User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 11 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesS.
    Aug 13, 2004
    6
    I'm a life long Madden but with the new stick movement im up by 40 points and the first quarter isnt even done. Whats worse is the game looks dated Compared to Espn 2k5. If your last madden game was 2002 then this is the game for you, If not save your money and go for the better product Espn 2k5.
  2. ImmortalStryfe
    Oct 26, 2004
    6
    See some other people are thinking along the same line as I am. Whatever little updates they have made to this game really hasn't made it that much better and so the overall score should be going down. The AI really doesn't adapt, it may take advantage of a gap once but really if it were trying to win why not do it all the time if it's still there. The plays are still See some other people are thinking along the same line as I am. Whatever little updates they have made to this game really hasn't made it that much better and so the overall score should be going down. The AI really doesn't adapt, it may take advantage of a gap once but really if it were trying to win why not do it all the time if it's still there. The plays are still static, why bother give a create a playbook option if you have to make the plays from some scripted options. Why if i make a formation (both D and O) and then flip it at the line everyone starts running all over the place, the safeties try to cross each other..... there are still too many little annoying things about this game that haven't been changed since the turn of the century.. come on madden do better. Expand
  3. BillD.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    Madden 2005 is the same boring game I played last year,(aside from some new bells and whistles)and it bored me last year too.NCAA 2005 has such an incredible run system(Alige Running System)why it wasn't included in this years Madden I don't know.ESPN Football does everthing Madden does(except for a few minor offensive adjustments) just a whole lot better!ESPN Football Is Madden 2005 is the same boring game I played last year,(aside from some new bells and whistles)and it bored me last year too.NCAA 2005 has such an incredible run system(Alige Running System)why it wasn't included in this years Madden I don't know.ESPN Football does everthing Madden does(except for a few minor offensive adjustments) just a whole lot better!ESPN Football Is better!The VIP system is an incrediblly innovative feature.(who cares about hotdog prices and sports radio chit chat,woo hoo).If your considering buying this game look around at reviews(not EA pocketed magazine reviews ,yes Gamepro I'm talking about you and EGM you too) but real reader reviews.EA needs to stop putting a new cover on an aging football game. Expand
  4. LiamS.
    Aug 19, 2004
    6
    The latest installment in the Madden line is quite impressive, but not without fault. I agree completely with another reviewer that skill level of players appears to mean nothing in this Madden version. A 99 rated Quarterback will appear to throw as many interceptions as a 55 rated QB. Not quite the realism I was hoping for. I also agree with the comments that the computer A.I. is not The latest installment in the Madden line is quite impressive, but not without fault. I agree completely with another reviewer that skill level of players appears to mean nothing in this Madden version. A 99 rated Quarterback will appear to throw as many interceptions as a 55 rated QB. Not quite the realism I was hoping for. I also agree with the comments that the computer A.I. is not very intelligent at picking up a play that works over and over again. Nonetheless, at higher levels, All-Pro or Madden, scores of 3-0 or 7-0 are commonplace. This is not rewarding football. In my view, the AI has been made better, without still being very smart, if that makes any sense. The franchise mode is the heart of this game and is improved from last year. The gameplay is solid, and the graphics just so-so. On the whole, not the wonderful game that I was anticipating... Expand
  5. Mattw.
    Aug 15, 2004
    7
    For those who call it realistic sure haven't thrown no look cross-body passes spot on 60 yards down the opposite end of the fiend with a sub-par QB. Yes, you can do this in madden with consistency. The deep ball seems to be as much as a problem as it has been in previous versions. Madden has a much more arcade like feel to it than 2k5. If you want something that resembles a For those who call it realistic sure haven't thrown no look cross-body passes spot on 60 yards down the opposite end of the fiend with a sub-par QB. Yes, you can do this in madden with consistency. The deep ball seems to be as much as a problem as it has been in previous versions. Madden has a much more arcade like feel to it than 2k5. If you want something that resembles a simulation more go with 2k5. Expand
  6. JasonC.
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    Madden is the greatest football game of all time. The game combines all the realism, excitement, and fun of an actual football game to give you the complete package....oh, wait, this isn't 2002. All those statements would be true if Madden had bothered to make any major changes in the past three years. Madden has been getting by on its name alone and this is the year that people will Madden is the greatest football game of all time. The game combines all the realism, excitement, and fun of an actual football game to give you the complete package....oh, wait, this isn't 2002. All those statements would be true if Madden had bothered to make any major changes in the past three years. Madden has been getting by on its name alone and this is the year that people will finally notice. That is, those people smart enough to spend the $20 to buy ESPN NFL 2k5. Once you play ESPN, you'll realize how unrealistic and boring Madden really is. Like an incredibly difficult and unrealistic running game? Buy Madden. Like a passing game that sometimes has you picking up 300 yards with a single reciever in one game? Buy Madden. Like scoring 50+ points in a game? Buy Madden. The realism of ESPN makes Madden come off looking arcade-like, a term that has never been applied to the Madden series before. Expand
  7. Joe
    May 15, 2005
    5
    I would have given the game a higher rating, but every year a new madden game comes out, the game stops working shortly. Im not the only one who has noticed this. This trick is done just so the company can sell next years madden game product. All i have to say is because of this reason im not going to ever buy another 50 dollar madden game with a time bomb on it. To the makers of theseI would have given the game a higher rating, but every year a new madden game comes out, the game stops working shortly. Im not the only one who has noticed this. This trick is done just so the company can sell next years madden game product. All i have to say is because of this reason im not going to ever buy another 50 dollar madden game with a time bomb on it. To the makers of these games and their sick ideas, go to hell, you will never get another penny from me. Expand
  8. Feb 25, 2015
    7
    This was the first Madden game that I ever played and certainly made me start getting into the NFL. Felt like real football during the time when I played this game. Ooooooh the memories!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. It still doesn't own the grahics category, but Madden controls better with that same great pace it's known to have. [Sept 2004, p.86]
  2. [Chris]: Madden just plays better than "ESPN." There. I said it. [Bryan]: No, Chris - It plays a LOT better. And and I'm not just talking about the improved defensive play (especially in the secondary) and, with a quick tap on the new Hit Stick, the bone-jarring tackles. It's how Madden replicates the style of play of actual NFL squads. [Sept 2004, p.94]
  3. 56
    Sure, the series succeeds in the atmosphere department, but atmosphere is more needed for the spectators than the guys playing the game. Madden, to me, is a warm, fluffy roll without the hamburger. Yo EA, where’s the beef?