Medal of Honor: Vanguard Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the boots of Frank Keegan, Corporal of the 82nd Airborne Division and engage in battles throughout Europe. From Operation Husky on the shores of Sicily to Operation Varsity inside Nazi Germany, you’ll fight behind enemy lines in the epic WWII battles that turned America's firstStep into the boots of Frank Keegan, Corporal of the 82nd Airborne Division and engage in battles throughout Europe. From Operation Husky on the shores of Sicily to Operation Varsity inside Nazi Germany, you’ll fight behind enemy lines in the epic WWII battles that turned America's first paratroopers into heroes of WWII. Featuring spectacular graphics adding to epic combat intensity, Medal of Honor Vanguard makes you the driving force in the struggle to liberate Europe. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. AceGamez
    90
    You will love the crisp graphics and refreshingly exciting gameplay. You will love the constant action and atmospheric sound effects. You will grin like a Cheshire cat when manning machine-gun nests and spraying bullets in every direction.
  2. Games Master UK
    79
    Decent. [May 2007, p.80]
  3. 72
    If you’re a Medal of Honor fan, you’ll dig this title...However, if you felt like previous incarnations of this WWII title were getting closer and closer to being dishonorably discharged, Vanguard’s paper-thin story, monotonous maps and upper-level frustration won’t have you saluting this soldier’s latest effort.
  4. This is the poorest Medal of Honor yet, and we truly hope we can expect a vastly superior experience from the upcoming "Airborne."
  5. 60
    There's really nothing here that gamers haven't seen elsewhere, and frankly, if they've never played a Medal of Honor game, they'd be better off picking up the compilation pack that contains much better installments of the series.
  6. A short, bland, and ultimately forgettable experience.
  7. With a next-gen sequel due within the year and Call of Duty 3 providing a comprehensively better experience, why bother wasting your time and money?

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty neat. The graphics aren't that bad and it's a pretty good campaign story. My only concerns are that the game is short andThis game is pretty neat. The graphics aren't that bad and it's a pretty good campaign story. My only concerns are that the game is short and there's no online multiplayer. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2015
    7
    Oh dear :/ vanguard is definitely the weakest classic medal of honor game, average graphics, average story, combined with forgettableOh dear :/ vanguard is definitely the weakest classic medal of honor game, average graphics, average story, combined with forgettable characters and boring gameplay, vanguard just isn't worth your time :/ get its xbox 360 counterpart airborne instead, vanguard is only for die hard fans of the series Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2015
    7
    In Medal of Honor: Vanguard there are no health packs anymore, you simply take cover and wait for your health to regenerate. Your companyIn Medal of Honor: Vanguard there are no health packs anymore, you simply take cover and wait for your health to regenerate. Your company mates seem to be shooting in thin air and not hitting any of the enemies. Luckily you don't need to heal them anymore as you had to do in the previous game European Assault.

    There is now the added ability of running by pressing the L2 button, which can be handy to get to a good place for cover quickly. Also you can find upgrades for your weapon in several places around the map.

    The graphics of this game are not much of an improvement over previous instalments. Houses seem empty without any details.

    The levels are quite easy, except for the last one which can be a pain in the butt. The multi-player mode has only 6 maps and they are really small. There is the usual death match and a few variations on capture the flag.

    I rate Medal of Honor: Vanguard with a score of 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  4. NikolaiC
    Apr 3, 2007
    4
    What could have been a great game ended up being a let down for me. I was excited when I heard the original soundtrack of MOH: Frontline and What could have been a great game ended up being a let down for me. I was excited when I heard the original soundtrack of MOH: Frontline and had hope, yet EA has decided to put out another game in order to sell copies. What a crock, I finished it in two days (that's using up 3 hours of each day). There were no reels of extras for me like the others. Just dissapointing. Collapse
  5. JackT.
    Mar 30, 2007
    3
    I used to be a MOH fan... not anymore. The graphics look even worse than Frontline (which was released in 2002), enemy AI couldn't be I used to be a MOH fan... not anymore. The graphics look even worse than Frontline (which was released in 2002), enemy AI couldn't be more stupid, and animation is entirely recycled from MOHEA (which wasn't very good to begin with). The sad thing is, GoW proved that a PS2 game can look Good and be Fun. It shouldn't be too difficult in this day and age to develop a decent PS2 title. So I am very concerned about MOH Airborne for next-gen console (which are supposedly much harder to develop for), since I believe the same studio is developing both title. I used to be a MOH fan... not anymore. Expand
  6. SteveH.
    Mar 30, 2007
    1
    Same old-same old... There is so much to say about WW2 and yet Medal of Honor Vanguard sticks to the "take that bridge", "retrieve the Same old-same old... There is so much to say about WW2 and yet Medal of Honor Vanguard sticks to the "take that bridge", "retrieve the documents", "take the AA guns" type of objectives. The only thing new here is the jump: But it's excruciatingly difficult to control and you more or less only land where they tell you to land. So there is no reason to re-play the missions. Who would want to do that since the Germans act like rats trapped in very corridor-like environments anyway. Graphically, I have seen much better PS2 games, but this one is just ok. It's a renter. Expand
  7. JohnnyY
    Apr 11, 2007
    1
    I love MOH, but this game is sad. It's beyond easy, it'll take 2 hours to beat. The graphics are better in the old games. The I love MOH, but this game is sad. It's beyond easy, it'll take 2 hours to beat. The graphics are better in the old games. The mulltiplayer only has 6 sites and lacks the great gun system of European Assault. Rather tahn buying this, play the classic European Assault a second time Expand

Awards & Rankings

65
27
#27 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007