Manhunt PlayStation 2

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 145
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MiguelL.
    Mar 6, 2004
    5
    Well..... it is gory that's good it's creepy thats also good but it is so DAMN LAME kill here kill there THAT IS ALL YOU"VE GOT TO DO and that SUCKS!!!!!
  2. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    6
    It starts with a lot of premise. Interesting setting, story , characters , controls and mechanics. Creates a scary atmosphere and you get prepared for a horror stealth action adventure. Then everything becomes dissapointing. The plot unexisted, the characters remain flat and the gameplay gets very repetive and frustrating. The graphics are good and the sound is very good. The presentation It starts with a lot of premise. Interesting setting, story , characters , controls and mechanics. Creates a scary atmosphere and you get prepared for a horror stealth action adventure. Then everything becomes dissapointing. The plot unexisted, the characters remain flat and the gameplay gets very repetive and frustrating. The graphics are good and the sound is very good. The presentation of the game could have been better. More extras and more easy unlockables would have good too. The violence gets repetive and so is the whole experience. There are better games outthere than this. Expand
  3. CecilP.
    Dec 5, 2003
    5
    Some thrills in this game, but the kills become repetitive very quickly. The controls are barely average and the save system was just frustrating. Decent rent, not a good buy.
  4. NinjaMafia
    Nov 25, 2003
    6
    A little note to Brian. People keep bashing this game because they don't like it. I'm not saying other people won't like it, I'm saying I don't like it. Anyway, Manhunt is about James Cash, sentenced for execution blah blah blah. You should know the story already, just read below. Anyway I'm going to make my point in gameplay. And yes, I am rewriting myA little note to Brian. People keep bashing this game because they don't like it. I'm not saying other people won't like it, I'm saying I don't like it. Anyway, Manhunt is about James Cash, sentenced for execution blah blah blah. You should know the story already, just read below. Anyway I'm going to make my point in gameplay. And yes, I am rewriting my review, if I could make this review not count I would but oh well. First, yes the enemies do respond to sound. I give them credit for that (also if you read below, the headset can also be a fundamental item in this game.). The game is very linear, kind of like Splinter Cell. Maybe that is why I didn't care much for Splinter Cell. I still liked it and all, but it had no replay value and the linearity killed it. I think stealth games shoulda atleast have some freedom. Take Tenchu or Metal Gear solid for instance. Both have open areas and more than one way to approach the problem, manhunt and splinter cell don't. ( Authors note: I'm talking about MGS not MGS2, I didn't terribly like that stealth game either). I'm not saying that manhunt is a boring game. I just ound myself trying to complete it rather than just play it. The game had me hooked for the first half, hell maybe even first three fourths of the game, but towards the end, I was dragging myself through. Extra levels were fun for a while. However, does Rockstar really think that adds alot of replay value? The other diffuculty actually did help the replay a bit. I did find myself trying to replay this game. Oh and about that getting gun half way through the game I do apologize. While you do get the nail gun at the fourth level, I didn't count it as much of a gun. I don't know why don't ask. I think I really meant a third of the way, seeing how there are 20 normal levels, plus four bonus. I even like the hardness of this game. Hell, it beats what most games call challenging these days The thing with this game is, if it were more open ended and had alot of replay value it would have definitely gotten my attention. However, I find myself getting tired of having to restart at an early point in the level and going through the same thing over and over again. I don't know why, I loved Shinobi, this game just didn't appeal to me too much. I just feel tried of watching blood squirt into video cameras placed around the city.Give me the blood squirting from actual real life ( I don';t know how to phrase what I'm trying to say) Let there be no blood to obstruct the stealth kill. I'm not sure, the more I talk about this game the more it would seem that I would like it but there it is, sitting necxt to my PS2 never going to be touched again until a rainy day a few years from now. The graphics, well, they still look horrible to me. I don't care if they did improve from GTA VC's models the thing is that GTA VC had really crappy models to begin with so improving them doesn't exactly mean high quality graphics. The enviroments still look blurry . I don't know, maybe I just didn't like this game as much as everyone else. I would suggest renting it atleast, This is just my opinionj. Everyone else seems to love it, maybe you will too. However, this game feels like a rental more than a buy, maybe that is why I'm pissed at this game. Expand
  5. NinjaMafia
    Nov 21, 2003
    6
    I doubt half of you guys even played this game. I mean, i mean "If you loved GTA 3 and VC then you will love this game", yeah, only no because this game is in no way like GTA3 or VC. Just because it was produced by the same people doesn't mean it is going to be great. Anyway, heres the game review. You are James Cash, death row inmate just executed. Only instead you are wisked away I doubt half of you guys even played this game. I mean, i mean "If you loved GTA 3 and VC then you will love this game", yeah, only no because this game is in no way like GTA3 or VC. Just because it was produced by the same people doesn't mean it is going to be great. Anyway, heres the game review. You are James Cash, death row inmate just executed. Only instead you are wisked away to a town where you are starring in a snuff film, all you have to do is kill tons of gang members extremely violently. The story may seem interesting at first but then it goes into a horrible story of predictability and no plot twists. The gameplay is where it really counts right? Well yeah but manhunt fails to deliver. All you do is hide in the shadows for ages until you walk slowly behind your enemy to get an attack which, at first is really rewarding with all the blood and whatnot, however, later in the game you really feel bored of doing it over and over again. I'm fine with stealth games, Tenchu, Splinter Cell, Metal Gear you name it, however. Manhunt is so very linear it is like you need to kill these guys, you don't have a choice. The game has a pretty bad stealth system so how about not going stealthy, huh yeah right. Every enemy can kill you so fast you won't have time to pull the trigger on your gun which you just got on your 7th hour of playing ( random number thown out there, I really don't remember when you first get the guns, but it is half way through the game). Okay now, on to sound. The voice acting in this game is incredible, however, no music (well very dull music) can really make you fall asleep sometimes. Oh yeah, if you have a headset, you can put it on and hear the directors voice through it. You can even yell in it to attract attention to guards, nice touch but not enough to save this game. The enemy AI is pretty bad at times. I mean it is all like "Hmm it is my dead comrade, oh well". and they walk off like they didn't see the dead body. Atleast get alerted for 30 seonds. Okay now on to the final but, graphics. I don't carew how graphics look in games but I'll do this anyway. The backgrounds in this game are pretty bland, noting t ogood, more bad than good though. The characters look like people from GTA. No matter what anyone says. The character models from GTA look horrible. I'm sorry, not horrible, but not good either. Overall, Manhunt is a lackluster game gainingfame from its creators. I'm not saying that you guys won't have a fun time with this game, hey, I even had fun for a few hours. However, The extreme linearity and boring, have to be in shadows and sneak at 2 miles per hour for the WHOLE GAME., agitated me to no end. Expand
  6. MatthieuR.
    Nov 23, 2003
    5
    What an utter disappointment. I was expecting a game high on tension and fear, but alas I find a cheap stealth/beat'em up game with mediocre graphics (the grainy texture is a cover-up for low-res textures) and poor control. After the experience that was Splinter Cell or the fun of Metal Gear, Manhunt feels like a re-tread. So what if Rockstar made this game? It has nothing to do with What an utter disappointment. I was expecting a game high on tension and fear, but alas I find a cheap stealth/beat'em up game with mediocre graphics (the grainy texture is a cover-up for low-res textures) and poor control. After the experience that was Splinter Cell or the fun of Metal Gear, Manhunt feels like a re-tread. So what if Rockstar made this game? It has nothing to do with GTA, and it's a mediocre game at best. Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    I admit that I never played Manhunt until the year 2013 when I anxiously downloaded it from psn. I have no problem with the violence or the blood, I actually find it entertaining but I do hate poor controls (a rockstar trademark during the ps2 era), I also despise the poor camera angles, lack of save points, lack of choice, and the dull graphics (even for the ps2, this is not good). I doI admit that I never played Manhunt until the year 2013 when I anxiously downloaded it from psn. I have no problem with the violence or the blood, I actually find it entertaining but I do hate poor controls (a rockstar trademark during the ps2 era), I also despise the poor camera angles, lack of save points, lack of choice, and the dull graphics (even for the ps2, this is not good). I do love the story and the premise of the game but unfortunately at some point you have to actually use the controller and that is when the game fails. Its different, its violent, and at first its exciting--if you can deal with its many, many problems. Expand
  8. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    This game is designed to be "shocking," uber-violent and do what no other game has done before. And with that it does succeed. But does that make it a good game? No. For the most part the story is nothing we haven't seen before in movies, the gameplay is really nothing more than a violent Splinter Cell or Metal Gear clone. General graphics in game are dull to look at and add very little toThis game is designed to be "shocking," uber-violent and do what no other game has done before. And with that it does succeed. But does that make it a good game? No. For the most part the story is nothing we haven't seen before in movies, the gameplay is really nothing more than a violent Splinter Cell or Metal Gear clone. General graphics in game are dull to look at and add very little to the atmosphere. However it does have some nice camera work/effects that fit nicely into the tone. Kill sequences are also done very well and are rather graphic. Overall: A game that perhaps relies too much on its own notoriety to sell itself. Those who are a bit squeamish or not use to this type of violence in the media are likely to enjoy it more. Those who have been numbed by years of violent media bombardment will just think it's OK. Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Polémico juegos de infiltración y asesinato que en su segunda parte fue inclusive censurado en Inglaterra ya que se consideró que exhibía conducta violenta innecesaria. Algunas de sus mecánicas son interesantes. Para echarle un ojo al primero o segundo como referencia histórica.
  10. May 11, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. wow this game. i enjoy it. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand

Awards & Rankings

81
9
#9 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
9
#9 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    An engrossing thrill ride. [19 Dec 2003, p.L2T 20]
  2. It is incredibly easy to screw up and get killed in this game, which sometimes forces you to repeat lengthy and difficult sections of each level. Thankfully, there are mid-stage save points that allow you to restart there instead of at the beginning of the level.
  3. The controls are responsive and worked well, both for the sneaking around aspect and the heads up melee fighting if you happen to get spotted.