Medal of Honor Frontline PlayStation 2

Medal of Honor Frontline Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Head back behind enemy lines with Lt. Jimmy Patterson in Medal of Honor Frontline. In this installment of the smash-hit Medal of Honor series, Lt. Patterson returns and must infiltrate the German frontline to steal the HO-IX flying wing, an experimental Nazi weapon so powerful it could turnHead back behind enemy lines with Lt. Jimmy Patterson in Medal of Honor Frontline. In this installment of the smash-hit Medal of Honor series, Lt. Patterson returns and must infiltrate the German frontline to steal the HO-IX flying wing, an experimental Nazi weapon so powerful it could turn the tide of World War II. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    One of the most incredible experiences I have ever had with a game. [July 2002, p.98]
  2. 100
    With the incredible soundtrack and the emotions that the game invokes, Frontline is one of the best games of the year.
  3. The attention to detail is mind-boggling. I don't know how they did it, but EA has created a game with enemies that can practically think for themselves. The soldiers will swarm around you in a deadly strategic pattern. Their intelligence is amazing.
  4. 90
    It's something that is planned in development to the last incoming grenade and Frontline is pretty much perfect in terms of dragging you into the action and delivering nail-biting, hair-pulling gameplay.
  5. Making a realistic FPS based on WWII is highly tasteless and somewhat degrading to soldiers who fought during the war.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    The linear missions and non-interactive environments don't hold their own when compared to feature-rich PS2 shooters like "Red Faction" or "Deus Ex." But none of that matters, because in this game, presentation is everything. [July 2002, p.116]
  7. Huge levels are constrained by pre-determined paths, action sequences are harshly pre-determined and any sense that you might have be able to affect the outcome is sapped by the largely obvious mission objectives.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Oct 31, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible, haters don't have any idea of how much of a masterpiece this is. This IS the greatest World War 2 first person shooterAbsolutely incredible, haters don't have any idea of how much of a masterpiece this is. This IS the greatest World War 2 first person shooter ever devised. Expand
  2. ChrisG.
    Jul 19, 2002
    10
    Just beat the PC version, now bought the PS2 version. Not as good graphically, but still good and fun. I wish the controls were better (they Just beat the PC version, now bought the PS2 version. Not as good graphically, but still good and fun. I wish the controls were better (they should market a keyboard and mouse for the PS2, I'd buy it) Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    It may not be up to par with the games of today, but man this game was the **** when it was released. The controls felt perfect and it had anIt may not be up to par with the games of today, but man this game was the **** when it was released. The controls felt perfect and it had an intriguing (and historically correct) storyline. Worth buying if you can find it somewhere. Expand
  4. RandallJ.
    Aug 2, 2002
    9
    The whole f.....g reason i bought the PS2 is because of this game. I'm a huge fan of WWII and suggest you get!
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    some of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original,some of us will probably remeber the original medal of honor on the playstation, medal of honor frontline is very reminiscent of the original, the gameplay borrows heavily from the ps1 classic, with rather impressive level design, all these features combined with impressive (for the time) graphics makes this game highly reccomendable, the game is also rather charming as well, with some humor, but that, you will have to look out for yourself, it does have some criticism though, there is no checkpoint system, if you die, its right back to the start for you, but this is only a minor complaint, the game is available for the playstation 2, xbox, and gamecube, with a remastered version available through the medal of honor 2010 special edition, with updated graphics and gameplay, overall i would highly recommend that you buy this game if you have the 6th gen systems, i have all 3 versions and they are all the same with a few minor details, a triumphant game on the consoles of yesterday! Expand
  6. RaphaelR.
    Nov 4, 2004
    8
    It's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is aIt's good but the game would have been much much better if they added a lil bit more blood and body parts flyin .. i mean what good is a WAR GAME without blood and stuff but the rest is good enemy A.I. is pretty good weapons are alright AUDIO IS GREAT graphics are lke an 8/10 story is kinda bad in my opnion but whatever... uhhm.. yues this game is worth buying if u want a fun first person shooter for ur PS2. Expand
  7. HeroS.
    Jun 3, 2002
    0
    PSX Nation is the only site that dares to tell the truth, the game sucks, waste some $s and see for yourself :-(

See all 58 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#17 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002