Lifeline PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 2, 2004
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 9 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Computer Games Magazine
    100
    It isn't always easy and there are moments where players want to throw down their headsets in disgust. But somehow this makes the game all the more charming and all the more interesting to finish. [Apr 2004, p.8]
  2. It's well made, and the technology really makes you feel like you and Rio are in this together. It actually makes you care about the adventure at hand, which is the true mark of a great game. [Mar 2004, p.102]
  3. PSM Magazine
    80
    A wonderfully innovative game that provides a completely unique experience. Bring a Thesaurus and ennunciate clearly, and you'll love this new gameplay sensation. [Apr 2004, p.30]
  4. I had a hard time trying to get Rio to do exactly what I wanted. Aside from that, the battle system was pretty solid, mixing up timing requirements and hitting the enemy at the right spots. I also love the fact that there is no ammo.
  5. 80
    The technology isn’t quite up to snuff, leaving you to issue commands that make the experience far less personal in nature, and there are times where you will simply be frustrated due to the fact that you simply can’t communicate your needs, but the product really manages to be a pleasant experience overall.
  6. We couldn't help being drawn in by the plot, and enjoyed finding enemy weak-spots and shouting them out for Rio to shoot. And while you feel like a dork shouting stuff at the TV, the action is so engrossing that you stop caring.
  7. netjak
    74
    While Rio may frustrate you to the point of losing your religion, the character interaction can and does make you forget she’s fake. The times the VR reminds you you’re playing a flawed game, and you remember Rio isn’t real you’ll still wish she was, and the ending is definitely worth it.
  8. Lifeline is not a game for everyone. It's quirky and the controls feel like a toddler's first step-- wobbly and unsure but the beginning of something wonderful.
  9. It’s not a bad distraction for a little while, but the frustration of the game can be hard to overcome.
  10. Cheat Code Central
    70
    SCEI didn't scrimp on the graphics. The space station/hotel is realistic in every sense of the word from the posh guest areas to the industrial back rooms composed of cold, ribbed metallic corridors.
  11. Frustrating and slow gameplay may scare off gamers not ready to give the game an extended try. But I have to say once again that at least someone is stepping up and trying something new.
  12. Another shortcoming lies in the fact the player may not know what an object is onscreen. How can you tell Rio to pick up the key card on the table when it looks like a book or ticket or deck of playing cards?
  13. 68
    Some things work, others don't, but the game's recognition system is inconsistent. Because of this, there is a mildly steep learning curve that's sometimes exciting and other times frustrating.
  14. If you like movies like Panic Room, or ever wanted to remotely control someone from monitors in a room, then this game has you written all over it.
  15. While I respect the ambition that went into this project the final execution just reminded me of those non-Infocom parsers that never understood my typed-in commands anymore than Rio could understand my vocal commands.
  16. An ambitious undertaking, so the developer certainly deserves credit for trying something different. However, the experience is undermined by unreliable technology and some poor game design.
  17. 60
    When Lifeline works, it works niftily... but when it doesn't, it actually isn't working at all.
  18. 60
    A fantastic concept upon which an average game lies. Play it as a curiosity and an example of innovative technical game design, and you'll enjoy yourself. [Mar 2004, p.72]
  19. An interesting attempt at innovation in the genre. Unfortunately, it's also a frustrating, throw-down-your-headset, curse-generating one.
  20. If only Lifeline was as good at recognizing words as it is at ignoring them.
  21. Play Magazine
    58
    The voice recognition just isn't up to par - it's frustrating during exploration and infuriating during battle. I often found myself begging to just be playing wiht a standard controller interface. [Mar 2004, p.59]
  22. The main problem is that Rio recognizes more than 5,000 words, but you don't know what those words are...The innovative concept is fun for a few minutes, but an entire game is tedious.
  23. Voice recognition will be a lot more fun when it works. Until then, if I really want to be ignored and misunderstood by a girl, I'll go clubbing and hit on the hughty hipster chick in the Pabst Blue Ribbon T-shirt. [Apr 2004, p.118]
  24. games(TM)
    40
    It's with some remorse that we bestow upon it a fairly low score, but don't let it fool you... anyone with the means to play Lifeline shouldn't let a chance to sample this unique title pass them by. [July 2004, p.114]
  25. 40
    It's novel for sure, and most won't regret playing it at all. It's just that, when it gets frustrating, it gets incredibly frustrating. If you have a high tolerance for frustration, and want to check out something completely out of left field, give this one a rental.
  26. Edge Magazine
    40
    It's a shame, but LifeLine is just poorly implemented. With the laborious pacing complicated by the dodgy voice-recognition, flaws in the gimmicky technology negate what satisfying moments are on offer here. [May 2004, p.106]
  27. Beyond frustrating. It incites rage instead of happiness. Having to tell someone to shoot a monster that's right in front of them is just ridiculous, but telling Rio to run and watching her die because she did something else is just unacceptable.
  28. It's just that every worthwhile aspect of the game is drowning in a mire of stilted gameplay and unfortunate language shortcomings.
  29. To recap: imagine playing the most uninspired, atmosphere-free "Resident Evil" clone that could exist... Then instead of using a control pad, you must verbally tell your brain-free character exactly what to do every step of the way. This is what Lifeline is like.
  30. It is flawed on almost every level, but its biggest failing is that it is designed to take advantage of technology that is questionable at best and just plain broken at worst.
  31. 30
    Sadly, this control system is less than ideal for directing a character who is both hard of hearing and retarded, two traits which I suspect a simple battery of standardized tests would reveal in our heroine.

Awards & Rankings

#51 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. MeiB.
    Jun 16, 2007
    8
    Don't let the reviews about the voice recognition being broken fool you. I've played this game most the way through and not had Don't let the reviews about the voice recognition being broken fool you. I've played this game most the way through and not had more than a small handful of times that the voice recognition couldn't understand me. The main problem comes during battles. The thing is, then your voice commands are being given for something that's in action, so you might not press the button quickly enough or let it go to early admist your command giving. Some people also don't seem to realize the fact that you have to go to areas of the rooms that are MARKED ON THE MAP to look at items that are in that area. I get fed up with the voice tech being so trashed when it's most often the fault of the player that the recognition isn't happening. Full Review »
  2. TulkasA.
    Apr 26, 2004
    9
    This game is Moses! it isn't quite good enough to rate a Jesus(10) but its still awesome.
  3. TysonB.
    Mar 14, 2004
    3
    This is the only game voice activated game, and even though it's a new idea you'll get bored of it after about forty-five minutes.