User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 59
  2. Negative: 9 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HamiltonP.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    Best MOH since Frontline.
  2. DuaneL.
    Jun 16, 2005
    10
    Awesome game - great graphics and visual effects-rocking sound - crazy chaos and battle - huge open levels - and all on PS2. Great way to set the franchise up for next gen consoles.
  3. BenS.
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    MOH is back in a big way... time to get (code) crackin'!!!
  4. BillM.
    May 13, 2005
    10
    I saw the game @ a press event the other week. It is surprisingly good. So much better than Rising Sun. Kudos to EA for trying something different.
  5. EdwinM.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Looked and played great at E3.
  6. MikeJones
    May 27, 2005
    10
    So much fun...reinvents WW2
  7. Rebelgamer
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    Its basic Math!!! A+W+S+O+M+E = Awsome & Awsome = M.O.H. European Assault ?Any Questions?
  8. DanielV.D.
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    The best game in the whole world!!!
  9. MaxG.
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    The art of this game is very nice.
  10. ryane.
    Sep 2, 2005
    8
    Pretty cool game better then the others.
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Great game, really epic missions and story, and a quite aweswome soundtrack, a little unrealistic, such as killing tanks with grenades, but still quite exicting gameplay, graphics could use a little bump.
  12. ERB
    May 2, 2014
    8
    An old game that is gold. Medal Of Honor European Assault is surprisingly a very fun FPS game. The single player is fun with very unusual mission objectives like looking for secrets and killing the different bosses per mission. The graphics are not bad for a 2005 game and the shooter itself is very solid and very new like when you are in cover you can peek from your cover to see you enemyAn old game that is gold. Medal Of Honor European Assault is surprisingly a very fun FPS game. The single player is fun with very unusual mission objectives like looking for secrets and killing the different bosses per mission. The graphics are not bad for a 2005 game and the shooter itself is very solid and very new like when you are in cover you can peek from your cover to see you enemy without standing to see unlike in Call Of Duty And Battlefield. But the problem in this game is the total length in the single player. Finishing the whole single player will only take like maybe 2-3 hours and the whole story in this game is bad and forgettable but the boss battles here in this game is actually not bad in my opinion and it is actually the only thing i like in the single player. The best that the game can give you is the multiplayer. The multiplayer in Medal Of Honor is actually fun with Good maps and fun game modes. Which actually is very addicting and I played the multiplayer for like 20 hours.The game is actually good and a very classical Medal Of Honor Game. I give it an 8/10 For Medal Of Honor European Assault because of its Fun and satisfying Multiplayer experience. Expand
  13. MarcD.
    Jun 28, 2005
    7
    The PS2's graphical capabilities are showing their age. FPS games simply serve to highlight this growing problem. The rest of the game however, is very solid.
  14. Feb 25, 2012
    7
    The best Medal of Honor game I've played in a long time, but not the best FPS, despite being a few years old it still manages to be a fun time, the problem is that it is incredibly short, I beat it in one day, and after the campaign there is no multiplayer for it to fall back on, but it's fun while it lasts, the controls are great but I do recommend you turn of the vibrate function, andThe best Medal of Honor game I've played in a long time, but not the best FPS, despite being a few years old it still manages to be a fun time, the problem is that it is incredibly short, I beat it in one day, and after the campaign there is no multiplayer for it to fall back on, but it's fun while it lasts, the controls are great but I do recommend you turn of the vibrate function, and the sound is fantastic with an awesome soundtrack, powerful sounding guns, and great voice work, and has a surprisingly decent story backing it up, but the graphics are crappy, making it hard to pick off targets at a distance, and honestly I think Medal of Honor Frontline looked better, and the gameplay is awesome but can be frustrating at times, the cover system works fantastic most of the time, and there are side objectives to take that give you extra lives and medals, so European Assault is a good game, and a welcome addition to the Medal of Honor series, the problem is it's just way to short, and has some other annoying issues, but if you still have a PS2 and are looking for a good FPS or are a fan of the series I do recommend at least a rental. Expand
  15. MichaelK.
    Jul 7, 2005
    6
    Much closer in quality to Rising Sun than Frontline. Which is to say: Disappointing.
  16. Gamemaster
    Jun 8, 2005
    6
    Not much of a step up from Rising Sun, lots of tacked on gimmicks, Medal of Honor is suffering from sequelitis as the next installments are released they divert from actual basic good game play to more poorly less thought out gimmicky tacked on features, such as rallymode, squad controls, and "Wide Open Warfare", your getting the sequel to Rising Sun in this Game. A short below average Not much of a step up from Rising Sun, lots of tacked on gimmicks, Medal of Honor is suffering from sequelitis as the next installments are released they divert from actual basic good game play to more poorly less thought out gimmicky tacked on features, such as rallymode, squad controls, and "Wide Open Warfare", your getting the sequel to Rising Sun in this Game. A short below average run of the mill WWII shooter- rental material. Expand
  17. Tim
    Jul 19, 2005
    6
    Single player only has around 11 missions with no checkpoints. So it's very short and, at times, a bit frustrating in the later part of the final missions (since if you get killed then, you start over). Overall, it's fairly solid as a rental, but not worth buying, even after the price drops to $20.
  18. AlD.
    Jun 9, 2005
    5
    Well, first off, its a console shooter - i.e. clumsy and simple. It's so, so straight forward and invisible barriers are abound (Why can't i cross the river? Do I have to take the obviously trapladen bridge?) Second of all, why are the floks behind this mess of a franchise constantly trying to copy Call of Duty's gameplay and mechanics? CoD did it right, they did it twice Well, first off, its a console shooter - i.e. clumsy and simple. It's so, so straight forward and invisible barriers are abound (Why can't i cross the river? Do I have to take the obviously trapladen bridge?) Second of all, why are the floks behind this mess of a franchise constantly trying to copy Call of Duty's gameplay and mechanics? CoD did it right, they did it twice (game + expansion), and they did it before you... Pacific Assult was no good, Rising Sun was a piece of crap, and now this? Why, EA, why? You made MOH: Allied Assult and helped to change the FPS world! You cant follow it up? I would also like to add that the whole "Wide Open Warfare" and the sqaud commands are a joke. They don't have any real affect on game play (They don't listen and I am basically on rails...). Try again next year with a better gameplay engine, better team, and a better gaming platform (nah, theyll stay console, thats where the dimwitted masses play their recycled games)... Expand
  19. TrentS.
    Jul 16, 2005
    4
    Multiplayer is fun but u cant play a co op game like u can in rising sun on game cube n this is x box wtf
  20. RobB.
    Jun 25, 2005
    4
    Lame dated graphics, stale out of date gameplay, nothing to do once the levels have been completed. You've seen it all done better before, its hard to believe they still produce crappy games like this and from a developer like EA ! Don't waste your money, if you really want it wait a week and the "pre-owned" games bin in your local "Game" store will be overflowing with copies.
  21. ZackM.
    Jun 29, 2005
    3
    Just worth renting not buying, because you'll be tired of the game in a day or two!
  22. KathyV.
    Oct 30, 2005
    2
    Very uninspired.
  23. BillL.
    Aug 25, 2005
    2
    All i can say is it's crap crap crap, at leat spearhead you could play a game but this is the pit's it's so slow loading and re loading you feel like going for a walk in the park .and that would be fun than this crap.
  24. DannyC.
    Jan 26, 2006
    1
    This game is Crap. I would agree with all the other negative comments by other reviewers and add a few more. First off, the boundaries of objects are very very poorly defined for the gameplay. For example when you peek around a corner to shoot an enemy he may be able to hit you but when you fire at him you hit the wall of whatever your peeking around. also theres a board where you end up This game is Crap. I would agree with all the other negative comments by other reviewers and add a few more. First off, the boundaries of objects are very very poorly defined for the gameplay. For example when you peek around a corner to shoot an enemy he may be able to hit you but when you fire at him you hit the wall of whatever your peeking around. also theres a board where you end up firing a bazooka from a farmhouse roof. Several times even though I was standing all the way that the edge (and totally exposed to enemy fire) I still died when firing the bazooka because the game reacted as if I'd fired it into the wall directly in front of me. Also towards the end of the game, perhaps the last level, is the only time where the enemy troops change tactics from hiding behind objects and waiting to be killed by you.....and its really annoying. They suddenly swarm out in groups of like 12 at specific points...and you have to advance to where your totally exposed before you can trigger them to swarm out. Clearly this makes it tough to survive. Another thing that sucks is your alleged squad your in command of...they're soo damn annoying. They never do anything to actually help you and run away from you when you try to heal them. It seems like the creators of this game tried to add all this stuff without actually being willing to do it right. I've played and beaten like almost every WW2 shooter thats come out in the last 5 years and this one is by far the worst piece of crap Ive ever played. Expand
  25. StevenR.
    Jun 5, 2005
    0
    Crap. Just crap.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. 80
    The one major area where European Assault fails to deliver is on the multiplayer side of things. While there are plenty of cool gametypes, from old standards like Deathmatch to some interesting objective-based games, the only way you can play with friends is on a single TV.
  2. With European Assault, EA promised to fix all the errors of "Rising Sun" and reinvent the genre as a whole. A bit surprisingly, the game does almost all of this, but for the first time in the series, the technical limits of the current console platforms negatively affect the game play. Despite these difficulties, European Assault successfully combines the intensity of "Call of Duty" with the cinematic and epic feeling of the Medal of Honor series to deliver a more open and less linear game play experience than before. [June 2005, p.68]
  3. 81
    Sure there is nothing particularly inventive or innovative about the game's features, but played as a whole, the overall experience is still very satisfying. It's good despite the faults in AI, the less than attractive visuals, and an unnaturally slow beginning.