• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2002
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 92
    A magnificent game. It's a wonderful treat that will have you shouting at the TV in anger, cursing puny pigs wielding giant hammers of destruction, and jumping with excitement at having beaten a boss or a mere single level.
  2. Players who have just jumped on the video game bandwagon with the PlayStation may become frustrated with Maximo's detail-oriented gameplay and repetitive nature.
  3. One of the most difficult games that I have ever played. I honestly hadn't screamed a game so much since "Donkey Kong Country." And I loved every minute of it.
  4. The entire gameplay package evokes nostalgia, yet has enough advancements embedded in its coding to give it the high-end kick in the butt it needs to compete with today’s greatest releases. [Mar 2002, p.76]
  5. 90
    This is exceptional fun, tests the mettle of even the most hardened platform junkie, remains completely true to its roots, and delivers spectacularly in the graphics, combat, design, music, and most importantly, gameplay departments.
  6. 90
    The challenging action platformer fans have been waiting for, but it's not too tough for newcomers. Excellent. [March 2002, p.94]
  7. The cheap deaths and coin save feature make the solid gameplay tough to enjoy. But the package is attractive enough to fight through.
  8. When all is said and done, Maximo just doesn't provide any staying power. If you've got all four special kisses (you'll have to find out about that for yourself) and pass the game, you'll unlock the art gallery. But since when has art ever been a highlight?
  9. 80
    A perfect complement to Maximo's music is its sound effects. Everything from sword and shield clashes to more subtle ambient noises are excellent.
  10. It's sometimes the little details that are thrown in for the fun of it that really bring a game to the top of the stack, showing that those involved weren't just pumping out another game, but actually took the time to give it some personality.
  11. A true masterpiece...it holds you in its grasp from start to finish, and then you'll probably want to play it all over again. [Mar 2002, p.59]
  12. I don’t know what kind of smack the graphics are on, but they just pop out of the screen at an almost unbearable intensity; it’s a very cool effect. [Mar 2002, p.136]
  13. Comparing the game to "Jak & Daxter," the control is noticeably less intuitive.
  14. Featuring similar hack and slash gameplay, which has an uncanny knack of being addictive due to its frustrating nature, Maximo is a title that may appeal more to old-school gamers.
  15. Feels nearly perfect. Aside from the lazy camera, really, it’s as good as it gets.
  16. Ultimately, if you approach this with an open mind, you'll discover a well-designed and deeply engaging piece of software.
  17. When I took a break from playing, sat back and really thought about it, I realized that I really couldn’t care less if I never played this game again. And that’s just not right. [Mar 2002, p.104]
  18. Its frustrating gameplay could have easily become tiring, but they’ve got the balance just right to ensure you carry on playing, knowing that you can get that little bit further with a little bit of practise.
  19. It’s not only a sterling initial effort, but also one of the best overall examples of the genre we’ve ever played. [Feb 2002, p.32]
  20. A great mix of cutting audio/visual splendor with tried and true platforming game play.
  21. Fun but frustrating at the same time and only a few steps from being brilliant, Maximo is a must play.
  22. 80
    If you play platformers, you absolutely must buy this game. Meanwhile, watch as Maximo cuts the generic "jump and run" genre right in half.
  23. It’s all about action and reaction, which is almost becoming a dying breed as games move toward stealth, tactics, and exploration.
  24. It has everything a classic game should - good, inoffensive graphics, sturdy controls, and replayability - and it leaves a satisfying cramp in your fingers when you're done.
  25. Not everyone’s cup of vino, but a true toga party for fans of the franchise.
  26. Maintains a retro feel with plenty of humorous touches as well.
  27. Don't forget to bring your patience though because Maximo's poorly implemented camera system, semi-cheap enemy placement at the end of jumps, and save system may be the difference between you liking this game, and you hating this game.
  28. Ok, let me get this off my chest right away – Maximo is just too difficult, there, I said it!...but it was an enjoyable experience.
  29. 70
    I really don’t think I’ve been this disappointed with a game since the day I first laid eyes on "Black and White." I’ve been looking forward to this one for a very long time and I feel it in my heart that it should have been so much more.
  30. Ghosts to Glory is one of the most addicting, angering, exciting, and unforgiving-as-all-get-out (when jumping onto moving targets) games that I have ever played! There is never a dull moment.
  31. Controlling Max is a cinch, with responsive movement and a well thought out button configuration.
  32. Although unforgiving design elements detract a bit from the overall fun factor, Maximo remains an exceptionally enjoyable and well-made game.
  33. The reason why Maximo excels at what it does is because it simply aims to do one thing well – be a great action platformer.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. May 20, 2012
    8
    This hack and slash was so fun back in the day, and its high amount of difficulty and strategy required make you want to approach this gameThis hack and slash was so fun back in the day, and its high amount of difficulty and strategy required make you want to approach this game with caution. Full Review »
  2. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game is a classic. I can't remember the last time I've had this much fun. It's nice to have game that that executes platforming well.This game is a classic. I can't remember the last time I've had this much fun. It's nice to have game that that executes platforming well. Easily a must buy. Full Review »
  3. MateusC.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Wonderfull. Night Colors. Climax. All. Thanks Capcom.