• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobertB.
    Feb 7, 2002
    10
    I can't stop playing this game!! It's been years since I've enjoyed a platformer and this game is one of the best! Perfect control! Incredible graphics! Excellent music score! I could go on and on...! If you have any love for classic games and feel like they can't be done in 3D - give this game a try. They're going to have to pry it from my cold, cold hands!!!
  2. MateusC.
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    Wonderfull. Night Colors. Climax. All. Thanks Capcom.
  3. MattP.
    Feb 6, 2002
    10
    Outstanding gameplay combined with not overwelming but nice enough graphics, nice little bundle.
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This game is a classic. I can't remember the last time I've had this much fun. It's nice to have game that that executes platforming well. Easily a must buy.
  5. MattB.
    Feb 20, 2002
    9
    Wow! Talk about an addicting game. Where do I start? This is oldschool gameplay mixed with next gen graphics in a beautiful 3d world! This is just the type of game the gameworld needed after the rampage of last fall into Christmas. The gameplay is great! It is oldschool vamped into 3d. You have your double jump, your sword can do several different things (including shooting at people if Wow! Talk about an addicting game. Where do I start? This is oldschool gameplay mixed with next gen graphics in a beautiful 3d world! This is just the type of game the gameworld needed after the rampage of last fall into Christmas. The gameplay is great! It is oldschool vamped into 3d. You have your double jump, your sword can do several different things (including shooting at people if you get the right powerup), and you can even throw your shield! The story-line isn't anything earthshattering (ala FFX or MGS2), but it keeps you interested enough to care and laughing aloud at times. There are other quite humorous things in the game, too, like how maximo's boxer shorts keep changing as you move on in the game, or how he is turned into a crying baby at times. The guys at Capcom have scored big...it would be ashame if you passed this one up, but I have a feeling many will. Expand
  6. Hades
    Mar 3, 2003
    9
    Good old school fun. Nice graphics, however i felt that the first few levels (the graveyard area) looked the best and then that the later on ones were a bit lackluster in comparison to the beginning. Also, there aren't many extras to unlock in the game, a photo gallery and some other stuff. Good graphics, nice sound effects and music abound throughout the game however. The cinemas Good old school fun. Nice graphics, however i felt that the first few levels (the graveyard area) looked the best and then that the later on ones were a bit lackluster in comparison to the beginning. Also, there aren't many extras to unlock in the game, a photo gallery and some other stuff. Good graphics, nice sound effects and music abound throughout the game however. The cinemas are kinda goofy looking though, but thats okay. I think this game is worth a rental at LEAST it should be available for pretty cheap now though. Expand
  7. DanteSparda
    Apr 8, 2002
    9
    This game recovers what a lot of games have forgotten, FUN!. This is Oldschool fun. Most of games now base'em selves in complicated missions or, put you into explore a huge 3d world searchin' a goddamn' item. Well, like the programers said to EGM, if crash bandicoot is like goin' through a one way street, maximo is like a 6 lines highway. Conclusion, goddamn fun. The This game recovers what a lot of games have forgotten, FUN!. This is Oldschool fun. Most of games now base'em selves in complicated missions or, put you into explore a huge 3d world searchin' a goddamn' item. Well, like the programers said to EGM, if crash bandicoot is like goin' through a one way street, maximo is like a 6 lines highway. Conclusion, goddamn fun. The only reason i didn't give it a 10, is 'cause such score is reserved for masterpieces like metal gear solid or devil may cry. Expand
  8. FranF.
    Jan 9, 2003
    9
    Excellent game - a great 3D throwback to "Ghosts N' Goblins/Ghouls N' Ghosts" games. Probably the best platformer of 2002 and worthy of a sequel (and if the ending indicates anything, there will be...)
  9. KevinM.
    Nov 25, 2002
    9
    Totally fun, good graphics(for the type of game it is) reminiscent of Jak and Daxter (or is it the other way around?) Anyone who didn't like it probably either couldn't compete or didn't have any patience.
  10. May 20, 2012
    8
    This hack and slash was so fun back in the day, and its high amount of difficulty and strategy required make you want to approach this game with caution.
  11. Jan 23, 2013
    6
    A decent modern day adaptation of ghouls & Ghosts. Yet it just does not live to its heritage. However, I did like the humor and all the obvious nods to the original game. Overall: A decent game, but nothing to spectacular.
  12. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2002
    4
    Well not that good. It skinda cartoon. And its kinda dumb. Its worse than SCOOBY-DOO for PS2.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It has everything a classic game should - good, inoffensive graphics, sturdy controls, and replayability - and it leaves a satisfying cramp in your fingers when you're done.
  2. It’s all about action and reaction, which is almost becoming a dying breed as games move toward stealth, tactics, and exploration.
  3. Featuring similar hack and slash gameplay, which has an uncanny knack of being addictive due to its frustrating nature, Maximo is a title that may appeal more to old-school gamers.