User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 122
  2. Negative: 15 out of 122
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2015
    7
    Buen juego , a pesar de mi poco conocimiento que tengo del futbol americano (NFL) en pocos partido ya controlaba como se jugaba y despu├ęs de esto me gustaba mas el juego . muy buen juego entretenido que a un lo conservo .
  2. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    The thing you've probably heard of the most is QB Vision which really makes the game more realistic. In the NFL a QB can't be looking one way...pass in the opposite direction and expect to land a 50yd completion. It's not hard...you just press two buttons to throw to the guy you want to and you can lead the pass, throw it high, low, or behind the guy. Plus, you can turn it off if you don'tThe thing you've probably heard of the most is QB Vision which really makes the game more realistic. In the NFL a QB can't be looking one way...pass in the opposite direction and expect to land a 50yd completion. It's not hard...you just press two buttons to throw to the guy you want to and you can lead the pass, throw it high, low, or behind the guy. Plus, you can turn it off if you don't enjoy using it(if you use the tutorial you'll get the hang of it). Expand
  3. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    Still the same old Madden that we have all come to love and enjoy. The introduction of the hitstick was nice but felt a little overpowering, I couldn't be stopped with that thing.
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I couldn't find the original xbox version of this game on metacritic but thats what I had madden 06 on, and it was a really fun game. Very addicting.
  5. LJH.
    Feb 13, 2009
    5
    I love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming theI love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming the button trying to bullet the ball to a receiver on a hitch route, and the quarterback leisurely lobs the ball to him, with the result of very frequent interceptions. EA have screwed up on this one. Expand
  6. Dl
    Sep 10, 2006
    8
    I hate how you can't use created playbook that sucks so bad other then that it was an awesome game better then the 2K5 ones.
  7. RobbyEllis
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Anyone who likes football will love this game. If you don't know how to play it, that's your problem!
  8. MychalG.
    Apr 17, 2006
    0
    Not very realistic. Controls are screwed. Over all it sucks. Terable game play.
  9. MichaelW
    Jan 31, 2006
    7
    Great offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd giveGreat offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd give it a 10, bc offline is freakin sweet Expand
  10. MichaelW.
    Dec 11, 2005
    5
    Would be the best game of madden yet as far as the new options go... but I will never buy it because of the reason that you can not use a custom playbook in franchise mode, and that is soo much bullshit... I will not buy 2007 if it has the same problem.
  11. RyanB.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    Greatest football series of all time. I will continue to buy this game the day it comes out every single year, even if they lose the exclusive NFL rights. I would have gave it a "10", but I couldn't use the playbook I spent an hour and a half creating.. Anyhow, I got used to that, and adopted a playbook from the list. The truck stick rules! Oh, yeah, and when your guys only block on Greatest football series of all time. I will continue to buy this game the day it comes out every single year, even if they lose the exclusive NFL rights. I would have gave it a "10", but I couldn't use the playbook I spent an hour and a half creating.. Anyhow, I got used to that, and adopted a playbook from the list. The truck stick rules! Oh, yeah, and when your guys only block on punt returns like, one out of ten punts, it's kinda cheezy. My punt returner only had 12 returns last season, all the rest were fair catches (for an average of 5.2 yds, too.. sheesh). I play on All-Madden, so I didnt notice my defense picking off an inordinate amount of passes, maybe 2-3 a game. But I was able to rack up a ridiculous amount of sacks (38) with my cornerback on the Fire Blitz out of the Quarter, so I guess some things could be changed. Every other year before this one, I would have gave the game a 10. Please fix the bugs, EA!! I love my Madden! Expand
  12. jakehaynes
    Nov 22, 2005
    4
    I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a great game. They are trying to hard to make big changes. THe best Madden was 04. Just a real straight forward game, nothing crazy. DOnt get me worng, i want them to keep improving the game, but in postive and more fun ways. Everyone is talking about realism, but what fun VIDEO GAME is truely realistic. Halo, no. SUper Smash Bros. , no. If you want to make madden truely realistic, So all you REALISM talkers need to chill and think about this vision cone thing. Doesnt really add anything to the game except makes it harder and less fun. I have the best idea for Madden 07. EA always has themes for each game about how they made it better. Make 07 the year of the online play. Spend most of your efforts making the online play better. More organized leagues and whatever else. Take opff vision cone and lets get to it. Peace. Expand
  13. MattS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    This game is perfect there are no flaws except for in superstar mode which no1 pays neways ...
  14. RonnieM.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Great game...
  15. AnthonyH.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    This game is excellent. You people who are calling this game bad just dont buy the game and go on with your lives. The new truck stick mode is Awesome, so is all the other features. Awesome graphic and thats what im inpressed with the most. I LOVE EA SPORTS and espeacialy Madden NFL 06!!!!! Love it or hate it, Its awesome!!! BOOYAAA.
  16. DanielL.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Any complaints for this game are most likely from weak or lazy players. The passing is a huge improvement and the truck stick makes power backs more able to dominate against safetys and corners. This version really seperates the skilled passers from the chuck it up and pray faternity.
  17. MattP.
    Sep 16, 2005
    7
    I gave it a 7 cause it is an ok game but i just need to know how to load a play i made in any mode I don't know how to even load it the the Pats or any other team plz help me and I might change my score.
  18. Nicoli
    Sep 12, 2005
    5
    WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. C'mon your makin millions! think before you release a game! Dont be so stupid next time, get 99% of the flaws out, not 50% Expand
  19. ChrisH.
    Sep 6, 2005
    7
    I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all the checks you have to perform before you can throw the ball. EA was also pretty sloppy with this game. On draw plays, your quarterback's cone stay fixed in the middle of the field, instead of following the primary receiver like it usually does, making it easy to snuff out draws. This can be fixed by choosing a receiver to watch before the snap, but it just illustrates how much less attention they paid creating Madden NFL 06 now that they don't have competition from Sega's ESPN NFL series. If you need a football game this year, go with NCAA Football 06. Expand
  20. NickJ.
    Sep 2, 2005
    1
    Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on line on xbox, you will play the day and night away. Expand
  21. CK
    Sep 1, 2005
    7
    The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, the game can and does still still cheat. However, it is not nearly as blatant as in years past. I also agree that the game is nearly the same that they have produced the last three years. EA really needs to start cutting out the complete fluff that they keep adding, Create-A-Fan, Superstar mode. (I have no idea how people like Superstar. It is completely unrealistic. I don't think players just ask to be traded multiple times and the teams are just happy to oblige. It seems like it was added as an afterthought.) What EA really needs to focus on is the basics of the game. For example, a D-lineman directly over the tackle on a run play should be picked up by the tackle, the tackle should not let him D-lineman tackle the runner while he runs to block the linebacker. I also agree that the cone is completely annoying if the player has low awareness, but don't forget, there is a reason that Chad Hutchinson just got cut and it had nothing to do with his awareness. Try playing the Bears in the game with Hutchinson as your starter. You want to hate the game forever. I dare you. I also agree that they need to fix the defense. Even on All-Pro difficulty, I was picking 6 or 7 times a game. While this is really cool and fun, can you remember that last time that a real team had more than 3 picks? All in all, they NEED to update and revamp the features that people use most, like Franchise and the actual gameplay. Please EA, we beg of you, don't become the exclusive owner of junk. Expand
  22. CraigO.
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where horrible 65 overall linebackers make amazing INT just isnt realistic. Madden must go back to it's old ways. I love madden..but was very dissapointed this year. Linemen don't block right. Even simple teqnique..when a man is lined up on you..you block him..don't step inside and let the man go across your face...c'mon..if this PP is gonna work then at least fix blocking..give me sum time..franchise mode is boring..it's way to easy..I had to turn up the AI on All Madden for the CPU on offense cuz i was averaging 4 ints a game..Remove the cone..it's just to..much..if anything fix glitches from 05 and build off that..Mike Vick isn't a Payton Manning. So why take his playmaker away? Why????? Expand
  23. CharlieZ.
    Aug 25, 2005
    3
    This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need to comment on how bad this game is then you know it's not all that great. Expand
  24. BustamanteB.
    Aug 21, 2005
    7
    Nice and all, but a lot of the same stuff. Similar to '05, but passing is just a lot harder.
  25. SeanO.
    Aug 19, 2005
    6
    Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if you play as a QB not named Favre or Manning (not talking about Eli here).. as you basically have to make your primary receiver the only person to throw to without getting sacked. I guess that was the point though in creating it, get people off of playing as Vick or Culpepper. Running the ball was yes somewhat improved to where you can break off a big run but the phantom tackles by the DT's when they are cleary sealed off yet somehow warp through their blocker and tackle you does become a pain. Deep jumpballs are a pain.. they seem to be coinflips no matter who the WR is and who the DB is. But the biggest gripe I have with the pass defense is the lack of "inside-outside coverage".. In ESPN 2k5 last year, if someone was throwing fades and sideline patterns the whole time you could have your DB's position themselves to cover it.. in Madden 06 it is way to frustrating to get a DB to remotely come close to stopping the sideline pattern. The game itself looks somewhat good.. the graphics themselves are nice looking.. stadiums look amazing.. but the physics of the game still look just bad and stiff compared to what ESPN 2k5 looked like. All EA sports games come off as stiff though.. still movements that make you feel uncomfortable even. The best sports graphics Ive seen in a sports game has been from MLB 2006 with their branch-point technology.. lets see that in a football game sometime. Overall the game is playable.. not worth 50 bills by any means.. Superstar mode is a joke and boring... but online is allright. So buy it if you only want to play online... or against a roomate on a drunken night. Expand
  26. TedM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    5
    I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with the additions this year or lack thereof, but it is still madden so it gets an average rating. I do not recommend this game for casual gamers who already have Madden 05, only to those who have been away from Madden for a few years or are new to the franchise. I still like ESPN 2k5 better on the xbox. Expand
  27. BobM.
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Great game..! for all of you who complain that the qb vision is too hard then SHUT IT OFF!!!!!
  28. Pete
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    I like it, the gameplay is more balanced than ever.
  29. Blue
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards and was pissed off, even though I had 4 turnovers. Last year the CPU offence could score at will in the 4th quarter - this year if you run a Dime two over coverage against four wide, you can sack the quarterback almost everytime with your safeties (i had 7 last game and 5 before that, on 4 minutes quarters, all-pro no a.i. adjustments). If the QB does get the pass off, it's almost a guaranteed pick. Looks like it's time to try All-Madden. Expand
  30. MaxwellB.
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT TRUE. Maybe not even 75. THe year of the QB... yeah, right. Expand

Awards & Rankings

10
9
#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    But the real highlights in Madden 06 are on the field. For starters, the new "QB Vision" feature is simply fantastic. Even for long-time Madden fans, the ability to focus the quarterback's attention on certain receivers or parts of the field adds a ton to the gameplay. [Sept 2005]
  2. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  3. The other big addition offers a nice contrast to the traditional franchise mode, which returns as fully featured and deep as ever. In NFL superstar mode, instead of focusing on the fortunes of one team, you follow the career of a character you create (or import from "NFL Street 2" or "NCAA Football 06"). [Sept 2005]