Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Larry Cum Laude! College is tough for Larry - between classes, fraternities, and odd jobs there's hardly time for parties and chasing girls. So when a dating show comes to campus, Larry knows that getting on TV is his best chance ever to lay more than groundwork. Can Larry get on TV, get the girl, and not flunk out of college? It's all up to you in Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude! Magna Cum Laude brings back humor from the most respected funny brand on PC - Leisure Suit Larry. Updated for the 21st century with 3D graphics, engaging conversations, and a fully realized college campus, Larry is back to give gamers some loving. Coming to PC and consoles. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. 94
    Where else can I get the chance to score with the head of anthropology and a Russian exchange student all in the same day?
  2. The core of what makes these games so memorable is still there in full force - pretty girls, unspeakably embarrassing sexual acts, and an endearing dorkiness that makes the entire experience feel mroe charming and humorous than exploitive. [Nov 2004, p.148]
  3. Feels way too much like a rehash-by-committee of things that barely worked 15 years ago.
  4. While the mini-games are shallow and sometimes boring, Magna Cum Laude has an interseting adult humor element that is sure to keep one amused while playing. [Feb 2005, p.9]
  5. Being a fan of the series it hurts to see the Leisure Suit Larry franchise brought up to date like this, a lot more thought and effort was needed instead of just relying on the boobs.
  6. Because of the shallow gameplay, I can't imagine anyone playing through this game once, much less multiple times. It's a simplistic romp into gaming nostalgia that won't appeal to anyone but the most retro of the retro-gamers out there.
  7. There's hardly a semblance of gameplay here, and the game rarely even offers a laugh. Smut isn't what gaming should be about. [Nov 2004, p.75]

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Duta
    Oct 24, 2004
    9
    F... those who says this game sucks. Man I'm not sure by myself what's so interesting in this game. But to tell you the truth, I cant stop playing it from 9 pm till 5am.. which make my ps2 goes to the service shop. Expand
  2. Jason
    Sep 16, 2004
    8
    Very creative and witty dialogue, but the gameplay gets repetitive after a while. Also when Larry is drunk the game is essentially impossible; rather than making things difficult to see, it forces you to have absolutely precise timing. Minor flaws, however, and the game is worth renting at the least. Expand
  3. Art
    Jan 17, 2005
    7
    Very funny. Games get boring and repetitive. The loads are absolutely brutal. I spend a great deal of time waiting for the next screen. But all that said a good stress reliever and very funny. Collapse
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    I really enjoyed this game. While it does have it's flaws: Simplistic overall game design, needlessly long loading screens, but the humor is top notch. While I get allot of the old time fans were upset about "new" Larry. The old Larry is a symbol of an age that really doesn't apply anymore. 70s referenses were funny in the 80s and 90s, but 2000+ and they do get a bit stale. New Larry follows in the shoes of his uncle perfectly, just minus the leisure suit. Expand
  5. W.E.
    Oct 7, 2004
    3
    cheap humor, boring gameplay - i want the real larry back! :(