Kingdom Hearts II PlayStation 2

Kingdom Hearts II Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 811 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It has been a year since the events of "Kingdom Hearts." Sora and friends are joined by a vibrant new cast of characters, including the king himself. Together, they will face countless dangers in worlds both familiar and brand-new. It seems the Heartless still exist. A new villain alsoIt has been a year since the events of "Kingdom Hearts." Sora and friends are joined by a vibrant new cast of characters, including the king himself. Together, they will face countless dangers in worlds both familiar and brand-new. It seems the Heartless still exist. A new villain also awaits - but is it an old foe behind the mask, or a new menace? This mystery and others will be solved as the story unfolds in a grand adventure. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Given the title's wide appeal, featuring numerous characters and scenarios close to the hearts of many, and given how it ties this to simple yet addictive gameplay backed by mostly solid game design, there's no denying Kingdom Hearts II satisfies in a way few games can.
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    95
    Kingdom Hearts II, I am relieved to say, delivers on everything the series' potential hinted at. [May 2006, p.101]
  3. A game well worth playing. It lasts much longer than any game should have to, squeezing out new experiences wherever possible.
  4. An amazing technical feat, a vast improvement in key areas of the last game, and just a bit too much forced rehashes to keep it from being perfect.
  5. Kingdom Hearts II is in many ways superior to its predecessor. Battles are more exciting, the game is much longer, and unlike the original, it allows one to skip the beautifully animated story scenes, saving the player from watching a two-minute introductory sequence to a difficult battle five times in a row. What the sequel lacks is the narrative momentum of the original.
  6. With smooth visuals, a gripping plot (when not relegated to Disney-land), and a mostly-captivating soundtrack, Kingdom Hearts II is a title any adventure/RPG/fun-loving gamer will desire to add to their collection, despite not shining as well as the original.
  7. While KHII's story and flawless presentation (no camera problems here) ease gamers through the lengthy 30-hour quest, the undercooked gameplay makes it unlikely they'll touch the game again. It's just too easy: lock onto your target and mash the X button as needed. Heal and repeat. This isn't fun — it's tedious.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 176
  1. DerekS.
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    this is what you need to be playing.
  2. DeonS.
    May 23, 2006
    10
    This game is just perfect for the rpg lover like me this is the best sequel EVER!
  3. HeatherA.
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    this game does not have all the jumping the 1st kh had which is nice. i love the new worlds. but part of wishes that they would have more new this game does not have all the jumping the 1st kh had which is nice. i love the new worlds. but part of wishes that they would have more new worlds to vist-that have 3 worlds from the 1st game that could have easiler been changed to 3 diff ones. Although i do have to say that the griphes in this our much much better then in the 1st one. the worlds feel much less boxed off then in the 1st one. Sora has grown more as well as all his friends. I am not a box fan of RPG based games/ But once my bf brought me KH one i love them. i can wait to beat this and for the 3rd KH to come out. :) Collapse
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Kingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be forKingdom Hearts II was and still is my favorite game of all time, honestly this game has no faults. While the game series may not be for everyone, it's a huge improvement over the first game. How is it better? Well, it has: a more interesting storyline, entertain characters which you slowly attach to, better camera controls and much more. This was the first game I ever played in the Kingdom Hearts franchise and while it didn't all make sense at first I went out and bought all the other titles in the franchise to fill in those missing gaps and since I have been attached to the franchise unable to let go. I can't wait for the recently announced third installment for PS4 and XBOX ONE. Expand
  5. Action
    May 5, 2006
    9
    I wouild give this a 9.5 if I could. Nearly perfect followup to the original, improving on the glaring flaws of the first game and adding I wouild give this a 9.5 if I could. Nearly perfect followup to the original, improving on the glaring flaws of the first game and adding some nice touches to boot. The idiots complaining about not having to finish every world or that the game was too kiddy need to get a clue... this game is for 10 and up, and there is something for everybody here of all ages and skill levels. If you didn't finish every world, then you didn't get the special ending. Nuff said. The only real flaw, in my opinion, was that the voice acting wasn't that great... was it really so hard to get Billy Zane to repirse his character? Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2014
    9
    I love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is SquareI love this game, but it's a little too easy compared to its predecessor KH (that is). I can see how good it is because what I see is Square trying something new so it is supposed to be slightly easier, and if you want it to be harder play on the harder difficulties but either way I still had to use the square button still when I face bosses more than when I pressed the triangle. For example, the boss battle with Sephiroth, Xemnas, Xigbar, Xaldin, Sai'x, and Xemnas (final form/3rd form) Expand
  7. DavidC.
    Jul 2, 2006
    0
    Whoever thought up the idea of putting FF and Disney together should be dipped in honey and put in a container full of wasps!

See all 176 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#3 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006