User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 92
  2. Negative: 30 out of 92

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. David
    Jun 26, 2003
    9
    A very good game despite all of the criticism.
  2. RickD.
    Jun 25, 2003
    7
    The controls are awkward at first. Directional movement a function of the camera angle which is hard to control. Once you get used to it it's not so bad but definitely needs improvement. A few bugs should've been worked out before release. Slow downs in drawing even when little is happening is annoying but if your a TR fan I think you'll still like (if you can get used to The controls are awkward at first. Directional movement a function of the camera angle which is hard to control. Once you get used to it it's not so bad but definitely needs improvement. A few bugs should've been worked out before release. Slow downs in drawing even when little is happening is annoying but if your a TR fan I think you'll still like (if you can get used to controlling her) Expand
  3. JessicaS.
    Aug 19, 2003
    2
    Graphics, fine. Story, interesting. Controls/Camera? THE WORST EVER. They are the most frustrating controls. If you tap the analog stick she practically jumps forward! I'm glad they at least have the save-whenever-option. psh.
  4. Monkeyboy
    Jul 14, 2003
    7
    I've been playing this game quite a lot. Initially, the controls seemed awkward, but you do get used to them. You move Lara with the analogue stick in pretty much the same way you move Tommy Vercetti in Vice City. So when running through large areas, control is fine. However, problems DO arise when Lara is in a tight corner and good positioning for jumping and grabbing is needed. The I've been playing this game quite a lot. Initially, the controls seemed awkward, but you do get used to them. You move Lara with the analogue stick in pretty much the same way you move Tommy Vercetti in Vice City. So when running through large areas, control is fine. However, problems DO arise when Lara is in a tight corner and good positioning for jumping and grabbing is needed. The controls become cumbersome at this point. Graphically, you may think it's not up to much, but compared to the PSOne versions it is. It looks very nice and the music is great. I was shocked by the number of times the game stopped to load the next section. In some areas, this happens nearly every time you run round a couple of corners. Not good. If Rockstar Games can create an entire thriving city (GTA) with very few load screens, why couldn't Core do the same? It seemed a bit sloppy. It doesn't live up to expectations, and has a curiously old-fashioned feel to it. But there are worse games out there. Expand
  5. AndrewJ.
    Jan 15, 2004
    7
    I really enjoyed the story and graphics, but the controls are a nightmare. If Lara was easier and less frustrating to control, I definitely would have given this game a higher rating.
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    It's really hard to criticize a Tomb Raider game, but I think Angel of Darkness is one of my favorite underrated PS2 games of all time. There are a lot of problems including the glitchy graphics, messed up controls, and that really hurt them because of the bad feedback from fans and critics. However, since I'm still a fan of the series, I don't think it was either Core Design and Eidos'It's really hard to criticize a Tomb Raider game, but I think Angel of Darkness is one of my favorite underrated PS2 games of all time. There are a lot of problems including the glitchy graphics, messed up controls, and that really hurt them because of the bad feedback from fans and critics. However, since I'm still a fan of the series, I don't think it was either Core Design and Eidos' fault in the first place. Sometimes it needs a little more time to finish completing the whole game. But it was a good game and I hope critics should be really sorry about the frustrating things Lara admired in this game. Let's be bygone's be bygone's and call this a truce. Expand
  7. DaveF.
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    Ace Ace Ace Ace Ace Do i need to say anything else?
  8. Hannajoe
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Brilliant game though very difficuilt but wicked.
  9. JenniJ.
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    it is fantastic Game!!
  10. Tina
    Jun 26, 2003
    8
    The Graphics Are Better Than Ever, Lara Looks Better, I Like The Game, But, They Should Of Delayed It Until They Fixed The Sometimes Freakish Glitches.
  11. Dragonghost
    Jul 28, 2003
    10
    It's not strange that the people that ranked The baldur's gate as one of the best games (the easiest and worst game of all times) did not like the Angel of darkness. They are simply LOSERS.They could not even use thecontrols.F**k the Metacritic! F**k the critics of Metacritic!! Lara is great in this game.
  12. Lance
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    You need to learn the controls and then this game is the best ever! PERFECT STORY, PERFECT LOOKS and PERFECT LARA! Just a PERFECT game, BUY IT! You'll LOVE it!
  13. JJbullfrog
    Jun 23, 2003
    7
    cool!
  14. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    **** ... Dredful ... Crap ... Just the worst tomb raider game Ever ... i didnt like the controls , the gameplay, the plot , the story , we waiting to long for core design to produce this :L:L ?
  15. M.G.
    Jul 1, 2003
    5
    I give this game a 5 because it is only half done. This game never should have been released with as many bugs that it has. I want my freakin money back! What a rip off!
  16. SamC.
    Jul 1, 2003
    3
    This is absolutely sad. They've taken a great franchise and ruined it. Its hard to play, janky, jacked and crap. They should be ashamed of themselves. Pathetic, weak and boring.
  17. RobB.
    Jul 2, 2003
    5
    Story line is good.! but thats about it. For every hour you play, youll spend at least 30 of those minutes saving and reloading. The controls are horrible! You cant really enjoy the game because every time you complete one lil jump, you have to save because your probably going to die the very next step you take. its very tedious and frustrating. If it wasnt for the fact that i want to see Story line is good.! but thats about it. For every hour you play, youll spend at least 30 of those minutes saving and reloading. The controls are horrible! You cant really enjoy the game because every time you complete one lil jump, you have to save because your probably going to die the very next step you take. its very tedious and frustrating. If it wasnt for the fact that i want to see how it ends i would quit. verdict: rent or skip all together. Expand
  18. KikyoK.
    Jul 4, 2003
    8
    I just got done playing the first three levels and it looks better than the other tomb Raider games. This on you can climb a latter normally and she goes up the stairs normally. There are times when she goes slow but if your in a tight spot you can figure out what you need to do, and in stead of being shot to death when your caught you surrender, so it's less violent then the other I just got done playing the first three levels and it looks better than the other tomb Raider games. This on you can climb a latter normally and she goes up the stairs normally. There are times when she goes slow but if your in a tight spot you can figure out what you need to do, and in stead of being shot to death when your caught you surrender, so it's less violent then the other games. It's also better because you also controll Curtis. Expand
  19. CozoniW.
    Jul 4, 2003
    1
    I'll give it a mark for actually releasing it at last! Other than that, wat is the point of buying money grabbind sub-standard trash like this when there are 100's of better games out there. Do your selfs a favour and don't buy this. Core dont deserve your money and are the kind of developer who would bring the games industry to its knees.
  20. PaulD.
    Aug 1, 2003
    4
    Very cluncky controls and dreadful camera angles. This is a prime example of a big budget game going very wrong.
  21. AdamP.
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    This game is great,it looks excelent and the controls are good.story is also great.grafic is amazing.what more to say:BUY THIS GAME!!!
  22. ShellyT.
    Sep 5, 2003
    8
    The best Tomb Raider game, of course! The controls were kind of difficult to use at the beginning but I got used to it .. but really it's worth buying the game!
  23. MikeG.
    Oct 4, 2003
    3
    If Maxim aren't prepared to objectively review a game, they shouldn't bother. Ten out of ten?! Good grief. After this abomination, Core have lost the right to produce future Tomb Raider titles, so one hopes the glory days of the PSX versions will return one day. Where the PSX games staggered us with huge, open vistas and highly colourful, varied interiors to explore, such scenic If Maxim aren't prepared to objectively review a game, they shouldn't bother. Ten out of ten?! Good grief. After this abomination, Core have lost the right to produce future Tomb Raider titles, so one hopes the glory days of the PSX versions will return one day. Where the PSX games staggered us with huge, open vistas and highly colourful, varied interiors to explore, such scenic delights are mystifyingly absent from Angel Of Darkness, perhaps demonstrating that the programmers weren't the same people responsible for the early greats. The poorly thought out puzzles are obscure in a way good puzzling (Silent Hill, Resident Evil) never is. Tjhe camera is a joke, and dying because the game is at fault is a cardinal sin. It's a good job we have far, far better third person adventures to play, because this should never have seen the light of day. Expand
  24. PaulN.
    Jun 21, 2003
    3
    The controls are terrible and the frame rate is very slow at times. Don't buy this game! The graphics are good but the controls just don't respond. (if it ain't broke don't fix it) that as there mistake- bad game.
  25. GWest
    Jun 20, 2003
    8
    Lara Croft is back and the best!
  26. Tiger
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    in fact, with my own opinion, i think the controls are better than ever. i am good at them. they give me a new sense of freedom, of looking around, compared to previous tomb raiders. i can't help it. this game is perfect for me. the graphics are beautiful. this tomb raider is so interactive. it has a deeper, wonderfully written story. i am moving right along, and none of it is in fact, with my own opinion, i think the controls are better than ever. i am good at them. they give me a new sense of freedom, of looking around, compared to previous tomb raiders. i can't help it. this game is perfect for me. the graphics are beautiful. this tomb raider is so interactive. it has a deeper, wonderfully written story. i am moving right along, and none of it is disappointing me. instead, it impresses me, gratefully. core did a bang up job. play it. don't play it. i don't care. i love it. :) Expand
  27. AlexG.
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    great game. great history i dont know why everybody is crying about the control is very easy to use it. the only bad part is the frames rate but despite of that tr is a great adventure.
  28. MattR.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    Terrible. If you want to ogle Lara, watch the movies. They didn't resurect this series, they buried it.
  29. D.Railer
    Jul 1, 2003
    2
    The graphics and the soundtrack are about all that would be worthy of keeping if you were to strip this game down and toss out the fat. The controls are so bad that I returned the game a day after I bought it and felt happy to at least not be wasting any more of my time. Somebody else said Eidos/Core buried this series, I am SO in agreement here. Congrats to them, Tomb Raider is dead to me.
  30. SophieD.
    Jul 2, 2003
    2
    I have read nearly all the reviews across many sites, I have seen it with my own eyes, and I have heard all the negative feedback. This is a travesty to all the game players waiting for so long only to be confronted with an inferior product. I just want to know one thing has, or is EIDOS/CORE going to make a statement to their customers, if this was any other product there would be a I have read nearly all the reviews across many sites, I have seen it with my own eyes, and I have heard all the negative feedback. This is a travesty to all the game players waiting for so long only to be confronted with an inferior product. I just want to know one thing has, or is EIDOS/CORE going to make a statement to their customers, if this was any other product there would be a recall solely on poor performance. It is a shame that such a popular game was not only delayed in its release but the expectations on AOD have not sufficed in the slightest. What a disappointment. Expand
  31. JonathanC.
    Jul 9, 2003
    7
    Yes the controls are different, yes there are slowdowns and yes there are a lot of loading screens. If eidos and core got past those this game would be awsome. I love the story and the levels are great. the graphics are not bad considering they were put together 2 years ago, the next tomb raider better look like todays standards. give this game some time and u will get used to the controls.
  32. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    2
    Some people truly deserve to be fired for this monstrosity. The controls are so frustrating. The gameplay is moronic, and the graphics aren't even very good.
  33. BonehoChane
    Jan 3, 2004
    4
    Why you ask is this game so bad? The controls and the story. First the controls. You'll maybe take 20 mintues trying to get Lara to jump, walk, turn, climb, or grab the way to want her to. It makes you want to throw the controller into the glass screen of your telivision causing it break open and catch on fire. You won't even bother to put it out after playing this game. Next Why you ask is this game so bad? The controls and the story. First the controls. You'll maybe take 20 mintues trying to get Lara to jump, walk, turn, climb, or grab the way to want her to. It makes you want to throw the controller into the glass screen of your telivision causing it break open and catch on fire. You won't even bother to put it out after playing this game. Next the story...it make no sense. She accused of commiting a murder, so in order to prove she's not guity, she murders a bunch of people. Other than the stuff I just mentioned this game has the a lot of the stuff that made the original so good. Expand
  34. Sam
    Apr 1, 2006
    4
    What's the worst part of this awful game? The fact we waited, waited, waited, and waited so long for it, and we get a piece of crap.
  35. MidcomsysM.
    Jul 19, 2007
    1
    Tryed playing this game years ago but it was so slow and uncontrollable I thought my PC was knackered. Now loaded on to my ultra modern PC and it's even worse than I can remember. HOW on gods green earth are you supposed to control Lara? I'm constantly battling with the controls to get her to move correctly. I can barely get passed the first level (Parisian Back Streets), Tryed playing this game years ago but it was so slow and uncontrollable I thought my PC was knackered. Now loaded on to my ultra modern PC and it's even worse than I can remember. HOW on gods green earth are you supposed to control Lara? I'm constantly battling with the controls to get her to move correctly. I can barely get passed the first level (Parisian Back Streets), I've tried using the KYBD, Mouse, Gamepad. it's absolute rubbish. The previous games were easy to control and lots of fun but this is just plain garbage. Its going in the bucket. No wonder Crystal Dynamics got the contract. Still Legend's pish too, has great graphics but not enough gameplay nor puzzles. Tombraider, hmm better buried I say. Expand
  36. Jorge
    May 28, 2008
    8
    I played the PS2 version. The controls were a bit stiff, but the expansive story makes up for it. I found this to be a huge game, with clever level designs. Slightly flawed camera controls at some points, and a couple parts that kept me stuck for a bit. (ooh, i dont like that dark ghost!) I think it does well, what it's supposed to do. Lara, in a new adventure with puzzles and action galore.
  37. VieriC.
    Jun 23, 2003
    0
    Really bad.
  38. Alex
    Jun 24, 2003
    8
    It's a good game (so far) with a little slow down at times and it does take a little while to get used to the controls, but after that it moves pretty well.
  39. AlexW.
    Jun 24, 2003
    5
    Lord, it's bad. Imagine the gameplay of every other Tomb Raider, sucked of its originality, crudely stapled onto a broken and far from appealing engine, and you're nowhere near understanding how average this game is. Do yourself a favour, get one of the better PS2 action-platformers instead- Lara and her hilarious bosum have bounced for their last time...
  40. H.H.
    Jun 25, 2003
    4
    This is the buggiest game ever, even more so than enter the matrix. at one point, i was walking along when i just fell through the ground into a bottomless pit of what looked like blue sky. once, i was walking around, and the screen just went black and for some reason, it loaded my last save, which was about an hour before. very annoying. the core gameplay isnt so hot either, so please,This is the buggiest game ever, even more so than enter the matrix. at one point, i was walking along when i just fell through the ground into a bottomless pit of what looked like blue sky. once, i was walking around, and the screen just went black and for some reason, it loaded my last save, which was about an hour before. very annoying. the core gameplay isnt so hot either, so please, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! Expand
  41. SteveL.
    Jun 29, 2003
    8
    Other than some bugs, any Tomb Raider fan would adore this game! Controls are not bad at ALL if you played the last few Tomb Raider games. If anything they are a big improvement. The camera can be a little bit glitchy and the loading times can seem a bit long when your deep into the game and keep dying at a certain spot, just wanting to try it a few more times. They should've held it Other than some bugs, any Tomb Raider fan would adore this game! Controls are not bad at ALL if you played the last few Tomb Raider games. If anything they are a big improvement. The camera can be a little bit glitchy and the loading times can seem a bit long when your deep into the game and keep dying at a certain spot, just wanting to try it a few more times. They should've held it back for a bit longer, they did an awesome job with the story line, graphics, sound, and everything, but there are some glitches in the game that bug me, and believe me you'll know what they are when you play it. Not a bad game at all though, once you get ahold of the controls, you'll have fun. The story line is amazing, and Lara is looking better than ever. Expand
  42. SteveD.
    Jun 30, 2003
    6
    Well, I have to say, I am a bit underwhelmed. When this game was being delayed ...delayED ....DELAYED!.... my thought was "When this game is released, it had better qualify for GAME of THE YEAR in every vidgame publication known to us!" Alas, it was not the godsend I had hoped for. At least Lara is still looking good, in fact, better than ever. Controls took some getting used to. Well, I have to say, I am a bit underwhelmed. When this game was being delayed ...delayED ....DELAYED!.... my thought was "When this game is released, it had better qualify for GAME of THE YEAR in every vidgame publication known to us!" Alas, it was not the godsend I had hoped for. At least Lara is still looking good, in fact, better than ever. Controls took some getting used to. Graphically and audibly, the game was gorgeous. But so far, no real extras....no infinite ammo or costume options for a second go through. At least the option to save anywhere made the game more palatable. However, I am a Lara Croft fan (gimme the real life models anyday over Angelina Jolie though....she refuses to wear shorts!) and will continue to play TR games as they come out. The story of the AOD is at least compelling. If CORE follows through with subsequent chapters, I am curious to see where the story goes....especially with Lara's newer darker direction. Expand
  43. TommyG.
    Jul 10, 2003
    8
    I think many people have been a bit harsh with this game, i mean yes its a slow starter but you get use to the controls and the story line is great. The graphics are good enough and there is a lot to do. i cannot wait for the next chapter.
  44. TheMulroneycakesPrideParade
    Jul 13, 2003
    6
    "Really different" they said. "A proper advancement of the series" they said. "Bollocks" say I. It's just like the other four (five? Does Chronicles count as a sequel? Does anyone care anymore? Is there life on Mars?) - the same game as in 1997. Six years is a SODDING long time in gameland, and six-year-old gameplay won't cut it anymore. In its defence, at least they tried, with "Really different" they said. "A proper advancement of the series" they said. "Bollocks" say I. It's just like the other four (five? Does Chronicles count as a sequel? Does anyone care anymore? Is there life on Mars?) - the same game as in 1997. Six years is a SODDING long time in gameland, and six-year-old gameplay won't cut it anymore. In its defence, at least they tried, with the controls and that, but unfortunately "different" isn't enough in itself; certainly not if it means "markedly worse". Tomb Raider (the first one) is one of the most important Sick Virtual Reality Video Games ever made. It was revolutionary. Six years ago. But its legacy is becoming tarnished in the same way that that of Command & Conquer did, by Core and Eidos coasting on their own fumes, letting it stagnate and finally watching it die. The difference is that the surreal "celebrity" status of Lara means that TR won't run out of steam as C&C pretty much has. Looks like in another 6 years time I'll be saying all of that about Tomb Raider 24: Lara Croft In Didcot, and it'll still be going strong. Thank goodness for cut-and-paste. Expand
  45. PaulW.
    Jul 15, 2003
    1
    Jeesus What Controls and Camera. Full Of Shit.
  46. SomeGuy
    Jul 17, 2003
    0
    -10 is the real score this game gets from me! I became a cardiac patient after playing this game, getting palpitations from the agravating controls! The fight with the ghost almost killed me! Press *ANY* button in this game and IT WON'T DO ANYTHING! This game isn't even finnished at all! Hey! Did you know people in Paris speak RUSSIAN? Guess they thought us stupid americans -10 is the real score this game gets from me! I became a cardiac patient after playing this game, getting palpitations from the agravating controls! The fight with the ghost almost killed me! Press *ANY* button in this game and IT WON'T DO ANYTHING! This game isn't even finnished at all! Hey! Did you know people in Paris speak RUSSIAN? Guess they thought us stupid americans wouldn't know the difference, as there was no more time to hire a french voice actor for the security gaurds! One character was "forgotten" to be animated!! His lips didn't' move while talking! This game was shipped full of place-holders still in it because there was no time to replace them with the actual stuff! This is officially THE LAST TOMB RAIDER EVER! Expand
  47. DevonN.
    Jul 20, 2003
    6
    I haven't played any other Tomb Raider game, so I decided to rent AoD. It's a great game. But controls BLOW! And the glitches are horrible. Don't get me wrong the game is great, but to many problems.
  48. ChristianM.
    Jul 30, 2003
    7
    I actually like this game!! i have played TR2, 3 and Chronicles and its kinda like those games...controls... environment....but better!! imagine yourself playing TR on PS, but it is enhance for the PS2! PROS: graphics, interaction w/ environment, extras(things that wont effect you beating the game during play like options, etc), story line, music, action&adventure, puzzles, saving ability.I actually like this game!! i have played TR2, 3 and Chronicles and its kinda like those games...controls... environment....but better!! imagine yourself playing TR on PS, but it is enhance for the PS2! PROS: graphics, interaction w/ environment, extras(things that wont effect you beating the game during play like options, etc), story line, music, action&adventure, puzzles, saving ability. CONS:too much loading, not so good ending, frame rate, slow control reaction, too many unecessary places and parts in game (but can be a PRO). you be the judge based on PROS and CONS. Expand
  49. TombRaiderFanNoMore
    Jul 7, 2003
    1
    I've been with the series since the PSX original, but now I finally have a reason to quit. Lara controls horribly, the graphics have ups and downs, but the music is nice. the entire package is not worth your time. It's weird considering all the delays. EIDOS threw out quite a few projects, such as Fear Effect Inferno, just to ensure that this latest Tomb Raider would make it to I've been with the series since the PSX original, but now I finally have a reason to quit. Lara controls horribly, the graphics have ups and downs, but the music is nice. the entire package is not worth your time. It's weird considering all the delays. EIDOS threw out quite a few projects, such as Fear Effect Inferno, just to ensure that this latest Tomb Raider would make it to store shelves. Unforunately, Core did not have the experience, staff, or money to turn AoD into the action game it was supposed to be. (After all, any other company would have seen the fault in the controls and game design. why didn't Core?) Expand
  50. Scott
    Aug 10, 2003
    2
    Graphics are nice for the ps2 but slow the system down in certian areas, this should have been dealt with in production. As for the controls...BAH! Absolutely the worst controls Ive ever experienced in gaming. Who are these people who are actually given jobs to work for such a big title and blunder so badly?
  51. BenN.
    Feb 5, 2004
    6
    U'd have more chance controllin a motorbike at 180mph on diesel covered roads then u would controllin Lara, is it just me or when u ask her 2 run it takes bout 2 seconds for her 2 actually respond at all? part from controls though good game.
  52. ChristopherS.
    May 2, 2004
    7
    Pretty good game. I like Kurtis Trent casue that's me. But I've beat with and without cheats and it's kinda boring.
  53. JoeK.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    Riffed with bugs, this game is totally unfinished. It shouldnt even have been made. A very sloppy effort.
  54. MikeM.
    Jun 29, 2003
    4
    Before I begin, let me say that I am the biggest Tomb Raider fan ever. I have a calendar at work (I'm 29 years old), I preordered my copy a full year before it came out, and I've played every Tomb Raider Game for PS1. Now, let me explain why playing Angel of Darkness was sorely disappointing from the beginning... The controls are awful and the game is very, very buggy: Five Before I begin, let me say that I am the biggest Tomb Raider fan ever. I have a calendar at work (I'm 29 years old), I preordered my copy a full year before it came out, and I've played every Tomb Raider Game for PS1. Now, let me explain why playing Angel of Darkness was sorely disappointing from the beginning... The controls are awful and the game is very, very buggy: Five minutes into playing it froze on me. I restarted the PS2 only to begin the in-game training and find out that the controls are atrocious. Simply aligning the character to walk or jump onto a box will take several seconds longer than previous Tomb Raider games. Thirty minutes later the game froze again. (For the second time.) Now for the graphics: Backgrounds are noticeably improved over the PS1 versions, but the game still looks old when compared to many newer games on the PS2. (See Splinter Cell.) The bugs are a programming issue, not a performance issue of my PS2. CORE should be ashamed of disappointing is greatest fans with this collection of bugs, glitches and control problems. Rent this game if you want to see these problems for yourself, but don?t buy it. Collapse
  55. RichardI.
    Aug 13, 2003
    0
    Oh dear - Lara's controls have gone from being the best in the business to THE WORST I've ever played. Not fun, not clever, and definitely not worth it: I'm returning and getting my money back. I hope someone at eidos loses their job over this.
  56. Lily
    Apr 15, 2004
    6
    I'm pissed because Core and Eidos somehow found a way to destroy Tomb Raider, a title that holds the greatest game I've ever played. Don't get me wrong, some of the elements in AOD are very good (Kurtis Trent, story, graphics) but the fact that they took THREE + YEARS and ended up with a bug ridden, incomplete mess is horrendous.
  57. Echelon
    Mar 31, 2005
    1
    Imagine, if you will, a game for the next-generation systems where the main character looks like a frighteningly artificial, raccoon-eyed plasticine figure whipped up by some college freshman for his "3D Animation for Beginners" class (especially compared to the detailed, realistic females of "Soul Calibur", "Resident Evil", and "Final Fantasy"). Imagine a world where, every time you walk Imagine, if you will, a game for the next-generation systems where the main character looks like a frighteningly artificial, raccoon-eyed plasticine figure whipped up by some college freshman for his "3D Animation for Beginners" class (especially compared to the detailed, realistic females of "Soul Calibur", "Resident Evil", and "Final Fantasy"). Imagine a world where, every time you walk across one teeny city block, it takes 45 seconds for the next city block screen to load (as opposed to say the sprawling, fast-loading cities of "GTA: San Andreas"). Imagine trying to make your character run and have her hesitate every time, or trying to line her up for a jump and have her twitch too far to the left, or two far to the right without you even touching the analog stick. Imagine not being able to interact with _anything_ in the game unless you stand in just the right position or angle or pixel space. Imagine rumbling to that cool "Matrix" bullet-time effect--except it's not an effect at all, but a system slowdown, where you can slowly watch your character's ass being kicked whilst frantically pressing all the wrong buttons that won't work because the game can't keep up with your input. Imagine having to backtrack almost all the way across a level to do a nonsensical action that will somehow let you open the door all the way at the end. Now, imagine, if you will, spending your hard-earned cash for a game that makes you restart your PS2 because Lara got stuck in a wall _again_. Bottom line: the only thing you're getting from this game is an aneurysm. Expand
  58. Jun 28, 2012
    7
    Point blank- the game is broken. However, with patience and forgiveness it is still playful and enjoyable. The storyline is dark and intriguing. The best the series has to offer. The music score is beautifully orchestrated. The game is top notch with story and music. However, the gameplay is just slow and in some ways a huge step backwards. The controls feel heavier than before and morePoint blank- the game is broken. However, with patience and forgiveness it is still playful and enjoyable. The storyline is dark and intriguing. The best the series has to offer. The music score is beautifully orchestrated. The game is top notch with story and music. However, the gameplay is just slow and in some ways a huge step backwards. The controls feel heavier than before and more sluggish. Visually the environments offer good atmosphere and moody lighting. I prefer the PS2 version of the game. Take the game with a grain of salt. Those who enjoyed the newer games ( Legend and Underworld) will likely hate this. Expand
  59. Dec 6, 2013
    2
    this game not counting Tomb Raider 2013 was Lara's most ambitious game ever. but just like Sonic the hedgehogs first leap onto the next generation of consoles (Sonic 06), it did not pay of as it almost killed the franchise. The story is not as amazing as other people make it out to be. Lara is nasty to everyone she talks to, even when they are trying to help her. The story isthis game not counting Tomb Raider 2013 was Lara's most ambitious game ever. but just like Sonic the hedgehogs first leap onto the next generation of consoles (Sonic 06), it did not pay of as it almost killed the franchise. The story is not as amazing as other people make it out to be. Lara is nasty to everyone she talks to, even when they are trying to help her. The story is predictable.The plot of the game involves Lara needing to find out if she killed her mentor or not. Well of course she didn't. It is very predictable from the very beginning. The game looks great for an early PS2 title though, and it even puts more detail into character animations and environments than games later in the series. and the soundtrack is absolutely incredible. one of my favorite video game soundtracks of all time.

    The gameplay though is absolutely horrendous. Lara's control is really awkward and horrid. The game is littered with bugs and the stealth mechanic, while it works surprisingly, is absolutely useless due to the games hilariously bad enemy AI, some examples of how stupid they are include, running into walls, running in the opposite direction of Lara, and not doing anything even when Lara is standing right in front of them. And I will also add that there is only one tomb in the entire game, yeah, only one tomb, the rest of the game takes place in Paris.

    Overall a horrible game that almost killed the series. Thankfully Crystal Dynamics took over as they have created in my opinion the three best games in the franchise, Tomb raider Legend, Anniversary, and Underworld. You Should not waste your time with this disaster. Play the other games in the series, they are all better video games. (Well....... except Tomb Raider III)
    Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    This game could have been better but I do recommend it to hardcore fans.

    Pros Graphics
    Sound Effects and Orchestral Score
    Bigger Levels
    Voice Acting

    Cons Missing Levels
    Plot Inconsistencies
    Controls
    Camera
    Combat
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. The pedestrian pacing of the early levels, the fiddly controls and the fearsomely flighty camera still means that if you have played the entire series from day one or if this is your first encounter, Lara has certainly seen better days. [Playstation 2 Max]
  2. Painfully average... With the trial-and-error gameplay, lack of very much innovation, and the occasional annoying bugs, it might just require more patience than you have. [Sept 2003, p.36]
  3. Controlling Lara is like a dream - that one where you simply can't get to where you want to go fast enough, no matter what you try. [Sept 2003, p.74]