Madden NFL 06 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 120
  2. Negative: 15 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2015
    7
    Buen juego , a pesar de mi poco conocimiento que tengo del futbol americano (NFL) en pocos partido ya controlaba como se jugaba y despu├ęs de esto me gustaba mas el juego . muy buen juego entretenido que a un lo conservo .
  2. JoshR.
    Aug 12, 2005
    7
    This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I reccomend skipping Madden 07 unless it is released for the next gen consoles. Expand
  3. MatthewWhite
    Aug 8, 2005
    6
    That is soo stupid how the QB can look only one way and you have to turn his head to look the other way.
  4. JohnM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    Average game on it own merits, but terribly repetetive when you consider they've released near identical games in 2003 and 2004.
  5. Nicoli
    Sep 12, 2005
    5
    WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. C'mon your makin millions! think before you release a game! Dont be so stupid next time, get 99% of the flaws out, not 50% Expand
  6. CK
    Sep 1, 2005
    7
    The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, the game can and does still still cheat. However, it is not nearly as blatant as in years past. I also agree that the game is nearly the same that they have produced the last three years. EA really needs to start cutting out the complete fluff that they keep adding, Create-A-Fan, Superstar mode. (I have no idea how people like Superstar. It is completely unrealistic. I don't think players just ask to be traded multiple times and the teams are just happy to oblige. It seems like it was added as an afterthought.) What EA really needs to focus on is the basics of the game. For example, a D-lineman directly over the tackle on a run play should be picked up by the tackle, the tackle should not let him D-lineman tackle the runner while he runs to block the linebacker. I also agree that the cone is completely annoying if the player has low awareness, but don't forget, there is a reason that Chad Hutchinson just got cut and it had nothing to do with his awareness. Try playing the Bears in the game with Hutchinson as your starter. You want to hate the game forever. I dare you. I also agree that they need to fix the defense. Even on All-Pro difficulty, I was picking 6 or 7 times a game. While this is really cool and fun, can you remember that last time that a real team had more than 3 picks? All in all, they NEED to update and revamp the features that people use most, like Franchise and the actual gameplay. Please EA, we beg of you, don't become the exclusive owner of junk. Expand
  7. MichaelW.
    Dec 11, 2005
    5
    Would be the best game of madden yet as far as the new options go... but I will never buy it because of the reason that you can not use a custom playbook in franchise mode, and that is soo much bullshit... I will not buy 2007 if it has the same problem.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    Same game essentially since 2003. Still the same problems: bad running, unreal blocking, fantastic CPU defensive moves when ball is in the air. Want to stop people online calling the same play? Easy EA, just disable/shade out that play for a set period of time or number plays. Madden 2003 was a very good game, Madden 2006 (2003v.C) is the same...but costs $50 now. Hopefully Midway and Same game essentially since 2003. Still the same problems: bad running, unreal blocking, fantastic CPU defensive moves when ball is in the air. Want to stop people online calling the same play? Easy EA, just disable/shade out that play for a set period of time or number plays. Madden 2003 was a very good game, Madden 2006 (2003v.C) is the same...but costs $50 now. Hopefully Midway and Visual Concepts (ESPN 2K5) push EA next year with their football games, even if the NFL players aren't in it. Expand
  9. LarryB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    Disappointed. All that really changed is the rosters. The cone is brutal to use. The superstar mode is redundant. The game plays as well as ever...just not really an improvement.
  10. AL
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    EA should try to fix the old problems instead of making new features.Create-a-fan was useless, as was Tony Bruno. I agree with Mike here: BOYCOTT EA! And buy ESPN NFL 2k5
  11. BustamanteB.
    Aug 21, 2005
    7
    Nice and all, but a lot of the same stuff. Similar to '05, but passing is just a lot harder.
  12. CraigO.
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where horrible 65 overall linebackers make amazing INT just isnt realistic. Madden must go back to it's old ways. I love madden..but was very dissapointed this year. Linemen don't block right. Even simple teqnique..when a man is lined up on you..you block him..don't step inside and let the man go across your face...c'mon..if this PP is gonna work then at least fix blocking..give me sum time..franchise mode is boring..it's way to easy..I had to turn up the AI on All Madden for the CPU on offense cuz i was averaging 4 ints a game..Remove the cone..it's just to..much..if anything fix glitches from 05 and build off that..Mike Vick isn't a Payton Manning. So why take his playmaker away? Why????? Expand
  13. MattP.
    Sep 16, 2005
    7
    I gave it a 7 cause it is an ok game but i just need to know how to load a play i made in any mode I don't know how to even load it the the Pats or any other team plz help me and I might change my score.
  14. ChrisH.
    Sep 6, 2005
    7
    I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all the checks you have to perform before you can throw the ball. EA was also pretty sloppy with this game. On draw plays, your quarterback's cone stay fixed in the middle of the field, instead of following the primary receiver like it usually does, making it easy to snuff out draws. This can be fixed by choosing a receiver to watch before the snap, but it just illustrates how much less attention they paid creating Madden NFL 06 now that they don't have competition from Sega's ESPN NFL series. If you need a football game this year, go with NCAA Football 06. Expand
  15. LJH.
    Feb 13, 2009
    5
    I love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming theI love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming the button trying to bullet the ball to a receiver on a hitch route, and the quarterback leisurely lobs the ball to him, with the result of very frequent interceptions. EA have screwed up on this one. Expand
  16. Dean.L
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    A disappointment, indeed. The core elements of this game have remained unchanged for years - the less-than-realistic ball physics, the dopey player animations, that grating John Madden voice, etc. With Sega's competitive influence gone (not to mention their better game), I fear mediocrity is all we have to look forward to. If EA gets exclusive rights for the NHL, I'm giving up A disappointment, indeed. The core elements of this game have remained unchanged for years - the less-than-realistic ball physics, the dopey player animations, that grating John Madden voice, etc. With Sega's competitive influence gone (not to mention their better game), I fear mediocrity is all we have to look forward to. If EA gets exclusive rights for the NHL, I'm giving up video games...forever. Expand
  17. MaxwellB.
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT TRUE. Maybe not even 75. THe year of the QB... yeah, right. Expand
  18. TedM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    5
    I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with the additions this year or lack thereof, but it is still madden so it gets an average rating. I do not recommend this game for casual gamers who already have Madden 05, only to those who have been away from Madden for a few years or are new to the franchise. I still like ESPN 2k5 better on the xbox. Expand
  19. SeanO.
    Aug 19, 2005
    6
    Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if you play as a QB not named Favre or Manning (not talking about Eli here).. as you basically have to make your primary receiver the only person to throw to without getting sacked. I guess that was the point though in creating it, get people off of playing as Vick or Culpepper. Running the ball was yes somewhat improved to where you can break off a big run but the phantom tackles by the DT's when they are cleary sealed off yet somehow warp through their blocker and tackle you does become a pain. Deep jumpballs are a pain.. they seem to be coinflips no matter who the WR is and who the DB is. But the biggest gripe I have with the pass defense is the lack of "inside-outside coverage".. In ESPN 2k5 last year, if someone was throwing fades and sideline patterns the whole time you could have your DB's position themselves to cover it.. in Madden 06 it is way to frustrating to get a DB to remotely come close to stopping the sideline pattern. The game itself looks somewhat good.. the graphics themselves are nice looking.. stadiums look amazing.. but the physics of the game still look just bad and stiff compared to what ESPN 2k5 looked like. All EA sports games come off as stiff though.. still movements that make you feel uncomfortable even. The best sports graphics Ive seen in a sports game has been from MLB 2006 with their branch-point technology.. lets see that in a football game sometime. Overall the game is playable.. not worth 50 bills by any means.. Superstar mode is a joke and boring... but online is allright. So buy it if you only want to play online... or against a roomate on a drunken night. Expand
  20. MichaelW
    Jan 31, 2006
    7
    Great offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd giveGreat offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd give it a 10, bc offline is freakin sweet Expand

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    But the real highlights in Madden 06 are on the field. For starters, the new "QB Vision" feature is simply fantastic. Even for long-time Madden fans, the ability to focus the quarterback's attention on certain receivers or parts of the field adds a ton to the gameplay. [Sept 2005]
  2. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  3. The other big addition offers a nice contrast to the traditional franchise mode, which returns as fully featured and deep as ever. In NFL superstar mode, instead of focusing on the fortunes of one team, you follow the career of a character you create (or import from "NFL Street 2" or "NCAA Football 06"). [Sept 2005]