User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 103
  2. Negative: 30 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BonehoChane
    Jan 3, 2004
    4
    Why you ask is this game so bad? The controls and the story. First the controls. You'll maybe take 20 mintues trying to get Lara to jump, walk, turn, climb, or grab the way to want her to. It makes you want to throw the controller into the glass screen of your telivision causing it break open and catch on fire. You won't even bother to put it out after playing this game. Next Why you ask is this game so bad? The controls and the story. First the controls. You'll maybe take 20 mintues trying to get Lara to jump, walk, turn, climb, or grab the way to want her to. It makes you want to throw the controller into the glass screen of your telivision causing it break open and catch on fire. You won't even bother to put it out after playing this game. Next the story...it make no sense. She accused of commiting a murder, so in order to prove she's not guity, she murders a bunch of people. Other than the stuff I just mentioned this game has the a lot of the stuff that made the original so good. Expand
  2. Sam
    Apr 1, 2006
    4
    What's the worst part of this awful game? The fact we waited, waited, waited, and waited so long for it, and we get a piece of crap.
  3. H.H.
    Jun 25, 2003
    4
    This is the buggiest game ever, even more so than enter the matrix. at one point, i was walking along when i just fell through the ground into a bottomless pit of what looked like blue sky. once, i was walking around, and the screen just went black and for some reason, it loaded my last save, which was about an hour before. very annoying. the core gameplay isnt so hot either, so please,This is the buggiest game ever, even more so than enter the matrix. at one point, i was walking along when i just fell through the ground into a bottomless pit of what looked like blue sky. once, i was walking around, and the screen just went black and for some reason, it loaded my last save, which was about an hour before. very annoying. the core gameplay isnt so hot either, so please, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!! Expand
  4. MikeM.
    Jun 29, 2003
    4
    Before I begin, let me say that I am the biggest Tomb Raider fan ever. I have a calendar at work (I'm 29 years old), I preordered my copy a full year before it came out, and I've played every Tomb Raider Game for PS1. Now, let me explain why playing Angel of Darkness was sorely disappointing from the beginning... The controls are awful and the game is very, very buggy: Five Before I begin, let me say that I am the biggest Tomb Raider fan ever. I have a calendar at work (I'm 29 years old), I preordered my copy a full year before it came out, and I've played every Tomb Raider Game for PS1. Now, let me explain why playing Angel of Darkness was sorely disappointing from the beginning... The controls are awful and the game is very, very buggy: Five minutes into playing it froze on me. I restarted the PS2 only to begin the in-game training and find out that the controls are atrocious. Simply aligning the character to walk or jump onto a box will take several seconds longer than previous Tomb Raider games. Thirty minutes later the game froze again. (For the second time.) Now for the graphics: Backgrounds are noticeably improved over the PS1 versions, but the game still looks old when compared to many newer games on the PS2. (See Splinter Cell.) The bugs are a programming issue, not a performance issue of my PS2. CORE should be ashamed of disappointing is greatest fans with this collection of bugs, glitches and control problems. Rent this game if you want to see these problems for yourself, but don?t buy it. Expand
  5. MikeG.
    Oct 4, 2003
    3
    If Maxim aren't prepared to objectively review a game, they shouldn't bother. Ten out of ten?! Good grief. After this abomination, Core have lost the right to produce future Tomb Raider titles, so one hopes the glory days of the PSX versions will return one day. Where the PSX games staggered us with huge, open vistas and highly colourful, varied interiors to explore, such scenic If Maxim aren't prepared to objectively review a game, they shouldn't bother. Ten out of ten?! Good grief. After this abomination, Core have lost the right to produce future Tomb Raider titles, so one hopes the glory days of the PSX versions will return one day. Where the PSX games staggered us with huge, open vistas and highly colourful, varied interiors to explore, such scenic delights are mystifyingly absent from Angel Of Darkness, perhaps demonstrating that the programmers weren't the same people responsible for the early greats. The poorly thought out puzzles are obscure in a way good puzzling (Silent Hill, Resident Evil) never is. Tjhe camera is a joke, and dying because the game is at fault is a cardinal sin. It's a good job we have far, far better third person adventures to play, because this should never have seen the light of day. Expand
  6. PaulN.
    Jun 21, 2003
    3
    The controls are terrible and the frame rate is very slow at times. Don't buy this game! The graphics are good but the controls just don't respond. (if it ain't broke don't fix it) that as there mistake- bad game.
  7. D.Railer
    Jul 1, 2003
    2
    The graphics and the soundtrack are about all that would be worthy of keeping if you were to strip this game down and toss out the fat. The controls are so bad that I returned the game a day after I bought it and felt happy to at least not be wasting any more of my time. Somebody else said Eidos/Core buried this series, I am SO in agreement here. Congrats to them, Tomb Raider is dead to me.
  8. SophieD.
    Jul 2, 2003
    2
    I have read nearly all the reviews across many sites, I have seen it with my own eyes, and I have heard all the negative feedback. This is a travesty to all the game players waiting for so long only to be confronted with an inferior product. I just want to know one thing has, or is EIDOS/CORE going to make a statement to their customers, if this was any other product there would be a I have read nearly all the reviews across many sites, I have seen it with my own eyes, and I have heard all the negative feedback. This is a travesty to all the game players waiting for so long only to be confronted with an inferior product. I just want to know one thing has, or is EIDOS/CORE going to make a statement to their customers, if this was any other product there would be a recall solely on poor performance. It is a shame that such a popular game was not only delayed in its release but the expectations on AOD have not sufficed in the slightest. What a disappointment. Expand
  9. JessicaS.
    Aug 19, 2003
    2
    Graphics, fine. Story, interesting. Controls/Camera? THE WORST EVER. They are the most frustrating controls. If you tap the analog stick she practically jumps forward! I'm glad they at least have the save-whenever-option. psh.
  10. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    2
    Some people truly deserve to be fired for this monstrosity. The controls are so frustrating. The gameplay is moronic, and the graphics aren't even very good.
  11. Scott
    Aug 10, 2003
    2
    Graphics are nice for the ps2 but slow the system down in certian areas, this should have been dealt with in production. As for the controls...BAH! Absolutely the worst controls Ive ever experienced in gaming. Who are these people who are actually given jobs to work for such a big title and blunder so badly?
  12. Dec 6, 2013
    2
    this game not counting Tomb Raider 2013 was Lara's most ambitious game ever. but just like Sonic the hedgehogs first leap onto the next generation of consoles (Sonic 06), it did not pay of as it almost killed the franchise. The story is not as amazing as other people make it out to be. Lara is nasty to everyone she talks to, even when they are trying to help her. The story isthis game not counting Tomb Raider 2013 was Lara's most ambitious game ever. but just like Sonic the hedgehogs first leap onto the next generation of consoles (Sonic 06), it did not pay of as it almost killed the franchise. The story is not as amazing as other people make it out to be. Lara is nasty to everyone she talks to, even when they are trying to help her. The story is predictable.The plot of the game involves Lara needing to find out if she killed her mentor or not. Well of course she didn't. It is very predictable from the very beginning. The game looks great for an early PS2 title though, and it even puts more detail into character animations and environments than games later in the series. and the soundtrack is absolutely incredible. one of my favorite video game soundtracks of all time.

    The gameplay though is absolutely horrendous. Lara's control is really awkward and horrid. The game is littered with bugs and the stealth mechanic, while it works surprisingly, is absolutely useless due to the games hilariously bad enemy AI, some examples of how stupid they are include, running into walls, running in the opposite direction of Lara, and not doing anything even when Lara is standing right in front of them. And I will also add that there is only one tomb in the entire game, yeah, only one tomb, the rest of the game takes place in Paris.

    Overall a horrible game that almost killed the series. Thankfully Crystal Dynamics took over as they have created in my opinion the three best games in the franchise, Tomb raider Legend, Anniversary, and Underworld. You Should not waste your time with this disaster. Play the other games in the series, they are all better video games. (Well....... except Tomb Raider III)
    Expand
  13. CozoniW.
    Jul 4, 2003
    1
    I'll give it a mark for actually releasing it at last! Other than that, wat is the point of buying money grabbind sub-standard trash like this when there are 100's of better games out there. Do your selfs a favour and don't buy this. Core dont deserve your money and are the kind of developer who would bring the games industry to its knees.
  14. MidcomsysM.
    Jul 19, 2007
    1
    Tryed playing this game years ago but it was so slow and uncontrollable I thought my PC was knackered. Now loaded on to my ultra modern PC and it's even worse than I can remember. HOW on gods green earth are you supposed to control Lara? I'm constantly battling with the controls to get her to move correctly. I can barely get passed the first level (Parisian Back Streets), Tryed playing this game years ago but it was so slow and uncontrollable I thought my PC was knackered. Now loaded on to my ultra modern PC and it's even worse than I can remember. HOW on gods green earth are you supposed to control Lara? I'm constantly battling with the controls to get her to move correctly. I can barely get passed the first level (Parisian Back Streets), I've tried using the KYBD, Mouse, Gamepad. it's absolute rubbish. The previous games were easy to control and lots of fun but this is just plain garbage. Its going in the bucket. No wonder Crystal Dynamics got the contract. Still Legend's pish too, has great graphics but not enough gameplay nor puzzles. Tombraider, hmm better buried I say. Expand
  15. PaulW.
    Jul 15, 2003
    1
    Jeesus What Controls and Camera. Full Of Shit.
  16. TombRaiderFanNoMore
    Jul 7, 2003
    1
    I've been with the series since the PSX original, but now I finally have a reason to quit. Lara controls horribly, the graphics have ups and downs, but the music is nice. the entire package is not worth your time. It's weird considering all the delays. EIDOS threw out quite a few projects, such as Fear Effect Inferno, just to ensure that this latest Tomb Raider would make it to I've been with the series since the PSX original, but now I finally have a reason to quit. Lara controls horribly, the graphics have ups and downs, but the music is nice. the entire package is not worth your time. It's weird considering all the delays. EIDOS threw out quite a few projects, such as Fear Effect Inferno, just to ensure that this latest Tomb Raider would make it to store shelves. Unforunately, Core did not have the experience, staff, or money to turn AoD into the action game it was supposed to be. (After all, any other company would have seen the fault in the controls and game design. why didn't Core?) Expand
  17. Echelon
    Mar 31, 2005
    1
    Imagine, if you will, a game for the next-generation systems where the main character looks like a frighteningly artificial, raccoon-eyed plasticine figure whipped up by some college freshman for his "3D Animation for Beginners" class (especially compared to the detailed, realistic females of "Soul Calibur", "Resident Evil", and "Final Fantasy"). Imagine a world where, every time you walk Imagine, if you will, a game for the next-generation systems where the main character looks like a frighteningly artificial, raccoon-eyed plasticine figure whipped up by some college freshman for his "3D Animation for Beginners" class (especially compared to the detailed, realistic females of "Soul Calibur", "Resident Evil", and "Final Fantasy"). Imagine a world where, every time you walk across one teeny city block, it takes 45 seconds for the next city block screen to load (as opposed to say the sprawling, fast-loading cities of "GTA: San Andreas"). Imagine trying to make your character run and have her hesitate every time, or trying to line her up for a jump and have her twitch too far to the left, or two far to the right without you even touching the analog stick. Imagine not being able to interact with _anything_ in the game unless you stand in just the right position or angle or pixel space. Imagine rumbling to that cool "Matrix" bullet-time effect--except it's not an effect at all, but a system slowdown, where you can slowly watch your character's ass being kicked whilst frantically pressing all the wrong buttons that won't work because the game can't keep up with your input. Imagine having to backtrack almost all the way across a level to do a nonsensical action that will somehow let you open the door all the way at the end. Now, imagine, if you will, spending your hard-earned cash for a game that makes you restart your PS2 because Lara got stuck in a wall _again_. Bottom line: the only thing you're getting from this game is an aneurysm. Expand
  18. MattR.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    Terrible. If you want to ogle Lara, watch the movies. They didn't resurect this series, they buried it.
  19. SomeGuy
    Jul 17, 2003
    0
    -10 is the real score this game gets from me! I became a cardiac patient after playing this game, getting palpitations from the agravating controls! The fight with the ghost almost killed me! Press *ANY* button in this game and IT WON'T DO ANYTHING! This game isn't even finnished at all! Hey! Did you know people in Paris speak RUSSIAN? Guess they thought us stupid americans -10 is the real score this game gets from me! I became a cardiac patient after playing this game, getting palpitations from the agravating controls! The fight with the ghost almost killed me! Press *ANY* button in this game and IT WON'T DO ANYTHING! This game isn't even finnished at all! Hey! Did you know people in Paris speak RUSSIAN? Guess they thought us stupid americans wouldn't know the difference, as there was no more time to hire a french voice actor for the security gaurds! One character was "forgotten" to be animated!! His lips didn't' move while talking! This game was shipped full of place-holders still in it because there was no time to replace them with the actual stuff! This is officially THE LAST TOMB RAIDER EVER! Expand
  20. JoeK.
    Jun 28, 2003
    0
    Riffed with bugs, this game is totally unfinished. It shouldnt even have been made. A very sloppy effort.
  21. RichardI.
    Aug 13, 2003
    0
    Oh dear - Lara's controls have gone from being the best in the business to THE WORST I've ever played. Not fun, not clever, and definitely not worth it: I'm returning and getting my money back. I hope someone at eidos loses their job over this.

Awards & Rankings

15
#15 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
56
#56 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 15 out of 37
  1. The pedestrian pacing of the early levels, the fiddly controls and the fearsomely flighty camera still means that if you have played the entire series from day one or if this is your first encounter, Lara has certainly seen better days. [Playstation 2 Max]
  2. PSM Magazine
    50
    Painfully average... With the trial-and-error gameplay, lack of very much innovation, and the occasional annoying bugs, it might just require more patience than you have. [Sept 2003, p.36]
  3. GMR Magazine
    40
    Controlling Lara is like a dream - that one where you simply can't get to where you want to go fast enough, no matter what you try. [Sept 2003, p.74]