Madden NFL 06 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 120
  2. Negative: 15 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. J.Moore
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    This could be the best video game to ever come out since PS2 and X-Box started. I stood outside of the stores for hours and almost cried when the game was placed in my hands. Im an athlete on a full-scholarship and may consider being red-shirted because I need some more free time so that I can start my 'superstar' mode!!!!! Must get game, if you dont know you better ask somebody.
  2. Noname
    Aug 10, 2005
    9
    Not perfect but still a great game.
  3. LexingtonS.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Gamespot sucks...best game out.
  4. RussK
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The vision cone is awesome! It's so realistic, not too easy at first but after a few games it's fun.
  5. PaulS.
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    The best yet. I love it.
  6. MikeS.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Awesome game.
  7. Otfizzle
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    This is the best sports game in the world.
  8. RonnieM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Great game...
  9. JustinM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Best game ever!
  10. Opie&AnthonyFan
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  11. Dl
    Sep 10, 2006
    8
    I hate how you can't use created playbook that sucks so bad other then that it was an awesome game better then the 2K5 ones.
  12. DanielL.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Any complaints for this game are most likely from weak or lazy players. The passing is a huge improvement and the truck stick makes power backs more able to dominate against safetys and corners. This version really seperates the skilled passers from the chuck it up and pray faternity.
  13. Opie&AnthonyFan
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  14. Porher
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    franchise mode is excellent and gameplay is awesome . nfl superstart is alrite. qb vision is okay.
  15. Mike
    Aug 12, 2005
    3
    The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is The only new feature added to the game, "precision passing" seems like an unnecessary step to make it harder for the passer to make plays. Every year this game gets more and more unrealistic even with the updated, smooth looking graphics...... cornerbacks swat balls 10 feet over there head even though the have no clue where the ball is because there head is turned, a lob pass is surrounded by 5 defenders on the field after being in the air for 2 secs, offensive line and defensive line shift in unison. Is it just me or is madden becoming more of an arcade game like Blitz than ever? The precision passing cone looks cool and inventive but really does not enhance the gameplay at all because most of the time you'll be sacked by the pass rush before you can even swivel the cone over to an open receiver. Do yourself a favor, BOYCOTT EA, and go dish out 10 or 20 dollars for NFL 2K5 from last year and play that whenever you have the urge to play a football game. Expand
  16. JoshR.
    Aug 12, 2005
    7
    This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I This is an average version of Madden. Load time sucks in general for the PS2. This can become very frusturating during a simple change to the game settings. The percision passing option is neat but uneffective. This is a game where the other team can score without a problem in the last minute before the end of the game. I have to say, this is a dissapointment from prior versions. I reccomend skipping Madden 07 unless it is released for the next gen consoles. Expand
  17. TerryB.M.
    Aug 12, 2005
    2
    I've been playing these games for years, and this is without a doubt the most disapointment in the series! They've hardly done anything, and I've got to pay another $50?
  18. AJBernstein
    Aug 14, 2005
    9
    The added difficulty makes this came tough to learn, but that's a positive as it will be enjoyable for many months to come. This game keeps getting better and better!
  19. NBigg
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Best football game ever!!
  20. Blue
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards This game is not that bad, people. It does suck that you can't use a created playbook in the franchise mode, and Superstar does get lame quick (though it is neat - you'll probably appreciate it by month 4). The passing gets easier with time, and the running is more realistic than ever. My biggest beef is defence - far too easy on All-Pro this year. Last game I gave up 70 yards and was pissed off, even though I had 4 turnovers. Last year the CPU offence could score at will in the 4th quarter - this year if you run a Dime two over coverage against four wide, you can sack the quarterback almost everytime with your safeties (i had 7 last game and 5 before that, on 4 minutes quarters, all-pro no a.i. adjustments). If the QB does get the pass off, it's almost a guaranteed pick. Looks like it's time to try All-Madden. Expand
  21. Pete
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    I like it, the gameplay is more balanced than ever.
  22. CharlieZ.
    Aug 25, 2005
    3
    This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need This game lacks the exciting game play that the NCAA 06 has. The graphics have not gotten any beter than the previous version. I have always been a big fan of Madden but I have lost interest. The game is just not fun to play anymore. The cut seens to show the fans is a knock off of ESPN 2K. I was expecting an awsome game when it came out and I was very dissapointed. If I feel that I need to comment on how bad this game is then you know it's not all that great. Expand
  23. J.AlfredPrufrock
    Aug 3, 2005
    4
    The new pocket pressure is merely a bazzooom to the bang. feel it?
  24. MatthewS.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    It is DEFINITELY the greatest football game ever.
  25. TomF.
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Awesome, Simply Awesome.
  26. MatthewWhite
    Aug 8, 2005
    6
    That is soo stupid how the QB can look only one way and you have to turn his head to look the other way.
  27. RobF.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The more control I get, the better I like it. It doesn't get any closer to actually playing the game without risking spinal injury.
  28. JohnM.
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    Average game on it own merits, but terribly repetetive when you consider they've released near identical games in 2003 and 2004.
  29. IanC.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    The game has been been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most The game has been been enhanced in many levels, whether it be the new passing (precision control), the new animations (which look great), the Much improved running game (being able to run inside the tackles and break long runs) and the ability to spawn a franchise and franchise games and take them online (VERY surprised that this has not yet been mentioned). It appears to me that most people who are disgruntled with this game are mad that EA has gotten the license. Although I can understand that people are upset about this, the game should be graded on its merits and not because people are disgruntled. Get over it move on and play the BEST Madden game yet. Expand
  30. MArcL.
    Aug 9, 2005
    9
    Outstanding update...although you might need a PHD in Maddenomics to fully grasp everything in the game now...
  31. Nicoli
    Sep 12, 2005
    5
    WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. WTF! I sit there and make a playbook for my team in the franchise mode and I cant use IT!!!! WTF...Superstar....what kind of super star sims all his games???? You could have at least let us play our character and only our character...Pretty cool, but with the flaws it has youd think they wouldve hired some monkeys to fix it! Instead they have a bunch of donkeys ee awwing the crap out. C'mon your makin millions! think before you release a game! Dont be so stupid next time, get 99% of the flaws out, not 50% Expand
  32. CK
    Sep 1, 2005
    7
    The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, The major problems still return, such as the complete and udder inability to block guys on punts. For those complaining that the cone is "dumb" because you have to turn the QB's head, HELLO, do you watch real games, the QB doesn't just do no look passes. (I could imagine it now, Jason Kidd at QB, D-fenses screwed because he can throw a pass without looking.) Yes, being a game, the game can and does still still cheat. However, it is not nearly as blatant as in years past. I also agree that the game is nearly the same that they have produced the last three years. EA really needs to start cutting out the complete fluff that they keep adding, Create-A-Fan, Superstar mode. (I have no idea how people like Superstar. It is completely unrealistic. I don't think players just ask to be traded multiple times and the teams are just happy to oblige. It seems like it was added as an afterthought.) What EA really needs to focus on is the basics of the game. For example, a D-lineman directly over the tackle on a run play should be picked up by the tackle, the tackle should not let him D-lineman tackle the runner while he runs to block the linebacker. I also agree that the cone is completely annoying if the player has low awareness, but don't forget, there is a reason that Chad Hutchinson just got cut and it had nothing to do with his awareness. Try playing the Bears in the game with Hutchinson as your starter. You want to hate the game forever. I dare you. I also agree that they need to fix the defense. Even on All-Pro difficulty, I was picking 6 or 7 times a game. While this is really cool and fun, can you remember that last time that a real team had more than 3 picks? All in all, they NEED to update and revamp the features that people use most, like Franchise and the actual gameplay. Please EA, we beg of you, don't become the exclusive owner of junk. Expand
  33. MychalG.
    Apr 17, 2006
    0
    Not very realistic. Controls are screwed. Over all it sucks. Terable game play.
  34. MichaelW.
    Dec 11, 2005
    5
    Would be the best game of madden yet as far as the new options go... but I will never buy it because of the reason that you can not use a custom playbook in franchise mode, and that is soo much bullshit... I will not buy 2007 if it has the same problem.
  35. AnthonyH.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    This game is excellent. You people who are calling this game bad just dont buy the game and go on with your lives. The new truck stick mode is Awesome, so is all the other features. Awesome graphic and thats what im inpressed with the most. I LOVE EA SPORTS and espeacialy Madden NFL 06!!!!! Love it or hate it, Its awesome!!! BOOYAAA.
  36. [Anonymous]
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    Same game essentially since 2003. Still the same problems: bad running, unreal blocking, fantastic CPU defensive moves when ball is in the air. Want to stop people online calling the same play? Easy EA, just disable/shade out that play for a set period of time or number plays. Madden 2003 was a very good game, Madden 2006 (2003v.C) is the same...but costs $50 now. Hopefully Midway and Same game essentially since 2003. Still the same problems: bad running, unreal blocking, fantastic CPU defensive moves when ball is in the air. Want to stop people online calling the same play? Easy EA, just disable/shade out that play for a set period of time or number plays. Madden 2003 was a very good game, Madden 2006 (2003v.C) is the same...but costs $50 now. Hopefully Midway and Visual Concepts (ESPN 2K5) push EA next year with their football games, even if the NFL players aren't in it. Expand
  37. LarryB.
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    Disappointed. All that really changed is the rosters. The cone is brutal to use. The superstar mode is redundant. The game plays as well as ever...just not really an improvement.
  38. GregT.
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    I know football games and this one the best, I have to tip my hat to them.
  39. P.Toscan
    Aug 11, 2005
    2
    Bought it. Played it. It just doesn't have the great gameplay that ESPN NFL 2K5 had. Why can't they just hire those guys and revamp the gameplay. This will be the last NFL game I buy until competition arrives 5 years from now. Such a shame. But of course, EA doesn't care about the gameplay, they just care about snuffing out the competition and making $$$. So sad. In the Bought it. Played it. It just doesn't have the great gameplay that ESPN NFL 2K5 had. Why can't they just hire those guys and revamp the gameplay. This will be the last NFL game I buy until competition arrives 5 years from now. Such a shame. But of course, EA doesn't care about the gameplay, they just care about snuffing out the competition and making $$$. So sad. In the mean time I'm going back to playing 2K5. Expand
  40. AL
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    EA should try to fix the old problems instead of making new features.Create-a-fan was useless, as was Tony Bruno. I agree with Mike here: BOYCOTT EA! And buy ESPN NFL 2k5
  41. BobM.
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Great game..! for all of you who complain that the qb vision is too hard then SHUT IT OFF!!!!!
  42. BustamanteB.
    Aug 21, 2005
    7
    Nice and all, but a lot of the same stuff. Similar to '05, but passing is just a lot harder.
  43. CraigO.
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where Why did they take playmaker control off offense? What's with that? you can't even call blocks when your in the open field. It's impossible to get any blocking on punt returns. Too many PI's are called. Too many 5 yards face masks are called. QB vision is way too glitchy. To many INTs by the CPU. User capability was already cheap enough and adding CPU awareness where horrible 65 overall linebackers make amazing INT just isnt realistic. Madden must go back to it's old ways. I love madden..but was very dissapointed this year. Linemen don't block right. Even simple teqnique..when a man is lined up on you..you block him..don't step inside and let the man go across your face...c'mon..if this PP is gonna work then at least fix blocking..give me sum time..franchise mode is boring..it's way to easy..I had to turn up the AI on All Madden for the CPU on offense cuz i was averaging 4 ints a game..Remove the cone..it's just to..much..if anything fix glitches from 05 and build off that..Mike Vick isn't a Payton Manning. So why take his playmaker away? Why????? Expand
  44. Ricky
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Great.
  45. PrentissBroadway
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Classic.
  46. SteveP.
    Aug 9, 2005
    0
    A crushing disappointment. The franchise mode is EXACTLY the same as last year. The mini-games are EXACTLY the same as last year. SuperStar mode is tedious at best riffling through empty calander dates only then to play preseason games with the Browns. Ugh!No thanks. It would be okay if my runningback would be above 85 speed but unfortunately after many attempts it doesn't look like A crushing disappointment. The franchise mode is EXACTLY the same as last year. The mini-games are EXACTLY the same as last year. SuperStar mode is tedious at best riffling through empty calander dates only then to play preseason games with the Browns. Ugh!No thanks. It would be okay if my runningback would be above 85 speed but unfortunately after many attempts it doesn't look like a possibility. The passing game is a disaster. I rue the day EA Sports received the exclusive NFL License. Expand
  47. PabloG.
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    When everything comes down to it, it's still the best football game out there. Even before it bought out the competition this year it HAD NO competition.
  48. MattP.
    Sep 16, 2005
    7
    I gave it a 7 cause it is an ok game but i just need to know how to load a play i made in any mode I don't know how to even load it the the Pats or any other team plz help me and I might change my score.
  49. NickJ.
    Sep 2, 2005
    1
    Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on Why buy 06 when you buy 05 and have the same thing! i was going to buy 06, i rent it first b/c i have always love 2k's games. ESPN 2k5 is better in every way than Madden 06. madden 06, is just madden 05 with one new thing added on there. i can't play this game, i will not play this game, i will never buy any madden games. all of you out there, go and get ESPN 2k5, and play on line on xbox, you will play the day and night away. Expand
  50. ChrisH.
    Sep 6, 2005
    7
    I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all I think the passing cone is a bad idea. It's true that it makes the game more realistic, but remember: this is a video game. Video games are supposed to be fun, and somewhere you have to draw the line between realism and fun. The passing cone crosses that line. Defenses are just as quick as they were in previous editions, only now your offense goes at half the speed because of all the checks you have to perform before you can throw the ball. EA was also pretty sloppy with this game. On draw plays, your quarterback's cone stay fixed in the middle of the field, instead of following the primary receiver like it usually does, making it easy to snuff out draws. This can be fixed by choosing a receiver to watch before the snap, but it just illustrates how much less attention they paid creating Madden NFL 06 now that they don't have competition from Sega's ESPN NFL series. If you need a football game this year, go with NCAA Football 06. Expand
  51. RobbyEllis
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    Anyone who likes football will love this game. If you don't know how to play it, that's your problem!
  52. LJH.
    Feb 13, 2009
    5
    I love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming theI love the Madden franchise but this game really pissed me off. I cant believe that no-one is having the same problem as me where, if you throw to a receiver (yes IN the vision cone) the ball goes much slower, higher and weaker than ever before. Even bullet passes are extremely slow and weak, and resemble the lob passes of previous years. What the hell is up with that? I'm jamming the button trying to bullet the ball to a receiver on a hitch route, and the quarterback leisurely lobs the ball to him, with the result of very frequent interceptions. EA have screwed up on this one. Expand
  53. RonnieM.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Great game...
  54. RickSantos
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    Different year same old Madden yo. Not worth the money this year. The graphics are still bad, and its the same game as last year with the unoriginal and uninspired superstar mode. Do yourself a favor and wait and save for Madden on the 360 for all the game engine improvements.
  55. Donkay
    Aug 11, 2005
    10
    So Complex & So Addicting. For all you complainers that the QB Vision is too hard to learn, etc. you need to go back to playing Atari. Superstar mode is the best new feature and really lets you grow with your player. Best sports game this year by far. I've only slept 5 hours in the first 2 days since I've got this game!
  56. AaronN.
    Aug 11, 2005
    9
    Superb. Vision and precision passing changes the fundamental nature of the game for the better, but you aren't forced to use it if you don't want to. Run blocking is much improved, guards actually pull on outside runs and wedge open holes on the inside stuff. The playbooks are joy to behold, and the sheer number of pre-snap options available is staggering. Only the continued Superb. Vision and precision passing changes the fundamental nature of the game for the better, but you aren't forced to use it if you don't want to. Run blocking is much improved, guards actually pull on outside runs and wedge open holes on the inside stuff. The playbooks are joy to behold, and the sheer number of pre-snap options available is staggering. Only the continued poor punt blocking AI, and the general sameness of franchise mode, prevented me from giving this game a perfect score. Best. Madden. Ever! Expand
  57. Dean.L
    Aug 11, 2005
    6
    A disappointment, indeed. The core elements of this game have remained unchanged for years - the less-than-realistic ball physics, the dopey player animations, that grating John Madden voice, etc. With Sega's competitive influence gone (not to mention their better game), I fear mediocrity is all we have to look forward to. If EA gets exclusive rights for the NHL, I'm giving up A disappointment, indeed. The core elements of this game have remained unchanged for years - the less-than-realistic ball physics, the dopey player animations, that grating John Madden voice, etc. With Sega's competitive influence gone (not to mention their better game), I fear mediocrity is all we have to look forward to. If EA gets exclusive rights for the NHL, I'm giving up video games...forever. Expand
  58. JohnMartin
    Aug 12, 2005
    1
    I've been really disappointed in this version. The core game is the same as the last two versions. The new Superstar mode is kind of cute but was board of it by the 4th week of the first season. Too many practices and not enough action. The only saving grace of the new passing controls is that you can turn them off. But my biggest gripe is the create a playbook and create a team.I've been really disappointed in this version. The core game is the same as the last two versions. The new Superstar mode is kind of cute but was board of it by the 4th week of the first season. Too many practices and not enough action. The only saving grace of the new passing controls is that you can turn them off. But my biggest gripe is the create a playbook and create a team. They haven't been improved since they were first added and this year you can't even use created playbooks in franchise or superstar modes. I own every Madden game in the series but I'm sorry to say that this will be my last unless EA sports makes some major improvements in giving the players to freedom to create what they want and use it in any mode they want. Don't waste your money on this game. I'm wishing I could get mine back! Expand
  59. MaxwellB.
    Aug 14, 2005
    5
    It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT It is sad that THIS is the only football game for QUITE some time. "With no competition, why improve?" must be EA's new motto. Everything from lack of game engine update, silly ingame tackle/movement animations, bad GUI, and a bizarre, unrealistic player ratings system. Believe me, I'm a Cowboys fan, and I'd love to say Terence Newman is an 85 corner, but IT'S JUST NOT TRUE. Maybe not even 75. THe year of the QB... yeah, right. Expand
  60. TedM.
    Aug 18, 2005
    5
    I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with I was pretty disappointed in this game becuase of the lack of additions to franchise mode as well as some bugs/issues returning from last year. Superstar mode is just fluff to me so it isn't interesting. The vision cone and truck stick are the only core gameplay additions and while nice they aren't revolutionary in my opinion. I give this game a 5 because im dissapointed with the additions this year or lack thereof, but it is still madden so it gets an average rating. I do not recommend this game for casual gamers who already have Madden 05, only to those who have been away from Madden for a few years or are new to the franchise. I still like ESPN 2k5 better on the xbox. Expand
  61. SeanO.
    Aug 19, 2005
    6
    Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if Madden 06 is pretty disappointing if you ask me. I loved ESPN 2k5 last year but Im not going to be the typical person trashing Madden this year because of the whole NFL liscense thing. I play the football games for the online experience.. comp AI can only be so satisfying. Madden 06 does at sorting the good gamers from the cheese-happy ones online. The vision cone does become a pain if you play as a QB not named Favre or Manning (not talking about Eli here).. as you basically have to make your primary receiver the only person to throw to without getting sacked. I guess that was the point though in creating it, get people off of playing as Vick or Culpepper. Running the ball was yes somewhat improved to where you can break off a big run but the phantom tackles by the DT's when they are cleary sealed off yet somehow warp through their blocker and tackle you does become a pain. Deep jumpballs are a pain.. they seem to be coinflips no matter who the WR is and who the DB is. But the biggest gripe I have with the pass defense is the lack of "inside-outside coverage".. In ESPN 2k5 last year, if someone was throwing fades and sideline patterns the whole time you could have your DB's position themselves to cover it.. in Madden 06 it is way to frustrating to get a DB to remotely come close to stopping the sideline pattern. The game itself looks somewhat good.. the graphics themselves are nice looking.. stadiums look amazing.. but the physics of the game still look just bad and stiff compared to what ESPN 2k5 looked like. All EA sports games come off as stiff though.. still movements that make you feel uncomfortable even. The best sports graphics Ive seen in a sports game has been from MLB 2006 with their branch-point technology.. lets see that in a football game sometime. Overall the game is playable.. not worth 50 bills by any means.. Superstar mode is a joke and boring... but online is allright. So buy it if you only want to play online... or against a roomate on a drunken night. Expand
  62. MichaelW
    Jan 31, 2006
    7
    Great offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd giveGreat offline play, love all the changes, wish certain things like the hit stick and truck stick were a little more responsive, have tried with many controllers, still the same thing, but once you hit online, it sucks, there are so many bugs out there it isn't funny, esp the hurry up bug where people pull you offside if you call for a no huddle, fix the online play, and i'd give it a 10, bc offline is freakin sweet Expand
  63. MattS.
    Nov 13, 2005
    10
    This game is perfect there are no flaws except for in superstar mode which no1 pays neways ...
  64. jakehaynes
    Nov 22, 2005
    4
    I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a I think everything in this game is fine except 1 thing, hellooo, the vision cone. I loved Madden 05 and was ranked in the top 1000 last year online (xbox) and I dont really play this one. I just dont likew the vision cone. I think defense is a little sloppy and im not a big fan of the truck stick (or the hit stick) but besides that everything is fine, its just the vision cone ruins a great game. They are trying to hard to make big changes. THe best Madden was 04. Just a real straight forward game, nothing crazy. DOnt get me worng, i want them to keep improving the game, but in postive and more fun ways. Everyone is talking about realism, but what fun VIDEO GAME is truely realistic. Halo, no. SUper Smash Bros. , no. If you want to make madden truely realistic, So all you REALISM talkers need to chill and think about this vision cone thing. Doesnt really add anything to the game except makes it harder and less fun. I have the best idea for Madden 07. EA always has themes for each game about how they made it better. Make 07 the year of the online play. Spend most of your efforts making the online play better. More organized leagues and whatever else. Take opff vision cone and lets get to it. Peace. Collapse
  65. RyanB.
    Nov 29, 2005
    9
    Greatest football series of all time. I will continue to buy this game the day it comes out every single year, even if they lose the exclusive NFL rights. I would have gave it a "10", but I couldn't use the playbook I spent an hour and a half creating.. Anyhow, I got used to that, and adopted a playbook from the list. The truck stick rules! Oh, yeah, and when your guys only block on Greatest football series of all time. I will continue to buy this game the day it comes out every single year, even if they lose the exclusive NFL rights. I would have gave it a "10", but I couldn't use the playbook I spent an hour and a half creating.. Anyhow, I got used to that, and adopted a playbook from the list. The truck stick rules! Oh, yeah, and when your guys only block on punt returns like, one out of ten punts, it's kinda cheezy. My punt returner only had 12 returns last season, all the rest were fair catches (for an average of 5.2 yds, too.. sheesh). I play on All-Madden, so I didnt notice my defense picking off an inordinate amount of passes, maybe 2-3 a game. But I was able to rack up a ridiculous amount of sacks (38) with my cornerback on the Fire Blitz out of the Quarter, so I guess some things could be changed. Every other year before this one, I would have gave the game a 10. Please fix the bugs, EA!! I love my Madden! Expand
  66. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I couldn't find the original xbox version of this game on metacritic but thats what I had madden 06 on, and it was a really fun game. Very addicting.
  67. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    Still the same old Madden that we have all come to love and enjoy. The introduction of the hitstick was nice but felt a little overpowering, I couldn't be stopped with that thing.
  68. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    The thing you've probably heard of the most is QB Vision which really makes the game more realistic. In the NFL a QB can't be looking one way...pass in the opposite direction and expect to land a 50yd completion. It's not hard...you just press two buttons to throw to the guy you want to and you can lead the pass, throw it high, low, or behind the guy. Plus, you can turn it off if you don'tThe thing you've probably heard of the most is QB Vision which really makes the game more realistic. In the NFL a QB can't be looking one way...pass in the opposite direction and expect to land a 50yd completion. It's not hard...you just press two buttons to throw to the guy you want to and you can lead the pass, throw it high, low, or behind the guy. Plus, you can turn it off if you don't enjoy using it(if you use the tutorial you'll get the hang of it). Expand
  69. Oct 3, 2015
    7
    Buen juego , a pesar de mi poco conocimiento que tengo del futbol americano (NFL) en pocos partido ya controlaba como se jugaba y despu├ęs de esto me gustaba mas el juego . muy buen juego entretenido que a un lo conservo .

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. PSM Magazine
    90
    But the real highlights in Madden 06 are on the field. For starters, the new "QB Vision" feature is simply fantastic. Even for long-time Madden fans, the ability to focus the quarterback's attention on certain receivers or parts of the field adds a ton to the gameplay. [Sept 2005]
  2. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  3. The other big addition offers a nice contrast to the traditional franchise mode, which returns as fully featured and deep as ever. In NFL superstar mode, instead of focusing on the fortunes of one team, you follow the career of a character you create (or import from "NFL Street 2" or "NCAA Football 06"). [Sept 2005]