User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 119
  2. Negative: 15 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mike
    Aug 12, 2005
    3
    The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is surrounded by 5 defenders on the field after being in the air for 2 secs, offensive line and defensive line shift in unison. Is it just me or is madden becoming more of an arcade game like Blitz than ever? The precision passing cone looks cool and inventive but really does not enhance the gameplay at all because most of the time you'll be sacked by the pass rush before you can even swivel the cone over to an open receiver. Do yourself a favor, BOYCOTT EA, and go dish out 10 or 20 dollars for NFL 2K5 from last year and play that whenever you have the urge to play a football game. Expand
  2. TerryB.M.
    Aug 12, 2005
    2
    I've been playing these games for years, and this is without a doubt the most disapointment in the series! They've hardly done anything, and I've got to pay another $50?
  3. CharlieZ.
    Aug 25, 2005
    3
    This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need to comment on how bad this game is then you know it's not all that great. Expand
  4. J.AlfredPrufrock
    Aug 3, 2005
    4
    The new pocket pressure is merely a bazzooom to the bang. feel it?
  5. MychalG.
    Apr 17, 2006
    0
    Not very realistic. Controls are screwed. Over all it sucks. Terable game play.
  6. P.Toscan
    Aug 11, 2005
    2
    Bought it. Played it. It just doesn't have the great gameplay that ESPN NFL 2K5 had. Why can't they just hire those guys and revamp the gameplay. This will be the last NFL game I buy until competition arrives 5 years from now. Such a shame. But of course, EA doesn't care about the gameplay, they just care about snuffing out the competition and making $$$. So sad. In the Bought it. Played it. It just doesn't have the great gameplay that ESPN NFL 2K5 had. Why can't they just hire those guys and revamp the gameplay. This will be the last NFL game I buy until competition arrives 5 years from now. Such a shame. But of course, EA doesn't care about the gameplay, they just care about snuffing out the competition and making $$$. So sad. In the mean time I'm going back to playing 2K5. Expand
  7. SteveP.
    Aug 9, 2005
    0
    A crushing disappointment. The franchise mode is EXACTLY the same as last year. The mini-games are EXACTLY the same as last year. SuperStar mode is tedious at best riffling through empty calander dates only then to play preseason games with the Browns. Ugh!No thanks. It would be okay if my runningback would be above 85 speed but unfortunately after many attempts it doesn't look like A crushing disappointment. The franchise mode is EXACTLY the same as last year. The mini-games are EXACTLY the same as last year. SuperStar mode is tedious at best riffling through empty calander dates only then to play preseason games with the Browns. Ugh!No thanks. It would be okay if my runningback would be above 85 speed but unfortunately after many attempts it doesn't look like a possibility. The passing game is a disaster. I rue the day EA Sports received the exclusive NFL License. Expand
  8. NickJ.
    Sep 2, 2005
    1
    Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on line on xbox, you will play the day and night away. Expand
  9. RickSantos
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    Different year same old Madden yo. Not worth the money this year. The graphics are still bad, and its the same game as last year with the unoriginal and uninspired superstar mode. Do yourself a favor and wait and save for Madden on the 360 for all the game engine improvements.
  10. JohnMartin
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    I've been really disappointed in this version. The core game is the same as the last two versions. The new Superstar mode is kind of cute but was board of it by the 4th week of the first season. Too many practices and not enough action. The only saving grace of the new passing controls is that you can turn them off. But my biggest gripe is the create a playbook and create a team.I've been really disappointed in this version. The core game is the same as the last two versions. The new Superstar mode is kind of cute but was board of it by the 4th week of the first season. Too many practices and not enough action. The only saving grace of the new passing controls is that you can turn them off. But my biggest gripe is the create a playbook and create a team. They haven't been improved since they were first added and this year you can't even use created playbooks in franchise or superstar modes. I own every Madden game in the series but I'm sorry to say that this will be my last unless EA sports makes some major improvements in giving the players to freedom to create what they want and use it in any mode they want. Don't waste your money on this game. I'm wishing I could get mine back! Expand
  11. jakehaynes
    Nov 22, 2005
    4
    I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a great game. They are trying to hard to make big changes. THe best Madden was 04. Just a real straight forward game, nothing crazy. DOnt get me worng, i want them to keep improving the game, but in postive and more fun ways. Everyone is talking about realism, but what fun VIDEO GAME is truely realistic. Halo, no. SUper Smash Bros. , no. If you want to make madden truely realistic, So all you REALISM talkers need to chill and think about this vision cone thing. Doesnt really add anything to the game except makes it harder and less fun. I have the best idea for Madden 07. EA always has themes for each game about how they made it better. Make 07 the year of the online play. Spend most of your efforts making the online play better. More organized leagues and whatever else. Take opff vision cone and lets get to it. Peace. Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. But the real highlights in Madden 06 are on the field. For starters, the new "QB Vision" feature is simply fantastic. Even for long-time Madden fans, the ability to focus the quarterback's attention on certain receivers or parts of the field adds a ton to the gameplay. [Sept 2005]
  2. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  3. The other big addition offers a nice contrast to the traditional franchise mode, which returns as fully featured and deep as ever. In NFL superstar mode, instead of focusing on the fortunes of one team, you follow the career of a character you create (or import from "NFL Street 2" or "NCAA Football 06"). [Sept 2005]