Kingdom Hearts PlayStation 2

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 529 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 529
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    It kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this gameIt kinda grows tedious after a while, but to say that this isn't a decent game is a bit much. The very beginning of the game is extremely boring, but as you get further along it gets much better. Even if it didn't have the involvement of Disney characters but still followed its same basic story this would be a good game, but having DIsney characters and the Disney world makes this game pretty unique and a whole lot of fun. It's great to see some of your favorite movies and characters and have them as their own worlds that you can explore (it's not necessarily open world, but it's good enough). Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2011
    7
    At the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boringAt the least- a very uneven game. At the worst? A decent game accompanied by a terrible fan-base full of weird Disney-anime obsessed pasty white tweens that either like the game because it has flashy colors in it- or attempt to justify it as a "deep action rpg with meaningful dialog between a child with gravity defying hair and micky mouse." It has its merits and it also has its boring segments that shouldn't even be in the game. Goofy and Donald duck are an odd duo here and anybody will admit that the melding is a bit strange. The enormous amount of licensed Disney characters included- as well as the lack of original or even "sound-alike" voice actors tells me that this wasn't really a big deal to Disney. They probably knew they could market the crap out this game without even trying: "Final fantasy and disney characters? Kids will eat that **** up!" Thusly Kingdom Hearts was born. Then their was that retarded (but we all loved it) trailer on TV with that catchy 10 seconds of some Japanese song that had been dubbed for the commercial and everyone was suddenly entranced. Its kind of like Pokemon in a way.. even though we get older and stop playing it (most of the sane ones anyway) they keep making them for nostalgic factor. Thats why this game succeeded. No shame in hiding that truth. Expand
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    6
    Kingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (orKingdom Hearts had some really good things going for it but in the end it just ended up being an ok game, graphics do show age, voice acting is hit or miss (mostly miss), although it does have an amazing soundtrack, the story is EXTREMELY poorly written and really difficult to follow and when it's not that it's garbage, you'll see famous Disney and Final Fantasy characters and not know (or care) why they are there, gameplay is the games strong point it's controls are good, but you'll mostly just use them for button mashing, and it's hard to get to your spells and potions, it can be a real challenge at times which is a good thing, but the hardest enemy you will fight is the camera which will rarely work with you, all in all it's not the best game out there but if you are willing to overlook these flaws, and are a huge Disney or Final Fantasy fan, and you like the cheesy plots about darkness and love that you will only find in a Anime straight out of Japan, you will find a fun experience. Expand
  4. JoeM.
    Feb 9, 2003
    5
    The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! The gameplay is enjoyable to a point, but... if you heard that nagging little voice in the back of your head saying to you, "Square... and DISNEY?", heed it. It is an unholy pairing which, in the end, drains from the game its possible greatness and drags it down to the level of insipid commercial stupidity. You are fighting side by side with the noble knight... GOOFY! And DONALD DUCK! These are such well-known commercial icons that any sense of otherworldliness or removal from the here and now is completely shattered. They may as well have made the shops into 7-11s and had the cast eat Reeces Pieces to restore health. Blech! The Disney world is not about imagination, it is an entity in and of itself. Hell, you can actually GO there! It's in Florida! I really can't conceive how this did not contaminate the game completely for any of the reviewers I have read. And this is without even getting into the uninspired music and the totally USELESS and INFANTILE Gummi ship sequences. This product cannot even hold the SHADOW of a candle to FFX but, due to its unfortunate success, Square is sure to make another. THAT one I will at least know better than to purchase. So much for trusting the critics. Or the general public, who willingly swallowed this turkey. Definately not recommended if you are over 12 years of age. Quite a disappointment. Expand
  5. PhilQ.
    Aug 27, 2007
    5
    I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. I really wanted to like this game. I endured the bad---infuriating---camera and control response and button-mashing, but gave up at the Little Mermaid level. No way could I take any more when the already bad control/camera scheme was plunged underwater. I picked this up a year later for another try---the game art and cutscenes are just so inviting and I really wanted to like this game. But I gave up even sooner than before with renewed distaste for the gameplay. Too bad. It looks so good. I fully believe this is the most overrated game of all time. Expand
  6. kingdomhearts
    Aug 25, 2009
    6
    This game had a good concept and almost good controls, except for the horrible camera views, and the x-button mashing. If you try to turn one way to see something, you have to walk forwards or backwards, ending usually in you falling off wherever you are. If you try to make up the button mashing with magic, you run out of MP very fast, and the only way to recharge it is either more This game had a good concept and almost good controls, except for the horrible camera views, and the x-button mashing. If you try to turn one way to see something, you have to walk forwards or backwards, ending usually in you falling off wherever you are. If you try to make up the button mashing with magic, you run out of MP very fast, and the only way to recharge it is either more button-mashing or an elixir/ether which are both pains to use because you have to take the time to scroll down and select items, and select what you want to use. In a boss battle, this can be very ineffective. The game also encourages you to buy the guide, because in many places, it leaves you off with a random start. I like the fact, however, that you could decide between Atlantis and Halloweentown, as Atlantis was both incredibly hard, and had horrible controls. Also, if you wanted to repeat the game in a relatively fast time, there is no way to get past the hours and hours of cutscenes. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    5
    Gameplay is incredible, but the plot is nothing more than a 10-year-old's crossover fanfiction. Would be 8-9, but none of the dialog or movies can be skipped.
  8. Uter
    Apr 28, 2004
    5
    I like the disney themes, but come on. This game is is seriously unexciting. It's more square table scraps.
  9. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    Better then average RPG, which profits from the Disney and Final Fantasy Characters with a disapointing and way to simple battle system. Story is just absurd.
  10. Feb 9, 2013
    7
    This game while revolutionary is flawed and hasn't aged very well. The camera is not the best to start with and the gummi ship portions were boring and there was a little too much focus put on them. There are also unskippable cutscenes, which mixed with punishing difficulty spikes for boss battles will have you prepared to throw your playstation out the window. The idea of the game is veryThis game while revolutionary is flawed and hasn't aged very well. The camera is not the best to start with and the gummi ship portions were boring and there was a little too much focus put on them. There are also unskippable cutscenes, which mixed with punishing difficulty spikes for boss battles will have you prepared to throw your playstation out the window. The idea of the game is very inventive however and visiting the disney worlds feels magical. The combat is a little shallow but fun and as I previously mentioned the difficulty spikes are annoying. Expand
  11. Dec 26, 2014
    7
    Just finished this game, 12 years after its release. It's definitely not what a lot of fanboys make it out to be. The story is ok, slightly emotional but nothing that would bring one to tears.

    The camera had me tearing my hair out. Gameplay is repetitious and often simply not fun. The (highest) difficulty was uneven through parts of the game and at times required level grinding.
    Just finished this game, 12 years after its release. It's definitely not what a lot of fanboys make it out to be. The story is ok, slightly emotional but nothing that would bring one to tears.

    The camera had me tearing my hair out. Gameplay is repetitious and often simply not fun. The (highest) difficulty was uneven through parts of the game and at times required level grinding.

    I will admit, being able to party up with familiar Disney characters is pretty cool. The graphics for their time look very good. Voice casting is excellent, though the dialog at times leaves something to be desired.

    Even with all the negatives I plan to play through the sequel. Just don't go into the game expecting to have your mind blown.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Game Informer
    95
    The battles that unfold are as beautful as they are intense, and as difficult as they are easy to manhandle. [Oct 2002, p.76]
  2. Play Magazine
    80
    To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  3. Has a few flaws, but its unique character pairings and jaw-dropping graphics make this a remarkable RPG.