User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 104
  2. Negative: 33 out of 104
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickD.
    Jun 25, 2003
    7
    The controls are awkward at first. Directional movement a function of the camera angle which is hard to control. Once you get used to it it's not so bad but definitely needs improvement. A few bugs should've been worked out before release. Slow downs in drawing even when little is happening is annoying but if your a TR fan I think you'll still like (if you can get used to The controls are awkward at first. Directional movement a function of the camera angle which is hard to control. Once you get used to it it's not so bad but definitely needs improvement. A few bugs should've been worked out before release. Slow downs in drawing even when little is happening is annoying but if your a TR fan I think you'll still like (if you can get used to controlling her) Expand
  2. Monkeyboy
    Jul 14, 2003
    7
    I've been playing this game quite a lot. Initially, the controls seemed awkward, but you do get used to them. You move Lara with the analogue stick in pretty much the same way you move Tommy Vercetti in Vice City. So when running through large areas, control is fine. However, problems DO arise when Lara is in a tight corner and good positioning for jumping and grabbing is needed. The I've been playing this game quite a lot. Initially, the controls seemed awkward, but you do get used to them. You move Lara with the analogue stick in pretty much the same way you move Tommy Vercetti in Vice City. So when running through large areas, control is fine. However, problems DO arise when Lara is in a tight corner and good positioning for jumping and grabbing is needed. The controls become cumbersome at this point. Graphically, you may think it's not up to much, but compared to the PSOne versions it is. It looks very nice and the music is great. I was shocked by the number of times the game stopped to load the next section. In some areas, this happens nearly every time you run round a couple of corners. Not good. If Rockstar Games can create an entire thriving city (GTA) with very few load screens, why couldn't Core do the same? It seemed a bit sloppy. It doesn't live up to expectations, and has a curiously old-fashioned feel to it. But there are worse games out there. Expand
  3. AndrewJ.
    Jan 15, 2004
    7
    I really enjoyed the story and graphics, but the controls are a nightmare. If Lara was easier and less frustrating to control, I definitely would have given this game a higher rating.
  4. JJbullfrog
    Jun 23, 2003
    7
    cool!
  5. M.G.
    Jul 1, 2003
    5
    I give this game a 5 because it is only half done. This game never should have been released with as many bugs that it has. I want my freakin money back! What a rip off!
  6. RobB.
    Jul 2, 2003
    5
    Story line is good.! but thats about it. For every hour you play, youll spend at least 30 of those minutes saving and reloading. The controls are horrible! You cant really enjoy the game because every time you complete one lil jump, you have to save because your probably going to die the very next step you take. its very tedious and frustrating. If it wasnt for the fact that i want to see Story line is good.! but thats about it. For every hour you play, youll spend at least 30 of those minutes saving and reloading. The controls are horrible! You cant really enjoy the game because every time you complete one lil jump, you have to save because your probably going to die the very next step you take. its very tedious and frustrating. If it wasnt for the fact that i want to see how it ends i would quit. verdict: rent or skip all together. Expand
  7. JonathanC.
    Jul 9, 2003
    7
    Yes the controls are different, yes there are slowdowns and yes there are a lot of loading screens. If eidos and core got past those this game would be awsome. I love the story and the levels are great. the graphics are not bad considering they were put together 2 years ago, the next tomb raider better look like todays standards. give this game some time and u will get used to the controls.
  8. AlexW.
    Jun 24, 2003
    5
    Lord, it's bad. Imagine the gameplay of every other Tomb Raider, sucked of its originality, crudely stapled onto a broken and far from appealing engine, and you're nowhere near understanding how average this game is. Do yourself a favour, get one of the better PS2 action-platformers instead- Lara and her hilarious bosum have bounced for their last time...
  9. SteveD.
    Jun 30, 2003
    6
    Well, I have to say, I am a bit underwhelmed. When this game was being delayed ...delayED ....DELAYED!.... my thought was "When this game is released, it had better qualify for GAME of THE YEAR in every vidgame publication known to us!" Alas, it was not the godsend I had hoped for. At least Lara is still looking good, in fact, better than ever. Controls took some getting used to. Well, I have to say, I am a bit underwhelmed. When this game was being delayed ...delayED ....DELAYED!.... my thought was "When this game is released, it had better qualify for GAME of THE YEAR in every vidgame publication known to us!" Alas, it was not the godsend I had hoped for. At least Lara is still looking good, in fact, better than ever. Controls took some getting used to. Graphically and audibly, the game was gorgeous. But so far, no real extras....no infinite ammo or costume options for a second go through. At least the option to save anywhere made the game more palatable. However, I am a Lara Croft fan (gimme the real life models anyday over Angelina Jolie though....she refuses to wear shorts!) and will continue to play TR games as they come out. The story of the AOD is at least compelling. If CORE follows through with subsequent chapters, I am curious to see where the story goes....especially with Lara's newer darker direction. Collapse
  10. TheMulroneycakesPrideParade
    Jul 13, 2003
    6
    "Really different" they said. "A proper advancement of the series" they said. "Bollocks" say I. It's just like the other four (five? Does Chronicles count as a sequel? Does anyone care anymore? Is there life on Mars?) - the same game as in 1997. Six years is a SODDING long time in gameland, and six-year-old gameplay won't cut it anymore. In its defence, at least they tried, with "Really different" they said. "A proper advancement of the series" they said. "Bollocks" say I. It's just like the other four (five? Does Chronicles count as a sequel? Does anyone care anymore? Is there life on Mars?) - the same game as in 1997. Six years is a SODDING long time in gameland, and six-year-old gameplay won't cut it anymore. In its defence, at least they tried, with the controls and that, but unfortunately "different" isn't enough in itself; certainly not if it means "markedly worse". Tomb Raider (the first one) is one of the most important Sick Virtual Reality Video Games ever made. It was revolutionary. Six years ago. But its legacy is becoming tarnished in the same way that that of Command & Conquer did, by Core and Eidos coasting on their own fumes, letting it stagnate and finally watching it die. The difference is that the surreal "celebrity" status of Lara means that TR won't run out of steam as C&C pretty much has. Looks like in another 6 years time I'll be saying all of that about Tomb Raider 24: Lara Croft In Didcot, and it'll still be going strong. Thank goodness for cut-and-paste. Expand
  11. DevonN.
    Jul 20, 2003
    6
    I haven't played any other Tomb Raider game, so I decided to rent AoD. It's a great game. But controls BLOW! And the glitches are horrible. Don't get me wrong the game is great, but to many problems.
  12. ChristianM.
    Jul 30, 2003
    7
    I actually like this game!! i have played TR2, 3 and Chronicles and its kinda like those games...controls... environment....but better!! imagine yourself playing TR on PS, but it is enhance for the PS2! PROS: graphics, interaction w/ environment, extras(things that wont effect you beating the game during play like options, etc), story line, music, action&adventure, puzzles, saving ability.I actually like this game!! i have played TR2, 3 and Chronicles and its kinda like those games...controls... environment....but better!! imagine yourself playing TR on PS, but it is enhance for the PS2! PROS: graphics, interaction w/ environment, extras(things that wont effect you beating the game during play like options, etc), story line, music, action&adventure, puzzles, saving ability. CONS:too much loading, not so good ending, frame rate, slow control reaction, too many unecessary places and parts in game (but can be a PRO). you be the judge based on PROS and CONS. Expand
  13. BenN.
    Feb 5, 2004
    6
    U'd have more chance controllin a motorbike at 180mph on diesel covered roads then u would controllin Lara, is it just me or when u ask her 2 run it takes bout 2 seconds for her 2 actually respond at all? part from controls though good game.
  14. ChristopherS.
    May 2, 2004
    7
    Pretty good game. I like Kurtis Trent casue that's me. But I've beat with and without cheats and it's kinda boring.
  15. Lily
    Apr 15, 2004
    6
    I'm pissed because Core and Eidos somehow found a way to destroy Tomb Raider, a title that holds the greatest game I've ever played. Don't get me wrong, some of the elements in AOD are very good (Kurtis Trent, story, graphics) but the fact that they took THREE + YEARS and ended up with a bug ridden, incomplete mess is horrendous.
  16. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    Point blank- the game is broken. However, with patience and forgiveness it is still playful and enjoyable. The storyline is dark and intriguing. The best the series has to offer. The music score is beautifully orchestrated. The game is top notch with story and music. However, the gameplay is just slow and in some ways a huge step backwards. The controls feel heavier than before and morePoint blank- the game is broken. However, with patience and forgiveness it is still playful and enjoyable. The storyline is dark and intriguing. The best the series has to offer. The music score is beautifully orchestrated. The game is top notch with story and music. However, the gameplay is just slow and in some ways a huge step backwards. The controls feel heavier than before and more sluggish. Visually the environments offer good atmosphere and moody lighting. I prefer the PS2 version of the game. Take the game with a grain of salt. Those who enjoyed the newer games ( Legend and Underworld) will likely hate this. Expand
  17. Jan 8, 2016
    5
    Tomb Raider: Angel of darkness has a few good things going for it. The music score is performed by the London Symphony Orchestra and sounds phenomenal! Secondly, AOD's developers Core Design provide interesting architectural structures in levels and at times are able to achieve a decent and mysterious atmosphere. On top of that, the storyline is dark and probably the most engaging in theTomb Raider: Angel of darkness has a few good things going for it. The music score is performed by the London Symphony Orchestra and sounds phenomenal! Secondly, AOD's developers Core Design provide interesting architectural structures in levels and at times are able to achieve a decent and mysterious atmosphere. On top of that, the storyline is dark and probably the most engaging in the series. However, an ambitious story can't save the horrid gameplay, which is riddled with broken tank-like controls and unfinished material. You will be begging for Lara Croft's outdated control scheme from her 90's adventures! Only die-hard fans can appreciate what AOD has to offer, but casual raiders won't be able to slug through it. And by "slug" I'm literally referring to the equivalent of Lara's movement. Visually it's about average with some decent effects and set pieces with the occasional slowdown here and there. The game takes a while to pick up, but midway into the game things will start to get familiar and Lara will raid a tomb or two. For being the first Tomb Raider entry to move outside the 32-bit realm I'd say you're better off sticking with Lara's PSX games. And on Core Design's/Eidos' end, that's pretty embarrassing! You might as well move on to Crystal Dynamics efforts with the series, which are vast improvements over AOD and possibly it's predecessors. However, the original Tomb Raider game will always remain a classic and the best the series has to offer. AOD's formula takes too many risks that make it feel more like a point and click adventure title mixed in with badly ripped Metal Gear Solid stealth segments. It rarely feels like a Tomb Raider game, but when it does that's when AOD shines. It's too bad that shine flickers rather quick. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#43 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. The pedestrian pacing of the early levels, the fiddly controls and the fearsomely flighty camera still means that if you have played the entire series from day one or if this is your first encounter, Lara has certainly seen better days. [Playstation 2 Max]
  2. PSM Magazine
    50
    Painfully average... With the trial-and-error gameplay, lack of very much innovation, and the occasional annoying bugs, it might just require more patience than you have. [Sept 2003, p.36]
  3. GMR Magazine
    40
    Controlling Lara is like a dream - that one where you simply can't get to where you want to go fast enough, no matter what you try. [Sept 2003, p.74]