Madden NFL 2002 PlayStation 2

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 9 out of 44
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mikey
    Mar 3, 2002
    10
    Every year Madden gets better and better. The game play is excellent, and the Franchise Mode, with the Texans is just awesome. Culpepper to Moss can't be stopped.
  2. MichaelC.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    After playing every football game since "1st & 10" in the early 80's, Madden 2002 for PS2 is by far the best football game ever. A must-have.
  3. MichaelC.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    After playing every football game since "1st & 10" in the early 80's, Madden 2002 for PS2 is by far the best football game ever. A must-have.
  4. MichaelC.
    Aug 23, 2001
    10
    After playing every football game since "1st & 10" in the early 80's, Madden 2002 for PS2 is by far the best football game ever. A must-have.
  5. RickW.
    Aug 25, 2001
    9
    I love this game. I have played for 3 days now, and for a seasoned pro at Madden football, this one takes the cake!!
  6. BillR.
    Aug 25, 2001
    10
    This is absolutely THE best game I have ever seen. Unbelievable graphics and gameplay take this one to the top.
  7. T.W.
    Mar 6, 2002
    10
    I was a loyal Gameday holdout until I tried this. I can't stand Madden and Summeral, but this game is so close to controlling live action, it's amazing. I'd love to see them add a "design your own plays" feature, and beef up the closing speed for ceratin defensers... otherwise, it's as good as it gets!
  8. GabrielJ.
    Apr 5, 2002
    10
    Best game ever.
  9. PatrickH.
    Dec 1, 2001
    10
    The best football game I have ever played...bar-none.
  10. Ron
    Dec 5, 2001
    9
    Gameplay is awesome, better tackles, nice running game and pleasant passing!! Although, Madden never has a lot of plays to select and you cant make your own plays up!! But awesome game!
  11. LorenzoT.
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    EA, you did it again.
  12. DaleB.
    Aug 27, 2001
    10
    I bought this game recently and let me tell you this is the best PS2 Game to come out yet. Most Def. A best buy.
  13. Marshacaley
    Sep 12, 2001
    10
    Dis game is da best da** fball game eva, it rocks, the graphics are koo, the gameplay is great, the create-a-player is even better, this game can't be beat.
  14. AdamT.
    Jan 27, 2002
    10
    This game is by far the best, when the internet feature comes out for PS2 it will be unstoppable.
  15. MaxH.
    Nov 23, 2001
    10
    The graphics in this game are unbelievable. The gameplay is a bit harder than the last one, madden 2001, but I look at it as a challenge. The game has a unique training mode and excellant game modes that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
  16. RyanF.
    Dec 1, 2001
    10
    The stuff.
  17. AShook
    Dec 3, 2001
    10
    It's the SHIZZY my NIZZY.
  18. BrianC.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    I've never played a FB game that is better than "Tecmo Bowl" for the old skool og Nintendo, until now.
  19. WesB.
    Aug 17, 2002
    10
    Dude, this game kills. Maybe best game I ever played.
  20. PeterC.
    Dec 25, 2001
    9
    Great graphics, gameplay, commentary. A must have.

Awards & Rankings

6
33
#33 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. From player ratings, to defensive-back AI, to ball physics, they've made a lot of smart adjustments to the game that may go unnoticed by many gamers, but are a joy to discover for savvy football gamers.
  2. 100
    Once again, Madden leads the field in video game football, and as of right now, there’s no one near him in coverage.
  3. With the lone exception of the commentary, Madden 2002 represents a substantial upgrade from last year’s version and a worthy purchase for football fanatics everywhere, with beefed-up graphics and improved gameplay in several key areas.