• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. You're one of the most satisfying, worthwhile, and excellent platformers I've ever met. Time spent with you was challenging but never frustrating, beautiful but never, ever shallow, and utterly captivating for every moment we were together.
  2. A brilliant title. The visuals are on par with "Rayman 3," the control almost as tight as "Mario," and the quests and puzzles both epic and innovative. [Holiday 2003, p.30]
  3. Not only are the levels in the game massive, they are also graphically beautiful.
  4. If you're the type of person who likes to get lost in fantasy worlds, Kya is your oyster. [Dec 2003, p.78]
  5. A top-notch production from top to bottom, and the experience of playing it is surely worth the time of any 3D action adventure fan.
  6. An overall solid entry into a crowded platformer market. I would have scored KDL a lot higher if it wasn’t hindered by annoyances such as the camera and having to trek across the land to get to shops.
  7. Its gameplay is tight and varied at times to keep you involved and challenged but not frustrated.
  8. 80
    An original game with a well-developed theme and a lot to do. If the fighting and voice acting had received a little more attention, this would surely be a five-star game. As it is, some gamers might have trouble taking the game seriously.
  9. While the format is fairly standard (flipping switches, collecting objects and solving puzzles), the detailed worlds and neat touches — Kya can tame and ride wild animals, and dribble or kick certain creatures like a football — more than make up for it.
  10. This game feels rushed. The interfaces is simple and easy to get hold of, but the tempo of the game is such that you have little time to savor what you are seeing or doing.
  11. 75
    A good solid game, one that's deep with a huge variety of things to do, be it fighting, solving physical puzzles, collecting stuff, wandering around in a vegetative daze or leaf-surfing.
  12. The biggest reason that I'm not ga-ga about this game is that I don't feel like I know Kya as a character. Because of that limitation, your desire to spend some serious time in her company isn't as high as, say Voodoo Vince. [Nov 2003, p.145]
  13. 75
    Despite a lack of polish and the ineptly presented storyline, Kya: Dark Lineage had enough fresh ideas and fun scenarios to keep me pluggin' through to the end. It's not the prettiest game out there, nor the longest, or the coolest. It is, however, fun and original.
  14. 73
    Kya’s fantastic and diverse gameplay makes the standing block for a successful start in the gaming industry, Visuals and sound could have been a lot better but by and large Kya is fun.
  15. The main character is nothing special and a character-based platformer needs to have a very strong lead to even stand a chance. In this day and age it takes a lot more than just being 'a nice game' to get anywhere, and Kya is just that: a nice game.
  16. Dropping the boomerang in favor of the stronger hand-to-hand combat or some other model might have been a good idea, but it's nice to see the extreme sports influence integrated into the fabric of a totally non-sports title.
  17. Everything about Kya: Dark Lineage is pretty standard and expected, and while most of it is executed quite well it still feels a little recycled.
  18. If you are able to look past frustrating controls and a poor camera, the game is quite enjoyable. It’s also not one of those games that added a bunch of annoying sidequests to extend its length, and as a result, it can be beaten with a healthy weekend of gaming.
  19. The camera can be absolutely maddening at times. [Jan 2004, p.138]
  20. 58
    It's too bad that poorly designed levels, headache-inducing obstacles, and an embarrassingly cliched story spoil so much of the fun. [Jan 2004, p.59]
  21. Structurally, the game is a waking nightmare. The hub world is vast and unnecessarily confusing, and it is possible to become trapped in levels if you can't figure out where to go next. [Mar 2004, p.108]
  22. Controlling the camera is a minigame all its own. [Jan 2004, p.72]
  23. Despite some gorgeous visuals and intriguing gameplay elements, Kya simply isn't any fun. And just like the wind, that really blows. [Jan 2004, p.123]
  24. 40
    Unfortunately, Kya is a very difficult game to play as the controls are not particularly intuitive and the camera seems to delight in going haywire during delicate jumping situations.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. May 25, 2013
    6
    When I saw videos for it I thought it would mostly be an action platformer w/ hoverboarding levels. What you end up doing is navigating complex floating islands, jumping, hitting switches, collecting and button mashing. It even has stealth elements. While fun, I think its just too much for someone that wanted a pure action game. It could have been Mario Galaxy basically, but it doesn't have addictive pacing. Instead it sort of has quests, items, and blocked areas. With no warp menus I have to do too much walking. There are in-game tunnels, just not enough in my opinion. The production values are high, and has a lot of gameplay styles and good music. There is LOTS to see. Every corner of the game has something new, like triggers, new pathways... or many times its sometimes its just something that keeps electrocuting you. Eventually you get pretty far and die from an enemy. Sometimes you go back pretty far, sometimes not. Ineveitably there will be some backtracking for coins or items and just some places where you get lost. The money system and questing does hurt this game that could have been a good action platformer. Its surprising how great the graphics are on this one, and how much to explore, but its not something that I want to keep playing finish is all. For the market they were making this game for there is just too much going on. I really think this could have been a Mario Galaxy like game that would be a system seller, had they made it more addictive and easier to navigate. There is a lot fun going on in this game, but the slow parts hurt it too much. Full Review »