Kya: Dark Lineage PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2003
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyG.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    One of my very favorite PS2 games. There are several elements in this game that are better executed than I've seen in any other game: 1. Fighting controls are very good and feel like a 2D fighting game while still allowing you to effectively combat multiple enemies. 2. The flying mechanic is (to my knowledge) unique and really fun. 3. The very best intro/tutorial level I have ever One of my very favorite PS2 games. There are several elements in this game that are better executed than I've seen in any other game: 1. Fighting controls are very good and feel like a 2D fighting game while still allowing you to effectively combat multiple enemies. 2. The flying mechanic is (to my knowledge) unique and really fun. 3. The very best intro/tutorial level I have ever seen. When I taught game design, this intro level was the one that I showed to my students. It never breaks the action, always feels tense and like something is happening, and explains several modes of transportation in a way that the player is able to remember. Expand
  2. WilliamS.
    Feb 21, 2004
    8
    Yo this is a sweet game ive been playin i dont know how many hours straight and im at the part where ya gotta shoot the spikes on the wolfen flying thingy so the arms dont blow up the mushroom thingys. My brain is Kyafied.
  3. Tara
    Jan 4, 2004
    10
    I love it I just got done playing it 4 hours in a row , i just decided to take a rest but im about to go play more!
  4. Bryan
    Jul 25, 2005
    9
    Sure, the camera stinks at times, and the music is a little weak, but the true value of this game lies in its charm, it's unique style, and the fun you'll have playing it. This game puts you in a whole new world, and you're constantly reminded of it, and want to explore it more. The graphics are amazing, and if you think they're poor compared to modern games, just take Sure, the camera stinks at times, and the music is a little weak, but the true value of this game lies in its charm, it's unique style, and the fun you'll have playing it. This game puts you in a whole new world, and you're constantly reminded of it, and want to explore it more. The graphics are amazing, and if you think they're poor compared to modern games, just take a moment to consider the AMAZING draw distances. Not to mention this game is huge in terms of all the places you go, Pick this game up, it's worth it. Expand
  5. RonH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    8
    I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a high rate of speed. Another feature that seems new to me is the free-falling and riding wind part of the game, which there is a lot of and is a great innovation. There are also some parts that are puzzles, like hit the rope with your boomerang that is holding the rock that will fall on a switch and open a door. The graphics are a little blocky but I think this was intentional. The characters movements are super smooth as is the sky & clouds. It is hard, but not too hard. A very solid game and a lot of fun. Expand
  6. RonH.
    Nov 22, 2003
    8
    I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a I give this game a high "8" I dont know how anyone can score this game poorly. I have been playing 10 hours straight. I got it with some reservation due to GamePro's low mark, but I have been having a blast with it and I'm more than happy with the return for my money. It is kind of a cross between Crash Bandicoot & Spyro with a lot of sliding down chutes full of obstacles at a high rate of speed. Another feature that seems new to me is the free-falling and riding wind part of the game, which there is a lot of and is a great innovation. There are also some parts that are puzzles, like hit the rope with your boomerang that is holding the rock that will fall on a switch and open a door. The graphics are a little blocky but I think this was intentional. The characters movements are super smooth as is the sky & clouds. It is hard, but not too hard. A very solid game and a lot of fun. Expand
  7. JohnF.
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    At last something new in the platform crowded genre.
  8. BaudetS.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    This game is great and deserves a better ranking! BUY IT!
  9. matrix1004
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    Even 4 year after it's release I can say that I loved this game. As soon as I started it sucked me into it's world with the simple story. I liked the Wolfen villains, the (slowly learned) fighting style, the well designed levels, the air/wind gliding play control, and I even didn't mind the stealth (something I usually don't care for). It was a fun & enjoyable trip Even 4 year after it's release I can say that I loved this game. As soon as I started it sucked me into it's world with the simple story. I liked the Wolfen villains, the (slowly learned) fighting style, the well designed levels, the air/wind gliding play control, and I even didn't mind the stealth (something I usually don't care for). It was a fun & enjoyable trip into the world of Kya. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. A brilliant title. The visuals are on par with "Rayman 3," the control almost as tight as "Mario," and the quests and puzzles both epic and innovative. [Holiday 2003, p.30]
  2. 40
    Unfortunately, Kya is a very difficult game to play as the controls are not particularly intuitive and the camera seems to delight in going haywire during delicate jumping situations.
  3. Ah... sub-"Jak & Daxter."