Madden NFL 07 PlayStation 2

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeB.
    Sep 3, 2006
    0
    Bring back ESPN NFL 2K! Oh yeah that's right...EA Sports bought the rights to everything in the NFL. We only had to plunk down $20. Madden lost serious money the last year that game came out. I'm still enjoying 2K5...so you guys at EA are out $50 from this football fan. Boycott Madden!
  2. DerekG.
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    Once again it impresses with new features and solid all-around performance. Although graphics are the same and and franchise mode is the same except for draft stuff. NFL Superstar: Hall of Fame Mode is a very inticing mode in Madden. Unlike last year's version, you actually feel like you're the player because of the new camera angles. Now, you actually have the focus on you and Once again it impresses with new features and solid all-around performance. Although graphics are the same and and franchise mode is the same except for draft stuff. NFL Superstar: Hall of Fame Mode is a very inticing mode in Madden. Unlike last year's version, you actually feel like you're the player because of the new camera angles. Now, you actually have the focus on you and you alone. Plus, if you're say an offensive player, now you don't have to play D, which is awesome. Plus, not having to worry about calling plays makes it feel more like you're a WR, Rb, because they don;'t call the plays. Not getting the ball all the time is also more realistic. You have to make plays and get open on your own. So overall, Madden NFL 07 is another great entry into the long-running Madden football series. Expand
  3. KyleM.
    Aug 23, 2006
    8
    Not a lot of changes from 2006 to 2007, but that's not a bad thing. As one reviewer put it, it's worth it just to get the new rosters and play as Reggie Bush. Leadblocker is a welcomed change of pace on offense and can make a difference in busting long runs. Wish they would have improved the online, it seems sluggish. IGN is right, the PS2 and Madden are starting to show their Not a lot of changes from 2006 to 2007, but that's not a bad thing. As one reviewer put it, it's worth it just to get the new rosters and play as Reggie Bush. Leadblocker is a welcomed change of pace on offense and can make a difference in busting long runs. Wish they would have improved the online, it seems sluggish. IGN is right, the PS2 and Madden are starting to show their ages, but a solid purchase for any sports fan wanting to hit the sticks. Expand
  4. TJL.
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    Superstar mode is the best part of this game, but the graphics have changed much since 2004! Its still a great game!
  5. M.Lee
    Aug 22, 2006
    9
    This game is off the HOOK! Every year I think they can't do any more, they exceed my expectations. The blocking idea was a good idea, but I can't seem to find a good use for it, yet. But, the rest of the game more than makes up for it. The animations, and the breaking tackles more than fit the bill. And, when you figure out that the A.I. make at-the-line adjustments to your This game is off the HOOK! Every year I think they can't do any more, they exceed my expectations. The blocking idea was a good idea, but I can't seem to find a good use for it, yet. But, the rest of the game more than makes up for it. The animations, and the breaking tackles more than fit the bill. And, when you figure out that the A.I. make at-the-line adjustments to your defenses, it caps the game as a great one! Expand
  6. Horse
    Aug 24, 2006
    8
    Wish I could give it 8.5. Ah well..... Two things I wanted changed from last year - more realistic pass blocking and better use of vision cone - have more or less been fixed. That alone makes the game far more playable and enjoyable than 06. There's actually a realistic feel to the pocket now, which really was lacking the last few years. No one gets sacked 12 times every game. The Wish I could give it 8.5. Ah well..... Two things I wanted changed from last year - more realistic pass blocking and better use of vision cone - have more or less been fixed. That alone makes the game far more playable and enjoyable than 06. There's actually a realistic feel to the pocket now, which really was lacking the last few years. No one gets sacked 12 times every game. The option to bring up the vision cone is a huge plus. Overall the gameplay seems a lot more realistic in terms of the flow of the games. I don't care much about the superstar mode and the other bells and whistles outside of the franchise mode. And the franchise mode is a lot better - they cut down on some of the nonsense cuts that computer-controlled teams make and the rookie scouting is much improved. It's definitely a game that's getting old, but then again so is the PS2. What do you expect? There are plenty of concepts to build on for the next-gen systems. Expand
  7. BobT.
    Aug 24, 2006
    0
    They've repackaged the same game for the last time in my mind. This game should be called Madden 01.
  8. SteveB.
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    Gr8 game - 10 if they let you make the regular season schedule blocking is not special.
  9. WilliamB.
    Jun 21, 2007
    8
    It could be a 10 but the poor fantasy draft mode where position runs make it easy to plan who to draft when. Also they need to add a hall of fame for the franchise mode.
  10. JoeH.
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    New lead block controls are too much in the gameplay. Otherwise the game is funner than ever! Graphics are slightly better and the new superstar mode improved a lot! Madden steped up after buying out all other football franchises.
  11. Ben
    Oct 27, 2006
    7
    Madden 07 is just like 06. It's all the same except for maybe some of the different analog moves you can make with RB's or OL. The QB cone needs to go, but keep the precision passing option with leading the receiver or throwing it high or low. The cone is too much to use when trying to look around and making sure you have the cone on your man, and looking down at the pass rush.
  12. FedUp
    Aug 23, 2006
    3
    It's good to see Gamespot, IGN, and 1UP are calling EA's bluff. This game is the SAME. New features? I guess. I'd call them new "gimmicks". This isn't better football, this is more distractive football. Slight of hand tricks stopped working on me in 2004. I hope someone in the video game world steps up to the challenge and says Madden you stink! You have gotten fat and It's good to see Gamespot, IGN, and 1UP are calling EA's bluff. This game is the SAME. New features? I guess. I'd call them new "gimmicks". This isn't better football, this is more distractive football. Slight of hand tricks stopped working on me in 2004. I hope someone in the video game world steps up to the challenge and says Madden you stink! You have gotten fat and complacent...it's time for the rookies to come in and revolutionalize this tired genre. Expand
  13. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    EA Sports is ruining every franchise sports wise. Madden is one of the best examples. The best madden is about the 2003. From then on it got worst. Espn 2K5 had so much more to offer. In Madden 2012 it allowed the user to have the coach pick a play and have the user try to execute it. 2K5 had this feature and it was made more than half a decade sooner. The last madden i have ever boughtEA Sports is ruining every franchise sports wise. Madden is one of the best examples. The best madden is about the 2003. From then on it got worst. Espn 2K5 had so much more to offer. In Madden 2012 it allowed the user to have the coach pick a play and have the user try to execute it. 2K5 had this feature and it was made more than half a decade sooner. The last madden i have ever bought was m 06. It was awful. I Broke it in half. If you have a ps2 still try 2k5. The game play is addicting. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    It's the one I started my NFL gaming life with, and it's the first time knowing about football. Classic. New lead-blocking controls, NFL Superstar mode! what more can you ask for?!
  15. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    Hitstick feels nice and is still effective. Madden is still a good game. Don't know what else to say because basically the same. Not saying that its bad though.
  16. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    Madden '07 is such a good game, it has made me come back, begging for more every time I play it. The Superstar mode is very cool. It has options, such as enroll yourself in a movie, or be interviewed on how you think your team is going to do in the Super Bowl. The Franchise mode offers so much as well, from making the prices on hot dogs and hamburgers to watching tapes on rookie scouting.Madden '07 is such a good game, it has made me come back, begging for more every time I play it. The Superstar mode is very cool. It has options, such as enroll yourself in a movie, or be interviewed on how you think your team is going to do in the Super Bowl. The Franchise mode offers so much as well, from making the prices on hot dogs and hamburgers to watching tapes on rookie scouting. The game modes even present more options, from rushing attack and the two-minute drill to working and honing your football skills in mini-camp. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#30 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#65 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 83
    Considering that many of the gameplay features are extremely mild remixes of previously included gameplay options, this year’s Madden comes across as a solid title, but one that’s starting to show its age.
  2. EA's challenge is not to simplify their simulation or stop adding detail, but to integrate those features so well that players can simply marvel at how advanced the game has become. The Superstar revisions are a step in the right direction, since they allow players to focus on the entire game one player at a time, but otherwise that's just not the case.
  3. It’s so polished and refined. For the first time ever the series incorporates some of my favorite features from "NFL Street" (such as tapping the X button to escape a tackle). That function goes way back to the days of arcade sports titles like "NFL Blitz."