Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sora, Donald and Goofy travel down a long road that meanders through endless fields, and come to a crossroads. As Sora stands in the crossroads, he gazes up at the night sky and thinks of his lost friends. Just then, a mysterious man approaches from down one of the branching paths. "AheadSora, Donald and Goofy travel down a long road that meanders through endless fields, and come to a crossroads. As Sora stands in the crossroads, he gazes up at the night sky and thinks of his lost friends. Just then, a mysterious man approaches from down one of the branching paths. "Ahead lies something you need," he says, "but to claim it, you must lose something dear." The man vanishes before a single path, leading to a castle that eerily resembles a girl's drawing... In the coming journey, what will Sora and his companions gain, and what will they lose? In addition to Sora, players can control Riku in this adventure that bridges the gap between KINGDOM HEARTS and KINGDOM HEARTS II
    A full 3D remake of the original GBA release, KINGDOM HEARTS Re:Chain of Memories offers a refreshing rendition of the hit title for the PlayStation 2 system. The talented voice cast from the North American releases of KINGDOM HEARTS and KINGDOM HEARTS II, including David Gallagher and Haley Joel Osment, return to breathe new life into the beloved characters. The mini-game catalog has been completely renewed, now with four brand new experiences accompanying the main adventure. [Square Enix]
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories for the PS2 is definitely worth checking out, especially if you haven't yet played the GBA original.
  2. 84
    An impressive remake that improves the presentation of the original GBA version by leaps and bounds while simultaneously streamlining the battle system.
  3. Taking a page from other "from the ground up" remakes of other Square-Enix remakes like Final Fantasy IV on the DS, Re:Chain of Memories is a great way to check out an adventure that many may have missed the first time around.
  4. 70
    Considering the source material, Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories is an impressive effort that is certainly worth playing for every fan of the series that missed it on Nintendo's retired handheld. The game is far more familiar in 3D, and translates into a more addicting and satisfying experience on the PS2.
  5. But in the end, it only feels like a bad idea superimposed over an ongoing good idea. So unless you're a hardcore fan, we say pass on Kingdom Hearts Re: Chain of Memories, and lie in wait for Kingdom Hearts III. Yeah, we still hope it's coming.
  6. This remake is solid fan service, but recycled content and disjointed exploration limit its appeal.
  7. Rebuilding it using the PS2 game's engine just makes it a much more obvious retread. [Jan 2009, p.83]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Oct 18, 2010
    10
    I may be giving this a 10 because I'm biased due to the fact this is a Kingdom Hearts game, and I am a huge fan of the series. But once youI may be giving this a 10 because I'm biased due to the fact this is a Kingdom Hearts game, and I am a huge fan of the series. But once you get used to the cards, the rest will be smooth sailing. Expand
  2. KimyKun
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    I think that this game is great... i don't like the cards battle... but the graphic is great. I don't know why didn't heI think that this game is great... i don't like the cards battle... but the graphic is great. I don't know why didn't he came out in ITALY to,i hope some day that this fantastic game will arive in ITALY soo i can play the game... XOXO Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    This is an interesting game. I played it when it first came out on GBA several times and just finished playing through this PS2 version. IThis is an interesting game. I played it when it first came out on GBA several times and just finished playing through this PS2 version. I love this game because I think it has the single best combat system in any Action-RPG. Period. However, I can understand the polar opposites in terms of reviews. There is an enormous amount of depth to the combat system. The game requires you to think om a wide range of strategic levels very quickly. The PS2 version even more so because it requires more spacial thinking due to the fact that it is in 3D and, unlike the GBA version, you cannot always see everything that is occurring at once, forcing you to predict and anticipate enemy movements (whom you cannot always see if they are behind or above you) on the fly, while also card counting, adding card values, dodging, attacking, blocking, keeping track of your HP and more. On top of it all, the combat difficulty forces you to grasp all concepts and use them or you will die. It is not forgiving in any way. The strategy and customization goes far beyond the standard swing swing block, shoot shoot roll of even some of the greatest Action-RPG (in terms of challenge and strategy it out does even Mass Effect and Elder Scrolls) This depth is what may turn a lot of would be fans away though. It is several times more complex than what Kingdom Hearts folks are used to.
    Other parts of the game don't quite live up to the one of a kind battle system, however. The main overall story is pretty interesting and well done but has many of the trappings of a JRPG which is not necessarily bad but tends to push away some. The small plots in each of the worlds are kind of a throw away though. The world exploration, while very unique, is not it's strongest point. I understand that it is a carry-over from the GBA which had it's technical limitations. What I would like to see happen is for Square to take combat system of Chain of Memories and apply to a Action-RPG with a bigger scope. Something with a larger and more open world to explore. There is a lot Square could do in terms of evolving the gameplay concepts they started with Chain of Memories and I would love to see it happen (I don't care if is within the Kingdom Hearts franchise or not) It seems any people couldn't quite grasp the game. This is apparent by the fact that there are many people on here rating this game a "0" because they don't like the fact that enemies can defend themselves and counter-attack any attack made by the player that is not thought out. Due to the fact that the general attitude of big game developers is that they must appeal to as many people as possible, the chances of Square picking a concept back up that was so divisive is slim to none.
    Collapse
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    In the story department, Chain of Memories delivers just as much as any other Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is a completely differentIn the story department, Chain of Memories delivers just as much as any other Kingdom Hearts game. The gameplay is a completely different story. The card system can be difficult to understand, punish you at the worst of times, and can be infuriating at times. You'll find yourself dying more than a few times in a row to the same boss due to the card system. The second half of the story, Reverse/Rebirth mode, relieves some of these frustrations due to the fact that it pre-selects your cards, but between the story bits, the repetitive grind of the fights becomes tedious. While the cutscenes and story make it somewhat worth it, I only recommend this for the dedicated Kingdom Hearts fans. For anyone else, you can look up a walkthrough on YouTube, because its better than having to suffer through the battle system. Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    5
    The worst RPG on a ps2 the story is a bit bland but the battle system sucked and the gameplay is boring to tell you the truth this game is soThe worst RPG on a ps2 the story is a bit bland but the battle system sucked and the gameplay is boring to tell you the truth this game is so bad it made it on my top 5 worst ps2 games of all time and this was number 3. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    5
    sigh, this game is dissapointing and i'm a big kingdom hearts fan. the game feels linear, although you can go back to previous areas, theresigh, this game is dissapointing and i'm a big kingdom hearts fan. the game feels linear, although you can go back to previous areas, there really is no reason to. the storyline... the only parts i enjoyed were the parts that took place in castle oblivion, the disney storylines though... oh god they are terrible! they are literally the same from kingdom hearts 1, maybe only a slightly bit different. and the gameplay is annoying because now you play with F***ing CARDS! it is especially annoying with bosses, who can easily break your cards to do their own rediculously annoying attacks. and every time you run out of cards you have to reload them, but each time you reload you lose more cards from your deck, until you're stuck with one weak attack card that can't do SH*T against bosses. the bosses on the other hand have unlimited cards, that they can use as they please while you're stuck with your weak attack card. the only part where i started enjoying the game was the last floor in castle oblivion, and the final boss fight, which i gotta say had some pretty awesome music. after you complete Sora's story you can start a new game with Riku, with a different story, and slightly different battle system, playing as riku isn't much better though, the disney worlds have no storyline now, and all you do is run through the same areas you did as sora, and you can't customize your deck, the game does it for you. i suggest just watching the cutscenes on youtube if you want to know the story, because the game isn't worth playing through. Expand
  7. kingdomhearts
    Aug 25, 2009
    1
    This game was horrible. When I first heard about the remake coming out on ps2, I thought it would be great, but I was wrong. In the game, you This game was horrible. When I first heard about the remake coming out on ps2, I thought it would be great, but I was wrong. In the game, you start off not knowing anything, but you get a little better, but then you start seeing constant card breaks when you are fighting, and just when you try to unleash your most powerful combo...*chink*card break...The reason a rated higher than a zero (and i wasn't inclined to at first) is because it kept me occupied for about 3 hours before i realized that if it is going to take three hours or more of button mashing with cards in each world, this would be an incredibly boring game. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews