User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Number 1 was a succes and number 2 even better this slow action shooter is brilliant i mean fare enough Max Payne does look like Richard Hillman out of Coranation Street but hey this game is ace and the slow motion is alot better then that achieved in The Matrix game. Expand
  2. CodyBaker
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Give this game more love on the ps2. Sure, the pc & xbox versions were graphically superior but COME ON, no greatest hits? Well at least it made platinum hits, but still.....anybody who hasn't given this game the chance it deserves, GET IT NOW, PLAY IT NOW, LOVE IT LIKE THE ORIGINAL!!! Better than GTA 3, vice city, even GTA 4, believe it or not (not better than san andreas thoughGive this game more love on the ps2. Sure, the pc & xbox versions were graphically superior but COME ON, no greatest hits? Well at least it made platinum hits, but still.....anybody who hasn't given this game the chance it deserves, GET IT NOW, PLAY IT NOW, LOVE IT LIKE THE ORIGINAL!!! Better than GTA 3, vice city, even GTA 4, believe it or not (not better than san andreas though but still play it). Expand
  3. TuomasK.
    Apr 9, 2004
    8
    Not as bad as some critics say. yes it lags some places so bad, that you have to check is the bullettime on or off. But it excellent control system rocks! No autoaim, no autolock it is still joy to play (because I handle PS2 controller very well), maybe better than in PC! Loses points because long loading times and slowdowns.
  4. AshL.
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    This game is a 1st class shooter its got great control system and the cinematic scenes are amazing the song on the credits is.
  5. R.K.
    Feb 9, 2004
    8
    A lot of weapons, lags alot but overall worth the 50 bucks.
  6. RandalR.
    Dec 29, 2003
    10
    Number 1 was a succes and number 2 even better this slow action shooter is brilliant i mean fare enough Max Payne does look like Richard Hillman out of Coranation Street but hey this game is ace and the slow motion is alot better then that achieved in The Matrix game.
  7. MaxxPayne
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Wow the critics must hate the PS2... the load times are not the worst in the industry and the graphics ARE NOT HORRIBLE. Buy this game if u like great action and interesting story. This 10 is well deserved and the critics can bite my ***.
  8. LeifR.
    Dec 15, 2003
    8
    Great storyline long load times on ps2 real short game I'd rent and beat only takes about 15 hours but max is a pimp.
  9. MarkB.
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    This game is the dogs. i was gona get manhunt but i remember the first game so i got this. it looks the best.
  10. SpyerC.
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    I really enjoyed it.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. A recycled (and quite inept) PS2 interface plagued with technical shortcomings (slowdown galore!) that mirrors the prequel’s 2001 PS2 version makes this the console version of Max Payne 2 to avoid.
  2. A purchase is not recommended, however, due to the game’s short length and considerably degraded graphics and gameplay. After all, 50 smackers is a lot to invest in such a short-lived game, especially when it’s an inferior port of a PC title (largely the result of the PS2’s technical limitations).
  3. 72
    The atrocious frame rate and textures hurts the game play, almost making it at times unplayable. Max still has the charismatic way of dealing with his demons, which is dealing death with bitter coolness.