Medal of Honor Frontline PlayStation 2

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 139
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2011
    9
    This is one of those games that was just well made, it has a good story, and a outstanding soundtrack, and a good selection of World War 2 weapons, it has epic set pieces that would make the Call of Duty series jealous, and some beautiful locations, my only complaints are that targeting isn't easy do to a bad reticle, and the ending is more Sci-Fi shooter than World War 2 shooter itThis is one of those games that was just well made, it has a good story, and a outstanding soundtrack, and a good selection of World War 2 weapons, it has epic set pieces that would make the Call of Duty series jealous, and some beautiful locations, my only complaints are that targeting isn't easy do to a bad reticle, and the ending is more Sci-Fi shooter than World War 2 shooter it reminded me of Star Wars, these flaws aside you have one of the best shooters ever. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    9
    Medal of Honors finest moment and a real quality game. That D-Day mission was epic and set the tone for the rest of the game. One of the better Playstation 2 games and is well worth a play.
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    Thanks Mom and Dad for getting me this game in 2002. I was too small to get past Omaha beach back then, but around 2005-2006, I had a blast. But what annoyed me about this game it that it has "Frontline" in the title, yet only 2-3 missions has you fighting on the front while the rest is conducted behind enemy lines. Other than that, the game is really fun. Now Medal of Honor is dying. TheThanks Mom and Dad for getting me this game in 2002. I was too small to get past Omaha beach back then, but around 2005-2006, I had a blast. But what annoyed me about this game it that it has "Frontline" in the title, yet only 2-3 missions has you fighting on the front while the rest is conducted behind enemy lines. Other than that, the game is really fun. Now Medal of Honor is dying. The only way to bring this series back to its former glory is to return to WWII. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    Remember how great the first Medal of Honor game on the original PS was? Well, Medal of Honor Frontline is equally good on the PS2.

    The graphics are simple but nice, the sound is great and most important the gameplay is really good. This has to be one of the best shooters on the PS2. The only thing missing here is a (split-screen) multi-player mode. Also the aiming is sometimes a bit
    Remember how great the first Medal of Honor game on the original PS was? Well, Medal of Honor Frontline is equally good on the PS2.

    The graphics are simple but nice, the sound is great and most important the gameplay is really good. This has to be one of the best shooters on the PS2.

    The only thing missing here is a (split-screen) multi-player mode. Also the aiming is sometimes a bit off. But overall this game is a classic.

    A remastered version of Medal of Honor Frontline was included in the PlayStation 3 version of Medal of Honor (2010) with trophies support and HD Graphics. And since 2011 it can be downloaded at the PSN store.

    I rate this game 9 out of 10. (I would give it a perfect 10 if it had multi-player)
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2011
    9
    Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great,Medal of Honor is the defintion of Classic Video Game. For 2002 this game created such a crazy atmosphere and virtual war experience that I was on the edge of my seat for the entirety of it. One of my favorite FPS campaign missions of all time is in it, which is a level where you have to infiltrate a mansion using stealth OR guns a blazing, whatever your wish. It really let for a great, and very challenging level, that I adore and will always remember. The gameplay is classic, the soundtrack is classic, the graphics are classic. This game oozes with classic!! Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    This game was the best Second World War First Person Shooter available until the Call of Duty series was born. More 'old school' gamers might prefer this now as it is a 'lone-wolf' type of game. Still enjoyable.
  7. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    incredible ! best moh ever soundtrack 99999/10 story 9999/10 levels 999/10 grapchics 999/10 .. .
  8. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    I will never forget playing this game back in June 2002 when i was just 21. It was just so amazing and so different, great graphics, great levels, great gameplay, long campaign, great soundtrack, it just blew me away from start to finish. It was also the game that started off the trend for World War 2 shooters like how Call of Duty Modern Warfare 4 started off the trend for Modern WarfareI will never forget playing this game back in June 2002 when i was just 21. It was just so amazing and so different, great graphics, great levels, great gameplay, long campaign, great soundtrack, it just blew me away from start to finish. It was also the game that started off the trend for World War 2 shooters like how Call of Duty Modern Warfare 4 started off the trend for Modern Warfare shooters. So if you want to play a classic game that started off the WW2 trend that lasted from 2002 to 2007/2008 when it eventually died off and made way for modern warfare games, then this is the game. Also great if your a lover of WW2 games. Expand
  9. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    some of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original, the gameplay borrows heavily from the ps1 classic, with rather impressive level design, all these features combined with impressive (for the time) graphics makes this game highly reccomendable, the game is also rather charming as well, with somesome of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original, the gameplay borrows heavily from the ps1 classic, with rather impressive level design, all these features combined with impressive (for the time) graphics makes this game highly reccomendable, the game is also rather charming as well, with some humor, but that, you will have to look out for yourself, it does have some criticism though, there is no checkpoint system, if you die, its right back to the start for you, but this is only a minor complaint, the game is available for the playstation 2, xbox, and gamecube, with a remastered version available through the medal of honor 2010 special edition, with updated graphics and gameplay, overall i would highly recommend that you buy this game if you have the 6th gen systems, i have all 3 versions and they are all the same with a few minor details, a triumphant game on the consoles of yesterday! Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    For a bloody old game which has the 3D graphics of a stickman, This game is the best FPS game I and many other have played. You may think im crazy or even on drugs but I am not. This game Is so fun you can just play for hours and hours without even getting bored in the slightest. I had this for Gamecube and one of my mates had it on ps2 and there is quite a big difference controls wise.For a bloody old game which has the 3D graphics of a stickman, This game is the best FPS game I and many other have played. You may think im crazy or even on drugs but I am not. This game Is so fun you can just play for hours and hours without even getting bored in the slightest. I had this for Gamecube and one of my mates had it on ps2 and there is quite a big difference controls wise. Gamecube controls are really hard to aim with and you will find yourself either spraying with a machine gun or attempting to hit the enemy and then resulting in, meleeing them. But despite that you will get that hand of it after the first mission. This game is worth every penny and even though it cost me £10 at the time I would happily have paid £20-£30. The reviews speak for themselves. 10,10,10,10,10,10,10,9,10,10,7,10,10,10,10,10,10,10 and then a 0. And you see that 0 and think that guy is 13 years old and thinks that ww2 games are rubbish because he has played mw3. Well that kid is very very wrong. This game is the game to get and for only like £1 its a bloody bargain. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible, haters don't have any idea of how much of a masterpiece this is. This IS the greatest World War 2 first person shooter ever devised.
  12. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    It may not be up to par with the games of today, but man this game was the **** when it was released. The controls felt perfect and it had an intriguing (and historically correct) storyline. Worth buying if you can find it somewhere.
  13. MikEPaynE
    Jun 5, 2002
    10
    Hey ''Hero S.'', have u played the game before? have u experienced the game before? have u ever seen the game before? NO! you havent. u have been too busy playing chess, wearing highwaters, and playing pokemon cards with yourself because nobody likes you, MOH:FL is the best game besides GTA3. but you wouldnt know that because your mommy wont let you play it. will she? Hey ''Hero S.'', have u played the game before? have u experienced the game before? have u ever seen the game before? NO! you havent. u have been too busy playing chess, wearing highwaters, and playing pokemon cards with yourself because nobody likes you, MOH:FL is the best game besides GTA3. but you wouldnt know that because your mommy wont let you play it. will she? will she? will she? NO! Expand
  14. ZacharyB.
    Jun 1, 2002
    10
    This game is totaly amazing, the graphics are great and the gameplay is awesome. This is the most realistic war video game I have ever played. In the begining i thought i was watching Saving Private Ryan.
  15. SolidSnake
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    there's no two-player mode, but the one-player mode is so great you won't care about that. Pick up a copy of this game NOW!!!!!
  16. PatrickW.
    Sep 2, 2002
    9
    This game is a gem. In addition to the 1st personal shooter you are a part of the historic narrative of world war ii - each stage reveals the allies progress in the war - filled with news reel clips and more. A must play, but replay value once you beat the game is low - NO online play... so it's a rental.
  17. NickG.
    Mar 20, 2003
    10
    An awesome game for people who love wargames. The graphics are astonishing! And the music makes the fighting even more dramatic. This game will surely end up as a classic for PS2.
  18. BeauF.
    May 23, 2002
    10
    I had the chance to play this game at E3 today and was blown away by it, to say the least. The sound is phenomenal. The Omaha Beach landing sequence is as real as you can ask for. A definite must-buy.
  19. JasonL.
    May 30, 2002
    10
    This is the all around best game I have ever played.
  20. DQ
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    Yep.
  21. ChrisG.
    Jul 19, 2002
    10
    Just beat the PC version, now bought the PS2 version. Not as good graphically, but still good and fun. I wish the controls were better (they should market a keyboard and mouse for the PS2, I'd buy it)
  22. BerraL.
    Sep 6, 2002
    10
    This game will be one of my best i ever played. Everything is great about it, except the controooooooler (but you can switch the control to the old moh and mohu control. ive think its best). now im gonna say something on swedish: det här är ett måste för varje action fantast!!
  23. RaphaelR.
    Nov 4, 2004
    8
    It's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is a WAR GAME without blood and stuff but the rest is good enemy A.I. is pretty good weapons are alright AUDIO IS GREAT graphics are lke an 8/10 story is kinda bad in my opnion but whatever... uhhm.. yues this game is worth buying if u want a fun firstIt's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is a WAR GAME without blood and stuff but the rest is good enemy A.I. is pretty good weapons are alright AUDIO IS GREAT graphics are lke an 8/10 story is kinda bad in my opnion but whatever... uhhm.. yues this game is worth buying if u want a fun first person shooter for ur PS2. Expand
  24. MikeP.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    This game brings back bad memories.... i got off the boat it was wwII i used a spoon for a mirror to see around a corner... BANG BANG BANG I shot the solider dead, blood runer from his head, eyes burn from sting and sweat, seems every pathway leads me to nowhere.... ANYway, this game rules, its very fun and thats what games should be! FUN
  25. Mark
    May 28, 2002
    10
    Dude. This game rocks!!!
  26. MikeK.
    May 29, 2002
    10
    Another great shooter added to the ps2 list after redfaction deusex quakeIII and unreal.
  27. SBSpence
    Jul 16, 2002
    8
    Another solid title in the Medal of Honor line up. A little disappointing in that it doesn't "reinvent the wheel" with cutting edge programming or new ideas, but, that just may be part of it's charm. This game pulls you with it's very first mission and then slowly slips back into the same ol, same ol. It feels very much like previous titles with the main difference being a Another solid title in the Medal of Honor line up. A little disappointing in that it doesn't "reinvent the wheel" with cutting edge programming or new ideas, but, that just may be part of it's charm. This game pulls you with it's very first mission and then slowly slips back into the same ol, same ol. It feels very much like previous titles with the main difference being a few scattered insanely difficult levels! It even made me shelve it for a few days before finally coming back on strong for me with the final few levels to finish it out. A very solid addition to the Medal of Honor line-up but isn't the much awaited "Holy Grail" for gamers. Expand
  28. Ryan
    Jul 20, 2002
    10
    First person shooter fans finally have something to look in to. This game blew me away. Its sense of realism is the best ive seen in a first person shooter. This game, simply said, ROCKS!!!!!!
  29. UmbertoM.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    Indeed the best game I have ever seen. Every detail is so realistic that makes you think that you'll never stop playing it. Every Nazi is so perfectly created that it is almost a shame that you must take them out.. Thanks to EA
  30. Chad
    Jul 5, 2002
    10
    The best game of all time...or at least to this date...sick.

Awards & Rankings

12
5
#5 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
14
#14 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Game Informer
    90
    It bests its predecessors in one key area: Every mission conveys a nail-biting tension that absorbs the player as never before. [June 2002]
  2. 80
    Frontline isn't perfect, though. For one thing there are the always-problematic control issues. A console system with its gamepad just can't replicate the tight controls offered by a mouse and keyboard.
  3. Despite its occasional appearances, the game is so incredibly linear it hurts.