND MOST IMPORTANTLY the BATTLE WAS AWESOME!!...must buy for pS2.
  59. BonbonA.
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    The story is simply amazing. The first original Kingdom Hearts was excellent, but this.. is just perfect.
  60. SteveT.
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    A fantastic game so far, great graphics Alll though I am saddened that had to stop playing Oblivion (my 360 took a dump and is off for repair). Kingdom Hearts II fills that little hole in my heart quite nicely. Any fan of FF or Disney will be thrilled with this game. I learned my lesson from the last time. Kingdom Hearts is for everyone, not just kids. Just don't let your friends see A fantastic game so far, great graphics Alll though I am saddened that had to stop playing Oblivion (my 360 took a dump and is off for repair). Kingdom Hearts II fills that little hole in my heart quite nicely. Any fan of FF or Disney will be thrilled with this game. I learned my lesson from the last time. Kingdom Hearts is for everyone, not just kids. Just don't let your friends see you in the Winnie the Pooh world. It is hard to explain to your other adult friends and relatives why you are playing a game that appears to be for a three year old.(I think Pooh rules, but I would get slugged for admitting it) Other than that get this game if you need some PS2 greatness before PS3 comes out. I also recomend getting the limited edtion guide while you can. It is Shwagtastic! Expand
  61. JosephB.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    it is the best game i have played in the longest time the sequel is better than the original and it has a boost of action i love it.
  62. TylerD.
    Apr 12, 2006
    10
    Amazing. This game reminded me of why I love video games.
  63. AnthonyC.
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    This Game is the best action rpg i played sense KOTOR becouse it is full of action and has a deap syntasis system and the overall story is good.
  64. Cameron
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing, the idsney, the fighting, the actions, the guests, the limits and drives, it rocks! If you don't already have this game, GET IT NOW! You won't be wasting your money.
  65. BenF.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    This is the best one yet.This game rocks a lot. It is super enjoyable. This game is even better than the original one. Buy it. It is awesome
  66. DanielM.
    Apr 2, 2006
    9
    I would have liked a more challenging game, with larger worlds. I feel like all of the worlds are no more than three or four rooms. Other than that, it is an amazing, story driven game that I will love forever.
  67. AlexL.
    Apr 22, 2006
    10
    A little heavy on the cutscenes, but gameplay has been vastly improved over that of the first game. It is a rare game that will keep me absorbed for 50+ hours, but KH2 definitely pulls it off. I was definitely put off by the Square/Disney concept when I heard about the original game, but this is a series that is set to go down in RPG history with the likes of Dragon Quest and FF if they A little heavy on the cutscenes, but gameplay has been vastly improved over that of the first game. It is a rare game that will keep me absorbed for 50+ hours, but KH2 definitely pulls it off. I was definitely put off by the Square/Disney concept when I heard about the original game, but this is a series that is set to go down in RPG history with the likes of Dragon Quest and FF if they continue to play their cards right like this. Expand
  68. ChrisC.
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    Its fantastic, The story is amazing, the gameplay is fantastic and it's all well meshed together. The gameplay is varied and the voice acting for the most part is great. My only complaint is the constant load times but they are forgivable once you get in.
  69. CD
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Being a gigantic fan of series, and having beaten the original and GBA games something like 5 times each, I was definetly excited for this game. I had read preveiws, and seen clips on TV. With al the hye, natutrally, my expectations were set high. I received the game the seond it was avalible to me. Kingdom Hearts 2 includes an incredible amount of small things that add to the overall Being a gigantic fan of series, and having beaten the original and GBA games something like 5 times each, I was definetly excited for this game. I had read preveiws, and seen clips on TV. With al the hye, natutrally, my expectations were set high. I received the game the seond it was avalible to me. Kingdom Hearts 2 includes an incredible amount of small things that add to the overall expeirence. things I noticed include, the camera adjustments, moogle shops at each level, an improved gummi ship game, drive mode, limit abilities, reaction commands, and adjustments you can make to make donald and goofy suit your style. I played about 8 hours, and I was stunned. The graphics had improved by leaps and bounds. This was not a problem with the original, but after seeing next gen quality I was afraid KH2 could not compare. No worries there. Not only that but the game had tons of new features. The added limits, reaction comands, and drive modes are all woundefully added into the now nearly flawless battle system. The camera is now attached to the right analog stick, making a giant improvment on the previous installment. Kingdom Hearts incredible mini games also return to this game. One example is the return of the colisium. The colisium is now destroyed, and a new one has opened in the under world. Each world seems to have it's own unique mini games. (Most were not optional, witch is a disappointment.) Most KH fans will notice something new about the gummi ship as soon as they veiw the world map. Instead of constant battles, you chose a gate in witch you'd like to open, and battle through it once. This opens the gate and allows for you to move through it freely. These gummi battles still take place on tracks, but now you fight enemies on lands, in the air, and fight "bosses" that literally fill up the whole screen. Once defeating one gummi battle, you can return to it to raise your high score, and unlock new gummi parts. Kingdom hearts 2 goes well beyond expectations. This game is nearly flawless, and continues to tell the Amazing story of Sora the keyblade weilder. I searched for years inbetween KH1 and KH2 for something like it to keep me occupied during the vacancy, and was unable to find anything. This is a one of a kind series, and will hopefully make a return with Kingdom Hearts 3. 10 out of 10. Perfect. Expand
  70. Hugh
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    easily the best game of 2006. in amny ways better than the first, and this is just within the fisrt few hours of gameplay. if u like disney, square, or both, this is for you. if you dont lie, either, u still ghet immersed as this game can appeal to anyone who likes games. this is a must but for anyone who plays games or intends to play in the near future.
  71. RoyL.
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    The gameplay is much improved from the first.With the new action button (triangle) it gives you much more fun. (my favorit slaying the hydra).
  72. georgeP.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    this game is the best next to the original.
  73. IsaacR.
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This game is the best game ever. if you are looking for somthing different, or new or just somthing fun, this game will take you into another world.
  74. Toaman1994
    May 10, 2006
    10
    This is the best game. EVAR!!! Okay, okay, okay. Only for PS2...It's still REALLY GOOD!!! Seriously. If you don't have this game, buy it now. And if you don't have a PS2, buy one. Then, buy this game.
  75. BobQ.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    It started out with a little adventure game and now it unraveled into an incredible new game. I'll have to say this game is alot better than the first and they should keep going with the series of Kingdom Hearts.
  76. ChristineP.
    Jun 19, 2006
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II is one of the best video games I have ever played on PS2. The camera is much improved since the first game. Although it lacks some interest in the story compared to the first, Kingdom Hearts II is still great, and it keeps you playing even after it's ending.
  77. SangheeJ.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    This game is amazing. My brother plays all the time, and I even enjoy watching the game. Its great special effects, and its amazing characters catch the eye and suspense. You get attachted to all the characters, and the movies and plot twists are all amazing. Even incorporating all those amazing movies did well. The only problem that I can find is that all the moves are spelled out for This game is amazing. My brother plays all the time, and I even enjoy watching the game. Its great special effects, and its amazing characters catch the eye and suspense. You get attachted to all the characters, and the movies and plot twists are all amazing. Even incorporating all those amazing movies did well. The only problem that I can find is that all the moves are spelled out for you, and there is almost no room for error. Its kind of irritating. Maybe if you go to ther harder modes that goes away, but in standard mode, its easy enough for me to do during SAT week. Otherwise, you care about the characters, the plot is interesting, and the graphics are amazing, Recommended game. Expand
  78. TrevorB.
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    it was the best game i've played. the graphics where the best ever. sora, kairi, riku, and any other character matured a lot and that made the game connect to teens like me. at first i thought it was going to be bad with all the kid disney stuff but it acuatly had a lot of cool battles without any kid stuff.
  79. Me
    Aug 3, 2006
    10
    i give a 10 and screw anyone who does otherwise i must have played it for 4 hrs and just gotten Sora butt it was fun.
  80. Dragondude
    Jan 10, 2007
    9
    I think it had a great story line. But theres to much talking. I know you can skip it but then you just miss a bunch of explanations.
  81. JoeyV
    Oct 20, 2009
    8
    Great, but not as good as the original. The story is still fantastic, and the gameplay was revved up a bit more, but it still didn't have the charm of the original. The ending boss fight is great, and the CG's are beautiful. (The opening in particular.)
  82. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    This game was a definite step up from KH1, with the action button taking away from the button mashing, and a longer mp bar. The story is still a bit kid-cheesy, but you can always skip the cutscenes (not available in KH1, you had to watch ALL of them). The graphics are also a couple steps up from KH1 and the camera has a WAY better functionality. The secret ending leaves you a bitThis game was a definite step up from KH1, with the action button taking away from the button mashing, and a longer mp bar. The story is still a bit kid-cheesy, but you can always skip the cutscenes (not available in KH1, you had to watch ALL of them). The graphics are also a couple steps up from KH1 and the camera has a WAY better functionality. The secret ending leaves you a bit confused, though, and is nothing to keep trying for Expand
  83. Roxas
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    The story, the enemy design, the music, the action, everything's awesome. If you've played the first one, than this will blow your mind!! It is a million-billion-trillion-bazillion times better. It will blow your mind. The combat is button mashing, but it's some of the best button mashing ever with the insane customizable combos and best enemy design in video games, even The story, the enemy design, the music, the action, everything's awesome. If you've played the first one, than this will blow your mind!! It is a million-billion-trillion-bazillion times better. It will blow your mind. The combat is button mashing, but it's some of the best button mashing ever with the insane customizable combos and best enemy design in video games, even better than Bayonetta. The story is superb. Dont let the Disney characters fool you, this is the real deal. Expand
  84. TravisF.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Kingdom hearts 2 has to be one of best games i have ever played in my life! The graphics are almost perfect I love the controls.Also the way they mix Disney with Square-Enix is just so creative.
  85. JoshT.
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    i thought that the first KH was awesome but this one blows it outta the water.
  86. AlexG.
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    i loved this game. i could not stop playing it! beautiful story, fun, interesting characters and amazing gameplay.
  87. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    While Birth by Sleep is now my favorite KH game, I really thought this sequel was superior and better than the original one, much like how movies like Terminator 2 or The Dark Knight exceeded their predecessors.
  88. Sep 23, 2010
    9
    Kingdom Hearts II takes the torch from its predecessor and soars to new heights, introducing new characters and intrigue while sticking to the script that made it a smash success in 2002.
  89. Jan 13, 2011
    8
    A worthy sequel to an excellent action-JRPG that wraps up the loose ends of the first game in a most satisfying manner. The story is weaker and more convoluted, and there are countless little cutscenes that badly break up actual gameplay but more fluent combat and better camera controls make up for those shortcomings. The unorthodox alliance between Disney and Square Enix still worksA worthy sequel to an excellent action-JRPG that wraps up the loose ends of the first game in a most satisfying manner. The story is weaker and more convoluted, and there are countless little cutscenes that badly break up actual gameplay but more fluent combat and better camera controls make up for those shortcomings. The unorthodox alliance between Disney and Square Enix still works wonders and even if some of the worlds have been recycled from the first game, the overall 30-something-hour experience is a decidedly positive one. Expand
  90. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    i loved this game and will not trade it in even though i have played through it many times because i know that i will want to dive back into this amazing piece of work again someday. the graphics were amazing for a game on the PS2 and the story keeps you interested until the very end. the voice acting is spot on and very convincing along with good music that matched what was going on ini loved this game and will not trade it in even though i have played through it many times because i know that i will want to dive back into this amazing piece of work again someday. the graphics were amazing for a game on the PS2 and the story keeps you interested until the very end. the voice acting is spot on and very convincing along with good music that matched what was going on in the current situation. along with these points you also come to feel attachment to the characters which is very rare in games and they do not have 30 min cut scenes like in Metal Gear Solid but are still able to pull at your heart strings when something bad happens to certain characters and the gameplay is so long and addictive that you can play for hours and still want to keep playing and you will not have even left a dent in the progression and i love that in a game because it will keep you entertained for hours upon hours. this game is definitely a must buy especially with the price dropped way down but good luck trying to find it because i doubt that the ppl who bought this game were willing to trade it in because it is so fun Expand
  91. May 22, 2011
    9
    An epic collaboration of the Final Fantasy series and Disney that's even better than the first game. Pros: Improved control, camera, and gummi ship sequences; beautiful graphics and sound; fantastic cutscenes; a lot of depth in the battle system and level design; bigger variety of Disney worlds to explore. Cons: The story is impossible to follow unless you've played the first game andAn epic collaboration of the Final Fantasy series and Disney that's even better than the first game. Pros: Improved control, camera, and gummi ship sequences; beautiful graphics and sound; fantastic cutscenes; a lot of depth in the battle system and level design; bigger variety of Disney worlds to explore. Cons: The story is impossible to follow unless you've played the first game and Chain of Memories; begins with a 3-hour tutorial; some battles are too easy and lead to repetitive button mashing. Expand
  92. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    Though seemingly underated in the terms of popularity within a RPG franchise, this blend of Final Fantasy/Etc vs. the Disney Universe provides a unique expierience within examples of intense fights, complex but intriguing storyline, and a total sense of difficulty within simplicity that allows for some of the best gameplay I have ever expierienced. Literally a standout title among others.
  93. May 24, 2011
    10
    10 perfect in near all ways an amazingly fun game this is a must own just amazing BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  94. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best games ive ever played the storyline is amazing and confusing but i love it you can actually change the camera view in this one and the fighting system is the best out of the series including the ones after it the enemys are awesome and the reaction commands take the fighting to a whole new level you can also short cut items the different forms are also a greatThis is one of the best games ive ever played the storyline is amazing and confusing but i love it you can actually change the camera view in this one and the fighting system is the best out of the series including the ones after it the enemys are awesome and the reaction commands take the fighting to a whole new level you can also short cut items the different forms are also a great addition that make you feel like a total badass the only problem with this game is the disney chracters they take away from the serious parts of the story why ? because you CANT take them seriously but if you just pay attention to the awesome square enix side of this epic rpg you be immersed in a game that is truly amazing Expand
  95. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this game? I've played Kingdom Hearts, and I gotta say, that was an awesome experience. Kingdom Hearts II just took everything that was good about Kingdom Hearts and enhanced it. The camera is a ton better, the battles are just fun, and the Drive Forms? Awesome

    One sad thing about the game is how the reaction commands make it quite a bit easier. You need to play KH1
    What can I say about this game? I've played Kingdom Hearts, and I gotta say, that was an awesome experience. Kingdom Hearts II just took everything that was good about Kingdom Hearts and enhanced it. The camera is a ton better, the battles are just fun, and the Drive Forms? Awesome

    One sad thing about the game is how the reaction commands make it quite a bit easier. You need to play KH1 and CoM to understand KH2 though...
    Expand
  96. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    I definitely feel that I don't need to sing this game's praises, but whatever. This game has tight controls, memorable bosses, even more memorable worlds, and overall very enjoyable and very engrossing gameplay. The one nitpick I have with this game is that the switch from very strategic and tactical magic use in KH 1 to a more button mash-y beat-em-up style felt like a very very oddI definitely feel that I don't need to sing this game's praises, but whatever. This game has tight controls, memorable bosses, even more memorable worlds, and overall very enjoyable and very engrossing gameplay. The one nitpick I have with this game is that the switch from very strategic and tactical magic use in KH 1 to a more button mash-y beat-em-up style felt like a very very odd change. This is only a nitpick, though, so it's obviously not major.

    Given that, the game gets a very solid 9, for giving the best of Kingdom Hearts 1 and upgrading it.
    Expand
  97. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Though the intro is long and a little dull, Kingdom Hearts 2 is a fantastic game. I personally feel it is better than the first. However, playing the first game is essential. The combat is fun and the story is entertaining. The gummi ship and camera have been improved. The enemies, the nobodies, are very well designed and creative. A must have for RPG fans.
  98. Aug 9, 2015
    10
    "Video games make kids stupid." - every whiny parent alive. BS. This game is fukin poetry, and beauty at it's finest. The only video game to ever make me cry. 10/10 Best game of all time
  99. Rol
    Apr 1, 2006
    6
    Great production values, but what a silly childish game for anyone over 12. This is not the way forward, a polished backward leap. Japanese designers ( alot of them anyway) need to advance beyond their cutesy culture and get gaming into the mainstream with more challenging stories and game mechanics. It's in no way a bad game just ridiculously young in scope. IGN review is bang on.
  100. FFIXlove
    Apr 14, 2008
    6
    As much as I love Disney I could not get into this game. KH1 was a mildly fun game with challenging battles and a respectable (but cheesy) storyline. KH2 on the other hand (for adults) is just an easy, boring button masher. The plot is a mess and the script is hit and miss - one would have thought that with all the Disney connected opportunities the plot would have been more interesting - As much as I love Disney I could not get into this game. KH1 was a mildly fun game with challenging battles and a respectable (but cheesy) storyline. KH2 on the other hand (for adults) is just an easy, boring button masher. The plot is a mess and the script is hit and miss - one would have thought that with all the Disney connected opportunities the plot would have been more interesting - but its not. There are however some good Disney cameos such as Mushu's, to go with the poor ones such as Capt Jack Sparrow's (his entry was plain dull). Final Fantasy characters were cool, Vivi was nice to see but they completely screwed his character up. Overall, its just very underwhelming. The huge opportunities this combination could provide just havent been exploited. Well, at least SE still makes Final Fantasy. Those games never fail to impress me (Ignoring FFX-2 + FFXI). Dragon Quest is good as well. So, in conclusion, while KH2 does have some unmistakable charm its kiddy, boring and absurd parts make it a journey not worth taking. Expand
  101. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time,Definitely better than the first Kingdom Hearts in both gameplay and story. It's darker and even has certain moments that could be considered epic, even though they have characters that would make us laugh as kids (Goofy and Donald and other Disney toons). The battles at times in this can be extremely long, but to an extent that's what makes it all so fun- it wants you to take your time, plus there's a vast amount of things you can do to get better at fighting. Despite it's E-Rating, this is a pretty mature game and that's why I found more to enjoy in its subject matter, though it still suffers some of the flaws of the first game. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. An all around excellent game. It looks phenomenal and plays even better. What started out as a crazy fan based experiment for Square-Enix has panned out to one of the most entertaining titles of the year. [JPN Import]
  2. 95
    From the amazing opening cg cinema (oh god, I think I just soiled myself it was so good) with Utada Hikaru's newest song, Passion, to the kick ass ending, this game rocked and set itself a more than worthy successor to the first Kingdom Hearts. [JPN Import]
  3. It has an excellent battle system, more variety than almost any game out there, great graphics, and an interesting story. The title isn't perfect though. The story lacks a bit of cohesiveness and the auto-camera still can't seem to track everything that's going on. [JPN Import]