Kingdom Hearts PlayStation 2

Kingdom Hearts Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 635 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kingdom Hearts is the story of Sora, a 14-year-old boy whose world is shattered when a violent storm hits his island-paradise home, and is separated from his two closest friends, Riku, a 15-year-old boy, and Kairi, a 14-year-old girl. The storm scatters the three to differnt and unknownKingdom Hearts is the story of Sora, a 14-year-old boy whose world is shattered when a violent storm hits his island-paradise home, and is separated from his two closest friends, Riku, a 15-year-old boy, and Kairi, a 14-year-old girl. The storm scatters the three to differnt and unknown worlds. At the same time, there's turmoil in Disney Castle. King Mickey is missing, and Court Wizard Donald and Captain Goofy set out to find him. On their travels they meet Sora on his own search for his lost friends. The three are told of ominous creatures known as the Heartless - beings without hearts derived from an unknown dimension and as it turns out, manipulated by Disney villains and the ones responsible for the devastating storm. Upon discovering the link between the Heartless, the storm and the disappearance of King Mickey, Sora, Donald and Goofy join forces and help familiar Disney heroes to save their worlds. [Square] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    You’ll be hard pressed to find another game that even comes close to matching the quality found in Kingdom Hearts. Games just don’t come as beautiful and well thought out as this, it’s a virtual masterpiece that excels in every way possible.
  2. I really don’t think anyone else could have woven as complex and enthralling a story into such enjoyable gameplay and kept it as true to both Square and especially Disney fans.
  3. The action nature of this game makes the length shorter as there is little to no strategy as there is in turn-based games. I doubt many will want to go through this game again, but for the first time through the game was quite rewarding.
  4. Such a well-crafted, polished (aside from the camera), and entertaining experience that it managed to win over this jaded gaming cynic, inevitable merchandising tie-ins and all.
  5. The problem is that it just gets old quick. Lots of enemies, attack, cure, wash, rinse, repeat. It gets old.
  6. Play Magazine
    80
    To say that Kingdom Hearts is magical is an understatement. As cinematic experiences go, it's exquisite. It's not the finest in terms of action, but overall, it's wonderful. [Oct 2002, p.74]
  7. 60
    Gameplay is probably the most unremarkable aspect to Kingdom Hearts. The real-time combat consists of mashing the X button repeatedly as your one and only attack move, and also using magic once and a while.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 166
  1. May 21, 2011
    10
    Is Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it thatIs Kingdom Hearts a flawed game? Yes it is. The combat is lacking and simple and the set camera is atrocious. But there's a quality to it that can't be explained. The worlds can only be described as magical, the characters are timeless and the story, although just typical Japanese crazyness, is beautiful to behold. Its a package that is much more than the sum of its parts and it gives me a feeling of wonder and serenity that nothing has given me before, let alone a video game. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    This is one of the most amazing games of all time! I did not discover it until 2008, and I mourn all the years I could have been playing it.This is one of the most amazing games of all time! I did not discover it until 2008, and I mourn all the years I could have been playing it. The storyline is captivating, and the characters seem so real one bonds with them! Very few games give me goosebumps when I beat it, every time, no matter if it is the 32nd. Expand
  3. RyanM.
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    An immensely entertaining, hours-on-end, fully flourished game that, if I may say so myself, is the game of the year.
  4. May 10, 2016
    10
    I played this game like 12 or 13 years ago but I still remember that time. It was Christmas and I got my ps2 at the Christmas tree with thisI played this game like 12 or 13 years ago but I still remember that time. It was Christmas and I got my ps2 at the Christmas tree with this game and from the first moment caught me. I really loved this game because Sora had my exactly age and the mixed world of Final Fantasy and Disney attracted fans of the both sides. I remember that the plot was really strange and curious with all the darkness and heartless. What I remember the most is kicking ass of every heartless that came up. And I also remember when I finally finised this game. It was summer!! And I started playing on Christmas. Well, the thing is that the final boss it was really difficult to beat and my cousin and I where trying to defeat him. One turn he, one turn me. And I finally kick him down! What I could never defeat was the two extra final bosses. I mean for me was impossible. I think that if you are 12-16 years old you're really enjoy this game. Although I'm going to play Kingdom Hearts II now that I have time and I'm a little old for this game I think. But I believe it's gonna like me like the first Kingdom Hearts did. Expand
  5. JonathanD.
    Jan 6, 2003
    9
    Unquestionably the game of the year. KH may have some pretty wussy Disney characters running around, but overall, it feels like a Square Unquestionably the game of the year. KH may have some pretty wussy Disney characters running around, but overall, it feels like a Square product. Don't let the fact that Sephiroth and Donald Duck are in the same game turn you off; aside from a sometimes ridiculously hard difficulty and a temperamental camera, KH is an amazing game. Buy it immediately. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    A game i started playing 2 years ago as i always use to watch my brother play it but never gotten in to it until recently,which i'm glad toA game i started playing 2 years ago as i always use to watch my brother play it but never gotten in to it until recently,which i'm glad to cause its one heck of a game,you play as Sora,a teenage young boy who got sucked into the disney world cause of hes destiny to become the keyblader,he journeys with Donald and Goofy in the different Disney worlds while trying to find his friends who also got sucked into their own destinys,the gameplay is very much fun than the time turns from final fantasy,as the player can move Sora in the battlefield and plays like a hack and slash,although theres still magic and summons in this one.The graphics kinda like Final Fantasy X but i can say they're better and the Disney characters look the same as in the movies.Soundtrack most of them are from Disney and you'll probably recognise it depend on which world you into,but some of them are new in this game which are also very cool to listen like the intro music. A clever idea to merge both square enix and disney in one game and what a heck of a game,no one would wanna miss this one.Whatever which platform you're playing,you won't regret this. Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic. The cons of Kingdom
    Here are the pros of Kingdom Hearts:
    - It has good graphics.
    - The Disney characters' voices are authentic.

    The cons of Kingdom Hearts:
    - "Gameplay" consists of mashing buttons in the general direction of enemies, which appear way too often.
    - Knowing what to do/where to go at any given time is impossible due to the poorly executed story sequences
    - Stages are LIFELESS and utterly mind-numbingly boring.
    - The inter-world trasportation mini-game adds nothing to the game and is unfathomably annoying.
    - There are so many mini-games in this game that are completely unrelated to one another and add very little if anything to the rest of the game.
    - Parts where the story is revealed are few and far between, and they certainly don't make all the work of getting through the various worlds worth it.

    I love Square, but I think this game is a clear indication that they are abusing the fame that they have earned in the past with games that are actually GOOD. It is a chore to play, with little reward. Don't get it.
    Collapse

See all 166 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002