User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 121
  2. Negative: 8 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CoryP.
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    Smash or trash time, and this game well deserves a perfect score. Sure there is better stealth games out there and better graphics and all that other special crap, but this game didn't need it to pull of a great experience. I love the fact that this game of very,very,very, few can pull off a well deserved mature rating ( I don't know how many other titles try to pull it off and Smash or trash time, and this game well deserves a perfect score. Sure there is better stealth games out there and better graphics and all that other special crap, but this game didn't need it to pull of a great experience. I love the fact that this game of very,very,very, few can pull off a well deserved mature rating ( I don't know how many other titles try to pull it off and fail to succeed). I am not a pyschopath, i know the difference between reality and virtual reality, but I believe there should be a sequel (pray to the almighty Rockstar) if not more games of its kind.... but again please let there be a sequel. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    Disturbing, scary, graphically violent. Rockstar North's urban horror game is a tense and taut spin on "The Most Dangerous Game". Players control James Earle Cash, an inmate who is busted out of prison by The Director; a mystery man who sees your every move. Once Cash escapes the prison facility, his journey home becomes a literal fight for survival. Armed with bladed weapons and firearms,Disturbing, scary, graphically violent. Rockstar North's urban horror game is a tense and taut spin on "The Most Dangerous Game". Players control James Earle Cash, an inmate who is busted out of prison by The Director; a mystery man who sees your every move. Once Cash escapes the prison facility, his journey home becomes a literal fight for survival. Armed with bladed weapons and firearms, Cash uses both stealth and full-out assaults as to fight off the creepy gangs who are out to kill him. The macrbe twist is that The Director aids Cash through an earpiece throughout the game. He directs Cash to his final destination, ordering him to kill as gruesomely as possible every step of the way. The disturbing aspect of the game is that it rewards you for doing so. You are encouraged to perform the most graphic killings to unlock challenge rooms. In movie terms, "Manhunt" is "The Running Man" meets "The Warriors" with a touch of "8MM". Gameplay-wise, it is very similar to "Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell" and "Hitman 2". This game features shooting segments, but it's very much a stealth game. The horror atmosphere is extremely thick with a synth musical score straight out of an 80's slasher flick. In a sense, "Manhunt" is a survival game as much as it is an action title. In fact, you'll probably creep out when you first get spotted by a crazed gang member.

    Rockstar North made three great "Grand Theft Auto" games for the PS2. This game is nowhere as grandiose as those mammoth titles. But it is an efficient and effective actioner that is truly creepy. 8.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  3. MiguelL.
    Mar 6, 2004
    5
    Well..... it is gory that's good it's creepy thats also good but it is so DAMN LAME kill here kill there THAT IS ALL YOU"VE GOT TO DO and that SUCKS!!!!!
  4. Scarecrow
    Jul 2, 2006
    6
    It starts with a lot of premise. Interesting setting, story , characters , controls and mechanics. Creates a scary atmosphere and you get prepared for a horror stealth action adventure. Then everything becomes dissapointing. The plot unexisted, the characters remain flat and the gameplay gets very repetive and frustrating. The graphics are good and the sound is very good. The presentation It starts with a lot of premise. Interesting setting, story , characters , controls and mechanics. Creates a scary atmosphere and you get prepared for a horror stealth action adventure. Then everything becomes dissapointing. The plot unexisted, the characters remain flat and the gameplay gets very repetive and frustrating. The graphics are good and the sound is very good. The presentation of the game could have been better. More extras and more easy unlockables would have good too. The violence gets repetive and so is the whole experience. There are better games outthere than this. Expand
  5. DaveW.
    Sep 8, 2007
    2
    I originally bought this game because I had so much of the hoo-ha surrounding it that I just felt I had to give it a go to see what all the fuss was about. And after having played it for a few days, I still couldn't tell. Yes, the game is (at times unnecessarily) gory, yes it's extremely violent, but unfortunately it's also not very good. The difference between the speed of I originally bought this game because I had so much of the hoo-ha surrounding it that I just felt I had to give it a go to see what all the fuss was about. And after having played it for a few days, I still couldn't tell. Yes, the game is (at times unnecessarily) gory, yes it's extremely violent, but unfortunately it's also not very good. The difference between the speed of Cash's walk and his run were too extreme, making any attempts at sneaking up then running away near impossible to accurately control. The stealth element, while pretty well executed, was let down by the slow pace of the game. Basically, this game is great for anyone who's going to find it funny or thrilling to stab a character in the neck with a crowbar. Anyone else should leave well alone, because this game just isn't strong enough in terms of gameplay to make anything other than a cheap shockfest. Expand
  6. HunajaakoT.
    Dec 16, 2003
    0
    This can't be game. This is trash. Everything has made with "let's make money with very, very bloody game". Game is cruel, and it is the worst game I remember.
  7. LehemäV.
    Dec 3, 2003
    2
    "This game is just brilliant!" Can't be true. This game just is very, very boring and graphics are weak.
  8. BenN.
    Feb 21, 2004
    2
    Too repetitive and short.
  9. MarcusB.
    Nov 28, 2003
    1
    Utter trash. Takes a great idea and --presto!-- turns it into crap. Weak graphics (let's face it, the PS2 is showing it's age), linear gameplay devoid of any variability, weak controls and the concomitant problems associated with a stealth game predicated on such a control scheme.
  10. KyleB.
    Sep 2, 2004
    10
    Perhaps one of the best stealth games in the entire genre, implementing some of the most interesting aspects of the complex games such as splinter cell, while allowing us more freedom of choice, or perhaps a total lack there of. The great thing about this game is that we don't have to put up with slapstick character releationships, or those darn annoying female/male love intrests. Perhaps one of the best stealth games in the entire genre, implementing some of the most interesting aspects of the complex games such as splinter cell, while allowing us more freedom of choice, or perhaps a total lack there of. The great thing about this game is that we don't have to put up with slapstick character releationships, or those darn annoying female/male love intrests. The game puts fate of 20 other peoples in your hand, while allowing you the freedom of the roman arena in your controller. Expand
  11. JamesA.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    This is just truly brilliant.
  12. DanielD.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    Rockstar Has Done it again !!!! This Game From the first screen has you locked in... the Graphics r great and the stroy line is to die for if you live GTA or GTA vice city this is one game you will have to add to your collection.
  13. JoeS.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This game is mint.
  14. chadsdads
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    chad why were u playing such games, why i oughtta... stab you with that butcher knife in our kitchen, you sick little shit, you need to be shot 100 times for playing this game i told u not to buy, and even if u were playing, why did u give it an "8" it shud have been a "10", u gay kid.
  15. Brandon
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    Brilliant. Brilliant stealth. Brilliant shooting. Brilliant acting. Extremely violent, makes GTA:VC look like Barney and friends. Not much of a story, but the deaths are just fun to watch and make you jump and squeem. The shooting is awsome, a few shots and your dead...exactly how every shooting game should be. You hide, and shoot, repeat, seems repetative but very pulse pounding. Brilliant. Brilliant stealth. Brilliant shooting. Brilliant acting. Extremely violent, makes GTA:VC look like Barney and friends. Not much of a story, but the deaths are just fun to watch and make you jump and squeem. The shooting is awsome, a few shots and your dead...exactly how every shooting game should be. You hide, and shoot, repeat, seems repetative but very pulse pounding. Strategy is the key here. One of the greatest games I have ever played. Don't miss out on it. However, if you are below 15, do not buy this game, dont warp your mind to this. Expand
  16. Neil"FROG"W
    May 3, 2005
    10
    What other game allows you to creep up behind some thug and murder them with a plastic bag. I mean. whatelse in a game do you want? haha.. Ok, now that might sound a bit belistic! But when you want a game of this quality which gives you a thrill and rush at the same time. You have to buy it! This game isnt just about killing killing killing. well its a major part but its all mainly about What other game allows you to creep up behind some thug and murder them with a plastic bag. I mean. whatelse in a game do you want? haha.. Ok, now that might sound a bit belistic! But when you want a game of this quality which gives you a thrill and rush at the same time. You have to buy it! This game isnt just about killing killing killing. well its a major part but its all mainly about staying alive! Go get it. anyway u can. Collapse
  17. DemonicAngel
    Apr 1, 2006
    8
    One of the most infamous games of recent years, many people judge Manhunt purely off the press coverage it has received, which is unfair, because once you get past the dark subject matter you'll uncover a challenging, involving and sometimes frightening game that relies as much on its intense, claustrophobic atmosphere and streamlined stealth gameplay as it does on its brutal One of the most infamous games of recent years, many people judge Manhunt purely off the press coverage it has received, which is unfair, because once you get past the dark subject matter you'll uncover a challenging, involving and sometimes frightening game that relies as much on its intense, claustrophobic atmosphere and streamlined stealth gameplay as it does on its brutal executions. Manhunt is very atmospheric, with enemies that act realistically within the confines of the game's mechanics, superb voice acting (especially Brian Cox, whose turn as twisted snuff director Lionel Starkweather is gleefully sadistic), run-down environments and not least of all a fantastic ambient musical score which reacts to your situation as you play. Recommended if you can handle the subject matter and challenge, but suggested as a rental first. Expand
  18. TheClaw
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    Gory atmospheric and the most violent game ever. very fun hiding and surviving highly disturbed but brilliant.
  19. Creamer
    Nov 24, 2003
    10
    Awesome gameplay, an amazing storyline, and real time graphics make this a superb must buy for any gamer with a shred of sadisitic sense. We're looking at a game that stands out with GTA3 and Metal Gear Solid, yet still adds its own inovation to a needy consumer world. Rockstar has done it again, anyone that owns a PS2 deserves a peek, even if you only rent it. Bravo Manhunt. Bravo.
  20. CecilP.
    Dec 5, 2003
    5
    Some thrills in this game, but the kills become repetitive very quickly. The controls are barely average and the save system was just frustrating. Decent rent, not a good buy.
  21. MichaelG.
    Dec 6, 2003
    10
    Absolutely fantastic gameplay ok graphics good but there should have been a easier difficulty because it is kinda hard also the special move are friggin good as hell lots of gore gotta luv it.
  22. TonyL.
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Starts slow - just gets better and better and better and better. Then after 15 hours gameplay it ends - and you feel alone - and scared.
  23. BradyT.
    Jan 5, 2004
    10
    This game is grand. It is amazing how much atmosphere was put into this game and the grainy video tape feeling to make you feel scared when you start playing for the first time. This game wouldnt even have needed all of the violence to be scary, but , Im being honest here, anybody who plays through the first part of it and doesn't quit must say they get enjoyment from seeing the This game is grand. It is amazing how much atmosphere was put into this game and the grainy video tape feeling to make you feel scared when you start playing for the first time. This game wouldnt even have needed all of the violence to be scary, but , Im being honest here, anybody who plays through the first part of it and doesn't quit must say they get enjoyment from seeing the worst kill each item does. Its fun to see in a sick sort of way. Some of the parts amaze me how violent they are. For anyone who has gotten to that part ill say one word-- Wire. But, really if violence is not in this game it would be boring and unimportant. But , if there is only one thing thats important about this game it is, Rockstar is obviously trying to see how far over the line they can go without getting caught. Actually this is so violent that everyone taht complained about Grand theft Auto before, will have completely forgotten about it, and put manhunt on the top of their complaining list. Expand
  24. AdrianR.
    Mar 11, 2004
    10
    This game is the best game i have played for years i think that the death are so realistic i thought that i was inside the game.P.s. Kill, Maim and Suffocate the F****rs
  25. AshL.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    This game is one of the best made to date its bloody and its tense all great quallities to make a good game p.s big ass supreamist bastards!! hunt them down and choke the f**kin life out of them!
  26. TomB.
    Mar 23, 2004
    9
    Manhunt is one hell of a gruesome game, its brilliant!
  27. MikeL.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    I got this game for the pc version and the graphics are wayyyyyyyy 10 times much better than on the ps2 or xbox...because my computer is on high quality, i got p4 3.2 and a awesome video card, radeon 9800 xt!!! 254 yeaaa babbay!!! clean graphics!! THIS GAME WAS OFF THE HOOK IT WAS ANOTHER INCREDIBLE GAME TO PLAY...i just like the gore...and it wasnt boring...never bored me...
  28. KyleBrown
    May 11, 2005
    10
    Alot of people complain about the simplicity of this game, although I found it to be a much needed release for the dazzling complexity of games such as Splinter Cell or Metal Gear. It throws the varying degrees of hidden in the shadows that you found in Splinter Cell. Where somehow you could find your self only Half hidden even though your unbelivibly well hidden in the shadow cast by aAlot of people complain about the simplicity of this game, although I found it to be a much needed release for the dazzling complexity of games such as Splinter Cell or Metal Gear. It throws the varying degrees of hidden in the shadows that you found in Splinter Cell. Where somehow you could find your self only Half hidden even though your unbelivibly well hidden in the shadow cast by a lamp post. Also the game dosent suffer from an annoying love interest such as Meryl, an annoying teenage daughter who seems to readily accept being held in some room with no windows in the CIA or other newly created Acronym from the world of tomorrow in Clancy land. The game has simple controls, simple plot that involves no incestous releationships or constant and predicitable plot twist. The games is a Black comedy and appeals our sadistic side with a charcter with abosolutely no redeeming what so ever, aside form his dashing looks and charming perosnality most people don't realize because of plastic bag on their head. Its simple is enertaining and offers what many games don't, Violence, evisceration and gobs of foul language. Expand
  29. JoeM.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    An incredibly atmospheric, gritty and bold masterpiece that every mature gamer should consider experiencing.
  30. JoeReviewer
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    Looks promising.
  31. JoeReviewer
    Nov 10, 2003
    10
    Looks promising.
  32. ZachM.
    Nov 15, 2003
    9
    This game looks thrilling. It looks like a cross between 2 movies, The Warriors and Surviving the Game. That right there makes me want to buy this game when it comes out!
  33. TomW.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    Cool! This game looks great!
  34. MarkC.
    Nov 19, 2003
    10
    This is the most intense game you will ever play. It's a brilliant concept that actually makes you feel as if you're being hunted in a snuff movie, like nothing I've ever played. Not for Kids, but for anyone over 18 it is well worth buying, becoause if you rent it you'll just scratch the surface - it's not easy.
  35. BrianL.
    Nov 24, 2003
    9
    I don't know why some people keep bashing this game. It is a solid stealth based game, and in my opinion is just as good as Splinter Cell as far as gameplay. The graphics are pretty good, and there is no slowdown that i have seen, which is probably why they don't look perfect. The character models are far better than those in Vice City, and they move much more fluidly. The I don't know why some people keep bashing this game. It is a solid stealth based game, and in my opinion is just as good as Splinter Cell as far as gameplay. The graphics are pretty good, and there is no slowdown that i have seen, which is probably why they don't look perfect. The character models are far better than those in Vice City, and they move much more fluidly. The gameplay is almost perfect, my only complaint is that the controls are a little difficult at first, but once you get used to them it isn't a problem. The enemies are smarter than those in the MGS series; they attack in groups when they see a dead body lying around, and respond to well to sound. The weapons are varied enough as well so the kills don't get repetitive, and the main character can hold types at any time. The sound is very good as well. Enemies make hilarious comments that are varied enough so it isn't repetitive, and there is brooding music that heightens when enemies are active. Guns are also used earlier than the middle of the game. You get a nail gun on the fourth level, and then two or three levels after that there are more available. There are two difficulty settings and secrets in the game too, such as extra levels. Anyone looking for a great stealth game and a good challenge should purchase this game. Expand
  36. NinjaMafia
    Nov 25, 2003
    6
    A little note to Brian. People keep bashing this game because they don't like it. I'm not saying other people won't like it, I'm saying I don't like it. Anyway, Manhunt is about James Cash, sentenced for execution blah blah blah. You should know the story already, just read below. Anyway I'm going to make my point in gameplay. And yes, I am rewriting myA little note to Brian. People keep bashing this game because they don't like it. I'm not saying other people won't like it, I'm saying I don't like it. Anyway, Manhunt is about James Cash, sentenced for execution blah blah blah. You should know the story already, just read below. Anyway I'm going to make my point in gameplay. And yes, I am rewriting my review, if I could make this review not count I would but oh well. First, yes the enemies do respond to sound. I give them credit for that (also if you read below, the headset can also be a fundamental item in this game.). The game is very linear, kind of like Splinter Cell. Maybe that is why I didn't care much for Splinter Cell. I still liked it and all, but it had no replay value and the linearity killed it. I think stealth games shoulda atleast have some freedom. Take Tenchu or Metal Gear solid for instance. Both have open areas and more than one way to approach the problem, manhunt and splinter cell don't. ( Authors note: I'm talking about MGS not MGS2, I didn't terribly like that stealth game either). I'm not saying that manhunt is a boring game. I just ound myself trying to complete it rather than just play it. The game had me hooked for the first half, hell maybe even first three fourths of the game, but towards the end, I was dragging myself through. Extra levels were fun for a while. However, does Rockstar really think that adds alot of replay value? The other diffuculty actually did help the replay a bit. I did find myself trying to replay this game. Oh and about that getting gun half way through the game I do apologize. While you do get the nail gun at the fourth level, I didn't count it as much of a gun. I don't know why don't ask. I think I really meant a third of the way, seeing how there are 20 normal levels, plus four bonus. I even like the hardness of this game. Hell, it beats what most games call challenging these days The thing with this game is, if it were more open ended and had alot of replay value it would have definitely gotten my attention. However, I find myself getting tired of having to restart at an early point in the level and going through the same thing over and over again. I don't know why, I loved Shinobi, this game just didn't appeal to me too much. I just feel tried of watching blood squirt into video cameras placed around the city.Give me the blood squirting from actual real life ( I don';t know how to phrase what I'm trying to say) Let there be no blood to obstruct the stealth kill. I'm not sure, the more I talk about this game the more it would seem that I would like it but there it is, sitting necxt to my PS2 never going to be touched again until a rainy day a few years from now. The graphics, well, they still look horrible to me. I don't care if they did improve from GTA VC's models the thing is that GTA VC had really crappy models to begin with so improving them doesn't exactly mean high quality graphics. The enviroments still look blurry . I don't know, maybe I just didn't like this game as much as everyone else. I would suggest renting it atleast, This is just my opinionj. Everyone else seems to love it, maybe you will too. However, this game feels like a rental more than a buy, maybe that is why I'm pissed at this game. Expand
  37. Kairow
    Dec 15, 2003
    9
    Why should you buy this game? Just to show the world an adult game can be well made and entertaining. GTA3 was fun, but this is scary.
  38. StuartK.
    Dec 18, 2003
    10
    This game... Well, It's just great. They took a game that is based on stealth and threw in a freaky plot, and twisted schemes.
  39. Zer0Maverick
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Fun as hell. I just love to hack someones head off with a machete, so sue me.
  40. Zer0Maverick
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Fun as hell. I just love to hack someones head off with a machete, so sue me.
  41. ChadS.
    Jan 16, 2004
    8
    F*ckin' awesome only prob is not much of a plot.
  42. Tony
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    This game could have been the most violent and distrubing game i have ever played but holy shit if it wasnt fun killing and watching the many kills in this game i love this game 10!
  43. JesseS.
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    One of the few great games by Rockstar outside of Grand Theft Auto. The graphics, first off, are done fairly well. The character models all look fairly nice, however, the environments can be pretty boring from time to time. The gameplay is amazing. Think of it as a stealth game, with a sick, disturbing twist. The controls are good, and aren't too hard to learn. Easily one of the most One of the few great games by Rockstar outside of Grand Theft Auto. The graphics, first off, are done fairly well. The character models all look fairly nice, however, the environments can be pretty boring from time to time. The gameplay is amazing. Think of it as a stealth game, with a sick, disturbing twist. The controls are good, and aren't too hard to learn. Easily one of the most disturbing video games ever devloped. An intense experience, but its not for everyone. Expand
  44. EdB.
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Awesome. Game play is killer. You sneak around and snuff out a bunch of low life losers who want to snuff you out first. They truly make you feel like they had it coming. Bottom line: if you dont like this game then your a WHIMP! People that mention the violence please shut up... violence...blah blah..violence...blah grow up you conservative babies ITS A GAME ..its not real. Repeat after Awesome. Game play is killer. You sneak around and snuff out a bunch of low life losers who want to snuff you out first. They truly make you feel like they had it coming. Bottom line: if you dont like this game then your a WHIMP! People that mention the violence please shut up... violence...blah blah..violence...blah grow up you conservative babies ITS A GAME ..its not real. Repeat after me ...its not real , its not real. Better? good now go see a psychologist and change your diper. Expand
  45. MikeA.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    WOW! this game is absolutely incredible. I received this game early through a Rockstar promoton in Toronto, and they have outdone themselves once again. The most atmospheric and intense game you will ever play, cinematics are great, graphics top-notch, sound...oooh the sound is amazing and most important the gameplay ROCKS!!! buy this game and don't play another game in your life. WOW! this game is absolutely incredible. I received this game early through a Rockstar promoton in Toronto, and they have outdone themselves once again. The most atmospheric and intense game you will ever play, cinematics are great, graphics top-notch, sound...oooh the sound is amazing and most important the gameplay ROCKS!!! buy this game and don't play another game in your life. BETTER THAN GTA!!! this game is the best game I ever played....I gotta go play some more!!!! Expand
  46. MikeA.
    Nov 16, 2003
    10
    WOW! this game is absolutely incredible. I received this game early through a Rockstar promoton in Toronto, and they have outdone themselves once again. The most atmospheric and intense game you will ever play, cinematics are great, graphics top-notch, sound...oooh the sound is amazing and most important the gameplay ROCKS!!! buy this game and don't play another game in your life. WOW! this game is absolutely incredible. I received this game early through a Rockstar promoton in Toronto, and they have outdone themselves once again. The most atmospheric and intense game you will ever play, cinematics are great, graphics top-notch, sound...oooh the sound is amazing and most important the gameplay ROCKS!!! buy this game and don't play another game in your life. BETTER THAN GTA!!! this game is the best game I ever played....I gotta go play some more!!!! Expand
  47. CantsayW.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome, a bit gruesome, but awsome. the gore is a bit extreme to see at first but after getting used to it, this game is all you'll be wanting to play!
  48. NinjaMafia
    Nov 21, 2003
    6
    I doubt half of you guys even played this game. I mean, i mean "If you loved GTA 3 and VC then you will love this game", yeah, only no because this game is in no way like GTA3 or VC. Just because it was produced by the same people doesn't mean it is going to be great. Anyway, heres the game review. You are James Cash, death row inmate just executed. Only instead you are wisked away I doubt half of you guys even played this game. I mean, i mean "If you loved GTA 3 and VC then you will love this game", yeah, only no because this game is in no way like GTA3 or VC. Just because it was produced by the same people doesn't mean it is going to be great. Anyway, heres the game review. You are James Cash, death row inmate just executed. Only instead you are wisked away to a town where you are starring in a snuff film, all you have to do is kill tons of gang members extremely violently. The story may seem interesting at first but then it goes into a horrible story of predictability and no plot twists. The gameplay is where it really counts right? Well yeah but manhunt fails to deliver. All you do is hide in the shadows for ages until you walk slowly behind your enemy to get an attack which, at first is really rewarding with all the blood and whatnot, however, later in the game you really feel bored of doing it over and over again. I'm fine with stealth games, Tenchu, Splinter Cell, Metal Gear you name it, however. Manhunt is so very linear it is like you need to kill these guys, you don't have a choice. The game has a pretty bad stealth system so how about not going stealthy, huh yeah right. Every enemy can kill you so fast you won't have time to pull the trigger on your gun which you just got on your 7th hour of playing ( random number thown out there, I really don't remember when you first get the guns, but it is half way through the game). Okay now, on to sound. The voice acting in this game is incredible, however, no music (well very dull music) can really make you fall asleep sometimes. Oh yeah, if you have a headset, you can put it on and hear the directors voice through it. You can even yell in it to attract attention to guards, nice touch but not enough to save this game. The enemy AI is pretty bad at times. I mean it is all like "Hmm it is my dead comrade, oh well". and they walk off like they didn't see the dead body. Atleast get alerted for 30 seonds. Okay now on to the final but, graphics. I don't carew how graphics look in games but I'll do this anyway. The backgrounds in this game are pretty bland, noting t ogood, more bad than good though. The characters look like people from GTA. No matter what anyone says. The character models from GTA look horrible. I'm sorry, not horrible, but not good either. Overall, Manhunt is a lackluster game gainingfame from its creators. I'm not saying that you guys won't have a fun time with this game, hey, I even had fun for a few hours. However, The extreme linearity and boring, have to be in shadows and sneak at 2 miles per hour for the WHOLE GAME., agitated me to no end. Expand
  49. MatthieuR.
    Nov 23, 2003
    5
    What an utter disappointment. I was expecting a game high on tension and fear, but alas I find a cheap stealth/beat'em up game with mediocre graphics (the grainy texture is a cover-up for low-res textures) and poor control. After the experience that was Splinter Cell or the fun of Metal Gear, Manhunt feels like a re-tread. So what if Rockstar made this game? It has nothing to do with What an utter disappointment. I was expecting a game high on tension and fear, but alas I find a cheap stealth/beat'em up game with mediocre graphics (the grainy texture is a cover-up for low-res textures) and poor control. After the experience that was Splinter Cell or the fun of Metal Gear, Manhunt feels like a re-tread. So what if Rockstar made this game? It has nothing to do with GTA, and it's a mediocre game at best. Expand
  50. PopularD.
    Dec 13, 2003
    10
    This has to be the best game so far. The story is superb, the graphics arent the best, but to tell you the truth, they fit in perfectly. controls are easy and the ending...well you can find out for yourself. A definite buy, but also one for the adults.
  51. KyleK.
    Dec 16, 2003
    9
    This game is a bloodthirsty wicked fun gruesome game. The hunters are heaps funny, controls easy and the graphics can't be excellent because they aren't going to get a crow bar through someone's neck perfect. Wicked game, not scary, just fun.
  52. PIRANHAg.
    Dec 26, 2003
    8
    Nice gore scenes... graphicx need improvement and not so linear mission.. but to some people that can hold the game´s violence it´s just great title.
  53. R.K.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    This game is great. A lot of weapons, very blooded.
  54. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    Building up to Manhunt's release in 2003 media focus centred solely on the games graphic violence and, while it is certainly rated 18 for a reason, this attention caused many to overlook just how good a game it actually was.

    The player takes on the role of James Earl Cash, a criminal sentenced to death for committing a series of heinous crimes. Instead of being put to death however he
    Building up to Manhunt's release in 2003 media focus centred solely on the games graphic violence and, while it is certainly rated 18 for a reason, this attention caused many to overlook just how good a game it actually was.

    The player takes on the role of James Earl Cash, a criminal sentenced to death for committing a series of heinous crimes. Instead of being put to death however he is given a second chance by someone known as "The Director". Waking in an isolated area of Carcer City Cash is instructed to murder the gang members that inhabit the streets and alleys in front of the hundreds of cameras set up to create his very own snuff film. Every level is even narrated by The Director who passes comments as to how well you are progressing.
    With little story to be told (aside from the final couple of levels) the focus is very much on the stealth based gameplay. What makes Manhunt different however is that Cash is very much the hunter rather than the hunted as is often the case in games such as Metal Gear or Splinter Cell. On the normal difficulty setting an on-screen radar provides information as to the enemies position and state of alert. The environment itself can be used to cause distractions and once approached enemies can be dispatched in a variety of ways depending on which weapon the player is holding. Be sure to strike quickly and quietly however as Manhunt can be an unforgiving games and it is easy to find yourself surrounded by shotgun wielding enemies in later levels.

    Each of the games twenty or so levels plays out in similar fashion but enough variety is added as the game progresses to help retain the players interest. One level for example sees your family members captured and being spotted even once results in their deaths whilst another tasks the player with accompanying a drunk man through a cemetery. Some of the later levels even see a shift to more gun based gameplay helping to pick up pace as the game reaches its climax.

    Manhunt may be violent and a little too slow for some but it is truly on the best games available on the Playstation 2 and at the price it can now be found for a must have game.
    Expand
  55. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Is it scary? Sure. Is it gory as hell? For the time, definitely. One thing it truly is, is one twisted and disturbing game. You literally play as a killer who, against his will, stars in what is the largest snuff film ever made. This game is 50% survival horror and 50% sadism, and what better than a soundtrack sounding somewhat like Ennio Morricone's music in John Carpenter's The Thing.Is it scary? Sure. Is it gory as hell? For the time, definitely. One thing it truly is, is one twisted and disturbing game. You literally play as a killer who, against his will, stars in what is the largest snuff film ever made. This game is 50% survival horror and 50% sadism, and what better than a soundtrack sounding somewhat like Ennio Morricone's music in John Carpenter's The Thing. Low synth-bass notes play constantly and when you get noticed by the insanely sadistic gang members who constantly hunt you down these notes get louder and intensify. This is one of the first survival horror games to use the element of sound to not only create atmosphere, but also to be apart of the survival aspect itself. Running causes hunters to hear you, banging against walls and fighting does the same thing. If you kick a shopping cart by accident or walk on gravel, noise is emitted. Really the game is brilliant, even if it is shockingly sadistic. It's unique and all survival horror fans should experience it all the way through at least once. Expand
  56. Jun 24, 2013
    5
    I admit that I never played Manhunt until the year 2013 when I anxiously downloaded it from psn. I have no problem with the violence or the blood, I actually find it entertaining but I do hate poor controls (a rockstar trademark during the ps2 era), I also despise the poor camera angles, lack of save points, lack of choice, and the dull graphics (even for the ps2, this is not good). I doI admit that I never played Manhunt until the year 2013 when I anxiously downloaded it from psn. I have no problem with the violence or the blood, I actually find it entertaining but I do hate poor controls (a rockstar trademark during the ps2 era), I also despise the poor camera angles, lack of save points, lack of choice, and the dull graphics (even for the ps2, this is not good). I do love the story and the premise of the game but unfortunately at some point you have to actually use the controller and that is when the game fails. Its different, its violent, and at first its exciting--if you can deal with its many, many problems. Expand
  57. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    This game is designed to be "shocking," uber-violent and do what no other game has done before. And with that it does succeed. But does that make it a good game? No. For the most part the story is nothing we haven't seen before in movies, the gameplay is really nothing more than a violent Splinter Cell or Metal Gear clone. General graphics in game are dull to look at and add very little toThis game is designed to be "shocking," uber-violent and do what no other game has done before. And with that it does succeed. But does that make it a good game? No. For the most part the story is nothing we haven't seen before in movies, the gameplay is really nothing more than a violent Splinter Cell or Metal Gear clone. General graphics in game are dull to look at and add very little to the atmosphere. However it does have some nice camera work/effects that fit nicely into the tone. Kill sequences are also done very well and are rather graphic. Overall: A game that perhaps relies too much on its own notoriety to sell itself. Those who are a bit squeamish or not use to this type of violence in the media are likely to enjoy it more. Those who have been numbed by years of violent media bombardment will just think it's OK. Expand
  58. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You are put into the shoes of convicted criminal James Cash. Sentenced to death (for a crime that is unknown to the player), his execution is staged, and rather than being put to death, he is simply given a sedative, and then abducted. Thus, he ends up in the clutches of a sick snuff film director, who intends to use James in his latest movie. Left in an abandoned part of city, with paid gangs hunting him down, James has no choice but to listen to his instructions given to him through an ear piece. He must survive by killing those that are hunting him, and remain hidden, whilst the director catches it all on film.

    Throughout the game, the whole point is to remain hidden from the gangs hunting you down, and then either creep past them without them seeing you, distract them, or creep up behind them and kill them. If you walk, rather than run, your footsteps are too quiet for the hunters to hear. If you run, they will hear you and investigate, similarly, if you bump into a trash can or walk on a noisy surface, then they will hear. The game is set at night, and so there are lots of dark shadowy areas to hide in. Once you are completely within a shadow, hunters will not be able to see you.

    The game is split up into scenes, and each scene involves a particular gang of hunters. Each of them has their own kind of dress code and way of speaking. You start off against The Hoods, who are basically just thugs in balaclavas. You later face a gang of racist skin heads, some lunatics, some ex-army nutcases and so on. Each gang uses different weapons, starting unarmed, then gradually getting more dangerous with knives, bats, and eventually guns.

    The hunters will actively search for you. They do not follow set paths as they look for you, unlike other stealth games. Some hunters in the game are reluctant to leave a certain post that they are defending, but 99% of the time, hunters will look anywhere for you. This means that you constantly have to be careful about what you're doing, and where you are.

    If a hunter is at long distance, and he catches a glimpse of you, he will just walk over and examine the area, he won't know that it's you instantly. Similarly, if you make a slight noise, he will check it out. If you are close by and he sees you, he will recognise you and chase you, and call any of his partners nearby. With this in mind, the best thing to do is wait in shadows, or out of sight, and wait for opportunities to strike, or to creep past. By tapping walls with your hand, you can lure hunters to your position, and then creep away, leaving them where you were. This becomes a basic tactic that you will continually use in order to get past hunters, or to lure them in to kill them.

    Once a hunter has been alerted and is chasing you, he will run as fast as he can, and so you must run away. You can decide to fight hunters face-to-face, but you will normally get defeated if they gang up, which they normally do. The best thing to do is to try and lose them. If you just run straight ahead down an alleyway or corridor, you will never lose them because they will be able to see you. You have to break the line of sight, by taking a corner. After you do this, the hunter will run to the junction or corner, and turn in the direction that he saw you take. But if by then you're hidden somewhere, he won't know where you went, so he will stop and search. Depending on what gang you are against, they will search for longer periods of time, and they can run faster and have a higher state of alert and awareness.

    Whilst you could try to get through the game by avoiding the hunters, your best bet is to try and take them down if they're in the way of progress. The best way to do this is by using stealth kills. The way this works is by targetting a hunter from behind, when they are unaware of you, then getting in range and then holding down the kill button. Then, when you release the kill button, James will perform the stealth kill, which the hunter cannot escape from. You must use a weapon in order to perform a stealth kill, James can't do it with his bare hands.

    Each weapon has three kills. While you hold down the kill button, the target around the hunter's head will turn from white to yellow to red. Thus, there are three levels of execution. The level 1 (white) executions tend to be instant kills, level 2 (yellow) involves a more brutal killing, and level 3 (red) will have James trying to inflict as much pain as he can whilst executing the hunter. The purpose of this is to satisfy the director, who insists that James makes his movie as brutal as he can. Ultimately, however, it is up to the player how James deals with the hunters, and you can choose to punish the hunters with level 3 executions if you feel like it; it allows you to vent your frustration especially if the hunter is badmouthing you, or has been difficult to stalk. On the other hand, you can give the hunters a break and kill them instantly
    Expand
  59. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    i wish i can go back to the same day this came out in 03. i still got the same magazine of game informer with manhunt gameplay pics. this was the main game we wanted out of the game books of 2003. still play one and two in 2013. these classics i hope, wont ever be forgot.
  60. May 24, 2014
    0
    Its a shame that this game even exist its just disgusting and crude murder simulator
    This is one of the reasons why Rockstar is terrible.

    I hate them.
  61. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Polémico juegos de infiltración y asesinato que en su segunda parte fue inclusive censurado en Inglaterra ya que se consideró que exhibía conducta violenta innecesaria. Algunas de sus mecánicas son interesantes. Para echarle un ojo al primero o segundo como referencia histórica.
  62. May 11, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. wow this game. i enjoy it. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47
  1. An engrossing thrill ride. [19 Dec 2003, p.L2T 20]
  2. It is incredibly easy to screw up and get killed in this game, which sometimes forces you to repeat lengthy and difficult sections of each level. Thankfully, there are mid-stage save points that allow you to restart there instead of at the beginning of the level.
  3. The controls are responsive and worked well, both for the sneaking around aspect and the heads up melee fighting if you happen to get spotted.