Kingdom Hearts Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 648 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kingdom Hearts is the story of Sora, a 14-year-old boy whose world is shattered when a violent storm hits his island-paradise home, and is separated from his two closest friends, Riku, a 15-year-old boy, and Kairi, a 14-year-old girl. The storm scatters the three to differnt and unknownKingdom Hearts is the story of Sora, a 14-year-old boy whose world is shattered when a violent storm hits his island-paradise home, and is separated from his two closest friends, Riku, a 15-year-old boy, and Kairi, a 14-year-old girl. The storm scatters the three to differnt and unknown worlds. At the same time, there's turmoil in Disney Castle. King Mickey is missing, and Court Wizard Donald and Captain Goofy set out to find him. On their travels they meet Sora on his own search for his lost friends. The three are told of ominous creatures known as the Heartless - beings without hearts derived from an unknown dimension and as it turns out, manipulated by Disney villains and the ones responsible for the devastating storm. Upon discovering the link between the Heartless, the storm and the disappearance of King Mickey, Sora, Donald and Goofy join forces and help familiar Disney heroes to save their worlds. [Square] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    You’ll be hard pressed to find another game that even comes close to matching the quality found in Kingdom Hearts. Games just don’t come as beautiful and well thought out as this, it’s a virtual masterpiece that excels in every way possible.
  2. I really don’t think anyone else could have woven as complex and enthralling a story into such enjoyable gameplay and kept it as true to both Square and especially Disney fans.
  3. The action nature of this game makes the length shorter as there is little to no strategy as there is in turn-based games. I doubt many will want to go through this game again, but for the first time through the game was quite rewarding.
  4. Such a well-crafted, polished (aside from the camera), and entertaining experience that it managed to win over this jaded gaming cynic, inevitable merchandising tie-ins and all.
  5. The problem is that it just gets old quick. Lots of enemies, attack, cure, wash, rinse, repeat. It gets old.
  6. Play Magazine
    80
    To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  7. 60
    Gameplay is probably the most unremarkable aspect to Kingdom Hearts. The real-time combat consists of mashing the X button repeatedly as your one and only attack move, and also using magic once and a while.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 167
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Is Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it thatIs Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me a feeling of wonder and serenity that nothing has given me before, let alone a video game. Expand
  2. MikeE
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family I was very reluctant to play this game at first because Disney has this reputation of producing "fluff" material that are supposedly family oriented *cough* Bolt *cough*. However, I was more interested to hear at the time that Squaresoft (at the time) was involved with this project. Once I placed the disc into the system, picked up the controller, title sequence began, I was immediately hooked. This game surpassed my expectations. It has squaresoft quality and disney still gets the wholesome message out that is notable. I have read and heard several complaints about the game play. Now, I want you to go online, video game store, or even if you own it look at the case and I want you to read the rating. What does it say? E for everyone for ages 10 and up. Right there! You should already know the demographic for this game. If a game is rated E then you should take in consideration of what the game play might be like. It's going to be something easy and accessible for some youngian to pick and play. Stop being picky and enjoy the game, if that is possible. The cool thing about the game play it's based in real time instead of standing there waiting to attack. It is more refreshing to say the least. The only gripe I really have is the camera angles, which should of been with the right analog stick from the beginning but that was fixed in KH2 thankfully. The characters are completely endearing. Sora is that kid who just wants to hang out and be with his friends and could be considered the underdog in this adventure. Also, he has the innocence to him about having a crush on your closest female friend. It's very relatable. As you embark on your quest your main objective is to find your friends but encountering Donald and Goofy your main objective becomes protecting several disney worlds that have their own theme. Every time you go to a different world more interest is created with the atmosphere of that world and my favorite aspect of the game: the music. It's a wonderful soundtrack, I own all of them as we speak. *Multiple fingers point at him, voices in the background shouting "geek!"* Indeed, lol. Everything about this game seems to be perfect, well scratch that, it's really enjoyable. The game works well with all the elements that have been placed before it. It's a well thought out game and I am not ashamed of saying that I own it in my PS2 collection. If you're one of those folks who thinks that ending is on the verge of propaganda and all that non-sense. Get your heads out of your arses, seriously. It's made to be a positive experience and said a decent message out about friendship and how the light perserveres over darkness. Like I said, think about the rating and the demographic. Fun light hearted game filled with great spectacle values and a great story. Love it. Expand
  3. MichaelP.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    This is an excellent game! Both the music and graphics are very impressive. If you love the Final Fantasy series, you'll LOVE this great This is an excellent game! Both the music and graphics are very impressive. If you love the Final Fantasy series, you'll LOVE this great game! I love how they had a lot of the Final Fantasy VII character's in this game, mixed with your favorite disney characters! The game touches on both the puzzle-thinking side, as well as the fighting side. This is a great game to reach out for all ages, and can be customized to fit how fast or slow you would like the game to move! A+++++++ Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Kingdom hearts is best ps2 game, it's a crossover between disney and square, sora donald and goofy team up to find kairi and riku after gotKingdom hearts is best ps2 game, it's a crossover between disney and square, sora donald and goofy team up to find kairi and riku after got separated, get kingdom hearts for ps2. Expand
  5. YoyoD.
    Feb 23, 2003
    9
    I really like this game and it has real live graphics. But I wish it was a little longer and had more Disney characters in it. When you beat I really like this game and it has real live graphics. But I wish it was a little longer and had more Disney characters in it. When you beat the game it leaves you with some questions. Like what's going to happen to Riku, King Mickey, and kairi. I hope it come out with another Kingdom Hearts. I like the game Kingdom hearts because it leave you guessing. Expand
  6. Dec 5, 2016
    9
    Great Game it has some good exploration and interaction between objects and some of the best classical stories that your children can playGreat Game it has some good exploration and interaction between objects and some of the best classical stories that your children can play sure its chessy for adults but its story is more motivated than any other game in the franchise even KH3 :). Combat is quite easy to pick up and the camera is quite rough in some areas but if you got it down you'll experience some of the best Ps2 games to date. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic. The cons of Kingdom
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic.

    The cons of Kingdom Hearts:
    - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often.
    - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences
    - Stages are LIFELESS and utterly mind-numbingly boring.
    - The inter-world trasportation mini-game adds nothing to the game and is unfathomably annoying.
    - There are so many mini-games in this game that are completely unrelated to one another and add very little if anything to the rest of the game.
    - Parts where the story is revealed are few and far between, and they certainly don't make all the work of getting through the various worlds worth it.

    I love Square, but I think this game is a clear indication that they are abusing the fame that they have earned in the past with games that are actually GOOD. It is a chore to play, with little reward. Don't get it.
    Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

21
2
#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
5
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002